Western Azerbaijan Community sends letter to UNESCO Director-General Audrey Azoulay

    POLITICS  27 March 2023 - 14:56

    The Western Azerbaijan Community sent a letter to UNESCO Director-General Audrey Azoulay.

    According to Azertag, the appeal, which was signed by the leadership of the Community, as well as intellectuals, cultural and artistic figures, poets, and writers from Western Azerbaijan states the following:

    “Being deeply concerned with the destruction of Azerbaijani cultural heritage in Armenia, and echoing previous appeals from the Azerbaijani society to UNESCO, we are writing this letter to kindly ask you to send a fact-finding mission to Armenia to monitor the state of Azerbaijani cultural heritage there.

    Our organization, which was established in 1989, deals with the protection of the rights of Azerbaijanis expelled from the territory of nowadays Armenia.

    All Azerbaijanis were expelled from Armenia, where they once constituted the absolute majority. Azerbaijani historical and cultural heritage, including mosques and graveyards in nowadays Armenia, were destroyed on a large scale.

    The Government of Armenia destroyed and damaged Azerbaijani tangible and intangible cultural heritage therein by direct actions and conducting propaganda designed to promote or incite ethnic discrimination directed against Azerbaijanis. The destruction took place before, during and in the aftermath of the military aggression of Armenia against Azerbaijan. Most of the Azerbaijani cultural heritage in Armenia was destroyed in a pre-planned manner outside military hostilities. In other words, the driving force for the destruction of Azerbaijani cultural heritage has been the systematic policy of racial discrimination by the Government of Armenia aimed at creating a mono-ethnic and mono-cultural space, a notorious objective that has unfortunately become the reality in this country.

    Armenia’s wrongdoing against Azerbaijani heritage also includes misappropriation and alteration of the pieces of heritage. The only surviving mosque in Armenia, the Blue Mosque in the capital Irevan, is misrepresented as ‘a Persian mosque’, in a fallacious and offensive manner. In fact, the mosque was built and for centuries had been attended by Azerbaijanis, who used to constitute the absolute majority in the city. Moreover, presenting the mosque as belonging to one ethnicity is an attack on our religion, which does not divide its places of worship according to ethnicities, but rather unites people regardless of race or ethnicity.

    Armenia continues to obliterate the last remaining traces of Azerbaijani culture. The Tapabashi quarter of Irevan city is the only piece of the historical old town of Irevan that has survived to this day. This quarter keeps in its memory the historical code of Irevan from the 17th century to the present day. The Tapabashi neighborhood, historically inhabited by Azerbaijanis, is now under threat of total annihilation. Armenian authorities are about to completely demolish the quarter.

    Armenia’s discrimination and ethnic cleansing have made a devastating impact on Azerbaijani intangible heritage as well. For example, the Goycha Ashiq school, the backbone of the Art of Azerbaijani Ashiq, itself inscribed on the UNESCO Representative List of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity, took an irreplaceable loss due to Armenia’s ethnic cleansing against Azerbaijanis of the Goycha district, in nowadays Armenia. The Government of Armenia even demonstratively destroyed the monument and the grave of Ashiq Alasgar, a prominent representative of the Art of Azerbaijani Ashiq, in his native Goycha.

    The destruction of and damage to Azerbaijani cultural heritage by Armenia has made a detrimental impact on the enjoyment of our cultural rights, in particular, the right of everyone to access and enjoy cultural heritage. The violation of this right threatens stability, social cohesion and cultural identity, and constitutes an aggravating factor in regional security and a major obstacle to dialogue, peace and reconciliation.

    We champion the peaceful return of the expelled Azerbaijanis from Armenia in safety and dignity, and after the return ensuring the full enjoyment, as a collective or as individuals, of all human rights and fundamental freedoms as recognized in the Charter of the United Nations, the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and international human rights law. This requires inter alia making Armenia fulfill its obligations under international law to restore, protect and preserve Azerbaijani cultural heritage and property in Armenia.

    Protection of cultural heritage is not only a requirement of international humanitarian law but also a fundamental human right as recognized in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. Enjoying cultural heritage is central to the concept of dignified return of expelled people. Ensuring cultural rights, i.e. human creativity in all its diversity and the conditions for it to be exercised, developed, made accessible, preserved and protected, is part of our fundamental rights, which Armenia has the obligation to ensure prior to, during and after our return to our homes.

    Therefore, we seek the support of UNESCO in restoring and preserving our cultural heritage. Sending a fact-finding mission to Armenia to assess the state of Azerbaijani cultural heritage in this country, as well as the level of compliance of Armenia with its international obligations relating to the protection of cultural heritage and cultural rights, would be an invaluable contribution to reversing the damage to the cultural heritage of mankind and thereby attaining the lasting peace.

    Our organization stands ready to collaborate with UNESCO in carrying out activities aimed at assessing, restoring, preserving and protecting Azerbaijani cultural heritage in Armenia, and ensuring the cultural rights of Azerbaijanis expelled from Armenia to access and enjoy their cultural heritage.”

    A copy of the letter was sent to the President of the UN Human Rights Council, and the UN Special Rapporteur in the field of cultural rights.

    Caliber.Az

    Subscribe to our Telegram channel


Read also

Azerbaijani parliament speaker discusses COP29 with counterparts from Belarus, Ethiopia

12 July 2024 - 12:24

Joint military exercise "Birlestik-2024" commences with solemn ceremony in Aktau PHOTO / VIDEO

12 July 2024 - 10:48

Azerbaijan issuing free electronic "COP29 Special Visas" for foreign attendees

12 July 2024 - 10:24

Azerbaijan to host parliamentary meeting during COP29

12 July 2024 - 10:00

Christian Solidarity Int’l misuses UN platform for anti-Azerbaijani event - community

11 July 2024 - 19:29

Parliament Speaker: France seeks to escalate tensions in South Caucasus

11 July 2024 - 18:22
ADVERTS
Video
Latest news

    Armenian, Georgian defence ministers ink cooperation plan

    12 July 2024 - 17:42

    Official: Armenia ready for peace treaty

    12 July 2024 - 17:30

    US leader condemns Putin as “murderous madman on march”

    12 July 2024 - 17:18

    UK intelligence reports surge in Russian Army losses in Ukraine

    12 July 2024 - 17:07

    Azerbaijan initiates $500 million fund for "green projects" ahead of COP29

    12 July 2024 - 16:55

    Tatneft to partner with SOCAR in development of historic Azerbaijani oil field

    12 July 2024 - 16:43

    How will the Washington summit shape NATO's future?

    Reforms and strategic decisions

    12 July 2024 - 16:30

    Strategic move by Khamenei in the face of rising unrest

    Masoud Pezeshkian’s presidential win

    12 July 2024 - 16:19

    Kremlin: No plans to restrict YouTube access in Russia

    12 July 2024 - 16:07

    President of Azerbaijan Ilham Aliyev completes state visit to Pakistan

    12 July 2024 - 15:56

    UK faces major cyber threats from Russia, China, North Korea, and Iran

    Syber security chief says

    12 July 2024 - 15:55

    Baku, Astana, and Tashkent set to sign green energy partnership agreement

    12 July 2024 - 15:43

    Russian president’s special envoy to visit Azerbaijan

    Ahead of COP29

    12 July 2024 - 15:31

    PM declares prioritization of real Armenia over historical myths

    More actions - less words

    12 July 2024 - 15:30

    France and Corsica have no common destiny

    "The Island of Beauty" breaks free

    12 July 2024 - 15:19

    Supporting Ukraine while eyes are on China

    Washington Summit unveils NATO’s dual focus

    12 July 2024 - 15:17

    UN to showcase advanced clean energy projects at COP29 in Baku

    12 July 2024 - 15:03

    Palestinian Resistance continue fierce clashes with Israeli Army in Gaza

    12 July 2024 - 14:50

    Azerbaijani Agriculture Minister invites Hungarian counterpart for official visit

    12 July 2024 - 14:36

    Azerbaijan announces verdict for offender accused of Khojaly genocide

    UPDATE

    12 July 2024 - 14:27

    Azerbaijani, Pakistani leaders strengthen ties in Islamabad meeting

    PHOTO

    12 July 2024 - 14:24

    Greece rules out transfer of Patriot, S-300, or F-16 to Ukraine

    12 July 2024 - 14:12

    Uzbekistan invests funds in Azerbaijan's textile industry

    12 July 2024 - 14:00

    Four European nations agree to jointly develop long-range cruise missiles

    12 July 2024 - 13:48

    ISW: Finnish authorities report surge in GPS disruptions originating from Russia

    12 July 2024 - 13:36

    TRNC proposes turning Famagusta port into base for Turkic countries

    12 July 2024 - 13:24

    Turkish leader calls for Istanbul process revival

    12 July 2024 - 13:12

    Reevaluating Azerbaijani-Ukrainian relations

    A complex landscape

    12 July 2024 - 13:00

    Türkiye aims for full membership in Shanghai Cooperation Organisation

    VIDEO

    12 July 2024 - 12:48

    Romania commits to training Ukrainian F-16 pilots

    12 July 2024 - 12:36

    Azerbaijani parliament speaker discusses COP29 with counterparts from Belarus, Ethiopia

    12 July 2024 - 12:24

    Media: Indian state refiners pursue long-term oil import agreement with Russia

    12 July 2024 - 12:12

    Russia’s discontent grows over Armenia’s NATO involvement

    Western weapons may destabilise South Caucasus

    12 July 2024 - 12:00

    Brazil to invite Russian leader to G20 summit

    12 July 2024 - 11:48

    Baku Shipyard: Driving production growth through sustainable innovation

    Euronews talks to Chairman Elshad Nuriyev

    12 July 2024 - 11:36

    EU targets Chinese electric vehicles with new tariffs

    12 July 2024 - 11:12

    Russia pushes for quick resolution of Armenia-Belarus dispute

    12 July 2024 - 11:00

    Joint military exercise "Birlestik-2024" commences with solemn ceremony in Aktau

    PHOTO / VIDEO

    12 July 2024 - 10:48

    Romania, Bulgaria, Greece sign deal to boost military mobility

    12 July 2024 - 10:36

    Azerbaijan issuing free electronic "COP29 Special Visas" for foreign attendees

    12 July 2024 - 10:24

All news

Община Западного Азербайджана направила письмо генеральному директору ЮНЕСКО Одри Азуле

    ПОЛИТИКА  27 Марта 2023 - 14:30

    Община Западного Азербайджана направила письмо генеральному директору ЮНЕСКО Одри Азуле.

    Как сообщает Азертадж, в обращении, подписанном руководcтвом общины, интеллигенцией, деятелями культуры и искусства, литераторами из Западного Азербайджана, говорится:

    «Будучи глубоко обеспокоены разрушением азербайджанского культурного наследия в Армении, мы, как и в предыдущих обращениях азербайджанской общественности в ЮНЕСКО, еще раз просим Вас направить миссию по установлению фактов для мониторинга состояния азербайджанского культурного наследия в Армении.

    Наша организация, созданная в 1989 году, занимается защитой прав азербайджанцев, изгнанных с территории нынешней Армении.

    Азербайджанцы были полностью изгнаны из Армении, где некогда составляли абсолютное большинство населения. Их историческое и культурное наследие на территории современной Армении, включая мечети и кладбища, было подвергнуто массовому разрушению.

    Своими действиями и пропагандой этнической дискриминации в отношении азербайджанцев руководство Армении разрушило или нанесло ущерб азербайджанскому материальному и нематериальному культурному наследию. Разрушение происходило до, во время и после армянской военной агрессии против Азербайджана. Практически все азербайджанское культурное наследие в Армении было уничтожено вне последствий военных действий в заранее спланированной форме. Иными словами, движущей силой уничтожения культурного наследия Азербайджана стала систематическая политика расовой дискриминации руководства Армении, направленная на создание моноэтнического и монокультурного пространства, и, к сожалению, эти гнусные цели были воплощены в реальность.

    Беззакония, совершенные Арменией против культурного наследия азербайджанцев, включают присвоение и искажение образцов наследия. Голубая мечеть в Ереване, единственная сохранившаяся мечеть в Армении, заведомо ложно представляется в качестве «персидской мечети». На самом деле ее построили азербайджанцы, которые в то время составляли абсолютное большинство населения города, и они же веками отправляли в ней обряды. Более того, относить мечеть к одной этнической группе является неуважением к нашей религии, которая не делит места поклонения по этническому признаку, а объединяет всех людей, независимо от расы или этнической принадлежности.

    Руководство Армении продолжает уничтожать там последние следы азербайджанской культуры. Квартал Тепебаши в Ереване – единственный сохранившийся до наших дней фрагмент исторического центра города. Этот квартал хранит историческую память Еревана с XVII века до наших дней. Квартал Тепебаши, исторически заселенный азербайджанцами, сейчас находится под угрозой исчезновения. Власти Армении намерены полностью снести квартал.

    Политика дискриминации и этнических чисток Армении оказала разрушительное воздействие на нематериальное культурное наследие Азербайджана. К примеру, этническая чистка, проведенная Арменией против азербайджанцев в Гёйчинском махале, нанесла непоправимую рану ашугской школе Гейчи, являющейся колыбелью азербайджанского ашугского искусства, которое было включено в Репрезентативный список нематериального культурного наследия человечества ЮНЕСКО. Руководство Армении даже демонстративно разрушили памятник и могилу видного представителя азербайджанского ашугского искусства Ашуга Алескера в его родной Гёйче.

    Разрушение и повреждение Арменией культурного наследия Азербайджана нарушает наши культурные права, в частности, наше право на доступ к культурному наследию и пользование им. Нарушение этого права угрожает стабильности, общественной сплоченности и культурной самобытности и является серьезным препятствием к диалогу, миру и примирению как фактор, усугубляющий региональную безопасность.

    Мы ведем борьбу за безопасное и достойное возвращение изгнанных из Армении азербайджанцев в свои дома в соответствии с правами и основными свободами, признанными в Уставе Организации Объединенных Наций и Всеобщей декларации прав человека, и за обеспечение их коллективного и индивидуального права после возвращение. Это, наряду с другими вопросами, требует от Армении выполнения своих обязательств в рамках международного права в отношении восстановления, защиты и сохранения азербайджанского культурного наследия и находящегося там имущества.

    Защита культурного наследия является требованием не только международного гуманитарного права, но и вытекающим из предоставления основных прав, признанных во Всеобщей декларации прав человека. Использование культурного наследия является одним из ключевых элементов подхода к достойному возвращению перемещенных лиц. Культурные права, то есть человеческое творчество во всем его многообразии и обеспечение условий для его реализации, развития, доступа, сохранения и защиты, являются неотъемлемой частью наших основных прав.

    Армения имеет обязательство по обеспечению этого права до, во время и после нашего возвращения.

    Учитывая все это, мы просим поддержки ЮНЕСКО в восстановлении и защите нашего культурного наследия. Направление миссии по установлению фактов с целью оценки состояния азербайджанского культурного наследия в этой стране, а также соблюдения Арменией своих международных обязательств в отношении защиты культурного наследия и культурных прав явилось бы неоценимым вкладом в дело ликвидации ущерба культурному наследию человечества в целом и, таким образом, в достижение прочного мира.

    Наша организация готова сотрудничать с ЮНЕСКО в направлении оценки, восстановления, сохранения и защиты азербайджанского культурного наследия в Армении, обеспечения культурных прав азербайджанцев, изгнанных из Армении, на пользование своим культурным наследием».

    Копия обращения направлена председателю Совета ООН по правам человека, господину Вацлаву Балеку и специальному докладчику ООН в области культурных прав госпоже Александре Ксантаки».

    Caliber.Az

    Просмотров: 399

    Подписывайтесь на наш Telegram-канал


Читайте также

Начался прием документов для регистрации кандидатов на парламентских выборах в Азербайджане

13 Июля 2024 - 00:06

Сахиба Гафарова приняла участие в заседании Совета МПА СНГ ФОТО

12 Июля 2024 - 22:12

Госвизит Ильхама Алиева в Пакистан в центре внимания мировых СМИ ФОТО

12 Июля 2024 - 21:55

Команда COP29 провела встречу с министрами окружающей среды в Будапеште

12 Июля 2024 - 18:52

Мухтар Бабаев обсудил с венгерским министром борьбу с изменением климата

12 Июля 2024 - 18:19

Глава ЦИК назвал количество обратившихся для регистрации кандидатуры в депутаты

12 Июля 2024 - 17:04
РЕКЛАМА
Видео
Последние новости

    ХАМАС требует письменных гарантий, что Израиль не возобновит конфликт

    13 Июля 2024 - 00:30

    Состоялась встреча с азербайджанскими журналистами, аккредитованными на Париж-2024

    13 Июля 2024 - 00:29

    Спонсоры демократов заморозили 90 млн долл до замены Байдена

    13 Июля 2024 - 00:10

    Начался прием документов для регистрации кандидатов на парламентских выборах в Азербайджане

    13 Июля 2024 - 00:06

    В Нигерии обвалилась часть здания школы, погиб 21 ученик

    12 Июля 2024 - 23:56

    В Тбилиси обвинили западных послов в шантаже Грузии

    12 Июля 2024 - 23:42

    Эрдоган оценил риски начала третьей мировой войны

    12 Июля 2024 - 23:28

    США заморозили помощь Грузии

    12 Июля 2024 - 23:14

    Эрдоган анонсировал шаги по нормализации отношений с Сирией

    12 Июля 2024 - 23:09

    «Интер» продлил контракт с главным тренером Индзаги

    12 Июля 2024 - 23:00

    Азербайджанские гимнастки взяли шесть золотых медалей на турнире в Италии

    12 Июля 2024 - 22:56

    Эрдоган: Турция обсуждает с РФ и Украиной новый зерновой коридор

    12 Июля 2024 - 22:50

    В Грузии заявили о готовности улучшать отношения с США

    12 Июля 2024 - 22:46

    Эрдоган назвал получение истребителей F-16 приоритетом для Турции

    12 Июля 2024 - 22:40

    Серхио Гомес перешел в «Реал Сосьедад»

    12 Июля 2024 - 22:32

    В Израиле заявили, что Турция не должна быть членом НАТО

    12 Июля 2024 - 22:20

    Эрдоган рассказал, когда может быть открыта граница с Арменией

    12 Июля 2024 - 22:18

    Сахиба Гафарова приняла участие в заседании Совета МПА СНГ

    ФОТО

    12 Июля 2024 - 22:12

    Байден: Израиль и ХАМАС обсуждают детали перемирия в Газе

    12 Июля 2024 - 22:04

    В Тбилиси прошел семинар, посвященный COP29

    ФОТО

    12 Июля 2024 - 22:02

    YouTube удалил армянский плагиат азербайджанской песни «Карабах»

    12 Июля 2024 - 21:59

    Госвизит Ильхама Алиева в Пакистан в центре внимания мировых СМИ

    ФОТО

    12 Июля 2024 - 21:55

    Маск расскрыл суть секретного предложения ЕК

    12 Июля 2024 - 21:50

     МИД Таджикистана о китайской секретной военной базе

    12 Июля 2024 - 21:36

    ООН: Численность населения Земли достигнет пика к 2084 году

    12 Июля 2024 - 21:12

    В Сумгайыте автобус столкнулся с фурой, 12 человек пострадали

    ФОТО/ОБНОВЛЕНО

    12 Июля 2024 - 21:08

    Финал Евро посетят до 35 тыс. английских болельщиков

    12 Июля 2024 - 20:58

    Axios рассказал о заговоре против Байдена

    12 Июля 2024 - 20:45

    Суд обязал «Майнц» заплатить Эль-Гази 1,7 млн евро

    12 Июля 2024 - 20:32

    На севере Ирака погиб военнослужащий турецкой армии

    12 Июля 2024 - 20:19

    Bloomberg: Украина получит меньше истребителей F-16

    12 Июля 2024 - 20:06

    Falcon не вывела на орбиту спутники Starlink из-за сбоя

    12 Июля 2024 - 19:53

    Байден отправит жену на открытие Олимпиады в Париже

    12 Июля 2024 - 19:40

    В Гёйчае трактор насмерть сбил велосипедиста

    12 Июля 2024 - 19:38

    На юге Ирана произошло землетрясение

    12 Июля 2024 - 19:36

    В России с 2025 года вводится туристический налог

    12 Июля 2024 - 19:27

    Тренер сборной Англии назвал фаворита финала Евро-2024

    12 Июля 2024 - 19:14

    Грузия: затишье перед бурей?

    Гела Васадзе в эфире Caliber.Az

    12 Июля 2024 - 19:01

    Команда COP29 провела встречу с министрами окружающей среды в Будапеште

    12 Июля 2024 - 18:52

    В Польше разбился военный самолет, погиб пилот

    12 Июля 2024 - 18:50

Все новости