By provoking Moscow and Baku, Pashinyan risks jeopardising Armenian statehood
    Begging for war?

    ANALYTICS  13 September 2023 - 13:02

    Murad Abiyev
    Caliber.Az

    Prime Minister Nikol Pashinyan gave an interview to Armenia's Public Television. Prime minister demonstrated good oratory skills, a high degree of casuistry, and verbal cunning, i.e. everyone was convinced that he stood still at the helm of the state. 

    It is quite logical that the interview is Pashinyan's own initiative. Had he not wanted to speak in this tense atmosphere, he would have at least postponed it until a more convenient moment. It means that he decided to send messages to someone after all. The question is who is the addressee?

    Pashinyan, who, amidst the aggravation of the "crisis of roads" and the related threat of military escalation with Azerbaijan, does not seem to be in a hurry to round off rough corners. On the contrary, during the interview, he voiced a number of provocative statements against Baku. Firstly, he actually recognised the fake "president" of the illegal entity Shahramanyan, "endowing" him with some "responsibility". Moreover, when asked by the reporter "whether there is contact between the governments of Armenia and Karabakh", Pashinyan replied: "Of course, this contact has been and will be, it is very important from the point of view of familiarisation with the situation". Coupled with the congratulations of the Armenian people on September 2 on the next anniversary of the proclamation of a separatist entity on the territory of Azerbaijan, this is enough to consider provocative statements as a reason for war and turn Pashinyan himself into a legitimate target.

    However, despite this, the main foreign policy agenda of the interview was still relations with Russia. One of the episodes, which can be called the key one in the whole interview, was a kind of casus belli for Moscow due to its odiousness. It concerns the Armenian leader's thoughts on the imminent ratification of the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court, which has already become a red line for the Russian leadership. Instead of remaining silent in this extremely slippery situation, he continued to insult the intelligence of the Kremlin. Look at this: "...We started the ratification of the Rome Statute in December 2022, it's just that according to our procedures it takes some time. Unfortunately, there was a bad coincidence in the context of relations between the Russian Federation and the Hague Criminal Court. This process is not related to ties with the Russian Federation at all but to border tensions." That is, it sounds something like this: "Yes, we are obliged to arrest your president, but it just happened by chance".

    And as if not satisfied with this insulting comment, the Armenian Prime Minister continued to mock his "big brother". In response to the journalist's remark that the result of Yerevan's actions was a note from Moscow, Pashinyan said that Armenians are actively working with the Russian Federation to form a correct perception of what is happening. "In connection with the same Rome Statute, we have proposed a very concrete solution that can dispel all fears, and we can continue to work on this solution," he remarked.

    In addition to this obvious knockout, Pashinyan with sadistic pleasure added bewilderment about the politicisation of his wife Anna Hakobyan's visit to Kyiv (we will not descend to the discussion of such a provocative, including for Baku, statement).

    Thus, in addition to small jabs, we can count as many as two thorough blows against Russia in one interview. Of course, Pashinyan is not doing this out of stupidity. The offensive tone he takes is perfectly clear. And if he is escalating with Russia, it means that he has no way to retreat. Obviously, Moscow is determined to use all its resources to bring people loyal to it to power in Armenia. Under these circumstances, the Armenian leader must provide himself with maximum protection. In the physical sense, this is done by the agents of the European mission and the staff of the American embassy, and in the political sense - by the electorate.

    It can be concluded that by such disrespectful rhetoric both towards Moscow and Baku, Pashinyan is consolidating the anti-Russian and revanchist part of the society around him in order, firstly, secure victory for his party in the Yerevan mayoral elections, and secondly, to secure sympathy and even protection for himself in the event of the Kremlin's active steps to oust him from power. It is not excluded that the next step in this direction will be a call to the people to take to the streets to defend Armenian democracy from the threat of Russian interference.

    As for Baku's hypothetical actions, it is obvious that the Armenian prime minister does not consider this threat catastrophic compared to Moscow's plans. For the simple reason that military escalation with Azerbaijan, in his opinion, does not threaten him personally with ousting, while Russia's actions are precisely aimed at such an outcome. Pashinyan's number one goal is to withstand the onslaught of a pro-Russian rebellion.

    Consequently, the main and perhaps only target audience of Pashinyan's messages is the Armenian population, which he tries to assure of his patriotism and unwillingness to compromise with anyone. In fact, he has positioned himself as a leader in the face of an external threat.

    Pashinyan, due to his natural adventurism, is playing a very dangerous game. Yerevan's bias towards simultaneous escalation with Baku and Moscow, in the absence of both grounds and mechanisms for intervention by Western powers, threatens Armenia with great trouble. If the blows from these two forces of confrontation converge in time for Yerevan, it threatens to sweep away not only Pashinyan himself but the Armenian statehood as such.

    P.S. In the meantime, rumor has it that Russia has allegedly begun enlisting persons of Armenian nationality into the army to be sent to the Ukrainian front. The aim of this is to get outraged and frightened Armenians to return to their homes in Armenia and form a strike force to overthrow Pashinyan.

    Caliber.Az

    Subscribe to our Telegram channel


Read also

Centuries-long resistance & modern-day terrorism in the North Caucasus Unending strife

24 June 2024 - 17:20

Georgia revives Anaklia project with China's help A watershed moment for the Caucasus?

24 June 2024 - 14:23

Armenia navigates geopolitical waters amid CSTO membership debate Moscow's grip tightens

24 June 2024 - 13:44

Armenia's truce violations amid rising tensions & strategic weapons deals with France Those who ignore history are bound to repeat it

23 June 2024 - 15:31

Steering through tangled web of conflict & peace between Azerbaijan & Armenia High time to do away with a vicious circle

23 June 2024 - 09:17

Armenia’s military build-up & western alignments risk renewed conflict Baku warns Yerevan

23 June 2024 - 11:39
ADVERTS
Video
Latest news

    EU imposes sanctions against Russian journalist

    24 June 2024 - 18:11

    Media: Ukraine hits four Russian ships with Sea Baby drones

    24 June 2024 - 17:58

    Gaza Strip death toll from Israeli attacks tops 37,000

    24 June 2024 - 17:45

    Azerbaijan's Central Bank, World Bank discuss new partnership strategy

    24 June 2024 - 17:33

    Centuries-long resistance & modern-day terrorism in the North Caucasus

    Unending strife

    24 June 2024 - 17:20

    Russia’s Medvedev predicts deterioration of relations with South Korea

    24 June 2024 - 17:20

    Armenian special forces' bold move

    Confiscation sparks political backlash

    24 June 2024 - 17:07

    Death toll from Dagestan terrorist attack rises to 20

    24 June 2024 - 16:59

    US, China, Russia lead hypersonic arms race amid global tensions

    Caliber.Az on YouTube

    24 June 2024 - 16:54

    Kremlin says Putin's peace proposal on Ukraine remains in force

    24 June 2024 - 16:54

    Türkiye conducts large-scale operation against ISIS

    VIDEO

    24 June 2024 - 16:41

    ECOLEAD project memorandum signed in Khankendi

    PHOTO

    24 June 2024 - 16:28

    EU's Klaar optimistic about imminent Azerbaijan-Armenia peace agreement

    24 June 2024 - 16:16

    Azerbaijan's task - to unite fragmented world on climate issues

    COP29's five priorities

    24 June 2024 - 16:04

    France's bid for influence in South Caucasus

    Macron's strategy unveiled  

    24 June 2024 - 15:52

    Israeli forces kills key Hamas weapons designer in airstrike

    VIDEO

    24 June 2024 - 15:40

    ANAMA clears 946.3 ha of lands from mines & UXO in liberated territories

    24 June 2024 - 15:37

    Armenian pundit: Azerbaijan pursues pragmatic policy

    24 June 2024 - 15:24

    UN-Habitat rep discusses COP29 with Azerbaijani ambassador to Kenya

    24 June 2024 - 15:09

    EU develops mechanism to bypass Hungary's veto on arms for Ukraine

    24 June 2024 - 14:54

    MP highlights Azerbaijan's role in climate change efforts at Khankendi conference

    24 June 2024 - 14:38

    Georgia revives Anaklia project with China's help

    A watershed moment for the Caucasus?

    24 June 2024 - 14:23

    US, South Korea, Japan condemn North Korea-Russia deepening military cooperation

    24 June 2024 - 14:10

    Fire breaks out at lithium battery factory in South Korea

    Dozens died

    24 June 2024 - 13:58

    Armenia navigates geopolitical waters amid CSTO membership debate

    Moscow's grip tightens

    24 June 2024 - 13:44

    Criminal cases against Karabakh separatists to be submitted to court soon - top prosecutor

    24 June 2024 - 13:30

    Belgian to adopt 14th package of sanctions against Russia, says FM

    24 June 2024 - 13:18

    Azerbaijan plans resettlement of 228 families in Khojaly, Karkijahan, Sugovushan

    24 June 2024 - 13:06

    Armenia's strategic moves with France draw regional concerns

    Geopolitical chess

    24 June 2024 - 12:54

    North Korea criticises US military aid to Ukraine, backs Russia in conflict

    24 June 2024 - 12:42

    Hungarian PM suggests Trump as key figure for Ukraine ceasefire

    24 June 2024 - 12:30

    ANAMA: Armenia’s minefield maps only 25% accurate

    PHOTO

    24 June 2024 - 12:17

    Israeli PM announces end of intense Gaza phase

    Focus shifts to Lebanon border

    24 June 2024 - 12:05

    Azerbaijan inaugurates Prosecutor's Office building in Khankendi

    PHOTO

    24 June 2024 - 11:53

    Turkish frigate conducts training exercises off Libyan coast

    PHOTO

    24 June 2024 - 11:41

    Russian announces end of counter-terrorist operation in Dagestan

    24 June 2024 - 11:32

    Azerbaijani President condoles with Head of Dagestan over terror attacks

    24 June 2024 - 11:26

    President Aliyev offers condolences to Russian leader over deadly terror acts in Dagestan

    24 June 2024 - 11:21

    Hungarian PM advocates Russian inclusion in European security system

    24 June 2024 - 11:20

    New Caledonia: Riots intensify after activists sent to France for pre-trial detention

    24 June 2024 - 11:09

All news

Осеннее обострение с риском для жизни
    Пашинян продолжает повышать ставки

    АНАЛИТИКА  13 Сентября 2023 - 11:08

    Мурад Абиев
    Caliber.Az

    Премьер-министр Никол Пашинян дал интервью Общественному телевидению Армении. Премьер продемонстрировал хорошую ораторскую форму, высокую степень казуистики и словесной изворотливости, то есть все убедились, что капитан стабилен, уверенно ведет корабль по курсу.

    Вполне логично, что интервью – инициатива самого Пашиняна. Не хотел бы он выступать в этой напряженной обстановке, то, как минимум, отложил бы до более удобного момента. А значит, он все-таки решил отправить кому-то месседжи. Вопрос – кому?

    Пашинян, на фоне обострения «кризиса дорог» и связанной с ним угрозы военной эскалации с Азербайджаном, похоже, не очень спешит загасить смертоносные волны. Наоборот, в ходе интервью он озвучил ряд провокационных заявлений в адрес Баку. Во-первых, фактически признал фейкового «президента» незаконного образования Шахраманяна, «наделив» его некой «ответственностью».  Более того, на вопрос корреспондента, «есть ли контакт между правительствами Армении и Карабаха», Пашинян ответил: «Конечно, этот контакт был и будет, он очень важен с точки зрения ознакомления с ситуацией». Вкупе с поздравлением армянского народа от 2 сентября с очередной годовщиной провозглашения сепаратистского образования на территории Азербайджана, этого достаточно, чтобы провокационные высказывания считать поводом к войне, а самого Пашиняна превратить в легитимную цель.

    Однако, несмотря на это, основной внешнеполитической повесткой интервью были все-таки отношения с Россией. Один из эпизодов, который можно назвать ключевым во всем интервью, явился в силу своей одиозности прямо-таки своеобразным casus belli для Москвы. Речь идет о размышлениях армянского лидера по поводу скорой ратификации Римского статута Международного уголовного суда, уже ставшей красной линией для российского руководства. Вместо того, чтобы молчать в этой крайне скользкой ситуации, он продолжал оскорблять разум кремлевских башен. Полюбуйтесь: «…Ратификацию Римского статута мы начали в декабре 2022 года, просто по нашим процедурам она занимает некоторое время. К сожалению, произошло плохое совпадение в контексте отношений РФ и Гаагского уголовного суда. Этот процесс вовсе не связан с отношениями с РФ, а связан с приграничной напряженностью». То есть звучит это примерно так: «Да, мы обязаны арестовать вашего президента, но это случайно так вышло». 

    И, словно не удовлетворившись этим самим по себе оскорбительным комментарием, армянский премьер продолжил измываться над «старшим братом». На замечание журналиста о том, что итогом действий Еревана стала нота от Москвы, Пашинян заявил, что армяне активно работают с РФ для формирования правильного восприятия происходящего. «В связи с тем же Римским статутом мы предложили очень конкретное решение, которое может развеять все опасения, и мы можем продолжать работать над этим решением», - заверил премьер-министр.

    То есть, сначала мы вам устраиваем гадость на дороге, а потом предлагаем решение, как эту гадость обойти. Причем, сама гадость остается лежать там, где лежала, а озвучивание возможности решения только оскорбительно подчеркивает наличие самой проблемы.

    Вдобавок к этому явному нокауту Пашинян с садистским удовольствием довесил недоумение по поводу политизации визита его жены Анны Акопян в Киев (не станем опускаться до обсуждения столь провокационной, в том числе для Баку, заявки).

    Таким образом, помимо мелких уколов, можно насчитать аж два основательных удара по России в одном интервью. Разумеется, делает это Пашинян не из глупости. Взятая им оскорбительная интонация прекрасно считывается всеми слушателями. И если он идет на эскалацию с Россией, значит путей отступления у него уже нет. Очевидно, Москва твердо вознамерилась использовать все свои ресурсы для приведения к власти в Армении лояльных ей людей. В этих условиях армянский лидер должен обеспечить себе максимальную защиту. В физическом смысле этим занимаются агенты европейской миссии и сотрудники американского посольства, а в политическом – электорат.

    Можно заключить, что подобной неуважительной риторикой как в адрес Москвы, так и в сторону Баку Пашинян консолидирует вокруг себя антироссийски и реваншистски настроенную часть общества, чтобы, во-первых, добиться для своей партии победы на выборах мэра Еревана, а во-вторых – обеспечить себе симпатии и даже защиту в случае активных шагов Кремля по смещению его с власти. Не исключено, что следующим шагом в этом направлении будет призыв к народу выйти на улицы для защиты армянской демократии от угрозы российского вмешательства.

    Что же касается гипотетических действий Баку, то очевидно, армянский премьер не считает эту угрозу катастрофической, по сравнению с планами Москвы. По той простой причине, что военная эскалация с Азербайджаном, на его взгляд, не грозит лично ему смещением, в то время как действия России как раз имеют своей прямой целью такой итог. Целью Пашиняна номер один является выдержать натиск пророссийского мятежа.

    Следовательно, главной и, возможно, единственной целевой аудиторией месседжей Пашиняна является население Армении, которое он старается заверить в своем патриотизме и нежелании идти на компромисс ни с кем. Фактически варчапет позиционировал себя в качестве вождя перед лицом внешней угрозы. 

    Пашинян, в силу природного авантюризма, играет в очень опасную игру. Крен Еревана к одновременному обострению с Баку и Москвой при отсутствии как оснований, так и механизмов вмешательства западных держав грозит Армении большими неприятностями. Если удары от этих двух сил противостояния сойдутся для Еревана по времени, то это грозит смести не только самого Пашиняна, но армянскую государственность как таковую.

    P.S. Тем временем циркулируют слухи, что в России якобы стали в массовом порядке призывать в армию лиц армянской национальности для отправки на украинский фронт. Цель этого предприятия в том, чтобы возмущенные и струхнувшие армяне вернулись к себе, в Армению, и составили ударную массу для свержения Пашиняна.

    Caliber.Az

    Просмотров: 7244

    Подписывайтесь на наш Telegram-канал


Читайте также

Игра мускулами или контуры нового Карибского кризиса? Аналогия с событиями 1962 года

15 Июня 2024 - 17:17

Путь Баку, ультиматум Москвы и паника Парижа «События» с Мурадом Абиевым

15 Июня 2024 - 19:14

Пашинян уходит на Запад: театральные жесты и лукавая риторика Аналитика Сергея Богдана

16 Июня 2024 - 16:00

Шушинская декларация — фактор региональной стабильности И констатация исторического выбора

15 Июня 2024 - 15:44

Экологические дестинации Азербайджана: туризм на вулканах Обзор Caliber.Az

15 Июня 2024 - 09:40

Союзнические отношения во благо мира и безопасности 3 года Шушинской декларации

15 Июня 2024 - 11:42
РЕКЛАМА
Видео
Последние новости

    На военную базу в Гюмри переводят контрактников, воевавших в Украине

    16 Июня 2024 - 17:01

    Кандидат в президенты США отказался называть НАТО оборонительным альянсом

    16 Июня 2024 - 16:48

    Послу Беларуси в Израиле вручили ноту

    16 Июня 2024 - 16:21

    Сближение России и Китая не дает покоя США

    The New York Times

    16 Июня 2024 - 16:16

    Пашинян уходит на Запад: театральные жесты и лукавая риторика

    Аналитика Сергея Богдана

    16 Июня 2024 - 16:00

    Турция вдвое увеличила объем добычи газа

    16 Июня 2024 - 15:55

    Чего еще можно ожидать от саммита по Украине?

    Neue Zürcher Zeitung

    16 Июня 2024 - 15:26

    Сборные Сербии и Англии по футболу впервые встретятся на крупном турнире

    16 Июня 2024 - 15:13

    Мухтар Бабаев ознакомился с Центром инклюзивного развития и творчества DOST

    ФОТО

    16 Июня 2024 - 14:58

    В Японии распространяется опасная болезнь, приводящая к летальному исходу за два дня

    16 Июня 2024 - 14:43

    Премьер-министр Пакистана позвонил Ильхаму Алиеву

    16 Июня 2024 - 14:32

    Небольшое число азиатских лидеров на саммите по Украине говорит о других приоритетах

    The Straits Times

    16 Июня 2024 - 14:27

    На пляжах Абшерона морская вода прогреется до 26 градусов

    16 Июня 2024 - 14:11

    Шольц досрочно покинул конференцию по Украине

    16 Июня 2024 - 13:56

    Лидер ХАМАС «серьезно настроен» на достижение соглашения по Газе

    16 Июня 2024 - 13:41

    Эрдоган поздравил исламский мир с праздником Гурбан байрамы

    16 Июня 2024 - 13:27

    FT: РФ обогнала США по поставкам газа в Европу

    Впервые за два года

    16 Июня 2024 - 13:14

    Захвативших заложников заключенных в ростовском СИЗО ликвидировали

    ВИДЕО/ОБНОВЛЕНО

    16 Июня 2024 - 13:03

    В мечетях Москвы совершили праздничный намаз

    16 Июня 2024 - 13:00

    Xiaomi уволила двух ключевых руководителей за взятки

    16 Июня 2024 - 12:47

    Завтра в Баку и регионах ожидаются дожди, грозы и жара

    16 Июня 2024 - 12:32

    В Сумгайыте обнаружен снаряд РСЗО «Град»

    ФОТО/ВИДЕО

    16 Июня 2024 - 12:21

    Президент Финляндии попросил Китай повлиять на РФ

    16 Июня 2024 - 12:20

    Инцидент с убийствами в Турции: стрелявший покончил с собой

    16 Июня 2024 - 12:07

    Бакинский автовокзал перевез более 20 тыс. пассажиров

    Статистика за два дня

    16 Июня 2024 - 12:06

    В Шуше жителям раздали праздничные паи

    ФОТО

    16 Июня 2024 - 11:41

    В Баку и на Абшероне установилась 34-градусная жара

    16 Июня 2024 - 11:36

    В Шуше, Физули, Агдере и Зангилане открыты пункты забоя жертвенных животных

    ФОТО

    16 Июня 2024 - 11:31

    Трамп обещает положить конец многомиллиардным траншам Киеву

    16 Июня 2024 - 11:18

    TƏBİB: Восемь из 10 пострадавших при пожаре на лодке выписаны домой

    16 Июня 2024 - 11:09

    В Гарадагском районе Баку столкнулись грузовики, есть пострадавший

    16 Июня 2024 - 11:05

    Мехрибан Алиева поделилась публикацией по случаю Гурбан байрамы

    ФОТО

    16 Июня 2024 - 10:53

    Нахчыван вновь под обстрелом армян

    16 Июня 2024 - 10:49

    «В Израиле не воспринимают Армению как самостоятельного игрока»

    Экспертные мнения на Caliber.Az

    16 Июня 2024 - 10:46

    В Физули праздничные паи передадут 822 семьям

    16 Июня 2024 - 10:36

    Вторая волна задержаний в Ереване: арестованы пять человек

    16 Июня 2024 - 10:32

    Швеция и Иран обменялись заключенными

    16 Июня 2024 - 10:26

    Пожар на лодке у берегов Куры

    Прокуратура Мингячевира начала проверки

    16 Июня 2024 - 10:22

    Имам мечети Тезепир о продаже жертвенного мяса

    16 Июня 2024 - 10:11

    Грузинская партия обратилась к Путину

    16 Июня 2024 - 09:59

Все новости