Azerbaijan's task - to unite fragmented world on climate issues
    COP29's five priorities

    POLITICS  24 June 2024 - 16:04

    The British website E-International Relations has published an article by American analyst Wilder Alejandro Sanchez on the COP29 climate conference to be held in Baku in November this year. Caliber.Az reprints the piece.

    Azerbaijan will host the COP29 climate conference in November. As preparations are underway, Azerbaijani officials are meeting with partners and carrying out “listening tours” to understand the issues global leaders, agencies and communities want to address. Besides a focus on climate change financing, water issues will likely be at the top of the agenda – and Washington will be an important partner in the planning stages.

    An Azerbaijani delegation led by Minister of Ecology and Natural Resources and President of COP29 Mukhtar Babayev travelled to Washington, DC, in April. The delegation’s meetings included a visit by John Kerry, the former US Special Presidential Envoy for Climate, to the Azerbaijani embassy in the US capital. The Azerbaijani delegation also participated in the International Monetary Fund’s and World Bank’s Spring Meetings. At a March event organized by Axios, John Podesta, senior adviser to the president for international climate policy (who replaced Kerry), explained that “we need to build on the momentum… particularly to deliver at the global level the finance that will be necessary to help developing economies transition.”

    While the full agenda of COP29 has not been released, Baku has delineated its vision for the summit. At the Bonn Climate Change Conference in mid-June, COP29 President-Designate Babayev explained the five initial priority areas for the summit: spanning human capital, agriculture, the urban environment, energy storage and finance, and investment and trade. Climate change financing will be high on the agenda, as Azerbaijan aims to secure a “fair and ambitious new climate finance goal, finalise Article 6, strengthen global financial institutions, and ensure the private sector commits to climate action,” Babayev said. As for specific challenges, water security is expected to be one of the event’s focus areas. Access to water will be one of the defining factors for cooperation or conflict in the 21st century, as climate change, environmental destruction, greater reliance on water-intensive industries, population growth, and inter-state tensions make access to this vital resource even more important than gold.

    A COP conference in the Caucasus means that environmental issues, including water-related issues affecting the Caucasus and Central Asia, can be at the forefront of discussions. Central Asia experienced a drought during the summer of 2021, and regional water bodies, namely the Aral Sea and Caspian Sea, are at risk of disappearing. “We feel the impact of climate change very much because [the Caspian’s] level is going down, and … we witness [this] every day. For me, it’s a sign of how the environment around us is fragile,” said Nigar Arpadarai, UN climate change high-level champion for COP29. Neighbouring Iran similarly has water insufficiency – due to a rising population, pollution, water mismanagement, and treating ethnic groups as second-class citizens – which will worsen in the coming years.

    Other areas of the world are equally suffering from lack of water. On 8 May, the United Nations Environment Programme issued an interview with Harald Egerer, head of UNEP’s office in Vienna. Egerer explained how the Carpathian region, a chain of mountains across several Central and Eastern European states, has “been getting hotter over the last 50 years,” causing “more frequent and intense heat waves, droughts, erratic rainfall, and floods. Drought increases the risk of wildfires and pest outbreaks in the Carpathians.” Elsewhere in Europe, countries like Italy and Spain continue to face droughts. The European Union has taken the controversial opinion to “shelve a plan to boost the European Union’s resilience against droughts and floods,” explains Politico Europe.

    As for the Western Hemisphere, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, and Mexico are currently also experiencing droughts. Lack of rain affects the energy production of many countries, so not only is there a lack of water, but electricity rationing programs are also in effect. Hence, focusing on water issues at COP 29 is mandatory. Anecdotally, Azerbaijan’s Caspian neighbor Kazakhstan will co-organize the One Water Summit with France during the annual United Nations General Assembly this September. The fact that the summit occurs two months before COP29 in Baku means that water will be broadly discussed at high-level events this year. Hopefully, the conference will conclude with a “blue agreement” addressing water.

    On the other hand, some countries have too much water due to rising seas. This past May, Azerbaijani President Ilham Aliyev met with the Governor General of Tuvalu, the Prime Minister of Tonga, and the Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Bahamas. Islands across the Pacific, Caribbean (and the Maldives) are at risk of dispreading due to rising sea levels.

    It is unclear if nuclear power will be a significant focus of COP29, but it will probably be discussed. While nuclear power is a valid alternative to more polluting energy industries, nuclear power can also be problematic if the facilities are not well-managed. Moreover, the geopolitics of nuclear energy must also be considered, given the tense relationship between the Global Powers nowadays. In December 2023, Armenia and Russia signed a contract to modernize Armenia’s Metsamor Nuclear Power Plant (NPP), which will operate until 2036. This is problematic as the contract will ensure Armenia remains in Russia’s sphere of influence. Moreover, for several years, there have been reports about concerns over the plant’s radioactive waste, which could affect neighboring settlements and agricultural land.

    Unfortunately, the increasingly fragmented and violent global (dis)order means that the Azerbaijani COP29 presidency will have the monumental task of convincing global leaders from states and industries to put their differences aside and focus on environmental cooperation and protection, including addressing climate change financing and water issues. Washington’s support will be vital for Baku to have a chance at achieving this almost impossible objective, given the current global geopolitical climate.

    Caliber.Az

    Subscribe to our Telegram channel


Read also

Azerbaijan congratulates Colombia on Independence Day

20 July 2024 - 14:42

Shusha to host global media forum on fight against disinformation PHOTO

20 July 2024 - 09:45

Azerbaijan guarantees accessible voting in liberated areas for snap elections

19 July 2024 - 20:16

COP29: The crucial test for global climate action Bulgarian media examine upcoming summit's impact

19 July 2024 - 15:03

UK’s embassy shares photo of King Charles III, Azerbaijani leader

19 July 2024 - 14:26

Western Azerbaijani Community slams revanchist sentiments in Armenian army

19 July 2024 - 11:02
ADVERTS
Video
Latest news

    US lifts veil on nuclear arsenal size and expenditures

    20 July 2024 - 16:31

    Erdogan calls for two-state solution to Cyprus conflict

    20 July 2024 - 16:19

    Azerbaijani president addressing global media forum in Shusha

    LIVE

    20 July 2024 - 16:18

    Pentagon resumes accepting F-35 deliveries after year-long freeze

    20 July 2024 - 16:07

    Karabakh Armenians feel uncomfortable in Armenia

    What are Azerbaijan's detractors silent about?

    20 July 2024 - 15:55

    Azerbaijan to tighten control over compliance of imported goods with safety requirements

    20 July 2024 - 15:43

    Pro-Armenian Senator Menendez's mafia-style corruption scandal

    Article by Reason magazine

    20 July 2024 - 15:30

    Türkiye's Operation Kuyu-10 targets criminal group across three provinces

    VIDEO

    20 July 2024 - 15:18

    What do international financial institutions predict for Azerbaijan's economy?

    Caliber.Az review

    20 July 2024 - 15:06

    Taliban destroys all catapults used for drug trafficking in Afghanistan

    20 July 2024 - 14:54

    Azerbaijan congratulates Colombia on Independence Day

    20 July 2024 - 14:42

    China bridge collapse claims 11 lives amid heavy floods

    VIDEO

    20 July 2024 - 14:30

    Blinken warns: Iran nearing nuclear capability, escalating concerns

    20 July 2024 - 14:16

    Ukraine's lithium riches: The hidden prize in the geopolitical chess game

    Caliber.Az on YouTube

    20 July 2024 - 14:04

    Azerbaijan increases production of aluminium products

    20 July 2024 - 13:52

    Ambassador: Taliban allies with Russia against terrorism

    20 July 2024 - 13:40

    Foreign influence undermines Armenia's sovereignty

    Expert opinions

    20 July 2024 - 13:29

    Houthi UAV attack: Unlikely to repeat Tel Aviv strike, but future threats loom

    The Wall Street Journal analysis

    20 July 2024 - 13:17

    Foreign guests arrive in Azerbaijan's Fuzuli to participate in 2nd Shusha Global Media Forum

    20 July 2024 - 13:11

    Mexican president to send letter to Trump addressing immigration and trade concerns

    20 July 2024 - 13:05

    Trump-Zelenskyy call highlights Ukraine war stance amid election campaign

    20 July 2024 - 12:53

    Russian Air Defence Forces intercept 27 Ukrainian drones

    20 July 2024 - 12:41

    Top official: Shusha's true residents returned after 30 years of longing

    VIDEO

    20 July 2024 - 12:39

    US unable to increase production of Patriot missiles due to component shortage

    20 July 2024 - 12:30

    Ukraine’s troops to be most combat-ready NATO army after US, says minister

    20 July 2024 - 12:20

    Violent clashes prompt curfew and military deployment in Bangladesh

    20 July 2024 - 12:08

    Gunfire erupts at police station in Armenia

    Foreign suspect injured

    20 July 2024 - 11:57

    “Armenia will turn into an EU colony”

    Expert insights on Caliber.Az

    20 July 2024 - 11:46

    Pentagon orders E-2 advanced Hawkeye radar aircraft for Japan, US

    20 July 2024 - 11:34

    Azerbaijan reduces electricity exports threefold

    20 July 2024 - 11:22

    Azerbaijan seizes large cache of Armenian weapons in Khankendi

    PHOTO

    20 July 2024 - 10:59

    Media: Resolution condemning Orban's Moscow visit could escalate Ukrainian conflict

    20 July 2024 - 10:58

    Pacific allies strengthen cooperation against China, North Korea

    20 July 2024 - 10:45

    Georgia backs China's bid to join Middle Corridor development

    20 July 2024 - 10:33

    US Vice President Kamala Harris plans to address major funders

    20 July 2024 - 10:21

    Kyiv signs agreement with London on loan for defence projects

    20 July 2024 - 10:09

    Israel urges free world to unite against Iran

    20 July 2024 - 09:57

    Shusha to host global media forum on fight against disinformation

    PHOTO

    20 July 2024 - 09:45

    Malaysia Airlines aircraft makes emergency landing in Baku

    20 July 2024 - 09:32

    Mine blast injures three people in Azerbaijan’s Kalbajar

    UPDATED

    20 July 2024 - 09:21

All news

Задача Баку — убедить государства отложить разногласия и сосредоточиться на экологии
    Пять приоритетов COP29

    ПОЛИТИКА  24 Июня 2024 - 15:06

    На британском сайте E-International Relations опубликована статья американского аналитика Вайлдера Алехандро Санчеса, посвящённая климатической конференции СОР29, которая пройдёт в Баку в ноябре этого года. Предлагаем вниманию читателей Caliber.Az перевод данного материала.  

    «В ноябре в Азербайджане пройдёт конференция по климату COP29. В ходе подготовки азербайджанская сторона проводит встречи с партнерами, чтобы узнать, какие вопросы хотят решить мировые лидеры, агентства и сообщества. Помимо финансирования борьбы с изменением климата, на повестке дня, скорее всего, будут стоять вопросы водных ресурсов, и Америка станет важным партнером на этапах планирования.

    В апреле азербайджанская делегация во главе с министром экологии и природных ресурсов и президентом COP29 Мухтаром Бабаевым посетила Вашингтон. Встречи включали визит бывшего специального посланника президента США по климату Джона Керри в азербайджанское посольство в столице. Делегация Азербайджана также приняла участие в весенних совещаниях Группы Всемирного банка (ГВБ) и Международного валютного фонда (МВФ). На мартовском мероприятии, организованном Axios, старший советник президента по международной политике в области климата Джон Подеста пояснил, что «нам необходимо развивать импульс, особенно для обеспечения финансирования на глобальном уровне».

    Хотя полная повестка дня COP29 еще не обнародована, Баку уже определил своё видение саммита. На Боннской конференции по климату в июне Бабаев отметил пять приоритетных областей: развитие человеческого капитала, сельское хозяйство, городская среда, накопление энергии и финансирование, а также инвестиции и торговля. Финансирование борьбы с изменением климата будет занимать важное место в повестке дня, поскольку Азербайджан, по словам Бабаева, стремится обеспечить «справедливую и амбициозную новую цель финансирования, завершить работу над Статьей 6, укрепить глобальные финансовые институты и обеспечить приверженность частного сектора к действиям по борьбе с изменением климата». Что касается конкретных проблем, то одним из основных направлений станет водная безопасность. Доступ к воде станет одним из определяющих факторов сотрудничества в XXI веке.

    Проведение COP в кавказском регионе означает, что экологические вопросы, в том числе водные проблемы, затрагивающие Южный Кавказ и Центральную Азию, могут оказаться в центре внимания. Аральское и Каспийское моря находятся под угрозой исчезновения. «Мы очень сильно ощущаем влияние изменения климата, потому что уровень воды в Каспии снижается, и мы видим это каждый день. Для меня это признак того, что окружающая нас среда очень хрупка», – сказала лидер высокого уровня ООН по климату на COP29 Нигяр Арпадараи. Иран также испытывает нехватку воды из-за роста населения, загрязнения, нерационального использования водных ресурсов и отношения к этническим группам как к гражданам второго сорта. В ближайшие годы эта ситуация будет ухудшаться.

    Другие регионы мира также страдают от нехватки воды. 8 мая Программа ООН по окружающей среде (ЮНЕП) опубликовала интервью с руководителем Венского отделения программы Харальдом Эгерером. Он рассказал, что Карпатский регион – горная цепь, расположенная на территории нескольких государств Центральной и Восточной Европы, – в последние 50 лет «становится всё жарче», вызывая «засухи, нерегулярные осадки и наводнения».

    Колумбия, Коста-Рика, Эквадор и Мексика в настоящее время также переживают засуху. Следовательно, на СОР29 крайне необходимо обсудить водные проблемы.

    В то же время в некоторых странах воды слишком много. В мае этого года президент Азербайджана Ильхам Алиев встретился с генерал-губернатором Тувалу, премьер-министром Тонга и министром иностранных дел Багамских островов. Острова в Тихом океане, Карибском бассейне (и Мальдивы) находятся под угрозой исчезновения из-за повышения уровня моря.

    Пока неясно, будет ли ядерная энергетика в центре внимания COP29, но, вероятно, она будет обсуждаться. Хотя ядерная энергетика является хорошей альтернативой, она также может быть проблематичной, если не обеспечивать надлежащее управление объектами. Кроме того, необходимо учитывать напряженные отношения между мировыми державами в настоящее время. В декабре 2023 года Армения и Россия подписали контракт о проведении работ по продлению срока службы Мецаморской атомной электростанции (АЭС), которая будет работать до 2036 года. Это проблематично, поскольку контракт гарантирует, что Ереван останется в сфере влияния Москвы. Кроме того, в течение нескольких лет поступали сообщения об опасениях по поводу радиоактивных отходов станции, которые могут повлиять на соседние населенные пункты и сельскохозяйственные угодья.

    К сожалению, всё более раздробленный миропорядок означает, что перед председательством Азербайджана на COP29 стоит масштабная задача убедить лидеров государств и отраслей промышленности отложить разногласия в сторону и сосредоточиться на экологическом сотрудничестве и защите окружающей среды, включая решение вопросов финансирования борьбы с изменением климата и водных проблем. Поддержка Вашингтона будет крайне важна, чтобы у Баку был шанс достичь этой цели, учитывая текущий глобальный геополитический контекст», – написал американский аналитик.

    Перевод: Фарах Мамедли

    Caliber.Az

    Просмотров: 575

    Подписывайтесь на наш Telegram-канал


Читайте также

Мухтар Бабаев встретился с генеральным секретарем ОБСЕ

13 Июля 2024 - 15:29

Байрамов — Шмид: Территориальные претензии к Азербайджану в Конституции Армении неприемлемы

13 Июля 2024 - 15:20

«Бірлестік-2024»: азербайджанские коммандос проникли в тыл условного противника ФОТО/ВИДЕО

13 Июля 2024 - 14:42

МИД Азербайджана поздравил Монтенегро

13 Июля 2024 - 13:07

«Все еще остаются открытые вопросы» Абдуллаев о процессе нормализации армяно-азербайджанских отношений

13 Июля 2024 - 12:19

Сколько постановлений и решений принял Пленум Конституционного суда за 26 лет?

13 Июля 2024 - 11:48
РЕКЛАМА
Видео
Последние новости

    Нелегально проживающие в Турции граждане Азербайджана получают документы

    13 Июля 2024 - 19:03

    Вежливый Баку, подвешенный Киев и растерянный Париж

    «События» с Мурадом Абиевым

    13 Июля 2024 - 19:01

    Европейская универсиада: Азербайджанские шахматисты вторые на соревнованиях по блицу

    13 Июля 2024 - 18:52

    Лоран Блан возглавил «Аль-Иттихад»

    13 Июля 2024 - 18:38

    Эрдоган намерен завершить операцию против РПК на севере Ирака

    13 Июля 2024 - 18:25

    Азербайджанские гимнасты в финале международного турнира

    13 Июля 2024 - 18:21

    Economist о перспективах вступления Украины в НАТО

    13 Июля 2024 - 17:59

    «Авантюры Еревана создают опасные перспективы»

    Три экспертных мнения на Caliber.Az

    13 Июля 2024 - 17:57

    В Баку пройдет фестиваль инноваций и технологий iFest

    13 Июля 2024 - 17:54

    Спасатели МЧС спасли тонущего человека в Пиршаги

    13 Июля 2024 - 17:51

    Число погибших в Газе возросло

    13 Июля 2024 - 17:50

    Свадьба сына индийского миллиардера обошлась в 600 млн долларов

    ФОТО

    13 Июля 2024 - 17:45

    Песков: Россия - в прицеле американских ракет, находящихся в Европе

    13 Июля 2024 - 17:44

    В России впервые за 40 лет не покажут Олимпийские игры

    13 Июля 2024 - 17:40

    ЦАХАЛ поразил склад с парапланами ХАМАС

    13 Июля 2024 - 17:20

    Мамед Аббасбейли назвал количество субъектов естественных монополий в Азербайджане

    13 Июля 2024 - 17:14

    ПТУР MILAN для РКК, а для Турции эмбарго

    ФОТО

    13 Июля 2024 - 17:10

    Кулеба: Мы не можем ждать еще 75 лет

    13 Июля 2024 - 17:00

    Альянс на распутье: причины противоречий

    Расклад Теймура Атаева

    13 Июля 2024 - 16:51

    Кобахидзе сказал, когда Грузия будет готова вступить в ЕС

    13 Июля 2024 - 16:50

    Деньги на могилах: Экс-чиновник МО Армении продавал земли «Ераблура»

    13 Июля 2024 - 16:46

    «Нефтчи» и Шейдаев договорились

    13 Июля 2024 - 16:41

    Удар Израиля по Хан-Юнис: погиб один из командиров ХАМАС

    ВИДЕО

    13 Июля 2024 - 16:35

    «Реал» заработал 800 тысяч евро за день на Мбаппе

    13 Июля 2024 - 16:32

    Сикорский: Польша решает сбивать ли российские ракеты над Украиной

    13 Июля 2024 - 16:20

    Премьер Грузии: Отношения с США изменятся

    13 Июля 2024 - 16:11

    Увеличено количество сотрудников ASAN Xidmət

    Указ президента

    13 Июля 2024 - 16:04

    Ильхам Алиев утвердил соглашение между правительством Азербайджана и ООН

    13 Июля 2024 - 16:02

    Кого поддерживает Маск на президентских выборах в США?

    13 Июля 2024 - 16:02

    Алиев утвердил меморандум о взаимопонимании между госслужбами Азербайджана и Эфиопии

    13 Июля 2024 - 16:00

    Найдены тела членов экипажа упавшего в Подмосковье SSJ 100

    13 Июля 2024 - 15:51

    Литва разочарована в саммите НАТО

    13 Июля 2024 - 15:43

    Заседании в Ханкенди: на повестке повышение инвестиционной привлекательности Карабаха

    13 Июля 2024 - 15:31

    Продам дешевле, но назло: Почему «Краснодара» отказал «Карабаху»?

    13 Июля 2024 - 15:30

    Мухтар Бабаев встретился с генеральным секретарем ОБСЕ

    13 Июля 2024 - 15:29

    Премьер Австралии: Россия занимается шпионажем по всему миру

    13 Июля 2024 - 15:22

    Mercek-21 в Турции: Крупнейшая операция против контрабандистов оружия

    ВИДЕО

    13 Июля 2024 - 15:20

    Байрамов — Шмид: Территориальные претензии к Азербайджану в Конституции Армении неприемлемы

    13 Июля 2024 - 15:20

    На Евро 2024 определили «короля воздуха»

    13 Июля 2024 - 15:03

    «Петля затягивается»: ВС Турции продолжают операции по «зачистке» террористов РКК в Ираке

    ВИДЕО

    13 Июля 2024 - 14:53

Все новости