Middle Corridor - alternative to Suez Canal
    Realities and prospects

    ECONOMICS  02 March 2024 - 17:39

    Report features an article highlighting the importance of the Middle Corridor. Caliber.Az reprints the article.

    Geopolitical changes of the last two years have dramatically increased the importance of the Middle Corridor (Trans-Caspian International Transport Corridor), which runs through Central Asia and connects China with Europe.

    First, the Russian-Ukrainian conflict, and since late last year the Houthi attack on ships in the Red Sea, are affecting global trade routes. Ultimately, it all comes down to increased costs: transport, security and communications. Transport corridors from Asia, mainly from China, to Europe and supply chains for products consumed by Europeans have been disrupted, leading to a significant increase in final costs.

    Whereas, as Assistant to the President of Azerbaijan - Head of the Foreign Policy Affairs Department of the Presidential Administration Hikmat Hajiyev emphasized at the Antalya Diplomacy Forum, the annual trade turnover between China and the EU through the Caucasus territory exceeds $700 billion.

    “Currently, the northern corridor is practically paralyzed for known reasons, which increases the importance of the Caucasus region, which is the center between these two trading partners. Thus, the South Caucasus and the Middle Corridor can provide broad strategic connectivity, which is the intention of the Azerbaijani side. We see additional emphasis on the potential of the region to ensure cargo transportation from China to Europe,” said Hajiyev.

    By the way, within the recently held 5th Balkan and Black Sea Forum, both China and the European Union expressed a common interest in the development of the Middle Corridor - to solve geopolitical problems and improve the security of supply chains.

    European and international financial institutions have expressed their readiness to allocate 10 billion euros for the development of transport links in the Central Asian region, primarily the Trans-Caspian International Transport Corridor.

    As is known, since the beginning of the Houthi attacks on ships in the Red Sea, the volume of cargo transportation through the Suez Canal has decreased by 55 per cent. The International Maritime Organization (IMO) estimates that the Suez Canal has lost about two-thirds of its cargo due to tensions in the Red Sea, and that cargo is now being routed through southern Africa. A number of shipping companies have decided to completely suspend transportation through the Red Sea.

    Against the background of this conflict, cargo carriers are choosing a longer roundabout route through the Cape of Good Hope, while at the same time in the EU, China, and the countries of Southeast Asia they are increasingly turning their attention to the Middle Corridor passing through the territory of the states of Central Asia and the South Caucasus - it is considered as optimal entry into the market of Türkiye, the Middle East and Europe in terms of time and safety.

    Over the past years, Azerbaijan has been actively working to expand the capacity of the combined sea and railway component of the Middle Corridor, which also includes the transshipment of goods through the Baku-Tbilisi-Kars (BTK) railway and the Baku port.

    As Hajiyev emphasized, Azerbaijan is investing in increasing the throughput capacity of the Baku port of Alyat to 25 million tons per year.

    “Azerbaijan recently began making additional investments jointly with Georgia to increase the capacity of the Georgian segment of the BTK. We also agreed with our Turkish colleagues on laying a railway from Kars to Nakhchivan,” said the presidential aide.

    The 230-kilometer-long line will start from Kars-Igdir and continue to Nakhchivan. From there the line will be connected to a railway line leading to Iran, Afghanistan and Pakistan. Thus, Türkiye will have a great advantage in logistics.

    As for the work on the Georgian segment of the BTK, it is planned to be completed within two months. Today, a trilateral meeting of the heads of the railway administrations of Azerbaijan, Türkiye and Georgia is being held in Georgia, where the progress of implementation and acceleration of these works are discussed. This will significantly reduce the time of cargo transportation between Asia and Europe, which is a necessary condition for attracting additional cargo flows. At the initial stage, after modernization, the volume of cargo transportation through the BTK is expected at 5 million tons per year.

    Through BTK, cargo can be delivered from Beijing (China) to London (UK) in 12-15 days, while cargo transportation from Europe to Asia by sea via Africa takes 45-62 days, and delivery of goods from China to Europe via Russia - 32 days.

    In particular, transshipment of non-oil cargo, including container cargo, by trains and trucks along the Middle Corridor routes takes on average about 20–25 days, which is significantly less than transshipment of cargo from China and Southeast Asia by sea, rounding the Cape of Good Hope in southern Africa, which takes on average at least one and a half months. Delivery of goods via traditional routes between East and West and in the opposite direction takes 53 days (if transshipped through the Suez Canal).

    What is clear is that, given the ongoing Russian-Ukrainian war, which has interrupted all logistics routes between the Russian Federation and the West, as well as the current escalation of conflicts in the Middle East, which has resulted in a virtual stop of normal shipping in the Red Sea and the Suez Canal, the role of the Middle Corridor as a safe route will only grow.

    This is also supported by forecasts: by 2025, the volume of transportation along the Middle Corridor will reach 10 million tons of cargo per year. In 2023, 2.75 million tons of cargo were transported along this route, which is 64 per cent more than in 2022.

    Caliber.Az

    Subscribe to our Telegram channel


Read also

BSEC Secretary General: Tourism sector rapidly developing in Azerbaijan every year

22 April 2024 - 14:43

Event participants discussing tourism development within BSEC in Azerbaijan

22 April 2024 - 12:56

Azerbaijan's role in BSEC highlighted at tourism education meeting

22 April 2024 - 12:22

UNGA president welcomes Azerbaijan's efforts in transition to green energy

21 April 2024 - 13:04

Azerbaijan, Pakistan prepare agreements to boost trade relations

20 April 2024 - 18:10

Azerbaijani, Caucasus, Central Asian central bank governors explore prospects for partnership

20 April 2024 - 17:27
ADVERTS
Video
Latest news

    UK intel: Russian elite get special unit away from frontline

    22 April 2024 - 15:29

    A show with a predictable finale

    Armenia must uphold the agreements!

    22 April 2024 - 15:27

    Armenian PM sets up two working groups under delimitation commission

    22 April 2024 - 15:13

    Will Antony Blinken's visit overshadow the China-Russia partnership?

    Preventive shot

    22 April 2024 - 15:05

    CSTO Secretary General: Azerbaijan has its own resources to ensure security in Karabakh

    22 April 2024 - 14:57

    BSEC Secretary General: Tourism sector rapidly developing in Azerbaijan every year

    22 April 2024 - 14:43

    Climate and the struggle for survival

    Caliber.Az forecast

    22 April 2024 - 14:31

    NATO welcomes agreement between Armenia, Azerbaijan

    22 April 2024 - 14:28

    Blogger: Russian-Armenian oligarch’s party organises protests in Tavush

    22 April 2024 - 14:12

    Baku as a bridge between the developing and developed world

    COP29 in the focus of global media

    22 April 2024 - 13:57

    Azerbaijan, China have historic opportunity to raise bilateral ties to higher level

    22 April 2024 - 13:40

    Iran-Israel: confrontation, opportunities and constraints

    Caliber.Az analysis

    22 April 2024 - 13:32

    Armenian sappers start demining territory near Gazakh's Askipara village

    22 April 2024 - 13:27

    Azerbaijan, Algeria mark 30th anniversary of diplomatic relations

    22 April 2024 - 13:25

    Israeli army: IDF drone intercepted by missile over Lebanon

    22 April 2024 - 13:10

    Event participants discussing tourism development within BSEC in Azerbaijan

    22 April 2024 - 12:56

    Armenian official questions willingness to fight for Azerbaijani settlements

    Amid Tavush border tensions

    22 April 2024 - 12:49

    Khankandi weapons sweep yields significant trophies

    Azerbaijani Interior Ministry says

    22 April 2024 - 12:39

    Azerbaijan's role in BSEC highlighted at tourism education meeting

    22 April 2024 - 12:22

    Azerbaijani President arrives in Russia for working visit

    22 April 2024 - 12:13

    Armenian media: Russians leaving, Indians coming

    22 April 2024 - 12:05

    Türkiye unveils domestically produced naval cannon

    VIDEO

    22 April 2024 - 11:48

    Azerbaijani Air Defence units conduct exercises using 'Igla' missile system

    Video footage from drills

    22 April 2024 - 11:33

    Israel’s strike on Iran highlights its ability to evade Tehran’s air defences - media

    22 April 2024 - 11:16

    Ambassador-at-Large: Azerbaijan supports “One Belt – One Road” project

    22 April 2024 - 11:10

    No direct negotiations between Iran, US

    22 April 2024 - 10:59

    German Chancellor declares imminent end to fossil fuel era

    22 April 2024 - 10:43

    Azerbaijani para swimmer becomes European champion

    PHOTO

    22 April 2024 - 10:27

    Greek, Turkish representatives to discuss confidence-building measures

    22 April 2024 - 10:10

    Armenia sends special forces to unblock road in border village

    22 April 2024 - 09:52

    Azerbaijan’s Fuzuli residents returning home

    PHOTO

    22 April 2024 - 09:35

    Residents of border villages protest as Armenia, Azerbaijan agree on delimitation

    22 April 2024 - 09:17

    Fossil of largest snake to have ever existed found in western India

    22 April 2024 - 09:03

    Skies fill with color at Chinese kite festival

    22 April 2024 - 08:01

    Turkish KAAN: Second prototype nears completion

    flight tests next

    22 April 2024 - 06:02

    World’s largest neuromorphic computer by Intel works like human brain

    22 April 2024 - 04:03

    Lesser known UNESCO sites to visit in 2024

    from Luxembourg to Swiss wine country

    22 April 2024 - 02:04

    Amazonian town putting world cities to shame

    22 April 2024 - 00:04

    Botswana president: Europeans care more about elephants than people

    21 April 2024 - 22:00

    Nigerian chess champion plays for 60 hours in Times Square

    breaking marathon record

    21 April 2024 - 20:03

All news

Китай и ЕС ставят на Средний коридор
    Реалии и перспективы

    ЭКОНОМИКА  02 Марта 2024 - 16:50

    Геополитические перемены последних двух лет резко увеличили значение Среднего коридора (Транскаспийского международного транспортного коридора), который проходит через Центральную Азию и соединяет Китай с Европой.

    Сначала российско-украинский конфликт, а с конца прошлого года нападение хуситов на суда в Красном море влияют на глобальные торговые маршруты. В конечном итоге все сводится к увеличению расходов: транспортных, на безопасность и связь.Транспортные коридоры из Азии, в основном из Китая, в Европу и цепочки поставок продукции, потребляемой европейцами, были нарушены, что привело к значительному росту конечных затрат.

    Тогда как, как подчеркнул помощник президента Азербайджана - заведующий отделом по вопросам внешней политики Администрации президента Хикмет Гаджиев в рамках Дипломатического форума в Анталье, ежегодный товарооборот между Китаем и ЕС через территорию Кавказа, ни много ни мало превышает 700 млрд долларов США.

    «В настоящее время северный коридор практически парализован по известным причинам, что повышает значимость Кавказского региона, который является центром между двумя этими торговыми партнерами. Таким образом, Южный Кавказ и Средний коридор могут обеспечить широкую стратегическую связь, что и является намерением азербайджанской стороны. Мы видим дополнительные акценты в отношении потенциала региона для обеспечения грузоперевозок из Китая в Европу», - сказал Х.Гаджиев.

    Кстати, в рамках прошедшего недавно 5-го Балканского и Черноморского форумакак Китай, так и Евросоюз выразили общий интерес к развитию Среднего коридора - для решения геополитических проблем и повышения безопасности цепочек поставок.

    А европейские и международные финансовые институты выразили готовность выделить 10 млрд евро на развитие транспортного сообщения в регионе Центральной Азии, прежде всего Транскаспийского международного транспортного коридора.

    Как известно, с начала нападений хуситов на суда в Красном море объем грузоперевозок по Суэцкому каналу сократился на 55%. По оценкам же Международной морской организации (IМО), Суэцкий канал потерял около двух третей грузов из-за напряженности в Красном море, и теперь эти грузы переправляются по маршруту через юг Африки. А ряд судоходных компаний и вовсе принял решение полностью приостановить перевозки через Красное море.

    На фоне этого конфликта грузоперевозчики выбирают более длинный обходной путь через мыс Доброй Надежды, в то же время в ЕС, Китае, странах Юго-Восточной Азии все чаще обращают взоры на проходящий через территорию государств Центральной Азии и Южного Кавказа Средний коридор — он рассматривается в качестве оптимального по временным затратам и безопасности выхода на рынок Турции, стран Ближнего Востока и Европы.

    На протяжении последних лет Азербайджаном ведется активная работа над расширением пропускной способности комбинированного морского и железнодорожного компонента Среднего коридора, включающего также перевалку грузов через железную дорогу Баку — Тбилиси — Карс (БТК), и Бакинского порта.

    Как подчеркнул Х.Гаджиев, Азербайджан инвестирует в увеличение пропускной способности Бакинского порта Алят до 25 млн тонн в год.

    «Недавно Азербайджан начал вкладывать дополнительные инвестиции совместно с Грузией для увеличения пропускной способности грузинского сегмента БТК. Мы также договорились с нашими турецкими коллегами о прокладке железной дороги из Карса в Нахчыван», - сказал помощник президента.

    Отметим, что ветка протяженностью 230 километров будет начинаться от Карс-Игдыр и продолжаться до Нахчывана. Оттуда линия будет соединена с железнодорожной линией, ведущей в Иран, Афганистан и Пакистан. Таким образом, Турция получит большое преимущество в логистике.

    Что касается работ на грузинском сегменте БТК, то их планируется завершить уже в течение 2 месяцев. Сегодня в Грузии проходит трехсторонняя встреча глав железнодорожных администраций Азербайджана, Турции и Грузии, где обсуждается ход реализации и ускорение этих работ. Это позволит существенно сократить время грузоперевозок между Азией и Европой, что является необходимым условием привлечения дополнительных грузопотоков. На начальном этапе, после модернизации, объем грузоперевозок через БТК ожидается на уровне 5 млн тонн в год.

    Посредством БТК грузы могут доставляться из Пекина (Китай) в Лондон (Великобритания) за 12-15 дней, в то время как грузоперевозка из Европы в Азию морским путем через Африку занимает 45-62 дня, а доставка товаров из Китая в Европу через Россию - 32 дня.

    В частности, перевалка ненефтяных грузов, в том числе контейнерных грузов, поездами и автофурами по маршрутам Среднего коридора в среднем занимает около 20–25 дней, что ощутимо меньше, чем перевалка грузов из Китая и Юго-Восточной Азии морским путем, огибая мыс Доброй Надежды на юге Африки, на что в среднем требуется не менее полутора месяцев. Доставка грузов традиционными маршрутами между Востоком и Западом и в обратном направлении занимает 53 дня (при перевалке через Суэцкий канал).

    Однозначно то, что с учетом продолжающейся российско-украинской войны, прервавшей все логистические маршруты между РФ и Западом, а также нынешней эскалации конфликтов на Ближнем Востоке, обернувшейся фактической остановкой нормального судоходства в Красном море и Суэцком канале, роль Среднего коридора как безопасного маршрута будет только расти.

    Об этом говорят и прогнозы: к 2025 году объем перевозки по Среднему коридору достигнет 10 млн тонн грузов в год. В 2023 году по этому маршруту было перевезено 2 млн 750 тыс. тонн грузов, что на 64% больше, чем в 2022 году.

    Источник: Report

    Caliber.Az

    Просмотров: 853

    Подписывайтесь на наш Telegram-канал


Читайте также

Джаббаров и Коробченко обсудили сотрудничество по промзонам и налаживание совместного производства ФОТО

17 Апреля 2024 - 17:47

«Зеленый» водород из Азербайджана станет конкурентоспособным в Европе Перевод Caliber.Az

17 Апреля 2024 - 17:29

Азербайджан и Татарстан обсудили развитие экономического партнерства

17 Апреля 2024 - 16:18

SOCAR Türkiye: Мы чувствительно подходим к экологическим проблемам

17 Апреля 2024 - 15:58

Шахбазов и Коэн обсудили энергосотрудничество

17 Апреля 2024 - 14:26

Евросоюз интересуется развитием Азербайджаном «Срединного коридора» ФОТО

17 Апреля 2024 - 14:28
РЕКЛАМА
Видео
Последние новости

    Сенат США заблокировал попытку импичмента министра внутренней безопасности

    18 Апреля 2024 - 04:30

    Представлен обновленный человекоподобный робот Atlas

    18 Апреля 2024 - 03:30

    Обнаружен новый опасный штамм оспы обезьян

    18 Апреля 2024 - 02:30

    Президент Ботсваны: В ЕС больше ценят жизнь слонов, чем жителей Африки

    18 Апреля 2024 - 02:00

    «Реал» выбил из Лиги чемпионов действующего победителя турнира

    18 Апреля 2024 - 01:55

    Apple может наладить производство устройств в Индонезии

    18 Апреля 2024 - 01:30

    «Бавария» обыграла «Арсенал» и вышла в полуфинал ЛЧ

    18 Апреля 2024 - 01:04

    Германия призвала Израиль не отвечать зеркально на атаку Ирана

    18 Апреля 2024 - 01:00

    Полиция задержала двоих участников акции в Тбилиси

    18 Апреля 2024 - 00:51

    МИД Турции обратился к своим гражданам в Ливане

    18 Апреля 2024 - 00:30

    ООН запросила в десять раз больше средств на помощь Газе

    18 Апреля 2024 - 00:07

    Минул 31 год с Башлыбельской трагедии

    18 Апреля 2024 - 00:02

    Пашинян заявил, что не будет проводить досрочные выборы

    17 Апреля 2024 - 23:54

    Иордания намерена противостоять любому нарушению воздушного пространства

    17 Апреля 2024 - 23:54

    Сколько США выделят на поддержку Израиля?

    ЦИФРЫ

    17 Апреля 2024 - 23:40

    «Барселона» упустила возможность заработать 74 млн долларов

    17 Апреля 2024 - 23:26

    Полиция разогнала крупнейший во Франции сквот мигрантов

    17 Апреля 2024 - 23:16

    Турецкий политик поддержал Азербайджан в ПАСЕ

    17 Апреля 2024 - 23:10

    Макрон назвал долгом Евросоюза расширение санкций против Ирана

    17 Апреля 2024 - 22:58

    Фидан: Третьи стороны не должны переносить свои конфликты в наш регион

    17 Апреля 2024 - 22:50

    Индия заняла первое место в мире по численности населения

    17 Апреля 2024 - 22:44

    Делегация Конгресса Новой Каледонии посетила Центр Гейдара Алиева

    ФОТО

    17 Апреля 2024 - 22:33

    Франция рассматривает перенос церемонии открытия Олимпиады

    17 Апреля 2024 - 22:30

    СМИ: Израиль планировал ударить по Ирану 15 апреля

    17 Апреля 2024 - 22:21

    Взрыв произошел на заводе боеприпасов Британии

    17 Апреля 2024 - 22:16

    Tesla просит акционеров одобрить отмененную судом компенсацию Маску

    17 Апреля 2024 - 22:02

    Полиция ФРГ провела обыски в региональном отделении АдГ

    17 Апреля 2024 - 21:48

    Глава МИД Италии объявил о работе G7 над санкциями в отношении Ирана

    17 Апреля 2024 - 21:34

    Большинство израильтян выступили против удара по Ирану

    17 Апреля 2024 - 21:20

    Орбан назвал Украину протекторатом Запада

    17 Апреля 2024 - 21:07

    Власти Индии не намерены отказываться от ядерного оружия

    17 Апреля 2024 - 20:54

    Премьер Грузии назвал президента агентом иностранного влияния

    17 Апреля 2024 - 20:41

    Азербайджанскому селу угрожает оползень

    17 Апреля 2024 - 20:31

    Трамп уступает Байдену по поддержке избирателей

    17 Апреля 2024 - 20:28

    В Тбилиси возобновилась массовая акция протеста

    17 Апреля 2024 - 20:15

    В Азербайджане расширят использование электромобилей

    ФОТО

    17 Апреля 2024 - 20:06

    Состоится первенство Азербайджана по борьбе

    17 Апреля 2024 - 20:04

    Госдолгу США спрогнозировали стремительный рост

    17 Апреля 2024 - 19:52

    ЦАХАЛ нанес удары по военным объектам «Хезболлах» в Ливане

    17 Апреля 2024 - 19:46

    Евросоюз рекордно закупился газом

    17 Апреля 2024 - 19:39

Все новости