Taiwan's independence push risks escalating conflict with China
    Experts warn

    INTERVIEWS  27 May 2024 - 11:57

    Samir Ibrahimov

    The path of "Taiwan independence" is misguided, and if Taiwan's President Lai Ching-te and his party decide to pursue it, they will inevitably face a crushing blow from China, according to a commentary by Xinhua News Agency on Lai's May 20 speech marking his assumption of office.

    "The realization of full national reunification cannot be prevented by any force. The Chinese mainland will never tolerate divisive moves for 'Taiwan independence' in any form. If Lai Ching-te and the DPP (Democratic Progressive Party, which favors Taiwan independence) dare to take desperate risks along the misguided path of 'Taiwan independence,' they will inevitably face a crushing blow," the statement said.

    It notes that Ching-te during the speech, not only openly promoted the "two-state" theory and the fact that the two sides of the strait do not belong to each other, but also "went so far as to call the Chinese mainland a foreign country."

    How high is the threat of another war? Is Taiwan capable of taking steps unacceptable from the point of view of international law and thus causing war in that part of the world as well?

    Prominent foreign experts told Caliber.Az about how they see the situation.

    Adil Kaukenov, chief expert of the Kazakhstan Institute for Strategic Studies, general director of the “China Center”, notes that, unfortunately, the threat of escalating relations in the Taiwan Strait is quite high.

    "And this situation is taking shape because there are not only two parties to the conflict, there are also external sponsors. Therefore, it is a rather complicated situation. But in general, by and large, neither Beijing nor Taipei are burning with the desire to turn a cold conflict into a hot one. In fact, the Chinese government itself is making great efforts to integrate the island into the mainland economy. In particular, Beijing keeps proposing the 'one country, two systems' formula, which has already been applied quite successfully for Hong Kong and Macau. That is, the bargaining is going on around this," the expert explained.

    Another thing is that today there is a geopolitical divergence in this region, he continued.

    "This formula itself did not cause strong rejection until the geopolitical differences between the US and the PRC began to gain more strength. It is clear that Taipei has always had its own vision - in particular, for example, even at the very peak of good relations, it has always had its own understanding of how relations with Beijing should be structured, but nevertheless the aggravation between them that we see now is by and large linked to the aggravation that is taking place between China and the US. And it's largely rooted in that. On the other hand, Taipei itself tries not to step over certain red lines - reducing the level of conflict (which could threaten the island's residents) has always been a chip for the Kuomintang Party in the race for political seats. Another thing is that the Kuomintang Party has lost a lot in the eyes of young people, as it is considered a bit stiff, stale, and old.

    Whereas the main chip of the Democratic Party, at the expense of which it is now winning, is not so much about issues of relations with mainland China, but about positioning itself as modern, more active, and responsive to the views of young people on the island.

    But at the same time, in fact, both sides of the strait understand perfectly well that there is such a formula: the Chinese should not shoot at the Chinese, an armed conflict will not give anyone any benefits. It's just that there are ships sailing there now, there is a huge international trade, in fact, Taiwan and China themselves trade very actively, they travel to each other a lot, there are strong ties between them, which are marred only by political disagreements on how the state system should be built.

    So the risk that at some point the human factor, pushed by external forces, will come into play, and that this will lead to some kind of armed confrontation, unfortunately, remains, because there is a political struggle on the island itself, in the course of which external pressure from both the mainland and the United States is very successfully used by politicians to achieve their goals. All in all, it's such a big, rattling mixture - everything that's going on in the Taiwan Strait. In fact, the task of all politicians on both sides of the strait is to preserve further peaceful development," Kaukenov said.

    In his opinion, in fact, neither ordinary Taiwanese nor their politicians are eager to move into the concept of battle.

    "Of course, if hostilities break out along the shores of the Strait, the US along with NATO will immediately intervene. But who wants to be cannon fodder? After all, it is clear that the strike will have to hit the island, because the forces of the Chinese People's Liberation Army and the forces of Taipei are not comparable. To this day, the powerful industrial potential of China gives it a huge military-technical superiority. This is not the 50-60s, when it was still unclear whether it was technically possible to hit the island. Now there is such a possibility due to the development of missile and aviation engineering.

    So Taipei's task is to pass between the jets, strengthening on the one hand its political weight inside the island, trying to persuade someone else to recognize Taiwan's independence, but at the same time not getting the consequences. On the other hand, this game itself carries risks, and, I repeat, there remains the danger of the human factor, when all these games can lead to the fact that somewhere someone can't stand it - during warnings about the inadmissibility of crossing red lines, during military maneuvers in the strait - a situation can arise when everything becomes uncontrollable. So there are risks, and the task of Chinese politicians on both sides is to reduce these risks," the expert added.

    Irish political scientist and historian Patrick Walsh emphasizes that Taiwan is legally part of China and is universally recognized as such.

    "In fact, its position toward China is not unlike that of Karabakh toward Azerbaijan. The Taiwanese government, by expressing such a position, essentially becomes separatist. The impact of this on China can be appreciated by people in Azerbaijan, and the separatist movement is likely to cause the same reaction in Beijing as in Baku.

    So far, the US has taken the legal position that Taiwan is part of China and has discouraged any talk of independence because Washington knows it would dramatically increase the likelihood of war, and possibly world war.

    But Washington has a number of different interests. One, linked to the military-industrial complex and bloated academic foreign policy institutions, would welcome an escalating conflict with China. More moderates feel threatened by Taiwanese separatism. A direct Chinese attack on Taiwan would cause great difficulty, and that would be a very dangerous development," the political scientist said.

    However, China could end Taiwan through a blockade or simply through a serious military threat, he notes.

    "Then there would be a mass exodus of population and a withdrawal of the industrial base from the island. In fact, the US is already ensuring this by encouraging the relocation of Taiwan's computer chip industry. After all, Taiwan, like Ukraine, is perceived in Washington primarily as a trigger for conflict. But it has nothing to gain from such a conflict, only to make life very problematic for Japan, South Korea and other satellite countries in the region," Walsh concluded.

    Caliber.Az

    Subscribe to our Telegram channel


Read also

Armenia's strategic moves with France draw regional concerns Geopolitical chess

24 June 2024 - 12:54

Armenia’s European dreams: Geography cannot be overruled Expert insights

21 June 2024 - 14:02

French arms & Armenian revanchism: What's behind the deal? Expert opinions

21 June 2024 - 14:14

Papikyan's Paris visit unlikely to shift power balance between Baku, Yerevan Expert opinions

18 June 2024 - 13:57

“Pashinyan dances to the tune of the West and follows its instructions” Expert insight

19 June 2024 - 14:42

US diplomacy, the Zangazur corridor Balancing interests in the Caucasus

20 June 2024 - 15:14
ADVERTS
Video
Latest news

    Macron warns of "civil war" if far left or far right wins

    25 June 2024 - 13:48

    EU seeks to insulate itself from Viktor Orbán’s vetoes

    25 June 2024 - 13:36

    Türkiye detains over 1,400 illegal migrants across six provinces

    Operation Kalkan-24 / VIDEO

    25 June 2024 - 13:24

    Baku to host international forum on environmental sustainability

    25 June 2024 - 13:12

    Azerbaijani NGOs discuss predatory mining in Armenia

    PHOTO

    25 June 2024 - 13:00

    Azerbaijan lifts visa requirements for two additional countries

    25 June 2024 - 12:48

    Why does Russia want to recognize the Taliban government?

    Graveyard of empires

    25 June 2024 - 12:36

    In anticipation of climate finance breakthrough in Azerbaijan

    COP29 president in an interview with Forbes

    25 June 2024 - 12:24

    Media: Macron's silence grows on Ukraine issue amid French political changes

    25 June 2024 - 12:12

    Azerbaijan, Turkmenistan strengthen railway, freight ties

    During Ashgabat meeting / PHOTO

    25 June 2024 - 12:00

    Parliament speaker: Azerbaijani army among strongest armies of world

    25 June 2024 - 11:48

    Hungary's controversial EU presidency

    Orbán's puzzle for Europe

    25 June 2024 - 11:36

    Trump campaign fundraising email says he was "tortured" in jail

    25 June 2024 - 11:24

    ICRC staff visit detained Karabakh separatists

    25 June 2024 - 11:12

    Denmark, Norway forge stronger military ties in Arctic defence cooperation

    25 June 2024 - 11:00

    Media: Hamas leaders to move to Iraq due to US pressure

    25 June 2024 - 10:48

    US to send $150 million in munitions to Ukraine amid escalating tensions with Russia

    25 June 2024 - 10:36

    Minister: Italian companies actively engage in restoration of Azerbaijan's liberated lands

    25 June 2024 - 10:24

    EU threatens funding withdrawal from Georgia over foreign agents law

    25 June 2024 - 10:12

    Tehran sees "Asian Union" as key to regional prosperity

    25 June 2024 - 10:00

    Erdogan, Putin to meet in Astana for high-level talks on regional issues

    25 June 2024 - 09:48

    State Dept: US continues diplomatic efforts between Azerbaijan, Armenia

    25 June 2024 - 09:36

    CSTO warns of regional destabilization after terrorist attacks in Dagestan

    25 June 2024 - 09:24

    Human rights defender hails Azerbaijan's support in Kanaks' just struggle

    25 June 2024 - 09:13

    China tests landing ships amid tensions with Philippines

    25 June 2024 - 09:00

    Australia set to receive M1A2 Abrams SEPv3 tanks from US

    25 June 2024 - 08:03

    France's potential role in triggering next Euro crisis

    25 June 2024 - 06:07

    Rheinmetall, Anduril to develop advanced anti-drone system for Europe

    25 June 2024 - 04:11

    Biden's China policy: Short-term toughness, long-term disasters

    25 June 2024 - 02:09

    Ukraine urgently seeks debt relief to fortify against Russian onslaught

    25 June 2024 - 00:06

    Evolving Sino-Russian relationship under Xi Jinping

    Navigating history and strategy

    24 June 2024 - 22:04

    Italian ambassador optimistic about Italy's G7 chairmanship & Azerbaijan's COP29 success

    24 June 2024 - 21:12

    France's arms sale to Armenia amid peace talks with Azerbaijan raises tensions - ex-US diplomat

    24 June 2024 - 20:59

    Türkiye, UN express condolences to Russia following Dagestani terror attacks

    24 June 2024 - 20:49

    Azerbaijan's AZAL wins Skytrax 2024 award for Best Regional Airline in Central Asia and CIS

    24 June 2024 - 20:33

    Derbent & Makhachkala terror attacks synchronized in timing & objectives - Dagestani head

    24 June 2024 - 20:17

    First day of Azerbaijani NGO cooperation forum concludes with visit to Gubadli

    24 June 2024 - 20:02

    Azerbaijani ambassador proposes opening Baku-Cairo flight

    24 June 2024 - 19:43

    AzVirt unveils new footage of 75.8 km Kalbajar-Lachin road construction

    24 June 2024 - 19:26

    Russian, Kazakh leaders discuss tackling terrorism

    24 June 2024 - 19:06

All news

Тайваньская дилемма
    Комментируют Каукенов и Уолш

    ИНТЕРВЬЮ  27 Мая 2024 - 09:10

    Самир Ибрагимов

    Путь «независимости Тайваня» является ошибочным, если глава администрации Тайваня Лай Циндэ и его партия решат пойти по этому пути, они неизбежно столкнутся с сокрушительным ударом Китая. Об этом говорится в комментарии агентства «Синьхуа» к речи Циндэ, произнесенной 20 мая по случаю вступления на свою должность.

    «Осуществлению полного национального воссоединения не сможет помешать никакая сила. Континентальная часть Китая никогда не потерпит раскольнических шагов за «независимость Тайваня» в любой форме. Если Лай Циндэ и ДПП (Демократическая прогрессивная партия, выступающая за независимость Тайваня) осмелятся пойти на отчаянный риск по ошибочному пути «независимости Тайваня», они неизбежно столкнутся с сокрушительным ударом», — говорится в сообщении.

    Отмечается, что Циндэ в рамках речи не только открыто пропагандировал теорию «двух государств» и то, что оба берега пролива не принадлежат друг другу, но и «зашел так далеко, что назвал материковую часть Китая иностранным государством».

    Насколько высока угроза еще одной войны? Способен ли Тайвань позволить себе неприемлемые с точки зрения международного права шаги и вызвать тем самым войну и в той части света?

    О том, какой видится им эта ситуация, рассказали Caliber.Аz известные иностранные эксперты.

    Генеральный директор China Center, китаевед Адиль Каукенов (Казахстан) отмечает, что, к сожалению, действительно угроза обострения отношений в Тайваньском проливе достаточно высока.

    «И такая ситуация складывается, потому что есть не только два участника конфликта, есть и внешние спонсоры. Поэтому достаточно сложная обстановка. Но в целом по большому счету ни в Пекине, ни в Тайбэе не горят желанием превратить холодный конфликт в горячий. На самом деле само китайское правительство прилагает огромные усилия для того, чтобы интегрировать остров во внутриконтинентальную экономику. В частности, Пекин всё время предлагает формулу «одна страна — две системы», которая уже была достаточно успешно применена для Гонконга и Макао. То есть торг идет вокруг этого», — пояснил эксперт.

    Другое дело, что на сегодняшний день в этом регионе наблюдается геополитическое расхождение, продолжил он.

    «Сама по себе эта формула не вызывала сильного отторжения до того момента, пока геополитические разногласия между США и КНР не стали набирать большую силу. Понятно, что в Тайбэе всегда было свое видение — в частности, например, даже на самом пике хороших отношений всегда было свое понимание того, как должны строиться отношения с Пекином, но тем не менее обострение между ними, которое мы видим сейчас, по большому счету связано с обострением, которое происходит между Китаем и США. И во многом в это упирается. С другой стороны, сам Тайбэй старается не перешагивать через определенные красные линии — снижение уровня конфликтогенности (которая может угрожать жителям острова) всегда было фишкой для партии Гоминьдан в борьбе за политические места. Другое дело, что партия Гоминьдан очень много потеряла в глазах молодежи, так как считается немного закостенелой, замшелой, старой. Тогда как главная фишка Демократической партии, за счет которой она теперь побеждает, — это не столько вопросы взаимоотношений с материковым Китаем, сколько позиционирование себя как современной, более активной, отвечающей воззрениям молодежи на острове.

    Но при этом на самом деле по обеим сторонам пролива прекрасно понимают, что есть такая формула: китайцы не должны стрелять в китайцев, вооруженный конфликт не даст никому никаких выгод. Просто ведь там сейчас ходят корабли, ведется огромная международная торговля, собственно говоря, сами Тайвань с Китаем очень активно торгуют, очень много ездят друг к другу, между ними прочные связи, которые омрачаются только политическими разногласиями на тему того, как должна строиться государственная система. Поэтому риск того, что в какой-то момент сработает человеческий фактор, подталкиваемый еще и внешними силами, и что это выльется в какое-то вооруженное противостояние, к сожалению, сохраняется, потому что есть политическая борьба на самом острове, в ходе которой внешнее давление и со стороны материка, и со стороны США весьма успешно используется политиками для достижения своих целей. В целом, это такая большая, гремучая смесь — всё, что происходит в Тайваньском проливе. Задача же на самом деле всех политиков по обеим сторонам пролива — это сохранение дальнейшего мирного развития», — считает директор профильного центра.

    По его мнению, на самом деле ни простые тайванцы, ни их политики не жаждут перехода в концепцию битвы.

    «Конечно, если по берегам пролива вспыхнут боевые действия, то тут же вмешаются США вместе с НАТО. Но кто хочет быть пушечным мясом? Ведь понятно, что удар придется по острову, потому что силы Китайской народно-освободительной армии и силы Тайбэя несопоставимы. На сей день мощный промышленный потенциал КНР дает ей огромное военно-техническое превосходство. Это не 50–60 годы, когда было еще непонятно, есть ли техническая возможность бить по острову. Сейчас эта возможность за счет развития ракетостроения и авиации есть.

    Поэтому задача Тайбэя состоит в том, чтобы пройти между струями, укрепляя с одной стороны свой политический вес внутри острова, пытаясь уговорить еще кого-то, чтобы признали независимость Тайваня, но при этом не получить последствий. С другой стороны, сама эта игра несет в себе риски, и, повторюсь, остается опасность человеческого фактора, когда все эти игры могут привести к тому, что где-то кто-то не выдержит — в ходе предупреждений о недопустимости перехода красных линий, в ходе военных маневров в проливе — может возникнуть ситуация, когда всё станет неконтролируемым. То есть риски есть, и задача китайских политиков с обеих сторон состоит в том, чтобы эти риски уменьшать», — уверен Каукенов. 

    Ирландский политолог и историк Патрик Уолш подчеркивает, что Тайвань юридически является частью Китая и признан таковым повсеместно.

    «Фактически, его позиция по отношению к Китаю не отличается от той позиции, которая имела место в Карабахе по отношению к Азербайджану. Правительство Тайваня, выражая такую позицию, по сути, становится сепаратистским. Влияние этого на Китай могут оценить люди в Азербайджане, и сепаратистское движение, вероятно, вызовет такую же реакцию в Пекине, как и в Баку.

    До сих пор США придерживались юридической позиции, согласно которой Тайвань является частью Китая, и не поощряли любые разговоры о независимости, поскольку Вашингтон знает, что это резко увеличит вероятность войны, и, возможно, мировой войны.

    Но Вашингтон имеет ряд различных интересов. Один из них, связанный с военно-промышленным комплексом и раздутыми академическими внешнеполитическими институтами, приветствовал бы обострение конфликта с Китаем. Более умеренные люди чувствуют опасность тайваньского сепаратизма. Прямое нападение Китая на Тайвань вызовет большие сложности, и это было бы очень опасным развитием событий», — говорит политолог.

    Однако Китай может покончить с Тайванем посредством блокады или просто посредством серьёзной военной угрозы, отмечает он.

    «Тогда произойдет массовый исход населения и уход промышленной базы с острова. Фактически, США уже обеспечивают это, поощряя перемещение тайваньской индустрии компьютерных чипов. В конце концов, Тайвань, как и Украина, воспринимается в Вашингтоне, прежде всего, как детонатор конфликта. Но он ничего не выиграет от такого конфликта, лишь сделает жизнь Японии, Южной Кореи и других стран-сателлитов в регионе очень проблематичной», — заключает Уолш.

    Caliber.Az

    Просмотров: 1379

    Подписывайтесь на наш Telegram-канал


Читайте также

«Баку умерит аппетиты французского неоколониализма» Три экспертных мнения на Caliber.Az

21 Июля 2024 - 10:25

Армения катится к десуверенизации Межевич и Митрахович на Caliber.Az

20 Июля 2024 - 09:30

Индия от Ганди до Моди Руслан Сафаров в эфире Caliber.Az

19 Июля 2024 - 19:01

«Армения превратится в колонию ЕС» Экспертные мнения на Caliber.Az

19 Июля 2024 - 17:15

«Армения — один из инструментов внешнего влияния на Южном Кавказе» Эсен Усубалиев на Caliber.Az

18 Июля 2024 - 14:11

Китай от Конфуция до коммунизма Рафик Аббасов в эфире Caliber.Az

17 Июля 2024 - 15:05
РЕКЛАМА
Видео
Последние новости

    В Азербайджане отмечается День национальной прессы

    22 Июля 2024 - 00:07

    CNN: решение Байдена о выходе из гонки хранилось в строжайшем секрете

    22 Июля 2024 - 00:00

    Зеленский сообщил о прибытии в Украину нового комплекса для усиления ПВО

    21 Июля 2024 - 23:48

    Азербайджан переиграл Катар перед стартом на ЕВРО

    21 Июля 2024 - 23:37

    МИД Саудовской Аравии: атаки Израиля на Йемен вредят усилиям по перемирию в Газе

    21 Июля 2024 - 23:24

    Джейхун Байрамов: Провокации не сулят Армении ничего хорошего

    21 Июля 2024 - 23:22

    Байден поддержал Камалу Харрис в качестве кандидата в президенты США

    21 Июля 2024 - 23:11

    Трамп заявил, что США сильно пострадали из-за администрации Байдена

    21 Июля 2024 - 22:58

    В Лянкаране пройдет ярмарка труда

    21 Июля 2024 - 22:51

    Участники Глобального медиафорума ознакомились с городом Шуша

    ФОТО

    21 Июля 2024 - 22:39

    В НАТО привели в состояние повышенной готовности более 500 тыс. военных

    21 Июля 2024 - 22:27

    Нетаньяху решил направить делегацию на переговоры по Газе 25 июля

    21 Июля 2024 - 22:15

    Байден заявил, что не будет добиваться переизбрания на пост президента США

    21 Июля 2024 - 22:06

    Индия эвакуировала 4,5 тыс. студентов из охваченной протестами Бангладеш

    21 Июля 2024 - 22:03

    Белый дом сообщил об улучшении состояния Байдена после заражения COVID-19

    21 Июля 2024 - 21:50

    Тунис призвал СБ ООН положить конец военным преступлениям Израиля

    21 Июля 2024 - 21:38

    Президент Ильхам Алиев поделился публикацией по случаю Дня национальной прессы

    21 Июля 2024 - 21:25

    В Нафталане группа лиц в состоянии алкогольного опьянения нарушила общественный порядок

    21 Июля 2024 - 21:19

    Президент Кении пообещал покончить с протестами

    21 Июля 2024 - 21:07

    Конгресс США хочет провести голосование о доверии Байдену

    21 Июля 2024 - 20:55

    Развитие искусственного интеллекта оказалось близко к пределу

    21 Июля 2024 - 20:45

    Маск предложил заселить Луну американцами

    21 Июля 2024 - 20:25

    Турецким курортам не хватает туристов

    21 Июля 2024 - 20:10

    Общество дружбы Азербайджан–ТРСК поддержало научный фестиваль в Гирне

    ФОТО

    21 Июля 2024 - 19:59

    Папа Римский повторил призыв к олимпийскому перемирию

    21 Июля 2024 - 19:49

    В Беларуси приговорили к расстрелу гражданина Германии

    21 Июля 2024 - 19:31

    Байден отчаянно пытается спасти свою предвыборную кампанию

    Bloomberg

    21 Июля 2024 - 19:17

    Израильские евреи-ортодоксы начали получать повестки в военкомат

    21 Июля 2024 - 18:56

    Британия рискует столкнуться с новой волной забастовок

    21 Июля 2024 - 18:44

    Зеленский готов к переговорам с Путиным

    21 Июля 2024 - 18:16

    Сила правды и решительности

    О слагаемых исторических побед Азербайджана

    21 Июля 2024 - 18:01

    Температура на планете в июне побила предыдущие рекорды жары

    21 Июля 2024 - 17:56

    Финляндия проведет учения у границы с Россией

    21 Июля 2024 - 17:35

    Жест доброй воли: Баку пригласил Ереван на COP29

    21 Июля 2024 - 17:19

    Бербок обеспокоена «постоянно расширяющимся арсеналом» России

    21 Июля 2024 - 17:10

    Секретная служба США отказывалась усилить охрану Трампа

    The Washington Post

    21 Июля 2024 - 16:58

    Участники Второго Глобального медиафорума прогулялись по Шуше

    ФОТО

    21 Июля 2024 - 16:45

    Захарова «троллит» Макрона

    21 Июля 2024 - 16:28

    Китай и Беларусь провели учения

    21 Июля 2024 - 16:11

    Немецкая полиция предотвратила теракт перед финалом ЕВРО-2024

    The Sun

    21 Июля 2024 - 15:53

Все новости