Iran's new Azerbaijani president
    Implications for regional dynamics

    ANALYTICS  09 July 2024 - 14:43

    Serhey Bohdan
    Caliber.Az

    The news looks sensational. A local Azerbaijani, Masoud Pezeshkian, won the elections in Iran. In addition, he is heard as a liberal, even once advocated the decriminalisation of drug use, which involved not only considering drug addiction as a disease, but also the issuance of drugs by the state. But the election of Masoud Pezeshkian should not be considered a turning point in Iran's history.  

    There have always been Azerbaijanis in the leadership of modern Iran - sometimes even more committed to their culture. And the new president's program looks like the third edition of the very "reformist" projects launched by Rafsanjani, the "grey cardinal" of the Islamic Republic. In foreign policy, they were usually crushed by the West's unwillingness to negotiate. However, with regard to the South Caucasus, changes will indeed increase. Iran will distance itself from Armenia, but this is entirely Pashinyan's fault.

    The language of power is Azerbaijani

    Pezeshkian's Azerbaijani origin was immediately picked up by pro-Western Armenian commentators, who need to convince their fellow citizens that it was not Pashinyan who "lost" Iran with his invitations to foreign powers to bring troops into Armenia, but that the Iranians chose not just an Azerbaijani cryptonationalist, but a practically lurking pan-Turkist.

    In this regard, "irrefutable" evidence is cited. Pezeshkian, they say, has Azerbaijani as his first language, he later learnt Persian, he advocated for the recognition and cultural rights of the Turkic peoples of Iran, and most importantly, he is a fan of the Tabriz football team "Tractor". Armenian commentators follow its fans particularly jealously, interpreting any gesture of theirs as a harbinger of the imminent triumph of pan-Turkism in Iran.

    This is all very interesting, but there have already been Azerbaijanis in Iran's top leadership, and even with a more obvious Azerbaijani identity (Pezeshkian is half Kurdish). And the main among them is the current Supreme Leader of the Islamic Revolution, abbreviated Rahbar, Ali Khamenei. He does not hide his nationality. He was born and raised far away from Azerbaijan, in Mashhad, but he knows the language, calls for preservation of Azerbaijani language and culture, is known for his friendship with bilingual Azerbaijani-Iranian poet Mohammad Hossein Shahriar, with whom he even communicated in his native language.

    Khamenei also stood up for the rights of Turkic peoples - one can recall the story how during his visit to China he demanded to take him to Urumqi to address the Uyghurs there, and in Azerbaijani. The Chinese leaders were very displeased, but he did not back down.

    Khamenei has held the highest post in the state hierarchy for decades. And he is not alone in Iran's leadership and political establishment. There was a time, in the 1980s, when both the president (Khamenei), the prime minister (Mousavi) and the leader of the largest opposition force (Bazargan) were Azerbaijanis. But the policy of any relatively large and developed state is determined first of all by material and structural factors, and only then by the will of individuals.

    Yes, they influence something too, and Pezeshkian's arrival cannot but be a positive step in strengthening cultural rights and respect for the Turkic peoples of Iran, but the new president's capabilities should not be overestimated. For example, in 2016, he created a faction of Turkic-speaking MPs in Iran's previous Majlis and even became its chairman. It was stated that the faction managed to gather one hundred MPs (there are 290 MPs in the parliament in total), but as a result, the matter did not go further than the foundation of this association.

    Reforms or dismantling the state?

    However, in Pezeshkian's defence, it should be said that in Iran, with its polycentric political system in which power is dispersed among various institutions and agencies, the president can only achieve change through cooperation with other political actors. The Western media and the post-Soviet publications that copy them are unwilling to recognise the existence of mechanisms of expression of will and political pluralism in Iran. Everything is reduced to a two-way scheme:

    1) a certain "reformist" president is suddenly elected in Iran (Khatami, Rouhani and now Pezeshkian);

    2) after some time they don't like him anymore, and they explain - they say that Rahbar is just above the president, he gets in the way.

    This scheme has been repeated for thirty years. It is not only primitive, it is based on nothing but fantasies about Iran. Let's start with the most obvious absurdity - Rahbar is far from being the only centre of power capable of making life difficult for the president (and vice versa, the president can poison Rahbar's existence, as Ahmadinejad did). Rahbar is far from being omnipotent, as evidenced by the entire history of modern Iran, his task is rather to find a compromise between different political forces.

    Giving Rahbar fantastic superpowers is not the main problem with the typical scheme of explaining Iranian politics in the Western media. Its apologists completely ignore the existence of various political currents in Iran - why bother to understand the intricate names when you can simply divide everyone according to a universal arbitrary scheme - moderate/radical/conservative or conservative/reformist.

    Following this pattern, one wonders whether reforms in Iran will continue with the election of Pezeshkian. This in itself is a sly question. What is meant by these indescribable reforms? It seems that many Western media outlets only mean by them the dismantling of the Iranian system. In general, reforms as a serious modification of the state system, economic system, social and cultural spheres have been carried out in Iran regularly since 1979.

    And the presence of conservative (in the opinion of the West) presidents in power does not correlate well even with seemingly liberal reforms that the West approves of. Under Ahmadinejad, who has been called conservative or radical, leftist literature was returned to free circulation, subsidies hated by marketeers were cancelled, he himself questioned even taboo topics like assessments of the war with Iraq, and his vice-president Mashaei declared that Israelis are "not the enemy". Under conservative Raisi, however, the erosion of the previously mandatory hijab continued.

    Yes, the attempt to seriously change the foreign policy course in the 2010s was formally made in the years when the country was led by Rouhani, who was considered liberal and close to reformists. But many political forces considered conservative - such as Saeed Jalili, who was Pezeshkian's main rival in this election - were also directly involved in the "nuclear deal" with the West. And they, as Pezeshkian noted in the pre-election debates, did not turn out to be such staunch defenders of the Islamic Republic's interests and did not, for example, achieve the inclusion in the agreement of mechanisms that would help Tehran defend its interests in case Washington withdraws from the deal - which happened under Trump.

    Pezeshkian himself, as his biography shows, is a characteristic "nestling" of Ali-Akbar Hashemi-Rafsanjani, Iran's most influential statesman after 1979. It was Rafsanjani who from the mid-1990s onwards nurtured and raised a whole series of "reformist" projects, from Khatami to Rouhani and Zarif. Through these projects, the new Iranian elites that came to power after the revolution gradually rolled back the radical revolutionary aspects of the Iranian state, introduced a liberal economic system, sought compromises with the West, and shifted from Islamism to Iranian nationalism.

    Pezeshkian's statements fit into this pattern. For example, even when paying tribute to Qasem Soleimani, who was killed by the Americans, he distanced himself from religious motives. According to the new president, "the general was a hero who fought against oppression abroad regardless of whether they wore the hijab or not, whether they were religious or not." In addition, he called for looking after Iran's interests, because although "the honourable martyr Soleimani secured [Iraq], we are giving the market of [the said] country to others."

    Pezeshkian spoke extensively on economic issues. For example, he said that "incompetent, inexperienced and unskilled managers" were to blame for the dire economic situation. To understand what is meant, it is worth recalling his earlier criticism of large state-owned and public industrial and other companies that are controlled by managers from among the political opponents of the "reformist" camp. In addition to attempting changes in this area, the new president's team will continue the long-standing policy of all Iranian politicians associated with Rafsanjani of liberalising the economy and privatising state assets. Representatives of Pezeshkian's headquarters have already warned of higher petrol prices.

    Pashinyan achieved a change in Iranian policy in the South Caucasus

    No drastic changes in foreign policy should be expected. Pezeshkian will return to a modified version of the foreign policy of the previous "reformist" president, Rouhani, who held office until 2021. Firstly, he himself came out of that camp and will recruit his team from there. Second, Pezeshkian voiced program messages similar to the discourse of Rouhani's time. In particular, he stated that the main Iranian problem - inflation - is linked to Western sanctions and therefore we should strive to lift them. In addition, the newly elected president called for increased dialogue with other countries.

    The South Caucasus will clearly be among the modified moments of this policy. But this has nothing to do with the change of power in Tehran. Iran's relations with Azerbaijan began to improve and with Armenia to deteriorate long before Pezeshkian. The trend has become quite obvious since the early 2020s, and it has nothing to do with Iran's new president. But it is a direct consequence of the realisation of the idea-fix of Armenian Prime Minister Pashinyan and his associates - to replace one foreign troop (Russian) in Armenia with another (French, and preferably American).

    There has long been a consensus in the Iranian political establishment that the presence of extra-regional forces has a destructive effect on the respective regions. And if Yerevan's entire foreign policy strategy is built on the search for any overseas forces ready to deploy their armed forces in the South Caucasus in order to actually hand over responsibility for the country to them - then the deterioration of relations between Tehran and Yerevan is programmed here, no matter who is at the helm in Tehran.

    As for other countries in the region, the prospects look better. Although Tehran still has a lot of issues to resolve in its relations with Azerbaijan, a pragmatic approach will make them develop more effectively, including by weakening the imperative of maintaining close relations with Armenia, which narrowed the room for manoeuvre.  It is unlikely to expect serious problems in Iranian-Turkish relations as well - the countries are overcoming the consequences of the tensions that arose between them during the so-called "Arab Spring", especially with regard to Syria. Recently, the Turkish government announced the possibility of negotiations with the Syrian government and normalisation of relations, which would remove a serious obstacle to the development of Turkish-Iranian relations.

    Iranian establishment in search of a new leader

    In conclusion, it should be noted that the results of the elections held in Iran should not be reduced to the election of a president. The elections highlighted a number of unpleasant moments for the West. Fewer voters took part in them than before (turnout in the second round was 49.8 per cent), but these elections were extraordinary and therefore no political force could conduct a full-fledged election campaign and mobilise people in a month. And, by the way, even these decreased figures are quite comparable with the figures in the EU-NATO countries. The Western media do not write about the latter that the low turnout is evidence of the "rottenness of the regime".

    But the election highlighted another problem for Tehran. The election of Pezeshkian has not solved the most important task for Iranian domestic politics - finding a candidate to succeed Rahbar. The situation is not yet critical, but it is complicated. The current Rahbar Khamenei is three years older than President Biden, he looks even more efficient than Biden, and he has less work to do, because, as we have noted, he is far from being the omnipotent ruler he is portrayed as. But, given his 85 years of age, it is high time to select a successor, and according to Iranian laws, it should be from among more or less authoritative Islamic scholars-ulema. And he was selected and guided through responsible government posts, including the presidential post - the late Raisi was his successor.

    It is extremely difficult to find a new such unique candidate - relatively young, but with religious education at least close to the level of the ayatollah, and experience of serious managerial activity - such people are outnumbered.

    In principle, the Iranian political system is set up to deal with crisis situations, and the current Rahbar in 1988 was also found urgently to replace the previously prepared successor. But nevertheless the situation is a crisis, and therefore President Pezeshkian will clearly have more opportunities to "make history" than many of his predecessors.

    The views and opinions expressed by guest columnists in their op-eds may differ from and do not necessarily reflect the views of the editorial staff.

    Caliber.Az

    Subscribe to our Telegram channel


Read also

Palestinian unity deal: Illusion or path to peace? A day after

24 July 2024 - 14:56

Ocampo's misguided call: Former ICC prosecutor's absurd appeal to Armenians Exploiting COP29 for false narratives

24 July 2024 - 13:08

Türkiye building bridges in Africa via infrastructure & diplomacy Strategic investment cementing lasting ties

24 July 2024 - 09:26

Russo–Ukraine war: Black Sea battle scene Asymmetric warfare

23 July 2024 - 17:58

Could France’s anti-NATO rhetoric trigger domestic turmoil? Leftist Mélenchon's stance sparks historical echoes

24 July 2024 - 10:24

Biden bows out, intrigue persists Democratic drama

24 July 2024 - 15:44
ADVERTS
Video
Latest news

    Record sea surface temperatures fuel environmental crisis

    25 July 2024 - 07:09

    Northeast Asia's growing nuclear threat

    25 July 2024 - 05:12

    US should prioritize Iran negotiations to prevent Israel-Hezbollah war

    Analysis by Foreign Policy

    25 July 2024 - 03:10

    How US semiconductor restrictions may backfire?

    25 July 2024 - 01:06

    Barack Obama's silence on Kamala Harris

    Analyzing the strategic move

    24 July 2024 - 23:04

    US troop withdrawal from Niger to wrap up by early August

    24 July 2024 - 21:10

    US to invest $101 million in Pakistan to strengthen democracy

    24 July 2024 - 20:58

    UN rep: COP29 to play crucial role in maintaining global focus on climate issues

    24 July 2024 - 20:46

    Azerbaijan, Kyrgyzstan strengthen ties with new agreements

    PHOTO

    24 July 2024 - 20:34

    CIS observers review preparation for snap parliamentary election in Azerbaijan

    PHOTO

    24 July 2024 - 20:22

    Türkiye to assemble KAAN combat aircraft prototypes in 2025

    24 July 2024 - 20:10

    US ex-president commits to multiple debates with VP

    24 July 2024 - 19:58

    Saurya Airlines aircraft crash leaves 18 dead in Nepal

    PHOTO / VIDEO

    24 July 2024 - 19:46

    Germany announces date for Bundestag elections

    24 July 2024 - 19:34

    Media: Ex-Iranian President survives alleged assassination attempt

    24 July 2024 - 19:22

    Western protectionism vs Chinese green tech imports

    Caliber.Az on YouTube

    24 July 2024 - 19:10

    Turkish intelligence operation in Iraq targets key PKK/KCK figures

    24 July 2024 - 18:58

    2024 Summer Olympics begin in France with rugby, football matches

    24 July 2024 - 18:46

    YouTube removes Armenian singers’ songs plagiarizing Azerbaijani compositions

    24 July 2024 - 18:34

    Iran criticizes US, UK, France for silence on Israeli airstrikes

    24 July 2024 - 18:21

    Azerbaijani, Uzbek oil companies establish joint master's degree programme

    24 July 2024 - 18:08

    Azerbaijani, Israeli top diplomats mull bilateral relations, regional issues

    24 July 2024 - 17:56

    Azerbaijani presidential aide hosts outgoing Polish ambassador for farewell meeting

    24 July 2024 - 17:44

    Israel Defense Forces continues ground operation in Gaza Strip

    VIDEO

    24 July 2024 - 17:32

    Baku's big green leap: President Ilham Aliyev’s vision in anticipation of COP29

    Article by Dispatch News Desk

    24 July 2024 - 17:23

    Russia awaits further details on Ukraine’s negotiation readiness

    24 July 2024 - 17:20

    Armed сlash on Azerbaijan-Iran border leaves guards, intruder injured

    PHOTO

    24 July 2024 - 17:08

    Scholz announces bid for re-election as German chancellor

    24 July 2024 - 16:56

    Israeli former defence minister warns about Iran’s largest drills in Syria

    24 July 2024 - 16:44

    Iran detains ISIL terrorists in major operation

    24 July 2024 - 16:32

    Ukrainian drone strike on Russian ammo depot to exacerbate strained logistics chains

    Defence Intelligence report

    24 July 2024 - 16:20

    Türkiye set to transform into global high-tech hub

    24 July 2024 - 16:08

    Azerbaijani MFA expresses condolences to Ethiopia following tragic landslides

    24 July 2024 - 15:56

    Biden bows out, intrigue persists

    Democratic drama

    24 July 2024 - 15:44

    EU ambassadors approve another financial aid to Ukraine

    24 July 2024 - 15:32

    FM Szijjarto asserts Hungary's dependence on Russian oil via Ukraine

    24 July 2024 - 15:20

    Azerbaijan affirms readiness for talks with Armenia in Russia

    24 July 2024 - 15:17

    Azerbaijan, UN focus on mine threat in liberated lands

    PHOTO

    24 July 2024 - 15:08

    Palestinian unity deal: Illusion or path to peace?

    A day after

    24 July 2024 - 14:56

    Georgian PM links attack on ruling party founder to recent Fico, Trump incidents

    24 July 2024 - 14:44

All news

Иран и президент-азербайджанец: что ждет Тегеран и регион?
    Аналитика Сергея Богдана

    АНАЛИТИКА  08 Июля 2024 - 15:00

    Сергей Богдан
    Доктор политических наук, специально для Caliber.Az

    Новости выглядят сенсационно. На выборах в Иране победил местный азербайджанец Масуд Пезешкиан. Вдобавок, он слывет либералом, даже однажды выступал за декриминализацию потребления наркотиков, что предусматривало не только рассмотрение наркомании как заболевания, но и выдачу наркотиков государством. Но считать избрание Масуда Пезешкиана переломным этапом в истории Ирана не стоит.

    В руководстве современного Ирана азербайджанцы — порой даже более радеющие за свою культуру — были всегда. А сама программа нового президента выглядит как уже третье издание тех самых «реформистских» проектов, которые в свое время запустил «серый кардинал» Исламской Республики — Рафсанджани. Во внешней политике они обычно разбивались о нежелание Запада договариваться. Впрочем, в отношении Южного Кавказа изменения действительно будут нарастать. Иран отдалится от Армении, но это — всецело заслуга Пашиняна.

    Язык власти – азербайджанский

    Азербайджанское происхождение Пезешкиана немедленно подхватили прозападные армянские комментаторы, которым нужно убедить сограждан, что это не Пашинян «проиграл» Иран своими приглашениями к иностранным державам ввести войска в Армению, а иранцы выбрали себе не просто азербайджанского криптонационалиста, а практически затаившегося пантюркиста. В связи с этим приводятся «неопровержимые» доказательства. У Пезешкиана, дескать, первый язык — азербайджанский, персидский он потом выучил, он выступал за признание и культурные права тюркских народов Ирана, а самое главное — он фанат тебризской футбольной команды «Трактор». За ее болельщиками армянские комментаторы следят особенно ревностно, любой их жест истолковывая как предвестник близкого триумфа пантюркизма в Иране.

    Все это очень интересно, но в высшем руководстве Ирана уже были азербайджанцы, причем даже с более очевидной азербайджанской идентичностью (Пезешкиан вообще наполовину курд). И главный из них – нынешний Верховный лидер Исламской революции, сокращенно Рахбар, Али Хаменеи. Он своей национальности не скрывает. Родился и вырос вдалеке от Азербайджана, в Мешхеде, но язык знает, к сохранению азербайджанского языка и культуры призывает, известен и дружбой с двуязычным азербайджанско-иранским поэтом Мухаммад-Хосейном Шахрияром, с которым даже общался на родном языке. Да и за права тюркских народов Хаменеи заступался — вспоминается история, как он в ходе визита в Китай потребовал отвезти его в Урумчи, чтобы выступить перед тамошними уйгурами, причем по-азербайджански. Китайские руководители были очень недовольны, но он не отступил.

    Хаменеи занимает высший пост в государственной иерархии уже не первое десятилетие. И он не один такой в руководстве и политическом истеблишменте Ирана. Было время, в 1980-е, когда и президент (Хаменеи), и премьер (Мусави), и лидер крупнейшей оппозиционной силы (Базарган) были азербайджанцами. Но политика любого относительно крупного и развитого государства определяется прежде всего материальными и структурными факторами, и лишь затем — волей отдельных лиц. Да, и они на что-то влияют, и приход Пезешкиана не может не стать позитивным шагом в укреплении культурных прав и уважения к тюркским народам Ирана, но возможности нового президента не стоит переоценивать. К примеру, в 2016 году он создал фракцию тюркоязычных депутатов в иранском Меджлисе прошлого созыва и даже стал ее председателем. Было заявлено, что во фракцию удалось собрать сто депутатов (всего в парламенте 290 депутатов), но в результате дело не пошло дальше основания этого объединения.

    Реформы или демонтаж государства?

    Впрочем, в защиту Пезешкиана следует сказать, что в Иране с его полицентричной политической системой, в которой власть рассредоточена по различным институциям и учреждениям, президент может добиться перемен только через сотрудничество с другими политическими акторами. Западные СМИ и списывающие с них постсоветские издания признавать существование в Иране механизмов волеизъявления и политического плюрализма не желают. У них все сводится к двухходовой схеме:

    1) внезапно в Иране избирается некий президент-«реформист» (Хатами, Роухани и нынче Пезешкиан);

    2) через какое-то время он перестает им нравиться, и они объясняют — дескать, просто выше президента стоит Рахбар, он мешает.

     Эта схема повторяется уже лет тридцать. Она не просто примитивна, она ни на чем, кроме фантазий об Иране не основана. Начнем с самой очевидной нелепости — Рахбар является далеко не единственным центром силы, способным осложнить жизнь президенту (и наоборот, президент может отравить существование Рахбару как это делал Ахмадинежад). Рахбар далеко не всесилен, чему свидетельством вся история современного Ирана, его задача — это скорее поиск компромисса между различными политическими силами.

    Наделение Рахбара фантастическими суперспособностями — не главная проблема типовой схемы объяснения иранской политики в западных СМИ. Ее апологеты напрочь игнорируют и наличие в Иране разнообразных политических течений — зачем разбираться в замысловатых названиях, если можно просто разделить всех по универсальной произвольной схеме — умеренный/радикал/консерватор или консерватор/реформист.

    Следуя такой схеме, задается вопрос: продолжатся ли реформы в Иране с избранием Пезешкиана? Это сам по себе лукавый вопрос. Что подразумевается под этими неописуемыми реформами? Такое впечатление, что многие западные СМИ подразумевают под ними лишь демонтаж тамошней системы. А вообще реформы как серьезная модификация госсистемы, экономического строя, социальной и культурной сферы осуществлялись в Иране регулярно с самого 1979 года. И нахождение у власти консервативных (по мнению Запада) президентов плохо коррелирует даже с вроде бы либеральными реформами, которые одобряет Запад. При том же Ахмадинежаде, которого называли то консерватором, то радикалом, в свободный оборот вернули левую литературу, отменили ненавистные рыночникам субсидии, сам он ставил под сомнение даже темы-табу вроде оценок ведения войны с Ираком, а его вице-президент Машаи объявил, что израильтяне - «не враги». При консервативном же Раиси продолжилось размывание ранее обязательного порядка ношения хиджаба.

    Да, попытка серьезного изменения внешнеполитического курса в 2010-х формально была предпринята в годы, когда страной руководил Роухани, считавшийся либеральным и близким к реформистам. Но в «ядерной сделке» с Западом самое непосредственное участие принимали и многие политические силы, считающиеся консервативными — тот же Саид Джалили, ставший основным соперником Пезешкиана на этих выборах. И они, как заметил в предвыборных дебатах Пезешкиан, вовсе не оказались такими уж твердокаменными защитниками интересов Исламской Республики и не добились, например, включения в соглашение механизмов, которые помогли бы Тегерану отстоять свои интересы в случае выхода из сделки Вашингтона — что и случилось при Трампе.

    Сам Пезешкиан, как видно из его биографии, является характерным «птенцом гнезда» Али-Акбара Хашеми-Рафсанджани, самого влиятельного государственного деятеля Ирана после 1979 года. Именно Рафсанджани с середины 1990-х вскормил и взрастил целую серию «реформистских» проектов — от Хатами до Роухани и Зарифа. Посредством этих проектов новые иранские элиты, пришедшие к власти после революции, постепенно свертывали радикальные революционные аспекты иранского государства, вводили либеральную экономическую систему, искали компромиссов с Западом, переходили от исламизма к иранскому национализму.

    Заявления Пезешкиана вполне укладываются в эту схему. Например, даже отдавая дань памяти убитому американцами Касему Сулеймани, он дистанцировался от религиозных мотивов. По словам нового президента, «генерал был героем, который боролся против угнетения за рубежом независимо от того, носили там хиджаб или нет, были ли религиозны или нет». Вдобавок, он призвал заботиться об интересах Ирана, ведь хоть «уважаемый шахид Сулеймани обеспечил безопасность [Ирака], но мы отдаем рынок [упомянутой] страны другим».

    Пезешкиан много высказывался по вопросам экономики. Например, он заявил, что в тяжелой экономической ситуации повинны «некомпетентные, неопытные и неквалифицированные менеджеры». Чтобы понять, что имеется в виду, стоит вспомнить его прежнюю критику крупных государственных и общественных промышленных и прочих компаний, которые находятся под контролем менеджеров из числа политических оппонентов «реформистского» лагеря. Помимо попыток изменений в данной области, команда нового президента продолжит давний курс всех иранских политиков, связанных с Рафсанджани — на либерализацию экономики и приватизацию госимущества. Представители штаба Пезешкиана уже предупредили о повышении цен на бензин.

    Пашинян добился изменения иранской политики на Южном Кавказе

    Резких изменений во внешней политике ожидать не стоит. Пезешкиан вернется к модифицированной версии внешней политики времен предыдущего президента-«реформиста» - Роухани, занимавшего свой пост до 2021 года. Во-первых, он сам вышел из этого лагеря и будет набирать команду оттуда же. Во-вторых, Пезешкиан озвучил программные мессиджи, схожие с дискурсом времен Роухани. В частности, он заявил, что главная иранская проблема — инфляция — связана с западными санкциями, а потому надо стремиться к их снятию. Вдобавок, новоизбранный президент призвал к расширению диалога с другими странами.

    Среди модифицированных моментов этой политики явно окажется Южный Кавказ. Но это никак не связано со сменой власти в Тегеране. Отношения Ирана с Азербайджаном начали улучшаться, а с Арменией — ухудшаться задолго до Пезешкиана. Тенденция стала совсем уж очевидной с начала 2020-х, и она не имеет отношения к новому президенту Ирана. Зато она является прямым последствием реализации идеи-фикс армянского премьера Пашиняна и его соратников – заменить в Армении одни иностранные войска (российские) другими (французскими, а лучше американскими).

    В иранском политическом истеблишменте давно существует консенсус, что присутствие внерегиональных сил деструктивно влияет на соответствующие регионы. И если вся внешнеполитическая стратегия Еревана выстроена на поиске любых заморских и заокеанских сил, готовых развернуть свои вооруженные силы на Южном Кавказе, чтобы фактически передать им ответственность за страну — то здесь ухудшение отношений Тегерана и Еревана запрограммировано, кто бы ни стоял у руля в Тегеране.

    Что касается других стран региона, то здесь перспективы выглядят лучше. Хотя в отношениях с Азербайджаном Тегерану еще предстоит решить немало вопросов, но при прагматичном подходе они будут развиваться более эффективно, в т.ч. и за счет ослабления действия ранее действовавшего в иранской политике императива поддержания близких отношений с Арменией, который сужал пространство для маневра.  Вряд ли стоит ожидать и серьезных проблем в иранско-турецких отношениях — страны преодолевают последствия напряженности, которая возникла между ними в ходе т.н. «Арабской весны», особенно в отношении Сирии. Недавно турецкое правительство заявило о возможности переговоров с сирийским правительством и нормализации отношений, что устранит серьезную преграду и на пути развития турецко-иранских отношений.

    Иранский истеблишмент в поисках нового лидера

    В завершение стоит отметить, что результаты прошедших в Иране выборов не стоит сводить к избранию президента. Выборы высветили целый ряд неприятных для Запада моментов. В них приняло участие меньше избирателей чем ранее (явка во втором туре — 49,8%), но эти выборы были внеочередными и потому за месяц ни одна политическая сила не могла провести полноценную предвыборную кампанию и мобилизовать людей. И, кстати, даже эти снизившиеся показатели — вполне сопоставимы с показателями в странах ЕС-НАТО. О последних западные СМИ не пишут, что низкая явка свидетельствует о «прогнивании режима».

    Но выборы подчеркнули другую проблему Тегерана. Избрание Пезешкиана не решило важнейшей для иранской внутренней политики задачи — поиска кандидатуры преемника Рахбара. Ситуация пока не критичная, но сложная. Нынешний Рахбар Хаменеи на три года старше президента Байдена, он выглядит даже более работоспособным чем Байден и работы у него поменьше, ибо, как мы и отмечали, он - далеко не тот всесильный властитель, которым его рисуют. Но, учитывая его 85-летний возраст, подбирать преемника давно пора, причем согласно иранским законам, он должен быть из числа более или менее авторитетных исламских ученых-улемов. И он был подобран и проведен через ответственные государственные посты, в т.ч. президентский — им был покойный Раиси.

    Подобрать нового такого уникального кандидата — относительно молодого, но с религиозным образованием на уровне хотя бы близком к аятолле, и опытом серьезной управленческой деятельности — крайне сложно, такие люди наперечет.

    В принципе политическая система Ирана настроена на работу с кризисными ситуациями и нынешний Рахбар в 1988 году также был найден экстренно, дабы заменить ранее заготовленного преемника. Но тем не менее ситуация кризисная, а потому президенту-азербайджанцу Пезешкиана явно выпадет больше возможностей «делать историю» чем многим его предшественникам.

    Взгляды и мнения, выраженные гостевыми колумнистами в своих авторских статьях, могут отличаться от позиции редакции и не всегда отражают её взгляды.

    Caliber.Az

    Просмотров: 2935

    Подписывайтесь на наш Telegram-канал


Читайте также

Азербайджано-китайское партнерство против цинизма «первых среди равных» Размышления Теймура Атаева

25 Июля 2024 - 15:15

Не стоит ссориться с тем, кого не понимаешь «Неудобная правда» Самита Алиева

25 Июля 2024 - 16:45

Виртуальное оружие против Баку и Тегерана Кампания дезинформации в действии

25 Июля 2024 - 14:17

Азербайджан XVI-XIX веков в османских архивах «Непростая история» с Ризваном Гусейновым

25 Июля 2024 - 13:09

Приглашение к миру Ереван должен думать быстро

24 Июля 2024 - 20:08

Учения по дестабилизации Аналитика Лиманского

24 Июля 2024 - 17:00
РЕКЛАМА
Видео
Последние новости

    Трамп: Я угроза для них

    25 Июля 2024 - 17:28

    Название азербайджанской госструктуры ушло в историю

    Новая вывеска / ВИДЕО

    25 Июля 2024 - 17:23

    Минобороны Азербайджана предупредило Армению и ее покровителей

    Ереван готовится к очередной войне

    25 Июля 2024 - 17:21

    На Олимпийских играх установлен первый мировой рекорд

    25 Июля 2024 - 17:19

    Растет число клиентов азербайджанских банков

    25 Июля 2024 - 17:13

    Кремль: Идея Нетаньяху о создании нового альянса с США нуждается в пояснении деталей

    25 Июля 2024 - 17:10

    Полностью перекрываются две бакинские дороги

    КАРТЫ

    25 Июля 2024 - 17:07

    В Шуше начала работу скважинная станция наблюдения за землетрясениями

    ВИДЕО

    25 Июля 2024 - 17:02

    В торговую сферу Азербайджана будет инвестировано 5 млн долларов

    25 Июля 2024 - 17:01

    Харрис заявила о намерении участвовать в выборах

    25 Июля 2024 - 16:50

    Не стоит ссориться с тем, кого не понимаешь

    «Неудобная правда» Самита Алиева

    25 Июля 2024 - 16:45

    Число погибших в Газе возросло

    25 Июля 2024 - 16:41

    Путин и Лукашенко провели встречу на Валааме

    25 Июля 2024 - 16:36

    В Азербайджане увеличивается оборот платежных операций

    25 Июля 2024 - 16:36

    KOBİA: Между Азербайджаном и Катаром начинается новый этап развития экономических и деловых связей

    25 Июля 2024 - 16:30

    В Азербайджане планируется открыть около 30 ресторанов популярных брендов

    25 Июля 2024 - 16:27

    В Москве случайно задержали международного террориста, разыскиваемого Азербайджаном

    25 Июля 2024 - 16:27

    Кто будет учиться за рубежом за счет государства?

    СПИСОК

    25 Июля 2024 - 16:23

    Утверждена кандидатура Полада Бюльбюльоглу в депутаты

    25 Июля 2024 - 16:20

    В направлении Товуза нейтрализован армянский квадрокоптер

    25 Июля 2024 - 16:07

    Соратник Тер-Петросяна: Если завтра Армения станет членом ЕС, то наша экономика рухнет

    25 Июля 2024 - 16:02

    Израиль нанес удары по целям в южном Ливане

    ВИДЕО

    25 Июля 2024 - 16:02

    Ереван готовит ответные предложения Баку по мирному договору

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:56

    Северная Корея запустила в сторону Южной взрывающиеся шары

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:51

    Когда зарубежные доноры перестанут финансировать радикализм в Грузии?

    Мнение Кобахидзе

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:49

    Австралийские газетчики отказываются освещать Олимпийские игры в Париже

    Делать больше за меньшие деньги

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:46

    МЧС продолжает поиски подростка, утонувшего в Самур-Абшеронском канале

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:45

    Джейхун Байрамов встретился с молодыми дипломатами, начавшими работу в МИД

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:35

    Центробанк Узбекистана снизил основную ставку

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:30

    Израиль предупредил о вероятных терактах на Олимпиаде

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:28

    ЕК не приняла никаких мер против Украины

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:21

    В Румынии обнаружили обломки российских «Шахедов»

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:20

    Азербайджано-китайское партнерство против цинизма «первых среди равных»

    Размышления Теймура Атаева

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:15

    Представитель МО Китая: США стали империей лжи

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:12

    Блогер Джалилов инкогнито «засветился» за границей

    Псих-лечение пошло на пользу? / ВИДЕО

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:08

    Как в турецком Бодруме поймали исполнителя теракта в России?

    Видео задержания

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:08

    Али Асадов встретился с председателем Конституционного суда Турции

    ФОТО

    25 Июля 2024 - 14:55

    Иран считает выступление Нетаньяху позорным

    25 Июля 2024 - 14:49

    Обсуждали ли Путин и Асад Украину?

    25 Июля 2024 - 14:40

    Азербайджан и Казахстан приступят к прокладке волоконно-оптической линии связи

    25 Июля 2024 - 14:22

Все новости