Armenia in the realm of somnambulistic kickboxing: The clock is ticking
    Contemplations with Orkhan Amashov/VIDEO

    ANALYTICS  13 September 2023 - 18:05

    Orkhan Amashov
    Caliber.Az

    In the latest episode of Contemplations with Orkhan Amashov, the author takes a look at Armenian Prime Minister Nikol Pashinyan’s modus operandi in the negotiations with Azerbaijan. In Amashov’s view, the only persuasive power to which Pashinyan is capable of sensibly responding is the application of pressure.

    “With Armenian Prime Minister Nikol Pashinyan continuing to act as an incorrigible procrastinator, the separatists in Khankendi behaving unreasonably and international mediators failing to be of sufficiently palpable consequence, the tensions on the ground, both in Garabagh and along the conditional state border between Azerbaijan and Armenia, are likely to escalate further.

    It is a positive development that, on 12 September, the truck of the Russian Red Cross finally travelled via the Aghdam-Khankendi Road, after being delayed in Barda, due to the opposition of the separatist junta and reported obstruction caused by the ICRC. 

    The arrangement was fully aligned with Azerbaijani legislation, complying with the principle of territorial integrity. But, as Presidential Aide Hikmet Hajiyev clarified earlier, it would be a misinterpretation to confuse this with the suggestion that connects lifting the restrictions on the Lachin border checkpoint with the opening of the Aghdam-Khankendi Road.

    There is still an unmistakable odour of confrontation on the ground that won’t fade away unless a breakthrough can be achieved. The separatist junta should be dissolved and disarmed once and for all. Half-measures won’t do. And the fact that Pashinyan refrained from issuing an official statement on the so-called sham elections in Khankendi could be viewed as commendable, but not sufficient. 

    Let me say a couple of words about Nikol Pashinyan and his modus operandi. He is a compulsive procrastinator and time-waster in the Azerbaijani-Armenian peace process. He is inherently incapable of constructive dialogue. Pashinyan is not a man of his promise, his words are never final, and he is always prone to backtracking.

    When he ascended to power in Armenia in 2018, surmounting the power of the actual President, there were some hopes he would be different to his Garabagh-born predecessors. International mediators and Pashinyan himself tried to persuade the Azerbaijani leadership that he would act differently, and he needed some time to show his mettle. He was given an inexorable period to do so. And what was the result? Pashinyan declared that “Garabagh is Armenia and full stop”, obstructing the whole peace process. 

    Again, a similar pattern manifested itself after the war of 2020. Baku and Yerevan decided that the sides should sign an agreement, with no mention of Garabagh and related issues, as the subject in question was recognised by Armenia as an internal issue of Azerbaijan. Again, the perceived impression was that Pashinyan needed some to prepare his local population to take action towards peace.

    And what did he do? Subsequently, the Armenian Prime Minister reinforced his demands for an international mechanism to ensure the rights and security of Garabagh Armenians, simultaneously engaging in  “remedial secession” games. His policy was and is predicated on the creed that Armenia is ready to recognise Azerbaijan’s territorial integrity across 86,600 square kilometres, including Garabagh, but there should be an international presence in Garabagh itself, monitoring the implementation of security guarantees and rights for the local Armenian population. This would effectively signal the inception of a second Minsk process, keeping the Garabagh component unresolved and a return of the unacceptable ‘no peace, no war’ situation.

    This takes us on to the question of the mutual recognition of territorial integrity between Azerbaijan and Armenia. An oral agreement was initially reached in Prague in October 2022, then specified with figures on 14 May, with further reiterations following subsequently.

    First of all, there is no legally binding agreement, as yet. Secondly, Armenia’s expressed readiness to recognise Azerbaijani territorial integrity is incomplete. Yerevan and the Armenian diaspora still continues to funnel money into the separatist junta and refuse to withdraw the remnants of its armed units from the region, with some of its official statements being rightly perceived in Azerbaijan as a territorial claim.

    In response to this, Baku’s own approach to Armenia’s territorial integrity is incomplete. The mirror effect is inevitable. The Azerbaijani-Armenian border is undelimited, and if, due to any escalation, Baku gains some positions in the grey zone between Azerbaijan and Armenia, it won’t retract. And this degree of unpredictability is unhelpful. 

    Pashinyan’s insistence on the humanitarian exclusivity of the Lachin Road is another element in his approach which does not square with his stated preparedness to recognise Azerbaijani territorial integrity. But the facts on the ground are steadily changing, despite Pashinyan’s shilly-shallying. 

    Pashinyan has retained his essential behavioural pattern - he always needs time and once that is granted, he plays for time. He is incapable of making a concrete decision. It is only under duress that he is capable of being reasonable. Application of force is the only persuasive power to which he responds. It is highly improbable he will change anytime soon.

    Dr Robert Cutler, Eurasian and European energy and international security expert, recently gave a brilliant description as to Pashinhan’s modus operandi. “It is almost as if he is going in all directions all at once, to see what works best for him. This would imply that, if he has any long-term perspective, then this is focused on maintaining and maximising his own power and influence”. In Pashinyan’s behaviour we see “short-term tactical moves not integrated into a long-term strategic plan”. He is as directionless as a myopic prizefighter and consistently inconsistent.

    And as to the Armenian public, diaspora and political classes… Mental gymnastics and self-delusional hoary thinking prevail here. Armenia is in the realm of somnambulistic kick-boxing, wallowing in a quagmire of its own making. It seems only a proper shock can jolt the nation of this detestable misery and make it see a spade as a shovel. Perhaps, that is what it needs so badly now.” 

    Caliber.Az

    Subscribe to our Telegram channel


Read also

Russo–Ukraine war: Black Sea battle scene Asymmetric warfare

23 July 2024 - 17:58

EU’s sanctimonious move: €10m won’t be silver bullet for Armenia Yet the devil in disguise tempted it

23 July 2024 - 14:22

European weapons for Armenian revanchists EU hypocrisy

23 July 2024 - 11:30

How the US is provoking conflict in the South Caucasus? Armenia’s proxy status

23 July 2024 - 12:22

Azerbaijan’s strategic pivot: Impact of new alliance with China Baku’s shifting ties: A challenge to Western influence?

22 July 2024 - 16:54

Unpacking Türkiye’s role in Africa New partner vs old enmity

22 July 2024 - 15:31
ADVERTS
Video
Latest news

    Spain at crossroads: Tourism boom vs local discontent

    24 July 2024 - 05:04

    US Navy pilot makes history as first woman to achieve air-to-air kill

    24 July 2024 - 03:05

    US Triton company unveils hydrogen internal combustion engine

    Pioneering clean energy in automotive industry

    24 July 2024 - 01:03

    China’s mathematics talent shines

    Shi Haojia wins gold again, but US leads team rankings

    23 July 2024 - 23:04

    Central Bank of Türkiye holds key rate steady at 50%

    23 July 2024 - 21:10

    China expands state secrets oversight with revised law

    23 July 2024 - 20:58

    Azerbaijan, UN discuss investments in net-zero initiatives

    23 July 2024 - 20:58

    US president promises to appoint new Secret Service leadership

    23 July 2024 - 20:46

    US Secret Service director resigns after Trump assassination attempt

    23 July 2024 - 20:34

    Turkish ruling party: Timing, venue of Erdogan-Assad meeting still pending

    23 July 2024 - 20:22

    US sends advanced air defence systems to northeast Syria

    PHOTO / VIDEO

    23 July 2024 - 20:10

    Pentagon: US adopts “monitor-and-respond” strategy in Arctic

    23 July 2024 - 19:58

    Ukrainian president’s team cultivates ties with Trump’s allies

    23 July 2024 - 19:46

    Elon Musk claims his son is "dead", blames "woke mind virus"

    23 July 2024 - 19:22

    US president to announce withdrawal from presidential race in July 24 speech

    23 July 2024 - 19:11

    Yemen government, Houthis reach deal on banking, airline operations

    De-escalating financial row

    23 July 2024 - 19:10

    Ukraine extends martial law, military mobilization

    23 July 2024 - 18:58

    Biden focuses on foreign policy legacy after dropping out of 2024 race

    23 July 2024 - 18:58

    Israel rejects Fatah-Hamas unity agreement

    Ministerial statement

    23 July 2024 - 18:46

    Budapest to continue blocking EU funds for Ukraine over oil transit dispute

    23 July 2024 - 18:34

    Russia emphasises support for improving Türkiye-Syria relations

    23 July 2024 - 18:22

    PKK/YPG's election efforts face US pressure and Turkish resistance

    Report of Center for Strategic Studies

    23 July 2024 - 18:10

    Azerbaijan unveils documentary on Western Azerbaijan's material and cultural heritage

    PHOTO

    23 July 2024 - 18:01

    Russo–Ukraine war: Black Sea battle scene

    Asymmetric warfare

    23 July 2024 - 17:58

    VP Harris raises $100 million in first 24 hours of US presidential campaign

    23 July 2024 - 17:46

    Russia expands sanctions on UK officials in tit-for-tat move

    23 July 2024 - 17:34

    Türkiye discovers significant arsenal during Operation Claw-Lock in Iraq

    VIDEO

    23 July 2024 - 17:22

    Cybersecurity challenges and opportunities in a net-zero world

    Caliber.Az on YouTube

    23 July 2024 - 17:10

    Azerbaijan excludes PACE from parliamentary election observation

    23 July 2024 - 16:58

    Armenia may resume criminal case against ex-president

    23 July 2024 - 16:46

    Azerbaijan, Russia discuss situation in South Caucasus

    23 July 2024 - 16:34

    Analysts: EU may pursue Ukraine peace talks if Trump wins US election

    23 July 2024 - 16:22

    US pledges security support to Armenia

    23 July 2024 - 16:10

    Hundreds of foreign companies seek participation in Karabakh projects

    23 July 2024 - 15:58

    Demographic realities: What lies ahead for the world and the South Caucasus?

    Analysis

    23 July 2024 - 15:51

    Azerbaijani MFA congratulates Egypt on national holiday

    23 July 2024 - 15:46

    Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan to finalize military intelligence cooperation agreement

    23 July 2024 - 15:34

    US State Department highlights Azerbaijan's leadership in alternative energy

    23 July 2024 - 15:22

    Governor: Ukrainian drone attack hits ferry in Russia’s Krasnodar

    23 July 2024 - 15:11

    Türkiye neutralises four PKK terrorists in northern Iraq

    VIDEO

    23 July 2024 - 14:58

All news

Армения в состоянии прострации: часики тикают
    Размышления Орхана Амашова

    АНАЛИТИКА  13 Сентября 2023 - 17:48

    Орхан Амашов
    Caliber.Az

    В очередном выпуске цикла передач «Размышления Орхана Амашова» автор рассматривает «образ действия» (modus operandi) премьер-министра Армении Никола Пашиняна на переговорах с Азербайджаном. По мнению Амашова, единственный способ убеждения, на который Пашинян способен реагировать разумно, - это давление.

    В связи с тем, что премьер-министр Армении Никол Пашинян продолжает вести себя как неисправимый прокрастинатор, сепаратисты в Ханкенди ведут себя неразумно, а международные посредники не оказывают ощутимого давления, напряженность на местах - как в Карабахе, так и вдоль условной границы между Азербайджаном и Арменией - скорее всего, будет расти.

    Положительным является тот факт, что 12 сентября грузовик Российского Красного Креста наконец-то проехал по дороге Агдам-Ханкенди, задержавшись в Барде из-за противодействия сепаратистской хунты и МККК. Эта схема проезда полностью соответствовала азербайджанскому законодательству и принципу территориальной целостности. Но, как пояснил ранее помощник президента Хикмет Гаджиев, это отдельная договоренность, и ее не следует путать с предложением об одновременном открытии дорог Агдам-Ханкенди и Лачин-Ханкенди для доставки грузов МККК.

    На местах по-прежнему ощущается несомненный запах противостояния, который не исчезнет, если не будет достигнут прорыв. Сепаратистская хунта должна быть распущена и разоружена раз и навсегда. Полумеры здесь не подойдут. Да, Пашинян не поздравил сепаратистскую хунту по поводу так называемых «выборов», но этого явно недостаточно. 

    Позвольте мне сказать несколько слов о Николе Пашиняне и методах его работы. В азербайджано-армянском мирном процессе он постоянно тянет время. Он по своей природе не способен к конструктивному диалогу. Пашинян - не человек слова, обещания он никогда не выполняет, и всегда идёт на попятную.

    Когда в 2018 году он пришел к власти в Армении, были определенные надежды на то, что он будет отличаться от своих предшественников, которые были родом из Карабаха. Международные посредники и сам Пашинян пытались убедить азербайджанское руководство в том, что он будет действовать иначе, что ему нужно время, чтобы проявить себя. Ему дали время. И каков же результат? Пашинян заявил, что «Карабах - это Армения, и точка», сорвав весь мирный процесс.

    Аналогичная картина вырисовывалась и после войны 2020 года. Баку и Ереван решили, что они должны подписать соглашение, в котором не будет упоминаться Карабах и связанные с ним вопросы, поскольку Армения признала эту тему внутренним вопросом Азербайджана. Опять же, создавалось впечатление, что Пашиняну нужно было подготовить местное население к действиям, направленным на достижение мира.

    И что же он сделал? Армянский премьер-министр ужесточил требования о создании международного механизма для обеспечения прав и безопасности карабахских армян, одновременно включившись в игры по «отделению во имя спасения». Его политика строилась и строится на том, что Армения готова признать территориальную целостность Азербайджана с площадью в 86 600 кв. км, включая Карабах, но при этом в самом регионе должно быть международное присутствие, контролирующее реализацию гарантий безопасности и прав местного армянского населения. Это фактически означало бы начало второго «Минского процесса», сохранение карабахского компонента нерешённым и возврат к неприемлемой ситуации «ни мира, ни войны».

    В связи с этим возникает вопрос о взаимном признании территориальной целостности Азербайджана и Армении. В Праге в октябре 2022 года была достигнута договоренность, 14 мая она была конкретизирована цифрами, а затем последовали повторные подтверждения.

    Но, во-первых, юридически обязывающего соглашения пока нет. Во-вторых, выраженная Арменией готовность признать территориальную целостность Азербайджана является неполной. Ереван и армянская диаспора по-прежнему продолжают перечислять деньги сепаратистской хунте, отказываются выводить остатки вооруженных формирований из региона, а некоторые официальные заявления Еревана справедливо воспринимаются в Баку как территориальные претензии.

    В ответ на это собственный подход Азербайджана к территориальной целостности Армении является неполным. Зеркальный эффект неизбежен. Азербайджано-армянская граница не делимитирована, и, если в результате эскалации Баку вытеснит противника с некоторых позиций в серой зоне, то он не отступит. И такой положение дел порождает неопределенность.

    Настаивание Пашиняна на гуманитарной исключительности Лачинской дороги - еще один элемент его подхода, который не согласуется с выраженной им готовностью признать территориальную целостность Азербайджана. Однако, несмотря на колебания премьер-министра, факты на местах постоянно меняются.

    Пашинян сохранил основную модель поведения - ему всегда нужно время, и как только оно предоставляется, он его затягивает. Он не способен принять конкретное решение. Пашинян может действовать разумно только под давлением. Применение силы - единственная сила убеждения, на которую он реагирует. Вряд ли он изменится в ближайшее время.

    Недавно эксперт по евразийской и европейской энергетике и международной безопасности Роберт Катлер дал блестящее описание «образу действий» Пашиняна: «Создается впечатление, что он действует сразу во всех направлениях, чтобы понять, что ему больше всего подходит. Это означает, что если у него и есть какая-то долгосрочная перспектива, то она направлена на сохранение и максимизацию собственной власти и влияния. В поведении Пашиняна мы видим краткосрочные тактические ходы, не интегрированные в долгосрочный стратегический план». Он бесцелен, как близорукий боксер, и всегда непоследователен.

    А что касается армянской общественности, диаспоры и политических кругов... Здесь преобладает ментальная гимнастика и самообман. Армения находится в состоянии сомнамбулического кикбоксинга, погрязнув в трясине, которую сама же и создала. Кажется, что только соответствующая встряска может вывести страну из этого ужасного состояния. Возможно, именно в этом она так отчаянно и нуждается.

    Caliber.Az

    Просмотров: 1437

    Подписывайтесь на наш Telegram-канал


Читайте также

Армения наступает на старые грабли Баку предупредил Ереван

22 Июня 2024 - 17:17

Европейский садовник и его джунгли Чего стоят слова Борреля?

22 Июня 2024 - 17:15

Третья Карабахская война стала неизбежной Регион на пороге большого пожара

22 Июня 2024 - 14:32

Тандем марионеток Расклад Лиманского

22 Июня 2024 - 13:12

Мышиная возня История одного штурма

22 Июня 2024 - 12:02

Кобулов как первый ученик «Неудобная правда» Самита Алиева

22 Июня 2024 - 16:01
РЕКЛАМА
Видео
Последние новости

    Алгоритмы соцсетей усиливают одиночество пользователей

    23 Июня 2024 - 05:30

    Премьер Франции исключил отставку Макрона после внеочередных парламентских выборов

    23 Июня 2024 - 04:30

    Милею в Гамбурге вручили медаль за программу экономических реформ

    23 Июня 2024 - 03:31

    Англичанам пообещали 30-градусную жару

    23 Июня 2024 - 02:31

    Власти Египта лишили лицензий 16 турфирм из-за гибели паломников

    23 Июня 2024 - 02:00

    Разрыв между правыми и левыми во Франции сокращается

    23 Июня 2024 - 01:31

    Сборная Бельгии победила Румынию на чемпионате Европы

    23 Июня 2024 - 01:03

    В Нигере расследуют диверсии на участке нефтепровода в Бенин

    23 Июня 2024 - 00:59

    Число отравившихся на свадьбе в Агстафе достигло 20 человек

    ОБНОВЛЕНО-2

    23 Июня 2024 - 00:52

    Хорватию оштрафовали из-за поведения болельщиков на матче Евро-2024 с Албанией

    23 Июня 2024 - 00:31

    Жителям Барселоны могут запретить сдавать жилье туристам

    22 Июня 2024 - 23:59

    В Турции зафиксировали землетрясение

    22 Июня 2024 - 23:56

    Роналду установил рекорд Евро по количеству сыгранных подряд матчей

    22 Июня 2024 - 23:40

    МВД ФРГ планирует увеличить число мигрантов на госслужбе

    22 Июня 2024 - 23:25

    Девять медалей Азербайджана в последний день Игр БРИКС

    22 Июня 2024 - 23:23

    Более 30 человек погибли при крушении лодки у берегов Италии

    22 Июня 2024 - 23:12

    Израильтяне требуют освободить заложников

    22 Июня 2024 - 23:02

    Пакистан объявил о начале масштабной антитеррористической кампании

    22 Июня 2024 - 22:47

    Назван способ захвата Китаем Тайваня без единого выстрела

    22 Июня 2024 - 22:35

    На освобожденных территориях Азербайджана впервые пройдет форум НПО

    22 Июня 2024 - 22:23

    США донесли до КНР приверженность обязательствам перед Филиппинами

    22 Июня 2024 - 22:10

    Сборная Португалии разгромила Турцию и вышла в плей-офф ЧЕ

    22 Июня 2024 - 22:09

    Россия готова принять у себя до 43 тысяч палестинских беженцев

    ФОТО

    22 Июня 2024 - 21:58

    «Бавария» близка к покупке хавбека «Кристал Пэлас» Олисе

    22 Июня 2024 - 21:55

    «ПСЖ» задолжал Мбаппе 100 млн евро

    22 Июня 2024 - 21:41

    Трамп знает слабые места Байдена

    New York Post

    22 Июня 2024 - 21:27

    Экс-президент Швейцарии назвала условие для вступления страны в НАТО и ЕС

    22 Июня 2024 - 21:14

    Путин наградил посла РФ в Азербайджане орденом Александра Невского

    22 Июня 2024 - 21:08

    Макрон провоцирует выход Франции из Евросоюза

    22 Июня 2024 - 20:59

    Ураган повредил два боевых вертолета в Польше

    22 Июня 2024 - 20:53

    Начал работу Европейский форум азербайджанских инженеров

    ФОТО

    22 Июня 2024 - 20:52

    Вице-канцлер ФРГ призвал Пекин не продавать РФ товары двойного назначения

    22 Июня 2024 - 20:40

    Вратарь сборной Грузии отличился во время матча с Чехией

    22 Июня 2024 - 20:29

    Во Франции прощаются с «макронизмом»

    22 Июня 2024 - 20:28

    Госдеп доволен отношениями США и Вьетнама

    22 Июня 2024 - 20:15

    Турецкий клуб намерен усилиться еще одним азербайджанским форвардом

    22 Июня 2024 - 20:02

    Атомный авианосец США покидает Красное море на фоне атак хуситов

    22 Июня 2024 - 19:50

    Греция собирается приобрести у США F-35

    22 Июня 2024 - 19:38

    В Нахчыване уничтожено около 74 тонн дикорастущей конопли

    22 Июня 2024 - 19:35

    США закрывают визовые центры России в Нью-Йорке и Вашингтоне

    22 Июня 2024 - 19:26

Все новости