"Contract of the Century": 29 years of non-stop development
    Azerbaijan marks glorious day of Oil Workers

    ECONOMICS  20 September 2023 - 17:36

    Khazar Akhundov
    Caliber.Az

    It is not a coincidence that Azerbaijan marks Oil Worker's Day on September 20. It was on this day 29 years ago that the solemn ceremony of signing the "Contract of the Century" on the development of the Azeri-Chirag-Guneshli oil field (ACG) took place. Since then, the country's rapidly developing oil and gas sector has become the engine of economic prosperity, maintaining macroeconomic stability at the expense of export profits, replenishing gold and foreign exchange reserves, and promoting the development of non-resource industries. It is gratifying that even today the energy sector is implementing capital-intensive projects, developing a powerful petrochemical complex, and measures are being taken for the digital and "green" transformation of the industry.

    Thanks to the long-term oil strategy developed by Azerbaijan's national leader Heydar Aliyev, the "Contract of the Century" signed in 1994 has turned into a kind of flywheel, spinning not only the oil sector, but also many other related industries, transport and services. Agreements on the development of the Azeri-Chirag and deep-water Gunashli offshore fields were signed for thirty years between the State Oil Company of Azerbaijan (SOCAR) and a consortium of 11 oil companies representing the world's leading countries - Great Britain, the USA, Russia, Norway, Türkiye and Saudi Arabia. The "Contract of the Century" was the first large-scale investment contract that attracted capital from Western transnational companies to the post-Soviet region, and this far-sighted move allowed Azerbaijan to bolster its geopolitical position, turning the country into a key energy and transport hub for the region.

    Subsequently, the Azerbaijan International Operating Company (AIOC) was established to implement the contract, and in the following years, other agreements were concluded for the development of a number of other fields. In general, from 1994 to the present day Azerbaijan has inked about four dozen contracts with foreign companies for the development of oil and gas fields at sea and onshore. It is worth mentioning here the development of two stages of the Shah Deniz gas condensate field, the construction of the Baku-Tbilisi-Ceyhan oil pipeline, the South Caucasus gas pipeline and the Southern Gas Corridor (SGC) pipeline network, as well as dozens of other energy projects already implemented.

    As a result, in 2000-2020 alone, the energy sector attracted 109.5 billion investments, which contributed to the rapid development of the oil and gas, petrochemical, transport and service sectors, and had a huge multiplier effect in the rest of the country's economic and social sectors. According to rough estimates, one job created in the oil industry leads to the creation of at least seven vacancies in related industries. About 15 thousand people were involved in the exploitation of ACG deposits during the period of active development of the field. Simple calculations show that the total number of jobs created in this field alone exceeded 100 thousand.

    In particular, since the first production-sharing agreement was signed, about $43 billion has been invested in the development of the ACG block of fields alone, and approximately the same amount is planned to be invested in the next 30 years. Thus, from the start of the first oil production at ACG in 2001 until September 1 of this year, 579 million tonnes of oil and 212 billion cubic metres of associated gas have been produced here, bringing total revenues to $168.6 billion. Despite some decline in well flow rate due to the depletion of a certain part of raw material reserves, this field is still quite profitable: for example, only from the beginning of 2023 and up to September 1, ACG brought a profit of $4.728 billion. And the total amount of bonuses paid by AIOC to the State Oil Fund of Azerbaijan to date was $2.8 billion.

    It is noteworthy that the work on the development of ACG reserves continues, as according to experts' estimates there are at least 500 million tonnes of unproduced oil reserves in this field today. In particular, on September 14, 2017, the Azerbaijani government and consortium partners signed an updated agreement on joint development and production sharing from ACG until 2050. As part of the work under the second contract, the Central-East Azeri (CEA) segment of ACG is authorised for development in 2019; this project is well underway, with drilling operations starting in October and the first oil from the new platform expected early next year.

    The $6 billion CEA project has already installed the topsides of the platform, which is expected to produce up to 100,000 barrels of oil per day and will produce up to 300 million barrels over the life of the project. All processes on the platform will be maximally automated and its operation will be controlled remotely from the Sangachal terminal through the introduction of an innovative computer control system.

    In general, oil and gas contracts concluded by Azerbaijan 29 years ago directly or indirectly ensured the opening of several hundred thousand jobs in the country, providing start-up capital for the modernisation of the non-oil industry, agricultural and transport sectors, etc. Among other things, the successful oil and gas strategy has contributed to the development of related industries: in recent years, the country has developed a modern petrochemical industry with the commissioning of polymer and methanol plants, a urea fertiliser production facility, modernisation of the Heydar Aliyev Baku Refinery, etc.

    Formed after the signing of the "Contract of the Century", Azerbaijan's long-term export policy confirms its historical significance and strategic depth with each passing year. In particular, the "Memorandum of Understanding on the EU-Azerbaijan Strategic Energy Partnership" was signed between Azerbaijan and the EU in July 2022 and currently, the shareholders of the Trans Adriatic Pipeline (TAP), which has a capacity of 10 billion cubic metres, are negotiating to increase its capacity due to the high demand for Azerbaijani gas. At the same time, the capacity of the Trans-Anatolian Gas Pipeline (TANAP) will be expanded, its current capacity is about 16 billion cubic metres per year. As a result, it is planned to develop new fields and increase gas production in Azerbaijan in order to double gas exports through the South Gas Pipeline to Europe by 2027, approximately up to 20 billion cubic metres per year.

    Thus, with the conclusion of the "Contract of the Century" on September 20, 1994, a new stage of Azerbaijan's economic revival and strengthening of state independence began. It was these arguments that prompted national leader Heydar Aliyev to sign a decree on August 16, 2001, to establish Oil Worker's Day, which has earned the right to be considered one of the most important professional holidays of the republic.

    Caliber.Az

    Subscribe to our Telegram channel


Read also

Central Bank: Insurance premiums in Azerbaijan grow significantly

20 June 2024 - 11:53

Azerbaijan's natural gas exports to EU surge Doubles market share

18 June 2024 - 16:36

Azerbaijan State Oil Fund joins global investors in major stake in GEMS Education

18 June 2024 - 16:21

Baku, Astana to invest $50.6 million in Trans-Caspian fiber optic cable project

18 June 2024 - 15:00

Azerbaijan's "green" transition as a beacon for oil-producing countries The Strait Times article

17 June 2024 - 13:30

Azerbaijan's economic achievements acknowledged by World Economic Forum

15 June 2024 - 16:40
ADVERTS
Video
Latest news

    US diplomacy, the Zangazur corridor

    Balancing interests in the Caucasus

    20 June 2024 - 15:14

    Guadeloupe seeks international support against French colonialism

    20 June 2024 - 15:11

    Tactical & special exercises held with radiation, chemical, and biological defense units

    VIDEO

    20 June 2024 - 14:58

    EU unhappy with Macron's overspending

    Paris is facing a fine

    20 June 2024 - 14:47

    Azerbaijan continues intensive construction of Horadiz-Agband railway line

    20 June 2024 - 14:43

    Russia – North Korea deal: a new geopolitical axis?

    New level ties

    20 June 2024 - 14:28

    Israeli forces eliminate Hamas special forces commander

    VIDEO

    20 June 2024 - 14:25

    Iran puts Rasht-Caspian railway line into operation

    20 June 2024 - 14:13

    Azerbaijani border troops thwart attempted drug smuggling from Iran

    PHOTO

    20 June 2024 - 14:00

    Pros and cons of CAESAR SAU purchase

    Examining Armenia's new arsenal

    20 June 2024 - 13:55

    Yerevan, Paris discuss developments in South Caucasus

    20 June 2024 - 13:46

    Senior diplomat: Russia plans to open consulate general in Armenia's Kapan

    20 June 2024 - 13:33

    Azerbaijan, Russia enhance legal cooperation with seminar, bilateral meeting

    PHOTO

    20 June 2024 - 13:20

    Institute for Study of War: Russian leader creating alternative to NATO

    20 June 2024 - 13:07

    Russian oil depot catches fire after suspected drone attack

    20 June 2024 - 13:01

    Swiss Re Europe forecast: Average temperature in Azerbaijan to rise by about 5%

    20 June 2024 - 12:57

    France's military moves in Armenia stir regional unease

    Fueling conflict in South Caucasus

    20 June 2024 - 12:55

    Minister: Azerbaijan to use experience of NAM to successfully host COP29

    20 June 2024 - 12:43

    French Thales signs agreements with Ukraine to strengthen front-line support

    20 June 2024 - 12:31

    Secretary General: NATO must be strengthened due to North Korea-Russia developing relations

    20 June 2024 - 12:18

    US expresses concern over Russia-North Korea growing cooperation

    20 June 2024 - 12:06

    Central Bank: Insurance premiums in Azerbaijan grow significantly

    20 June 2024 - 11:53

    Türkiye eyes to model earthquake risks in Azerbaijan

    20 June 2024 - 11:40

    UN Human Rights Council’s session participants condemn religious hatred in Europe

    20 June 2024 - 11:27

    Media: Armenia buys 36 CAESAR artillery units from France amid supply challenges

    20 June 2024 - 11:16

    Armenian PM wants to strengthen ruling party with new regional structures

    20 June 2024 - 11:15

    UNICEF: Nearly 2,000 children die daily from air pollution-related health issues

    20 June 2024 - 11:02

    US Central Command: Senior Daesh figure killed in airstrike in Syria

    20 June 2024 - 10:49

    Azerbaijan lambasts France for renewing fresh cycle of arming Armenia

    France fuels Armenia's militarization

    20 June 2024 - 10:37

    Ukraine, Georgia to restore ferry service

    20 June 2024 - 10:24

    European Commissioner for Climate Action to visit Azerbaijan due to preparation for COP29

    20 June 2024 - 10:12

    Russian deputy FM: Western agenda in South Caucasus contradicts regional interests

    20 June 2024 - 10:00

    Armenian FM to attend Collective Security Treaty Organisation’s event

    20 June 2024 - 09:47

    Baku Initiative Group to hold anti-colonialism conference at UN headquarters

    PHOTO

    20 June 2024 - 09:25

    Azerbaijan joins critical NATO interoperability evaluation with Qatar

    20 June 2024 - 09:12

    Politico: Final blow to Chinese "neutrality" on Ukraine war

    20 June 2024 - 09:00

    How can media react to disinformation, climate change?

    20 June 2024 - 08:03

    Kazakhstan's Polymetal faces sanctions fallout despite selling Russian assets

    20 June 2024 - 06:11

    Is a Palestinian state a fantasy?

    Turning chaos into a country

    20 June 2024 - 04:16

    Strategies to manage China's ascent in a shifting global order

    20 June 2024 - 02:10

All news

«Контракт века»: 29 лет непрерывного развития
    Обзор Caliber.Az

    ЭКОНОМИКА  20 Сентября 2023 - 12:40

    Хазар Ахундов
    Caliber.Az

    Совсем не случайно, что День нефтяника в Азербайджане отмечается 20 сентября. Именно в этот день 29 лет назад состоялась торжественная церемония подписания «Контракта века» по разработке блока нефтяных месторождений «Азери-Чираг-Гюнешли» (АЧГ). С тех пор стремительно развивающийся нефтегазовый сектор страны стал локомотивом развития экономики, поддерживая за счет экспортных прибылей макроэкономическую стабильность, пополняя золотовалютные резервы, а также способствуя развитию несырьевых отраслей. Отрадно, что и сегодня в энергетическом секторе реализуются капиталоемкие проекты, развивается мощный нефтехимический комплекс, осуществляются меры по цифровой и «зеленой» трансформации отрасли.

    Благодаря разработанной общенациональным лидером Азербайджана Гeйдaром Aлиeвым долгосрочной нефтяной стратегии, заключенный в далеком 1994 году «Контракт века» превратился в своеобразный маховик, раскрутивший не только нефтяную, но и множество других смежных отраслей промышленности, транспорта и сервиса. Соглашения о разработке блока морских месторождений «Азери-Чираг» и глубоководного «Гюнешли» были подписанные сроком на тридцать лет между Госнефтекомпанией Азербайджана (SOCAR) и консорциумом из 11 нефтяных компаний, представлявших ведущие государства мира - Великобританию, США, Россию, Норвегию, Турцию, Саудовскую Аравию. «Контракт века» стал первым масштабным инвестиционным контрактом, привлекшим капиталы западных транснациональных компаний в постсоветский регион, и этот дальновидный шаг позволил Азербайджану укрепить свои геополитические позиции, превратив страну в ключевой энерго-транспортный хаб региона.

    Следом, для реализации контракта, была создана Азербайджанская международная операционная компания (АМОК), и в последующие годы были заключены и другие договоренности по освоению ряда других месторождений. В целом, с 1994 года и по настоящее время Азербайджан подписал около четырех десятков контрактов с иностранными компаниями на разработку нефтяных и газовых месторождений на море и суше. Здесь уместно упомянуть разработку двух стадий газоконденсатного месторождения «Шахдениз», строительство нефтепровода Баку-Тбилиси-Джейхан, Южно-Кавказского газопровода и сети трубопроводов «Южного газового коридора» (ЮГК), а также десятки других уже реализованных энергетических проектов.

    В итоге, только в 2000-2020 годы в энергетический сектор удалось привлечь 109,5 млрд инвестиций, способствовавших бурному развитию нефтегазовой, нефтехимической, транспортной, сервисной сфер, и оказавших колоссальный мультипликационный эффект в остальных отраслях экономики и социальной сферы страны. По примерным оценкам, одно рабочее место, созданное в «нефтянке», ведет к образованию не менее семи вакансий в смежных отраслях. Только на разработке месторождений АЧГ в период активного освоения месторождения были задействованы порядка 15 тысяч человек. Несложные подсчеты показывают, что общее количество созданных только по одному этому месторождению рабочих мест превысило 100 тыс.

    В частности, со времени подписания первого соглашения о разделе продукции только в разработку одного лишь блока месторождений АЧГ было инвестированы порядка $43 млрд, приблизительно столько же инвестиций намечено вложить в последующие 30 лет. Так, с начала добычи первой нефти на АЧГ в 2001 году и по 1 сентября текущего года здесь произведено 579 млн тонн нефти и 212 млрд кубометров попутного газа, благодаря чему общий объем доходов составил $168,6 млрд. Несмотря на некоторое снижение дебита скважин в силу выработки определенной части запасов сырья, это месторождение по прежнему достаточно рентабельно: так, только с начала 2023 года и по 1 сентября АЧГ принесло прибыль в размере $4,728 млрд. А общий объем бонусов, выплаченных АМОК Госнефтефонду Азербайджана на сегодняшний день, составил $2,8 млрд.

    Примечательно, что работа по освоению запасов АЧГ продолжается, так как по оценкам специалистов сегодня на этом месторождении имеется не менее 500 млн тонн не добытых нефтяных запасов. В частности, 14 сентября 2017 года правительство Азербайджана и партнеры по консорциуму подписали обновленное соглашение о совместной разработке и долевом распределении добычи с АЧГ до 2050 года. В рамках работ по второму контракту в 2019 году санкционировано освоению сегмента АЧГ – «Центрально-Восточный Азери» (ACE), этот проект находится в стадии реализации: в октябре стартуют буровые работы, и первая нефть с новой платформы ожидается в начале будущего года. В рамках проекта ACE общей стоимостью в $6 млрд уже установлены верхние строения платформы, на которой планируется добыча до 100 тысяч баррелей нефти в сутки, и в течение всего срока реализации проекта будет добыто до 300 миллионов баррелей. Все процессы на платформе будут максимально автоматизированы, ее работа будет управляться дистанционно с Сангачальского терминала за счет внедрения инновационной системы компьютерного управления.

    В целом, заключенные Азербайджаном 29 лет назад нефтегазовые контракты напрямую или опосредованно обеспечили открытие в стране нескольких сотен тысяч рабочих мест, обеспечив стартовый капитал для модернизации ненефтяной промышленности, аграрного и транспортного сектора и т.д. В числе прочего, успешная нефтегазовая стратегия способствовала развитию смежных отраслей: в последние годы в стране сформирована современная нефтехимическая отрасль – были введены в строй полимерный и метанольный заводы, предприятие по производству карбамидных удобрений, модернизирован Бакинский НПЗ им Гейдара Алиева и т.д. 

    Сформированная после подписания «Контракт века» долгосрочная экспортная политика Азербайджана с каждым годом подтверждает свою историческую значимость и стратегическую глубину. В частности, в июле 2022 года между Азербайджаном и ЕС был подписан «Меморандум о взаимопонимании о стратегическом партнерстве в области энергетики между ЕС и Азербайджаном» и в настоящее время акционеры Трансадриатического газопровода (TAP), мощность которого составляет 10 млрд кубометров, ведут переговоры по увеличению его пропускной способности ввиду высокого спроса на азербайджанский газ. В то же время будет расширена пропускная способность Трансанатолийского газопровода (TANAP), его текущая мощность составляет порядка 16 млрд кубометров в год. В итоге запланировано освоение новых месторождений и наращивание производства газа в Азербайджане с тем расчетом, чтобы к 2027 году удвоить экспорт газа по ЮГК в Европу, ориентировочно до 20 млрд кубометров в год.

    Таким образом, с заключения «Контракта века» 20 сентября 1994 года начался новый отсчет возрождения экономики Азербайджана, укрепления государственной независимости. Именно эти аргументы побудили общенационального лидера Гeйдaра Aлиeва подписать 16 августа 2001 года указ об учреждении Дня нефтяника, заслужившего право считаться одним из важнейших профессиональных праздников республики.

    Caliber.Az

    Просмотров: 694

    Подписывайтесь на наш Telegram-канал


Читайте также

В двух селах Азербайджана впервые будут проведены линии электропередачи

03 Марта 2024 - 22:31

Глава Минэнерго Азербайджана встретился с алжирским коллегой

03 Марта 2024 - 12:26

Китай и ЕС ставят на Средний коридор Реалии и перспективы

02 Марта 2024 - 16:50

Рустамов: Для управления железной дорогой Баку-Тбилиси-Карс будет создано совместное предприятие

02 Марта 2024 - 16:43

Азербайджан обсудил с TikTok возможности сотрудничества

02 Марта 2024 - 14:41

Пярвиз Шахбазов находится с визитом в Алжире

02 Марта 2024 - 11:14
РЕКЛАМА
Видео
Последние новости

    Конгресс достиг договоренностей по бюджету США

    04 Марта 2024 - 04:30

    В Турции произошла цепная авария, есть погибшие

    04 Марта 2024 - 03:30

    Председатель парламента Болгарии прибыл в Азербайджан

    ФОТО

    04 Марта 2024 - 02:30

    Новый законопроект по помощи Украине от США может появиться в марте-апреле

    04 Марта 2024 - 02:00

    У берегов Новой Зеландии произошло сильное землетрясение

    04 Марта 2024 - 01:30

    Эрдоган поздравил Шарифа с переизбранием на пост премьера Пакистана

    04 Марта 2024 - 01:00

    В Азербайджане столкнулись два автомобиля, есть пострадавшие

    04 Марта 2024 - 00:35

    Канада внесла в списки санкций против России шесть человек

    04 Марта 2024 - 00:18

    В Беларуси впервые возбуждено уголовное дело за отрицание геноцида

    03 Марта 2024 - 23:53

    Главный тренер «Нефтчи»: Мы не заслужили столь крупного поражения

    03 Марта 2024 - 23:35

    Жители Швейцарии на референдуме проголосовали за выплату 13-й пенсии

    03 Марта 2024 - 23:19

    Гурбан Гурбанов: Не смогли контролировать игру так, как хотелось бы

    03 Марта 2024 - 23:03

    Азербайджанские дзюдоисты стали первыми, завоевав 16 медалей

    03 Марта 2024 - 22:49

    В двух селах Азербайджана впервые будут проведены линии электропередачи

    03 Марта 2024 - 22:31

    Чешские дипломаты не смогли покинуть Индию из-за проблем с самолетом

    03 Марта 2024 - 22:15

    В Иране казнили планировавшего диверсию на объекте Минобороны

    03 Марта 2024 - 22:01

    АПЛ: «Сити» победил в манчестерском дерби

    03 Марта 2024 - 21:47

    В Баку прошло мероприятие, посвященное памяти Нуру Паши

    ФОТО

    03 Марта 2024 - 21:28

    Капитан «Нефтчи» получил травму в игре против «Карабаха»

    03 Марта 2024 - 20:59

    Омбудсмен обратилась к мировой общественности в связи со взрывом мины в Агдаме

    03 Марта 2024 - 20:39

    ЧЕ-2024: Гандболистки сборной Азербайджана уступили Литве

    03 Марта 2024 - 20:12

    В турецкой Малатье произошло землетрясение

    03 Марта 2024 - 19:45

    Азербайджанский боксер начал лицензионный турнир в Италии с победы

    03 Марта 2024 - 19:28

    РФ сбросила авиабомбу на центр Курахово Донецкой области

    Ранены 16 человек

    03 Марта 2024 - 19:19

    Премьер-лига: «Сабаил» обыграл «Габалу»

    03 Марта 2024 - 18:45

    Папа Римский призвал к прекращению гонки вооружений

    03 Марта 2024 - 18:30

    Глава МИД Венгрии посоветовал Киеву не откладывать переговоры с РФ

    03 Марта 2024 - 18:15

    Президент Латвии отреагировал на комментарий Маска о НАТО

    03 Марта 2024 - 18:00

    NYT: часть голосовавших за Байдена американцев теперь поддерживает Трампа

    03 Марта 2024 - 17:45

    В Хачмазе столкнулись легковые автомобили, пострадали четыре человека

    ФОТО

    03 Марта 2024 - 17:39

    ВС Сирии предотвратили проникновение боевиков на военный объект на северо-западе страны

    03 Марта 2024 - 17:30

    В ГЭЦ Азербайджана назвали сроки начала обработки экзаменационных протоколов

    03 Марта 2024 - 17:26

    В Имишлинском районе 17-летняя девушка отравилась угарным газом

    03 Марта 2024 - 17:21

    На севере Буркина-Фасо боевики убили 170 человек

    03 Марта 2024 - 17:15

    В Малайзии хотят возобновить поиски пропавшего 10 лет назад рейса MH370

    03 Марта 2024 - 17:00

    В Сирии не менее шести человек погибли в ДТП с автобусом

    03 Марта 2024 - 16:48

    Президент ТРСК: Мы хотим вывести отношения с Азербайджаном на более высокий уровень

    03 Марта 2024 - 16:40

    На дорогах в ряде регионов Азербайджана ожидается гололед

    03 Марта 2024 - 16:32

    В Гяндже 64-летний мужчина совершил суицид в больнице

    03 Марта 2024 - 16:26

    В Азербайджане свыше 52 тыс. учащихся сдали выпускной экзамен

    ОБНОВЛЕНО

    03 Марта 2024 - 16:17

Все новости