Azerbaijani president prioritizes humanitarian demining
    Address to the international conference

    CHRONICLE  30 May 2024 - 11:46

    President of Azerbaijan Ilham Aliyev has addressed the participants of the III International Conference on Mine Action “Mitigating Environmental Impact of Landmines: Resource Mobilization for Safe and Green Future” held in Zangilan.

    As Caliber.Az reports, citing Azertag, the message reads:

    "Dear Conference participants,

    I welcome you on the occasion of the opening of the International Conference themed “Mitigating Environmental Impact of Landmines: Resource Mobilization for Safe and Green Future”.

    Today, mines and unexploded ordnance continue to remain an acute problem posing a threat to people’s security across many countries. Along with jeopardizing human life, the mines seriously challenge socioeconomic development, damage the environment and cultural heritage, hinder post-war recovery and development initiatives, and ultimately impede the Sustainable Development Goals, even decades after wars have ended.

    While mine explosions pose a threat to people’s lives and put their very right to live into question, they also significantly damage the environment. Plastic waste resulting from an explosion entails environmental consequences by negatively impacting soil structure. Mines that remain unearthed for a long time can lead to hazardous chemical reactions. The soil not in use due to the threat of mines is subjected to erosion and abrasion. Therefore, it is particularly significant that today’s conference is organized in the run-up to the 29th Session of the Conference of the Parties to the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change – COP29, which Azerbaijan will host.

    Azerbaijan is bearing the brunt of a 30-year-long conflict and occupation of its lands by Armenia, suffering from mine pollution problem and stands among the most mine-polluted countries of the world. According to initial estimates, roughly 12 per cent of the country’s territory is polluted by 1.5 million mines and an unknown number of unexploded ordnances.

    Since the end of the war in 2020, 361 of our citizens, mostly civilians, have fallen victim to mine explosion, resulting in 68 deaths and 293 severe injuries. Overall, since the beginning of Armenia’s aggression against Azerbaijan, over 3400 of our citizens have suffered from mines, including 358 children and 38 women. The steady increase in the number of mine victims is associated with Armenia’s refusal to provide the accurate maps of the mines it planted across Azerbaijan’s territory, and with placing booby traps along the roads, cemeteries, and other civilian facilities located behind the former line of contact. From 2020 to 2023, new mine zones were created stretching up to 500 kilometres, new mines had been planted in Azerbaijan. Responsibility for that rests with Armenia.

    Challenges we face in demining also hamper our development and recovery efforts, creating serious obstacles to the return of 800,000 formerly displaced persons.

    Humanitarian demining is among the top priorities of Azerbaijan’s state policies, and the foundation of that was laid by the National Leader of the Azerbaijani people – Heydar Aliyev. Today, the primary body in charge of humanitarian demining in Azerbaijan is the Mine Action Agency of the Republic of Azerbaijan – ANAMA.

    So far, some 140 thousand hectares have been cleared of 119,946 mines and unexploded ordnances. Yet, mined areas stretch far beyond that. Mines are easy to plant but mine clearance is much more difficult and complex process. In a short span of time, Azerbaijan has mobilized all its strength, and is using the most advanced and cutting-edge technologies available worldwide. We are implementing measures to enhance efficiency in mine clearance, and our capabilities have significantly improved compared to previous years. All-women demining teams have also been deployed since last year.

    Our country is implementing humanitarian demining at its own expense. Adequate political and practical support from the international community for mitigating humanitarian consequences of mines and demining the affected areas are of utmost significance.

    While addressing its mine problem, Azerbaijan has simultaneously launched multiple initiatives to rivet the international community’s attention to this matter. As you may know, last year our country has officially declared humanitarian demining as the 18th National Sustainable Development Goal, and we are working to ensure the recognition of this issue as the UN’s Global 18th SDG. In the meantime, Azerbaijan has launched an initiative to establish a Special Contact Group on Humanitarian Demining within the Non-Aligned Movement. The Contact Group has begun operating since last September.

    At the 15th meeting of the states-parties to the “1954 Hague Convention for the Protection of Cultural Property in the Event of Armed Conflict,” held in 2013, a resolution titled “The Impact of Mines on Cultural Heritage” was adopted upon Azerbaijan’s initiative. As a follow-up to this momentous resolution, Azerbaijan hosted a special conference in Aghdam this May, themed “The Impact of Mines and Unexploded Ordnance on Cultural Property.”

    In the past three years, our country has hosted a number of international conferences, in collaboration with the UN, dedicated to the subject of mines. Along with being leading platforms for the discussion of mine action matters, these events draw greater attention to this significant problem that troubles humanity in the modern era. Presently, Azerbaijan is working with the UN to establish the “Center of Excellence” to provide education on the mine action. A letter of intent is due to be signed between the ANAMA and the UN Development Programme on the sidelines of this Conference. This notable development will allow Azerbaijan to share its expertise with the countries that face similar problems.

    Today’s event demonstrates Azerbaijan’s determination to tackle the mine issue, one of the challenges of modern times. I believe that this conference will contribute to addressing the problem of mines and their consequences, including the environmental impact, as well as to the exchange of advanced experience in the area of the mine action.

    I extend my best wishes to you and wish the conference every success."

    Caliber.Az

    Subscribe to our Telegram channel


Read also

President Aliyev delivers heartfelt Eid al-Adha message to Azerbaijanis worldwide

14 June 2024 - 14:26

President Aliyev approves military cooperation agreement with Slovakia

14 June 2024 - 14:13

President Ilham Aliyev extends warm wishes to President Putin on Russia Day

11 June 2024 - 16:08

Azerbaijani president wraps up working visit to Türkiye

10 June 2024 - 20:00

Azerbaijani, Turkish presidents hold one-on-one meeting in Ankara

10 June 2024 - 20:40

President Aliyev pays working visit to Türkiye PHOTO

10 June 2024 - 15:13
ADVERTS
Video
Latest news

    Finland suspects four Russian military planes violated its airspace

    14 June 2024 - 15:14

    Euro 2024 kickoff: Germany to face Scotland in opening match

    14 June 2024 - 15:02

    G-7 pledge to step up action on Russia oil fleet, energy, metals

    14 June 2024 - 14:48

    US Israel’s key intelligence partner in search for hostages

    14 June 2024 - 14:33

    President Aliyev delivers heartfelt Eid al-Adha message to Azerbaijanis worldwide

    14 June 2024 - 14:26

    COP29 Academy to empower young environmental leaders in Azerbaijan

    14 June 2024 - 14:18

    President Aliyev approves military cooperation agreement with Slovakia

    14 June 2024 - 14:13

    Ukraine national team to receive enhanced security measures at EURO 2024

    14 June 2024 - 14:06

    Armenian security chief to attend Ukraine Peace Summit in Switzerland

    14 June 2024 - 13:54

    Hungarian PM unveils NATO plans

    14 June 2024 - 13:42

    Bulgaria's GERB party wins most seats in parliament

    14 June 2024 - 13:30

    Scholz risks losing power if he calls early elections

    14 June 2024 - 13:18

    Oil, natural gas, renewables represent major segments of Azerbaijani energy policy

    Article by The Diplomatic Courier

    14 June 2024 - 13:06

    Armenian PM unveils government’s political will

    14 June 2024 - 12:54

    Is the Israel – Hezbollah war in Lebanon real?

    All out war

    14 June 2024 - 12:48

    Top 10 trading partners in Azerbaijan's foreign trade for early 2024

    Key indicators and trends

    14 June 2024 - 12:42

    Armenian officials barred from visiting Belarus

    14 June 2024 - 12:30

    Armenia exists thanks to Collective Security Treaty Organisation

    Russian experts’ opinions at Caliber.Az

    14 June 2024 - 12:20

    Azerbaijani MP emphasizes need for constitutional changes in Armenia

    14 June 2024 - 12:18

    Revanchist protesters relocate tent camp in Yerevan

    14 June 2024 - 12:06

    Government challenges acquittal of former Pakistan Premier Khan in state secret case

    14 June 2024 - 11:54

    Israel kills senior Hezbollah official following naval strike

    VIDEO

    14 June 2024 - 11:42

    Is North Korea's missile program sparking East Asia crisis?

    Caliber.Az on YouTube

    14 June 2024 - 11:30

    US prohibiting Ukraine from striking Russia’s operational or deep rear in Russian territory

    Report by Institute for Study of War

    14 June 2024 - 11:18

    Türkiye deciding on contractor for Sinop Nuclear Power Plant

    14 June 2024 - 11:06

    Russian official: West lures Armenia with EU membership bait

    14 June 2024 - 10:42

    SOCAR, Baker Hughes sign cooperation agreement

    PHOTO

    14 June 2024 - 10:30

    Erdogan hails Türkiye-Spain relations as model for NATO nations

    14 June 2024 - 10:18

    Macron's approval rating plummets to new low

    14 June 2024 - 10:06

    Ukrainian drones strike oil refinery in Russia’s Voronezh

    14 June 2024 - 09:54

    Armenia fires at Azerbaijani army’s positions in Nakhchivan

    14 June 2024 - 09:42

    US first deputy secretary of state to visit Armenia

    14 June 2024 - 09:30

    Azerbaijan, EU hold fifth round of Security Dialogue

    14 June 2024 - 09:17

    US flour firm creating new crops five-times faster

    14 June 2024 - 09:09

    Singapore port container logjam worsens as ships avoid Red Sea

    14 June 2024 - 07:03

    German next-generation chip firm bags $274 million in funding

    As Europe ramps up semiconductor push

    14 June 2024 - 05:04

    Key takeaways from Fed’s latest interest rate decision

    14 June 2024 - 03:05

    Chinese trader’s $20 million pile of Russian copper goes missing

    14 June 2024 - 01:03

    Azerbaijani president's aide engages in political dialogue at NATO headquarters

    13 June 2024 - 23:46

    Oil drops on inventory build

    13 June 2024 - 23:02

All news

Алиев: Гуманитарное разминирование — один из приоритетов госполитики Азербайджана
    ОБНОВЛЕНО

    ХРОНИКА  30 Мая 2024 - 13:13

    13:13

    Президент Азербайджана Ильхам Алиев направил обращение к участникам проходящей в Зангилане III Международной конференции по противоминной деятельности на тему «Снижение воздействия мин на окружающую среду - Мобилизация ресурсов для безопасного и зеленого будущего».

    Как сообщает Caliber.Azинформация об этом размещена на официальном сайте главы АР.

    В обращении говорится:

    «Уважаемые участники конференции!

    Приветствую вас по случаю открытия международной конференции на тему «Снижение воздействия мин на окружающую среду – Мобилизация ресурсов для безопасного и зеленого будущего».

    Сегодня мины и неразорвавшиеся боеприпасы все еще являются одной из острых проблем, угрожающих безопасности человека во многих странах мира. Подвергая опасности жизни людей даже спустя десятилетия после окончания войны, мины в то же время серьезно препятствуют социально-экономическому развитию, защите окружающей среды, культурного наследия, реализации инициатив по постконфликтному восстановлению и развитию и, в конечном итоге, усилиям по достижению Целей устойчивого развития.

    Создавая угрозу жизни людей и ставя под вопрос право на жизнь в целом, взрывы мин также наносят огромный ущерб и окружающей среде. Так, образующиеся при взрывах пластиковые отходы, оказывают негативное воздействие на структуру почвы, приводя к экологическим последствиям. Мины, которые в течение длительного времени остаются зарытыми в земле, приводят к вредным химическим реакциям. Неиспользуемые из-за мин земли подвергаются естественной эрозии и разрушению. С этой точки зрения организация сегодняшней конференции в преддверии 29-й сессии Конференции сторон Рамочной конвенции ООН об изменении климата – COP29, которую примет Азербайджан, имеет особое значение.

    Азербайджан в результате почти 30-летнего конфликта и оккупации его земель Арменией страдает от проблемы загрязнения своих территорий минами и входит в число наиболее загрязненных минами стран в мире. По предварительным оценкам, около 12 процентов территории страны загрязнено 1,5 миллионами мин и неизвестным количеством неразорвавшихся боеприпасов.

    С момента окончания войны в 2020 году по сегодняшний день 361 наш гражданин, большинство из которых являются гражданскими лицами, стал жертвой мин, 68 из них погибли и 293 получили тяжелые ранения. В целом с начала военной агрессии Армении против Азербайджана от мин пострадали более 3400 наших граждан, в том числе 358 детей и 38 женщин. Среди основных причин ежедневного роста числа жертв мин – отказ Армении предоставить точные карты мин, зарытых ею на территории Азербайджана, установка мин-ловушек на дорогах, кладбищах и других объектах гражданского назначения, расположенных за бывшей линией соприкосновения. С 2020 по 2023 годы на территории Азербайджана были созданы новые заминированные зоны протяженностью до 500 км, вновь были установлены мины. Ответственность за это ложится на Армению.

    Трудности, с которыми мы сталкиваемся при разминировании, мешают в то же время работам по реконструкции и восстановлению, создают серьезные препятствия возвращению в свои дома 800 тысяч вынужденных переселенцев.

    Гуманитарное разминирование является одним из главных приоритетов государственной политики Азербайджана, и его основа была заложена по инициативе общенационального лидера азербайджанского народа Гейдара Алиева. В настоящее время основной структурой, осуществляющей деятельность по гуманитарному разминированию в нашей стране, является Агентство по разминированию Азербайджанской Республики – ANAMA.

    В результате проведенного по сегодняшний день процесса разминирования территория площадью около 140 тысяч гектаров очищена от 119 946 мин и неразорвавшихся боеприпасов. Однако площадь заминированных территорий гораздо больше. Устанавливать мины легко, а очищать от них территории – гораздо более трудный и сложный процесс. В короткие сроки мобилизовав с этой целью все свои силы, Азербайджан использует самые современные и передовые технологии, применяемые в мире. Мы постоянно проводим соответствующую работу для повышения эффективности в сфере разминирования, и в настоящее время наши возможности по сравнению с предыдущими годами значительно возросли. С прошлого года в Азербайджане начали действовать женские саперные группы.

    Наша страна осуществляет деятельность по гуманитарному разминированию практически полностью за счет собственных ресурсов. Адекватная политическая и практическая поддержка международного сообщества имеет большое значение для ликвидации гуманитарных последствий мин, очистки земель от мин.

    Параллельно со своей проблемой мин Азербайджан выступил с многочисленными инициативами с целью привлечения внимания международного сообщества к этому вопросу. Как вам известно, в прошлом году наша страна официально объявила гуманитарное разминирование 18-й Национальной целью устойчивого развития, и нами ведется постоянная работа для принятия этого вопроса в качестве глобальной 18-й ЦУР ООН. В то же время Азербайджан выступил с инициативой создания специальной контактной группы по гуманитарному разминированию в рамках Движения неприсоединения. Группа приступила к деятельности в сентябре прошлого года.

    На состоявшейся в 2013 году 15-й встрече сторон Гаагской конвенции 1954 года «О защите культурных ценностей в случае вооруженного конфликта» по инициативе Азербайджана была принята резолюция «Влияние мин на культурное наследие». В продолжение этой важной резолюции азербайджанская сторона организовала в мае текущего года в Агдаме специальную конференцию на тему «Воздействие мин и неразорвавшихся боеприпасов на культурную собственность».

    За последние три года наша страна совместно с ООН провела ряд международных конференций, посвященных минной теме. Являясь ключевыми дискуссионными платформами по вопросам противоминной деятельности, эти мероприятия также служат повышению внимания к данной важной проблеме, которая на современном этапе беспокоит человечество. В настоящее время Азербайджан вместе с ООН работает над созданием «Центра совершенства» по обучению противоминной деятельности. В рамках конференции будет подписан документ о намерении между ANAMA и Программой развития ООН. Это знаменательное событие поможет Азербайджану делиться своим опытом в данной сфере с другими странами, сталкивающимися с аналогичными проблемами.

    Сегодняшнее мероприятие демонстрирует решимость Азербайджана бороться с минами, являющимися одним из вызовов современности. Верю, что конференция внесет вклад в обсуждение проблемы мин, возможностей ликвидации всех вызванных ею последствий, в том числе экологических, а также будет способствовать обмену передовым опытом в сфере противоминной деятельности.

    Выражаю вам наилучшие пожелания, желаю успехов работе конференции».

    11:15

    Президент Азербайджана Ильхам Алиев направил обращение к участникам проходящей в Зангилане III Международной конференции по противоминной деятельности на тему «Снижение воздействия мин на окружающую среду - Мобилизация ресурсов для безопасного и зеленого будущего».

    Как сообщает Caliber.Az, информация об этом размещена на официальном сайте главы АР.

    Как сообщает Report, обращение главы государства зачитал помощник президента Азербайджана - заведующий отделом по вопросам внешней политики Администрации президента Хикмет Гаджиев.

    Caliber.Az

    Просмотров: 413

    Подписывайтесь на наш Telegram-канал


Читайте также

Ибрагим Мамедов награжден орденом «Эмек»

16 Июля 2024 - 15:33

Создается юрлицо публичного права «Республиканский банк крови» Указ президента

16 Июля 2024 - 15:20

Сменился глава Исполнительной власти Огузского района Распоряжение президента

16 Июля 2024 - 15:13

Алиев утвердил изменения в закон «О табаке и табачных изделиях»

15 Июля 2024 - 15:14

Кто будет выплачивать госпошлину в размере 150 манатов? Утверждены изменения в законе

15 Июля 2024 - 15:05

Ильхам Алиев утвердил изменения в закон «О продовольственной безопасности»

15 Июля 2024 - 15:00
РЕКЛАМА
Видео
Последние новости

    Баку и Тель-Авив обсудили сотрудничество по ВИЭ

    16 Июля 2024 - 15:52

    «Реал» презентовал Мбаппе

    16 Июля 2024 - 15:51

    AFP: Макрон примет отставку Атталя

    16 Июля 2024 - 15:50

    В Баку водитель сбил пешехода и скрылся с места ДТП

    ВИДЕО

    16 Июля 2024 - 15:50

    Турецкий спецназ зачищает горы Ирака

    ВИДЕО

    16 Июля 2024 - 15:38

    «Бірлестік-2024»: Организованы соревнования по тактическому ориентированию и стрельбе

    ФОТО

    16 Июля 2024 - 15:35

    Ибрагим Мамедов награжден орденом «Эмек»

    16 Июля 2024 - 15:33

    Иран отвергает план Байдена по урегулированию в Газе

    16 Июля 2024 - 15:22

    Создается юрлицо публичного права «Республиканский банк крови»

    Указ президента

    16 Июля 2024 - 15:20

    Так преображается «Молоканский садик»

    ФОТО/ВИДЕО

    16 Июля 2024 - 15:17

    США полностью выведут войска из Нигера

    16 Июля 2024 - 15:17

    СМИ: В Израиле задержаны иранские шпионы

    16 Июля 2024 - 15:17

    Число погибших в секторе Газа растет

    16 Июля 2024 - 15:16

    Асад назвал условия для встречи с Эрдоганом

    16 Июля 2024 - 15:15

    Иран оценил роль РФ и КНР в укреплении региональной безопасности

    16 Июля 2024 - 15:15

    Сменился глава Исполнительной власти Огузского района

    Распоряжение президента

    16 Июля 2024 - 15:13

    В Баку съезжаются руководители движений за независимость от Франции

    16 Июля 2024 - 15:12

    Азербайджан увеличивает производство стройматериалов

    16 Июля 2024 - 15:09

    Минобороны РФ: Сбиты украинский самолет Як-52 и 28 дронов

    16 Июля 2024 - 14:56

    Европарламент снова возглавила Роберта Метсола

    16 Июля 2024 - 14:55

    Налоговые поступления в Азербайджане превысили 8 млрд манатов

    16 Июля 2024 - 14:54

    Делегация Минэкономики Азербайджана посетит Италию

    ФОТО

    16 Июля 2024 - 14:46

    Финляндия выдворяет беженцев

    16 Июля 2024 - 14:44

    Госслужба: Граждане КНР могут посещать Азербайджан в безвизовом порядке трижды в течение года

    16 Июля 2024 - 14:42

    Выявлено почти 500 кибератак на госучреждения Азербайджана

    16 Июля 2024 - 14:36

    «Грапарак»: «Блудный сын» Пашинян вернется к «матушке России»

    16 Июля 2024 - 14:30

    NYT: Киев планирует завершить конфликт с Москвой

    16 Июля 2024 - 14:30

    Пять проблем Олимпиады-2024

    Al Jazeera о «готовности» Парижа

    16 Июля 2024 - 14:29

    США перебрасывают в Японию новейшие истребители

    16 Июля 2024 - 14:03

    В Азербайджане несовершеннолетняя родила мертвого ребенка

    16 Июля 2024 - 14:03

    СМИ: США попросили Иран повлиять на хуситов

    16 Июля 2024 - 13:53

    ВВП Азербайджана увеличивается

    16 Июля 2024 - 13:47

    «Катастрофа для Украины»: ЕС паникует из-за кандидатуры Вэнса

    16 Июля 2024 - 13:45

    ВС Турции продолжают уничтожать террористов в Сирии и Ираке

    ВИДЕО

    16 Июля 2024 - 13:42

    Урсула фон дер Ляйен пожаловалась Мишелю на Орбана

    16 Июля 2024 - 13:21

    Посол Собхани на службе у армянских реваншистов

    Приструнит ли Тегеран дипломата-провокатора?

    16 Июля 2024 - 13:21

    В Азербайджане на некоторых реках пройдут сели

    16 Июля 2024 - 13:18

    Аллахшукюр Пашазаде: Недопустимо причинять себе вред во время Ашуры

    ФОТО

    16 Июля 2024 - 13:12

    Сколько крови сдано в день Ашура?

    ЦИФРЫ/ОФИЦИАЛЬНО

    16 Июля 2024 - 13:08

    Песков о заявлении Зеленского насчет «второго саммита мира»

    16 Июля 2024 - 13:05

Все новости