Armenian-style army reform: salaries and allowances snatched from military
    Games of the capitulators

    ANALYTICS  21 November 2022 - 14:21

    Vadim Mansurov
    Caliber.Az

    Pashinyan's government, which no longer conceals that it adheres to a course not for peaceful Armenia, but for the speedy rearmament and creation of a "new model" army, has, however, shouldered an unaffordable burden for the country. It is not at all easy to restore and rearm what is left after the defeat in the autumn of 2020. Now, the soldiers and officers, who have not received any additional benefits due to the total corruption, are more and more dissatisfied with their material security both at the place of service and in everyday life.

    The Armenian authorities seem eager to put the idea of a new army into practice, from increasing salaries to merging military academies into one mega-university. In his speeches, Pashinyan painted a beautiful picture of a powerful and well-fed Armenian army of the future, whose only concern will be the "protection of the motherland" and "repulsion of aggression". The government promises to take care of everything else: modern arms and ammunition, comfort in barracks and at home, and higher salaries than anyone else in the country. As they say, "only victories and new horizons" lie ahead. However, in fact, the Armenian PM's customary promises adopted to lull vigilance, i.e. nothing more than a cloud of dust, just like all his bombastic speeches.

    As you know, with the defeat in the 44-day war, the Armenian people had many revelations about their own lives, including their own army. It turns out that professional military training was at zero. Corruption was rampant in the Armenian army, to the point that even the provisions for Armenian soldiers during the Second Karabakh war were stolen back into Armenia, with only scraps and leftovers reaching the soldiers' trenches (Manvel Grigoryan died, but his cause lived on). In general, it is quite understandable why so many Armenian soldiers deserted - what could they do, hungry, cold, and frightened by the rapid advance of the Azerbaijani Army?

    After the defeat in the 44-day war, Pashinyan's government rushed to rectify the situation in a hurry. However, six months after trying to launch a military reform, some very unpleasant facts began to emerge, further compounding the bunch of problems that Armenia faced during the last war. In addition, it appears that Pashinyan intends to organize a real obstacle race for his military. Judging by Armenian media reports, the Armenian military officers are already openly outraged at what is happening.

    In October, the government approved a package of bills to make contract military service more attractive and interesting, with bonuses for servicemen. Probably, such an innovation would really attract young men to military service except for one slight problem - dependence of the supposed advantages on the military appraisal. In principle, there is nothing unusual about it, the certification of personnel is introduced in many armies of the world, but the Armenian military experts assert that the majority of servicemen will fail it. In case of failure, dismissal from the ranks of the armed forces is envisaged...

    The same media believe that it looks like some kind of state-level manipulation or, at the very least, brazen trickery: they say you come to the army, serve, and hopefully one day you will get the salary announced by the government. "Prime Minister Nikol Pashinyan uses every suitable and inappropriate opportunity to remind that salaries of servicemen will be doubled in the near future, but in private conversations, the servicemen say that if the planned attestation is carried out, salaries will not be increased and most of the servicemen will simply resign," one newspaper writes. A source in the Armenian Defence Ministry reports that qualified servicemen with combat experience, who seem to know the military science but cannot answer some theoretical questions, are also on the verge of dismissal.

    The idea of attestation is not liked even by high-ranking military officials. The Armenian military irritatedly asks: "Who will conduct the attestation?" Justifiably, they fear that the level of their training will be determined by the likes of Artsrun Hovhannisyan and Jalal Harutyunyan, the same ones who have become the symbol of shame, cowardice, and lies, total military incompetence, but still serve in the Defence Ministry of Armenia.

    Probably due to their "professionalism", all beginnings of the army reform were thwarted at the roots, and it stalled from the first days. In any case, the Armenian press publishes the amount of money the servicemen were cheated on. Their money was practically swallowed by the ministry. Thus, "Hraparak" reports that a serviceman complained to the editorial office about Defence Minister Suren Papikyan who had promised to pay a monthly surcharge of 30 per cent of the salary starting from September up to December, and in December the servicemen would receive the end-of-year bonus. But after the September hostilities on the notional Armenian-Azerbaijani border, the head of the agency changed his decision: soldiers will be given only a one-off bonus amounting to 50 per cent of their salary. Meanwhile, according to the complainant, the government had also decided to allocate a 50 per cent bonus, but the bonus did not reach the servicemen.

    "Defence Ministry officers are outraged that large bonuses are given to the police for dispersing protesters, while the defence ministry personnel are 'fed with promises'. Does it turn out that the saving of funds applies only to servicemen of the Defence Ministry? There are rumors among servicemen that Deputy Defence Minister Brutyan is holding back their bonuses," Hraparak quotes the officers as saying.

    Thus, Pashinyan's cabinet attempt to reformat the army has reached a dead end. And not just a dead end, but new structural problems, which have caused general dissatisfaction among the military. The inability of the Armenian prime minister and his team to solve important problems and carry out large-scale reforms has once again been confirmed. Making promises does not mean keeping them. Yerevan is increasing the military budget, but this is unlikely to fix the dire situation in the defeated army. Although it seems clear that in terms of corruption schemes the next military reform seems to be ahead of all other army "innovations".

    Caliber.Az

    Subscribe to our Telegram channel


Read also

Gulf – Central Asian partnership is on the rise Global uncertainty

22 April 2024 - 16:55

Will Antony Blinken's visit overshadow the China-Russia partnership? Preventive shot

22 April 2024 - 15:05

A show with a predictable finale Armenia must uphold the agreements!

22 April 2024 - 15:27

Azerbaijan's diplomatic masterstroke: Return of occupied villages marks strategic achievement New geopolitical reality

21 April 2024 - 11:43

Iran-Israel: confrontation, opportunities and constraints Caliber.Az analysis

22 April 2024 - 13:32

Azerbaijani President's triumph, troubled Georgia, and a duel in the Middle East Caliber.Az weekly review

21 April 2024 - 11:22
ADVERTS
Video
Latest news

    NASA reveals “glass-smooth lake of cooling lava” on surface of Jupiter's moon Io

    23 April 2024 - 03:05

    Singapore gives top-level briefings to reassure foreign banks on stability

    23 April 2024 - 01:03

    How might new US aid change war in Ukraine?

    22 April 2024 - 23:01

    Georgia ready to contribute to peace process in South Caucasus - MoD

    22 April 2024 - 21:03

    Erdogan: Türkiye expects Iraq to take effective steps in fighting PKK

    22 April 2024 - 20:52

    Armenia, US mull border delimitation with Azerbaijan

    22 April 2024 - 20:40

    Kazakhstan bans extremists from entering its territory

    22 April 2024 - 20:31

    Slovenia welcomes agreement between Baku, Yerevan

    22 April 2024 - 20:23

    Next Russia sanctions must target shadow oil fleet, Sweden says

    22 April 2024 - 20:09

    Kremlin: Withdrawal of Russian peacekeepers from Karabakh corresponds to regional realities

    22 April 2024 - 20:04

    Georgia welcomes start of Armenian-Azerbaijani border delimitation process

    22 April 2024 - 19:55

    Jordan welcomes agreement between Azerbaijan and Armenia

    22 April 2024 - 19:42

    Germany disrupts delivery of 400 MRAP armoured vehicles to Ukraine

    22 April 2024 - 19:28

    Azerbaijani, Russian presidents commend Heydar Aliyev's role in Baikal-Amur Mainline project, discuss bilateral ties

    During a one-on-one meeting in Moscow

    22 April 2024 - 19:15

    Iran’s president calls for broadening economic ties with Pakistan

    22 April 2024 - 19:13

    UK foreign secretary seeks “new era” in Central Asia relations on visit to region

    22 April 2024 - 18:59

    Iran considers security in Caucasus priority

    22 April 2024 - 18:44

    Armenia, EU discuss border delimitation issues

    22 April 2024 - 18:37

    Azerbaijan reveals Armenian weapons in Karabakh

    PHOTO

    22 April 2024 - 18:28

    Azerbaijan, Georgia discuss cooperation in ICT

    22 April 2024 - 17:59

    Global military spending surges amid war, rising tensions and insecurity

    Countries’ rating

    22 April 2024 - 17:47

    Israel planned bigger attack on Iran, but scaled it back to avoid war

    Analysis by New York Times

    22 April 2024 - 17:32

    Greece, Spain under pressure to provide Ukraine with air defence systems

    22 April 2024 - 17:17

    Azerbaijan intercepts Iranian drug smugglers in Caspian Sea

    Following a warning shot from patrol vessel/PHOTO/VIDEO

    22 April 2024 - 17:13

    ANAMA reports on progress of demining operations

    22 April 2024 - 17:02

    Gulf – Central Asian partnership is on the rise

    Global uncertainty

    22 April 2024 - 16:55

    Political analyst: Armenia forces Azerbaijan to solve problems militarily

    22 April 2024 - 16:52

    Malaysian parliament chairman due in Azerbaijan

    22 April 2024 - 16:47

    Azerbaijan, Russia to cooperate in mountain tourism

    22 April 2024 - 16:32

    Kremlin considers Azerbaijan great friend, ally of Russia

    22 April 2024 - 16:16

    Armenian pundit accuses opposition of seeking closer ties with Russia

    Risking nation's independence

    22 April 2024 - 16:00

    Armenian politician criticizes protest in Tavush as detrimental to national interests

    22 April 2024 - 15:45

    UK intel: Russian elite get special unit away from frontline

    22 April 2024 - 15:29

    A show with a predictable finale

    Armenia must uphold the agreements!

    22 April 2024 - 15:27

    Armenian PM sets up two working groups under delimitation commission

    22 April 2024 - 15:13

    Will Antony Blinken's visit overshadow the China-Russia partnership?

    Preventive shot

    22 April 2024 - 15:05

    CSTO Secretary General: Azerbaijan has its own resources to ensure security in Karabakh

    22 April 2024 - 14:57

    BSEC Secretary General: Tourism sector rapidly developing in Azerbaijan every year

    22 April 2024 - 14:43

    Climate and the struggle for survival

    Caliber.Az forecast

    22 April 2024 - 14:31

    NATO welcomes agreement between Armenia, Azerbaijan

    22 April 2024 - 14:28

All news

Реформа армии по-армянски: у военных отжали зарплаты и надбавки
    Игры капитулянтов

    АНАЛИТИКА  21 Ноября 2022 - 11:26

    Вадим Мансуров
    Журналист Caliber.Az

    Правительство Пашиняна, уже и не скрывающее, что придерживается курса отнюдь не на мирную Армению, а на скорейшее перевооружение и создание армии «нового образца», взвалило на себя, однако, неподъемную для страны ношу. Восстановить и перевооружить то, что осталось после разгрома осени 2020 года, совсем не просто. И вот уже за красивой вывеской о всяких дополнительных благах для армянских военных, так и не дождавшиеся их из-за тотальной коррупции солдаты и офицеры проявляют все большее недовольство своим материальным обеспечением как по месту службы, так и в быту.

    Идею создать новую армию власти Армении принялись претворять, на первый взгляд, рьяно и в комплексе - от повышения зарплат военнослужащих до объединения профильных вузов в один мегавуз. В своих выступлениях Пашинян рисовал красивую картинку мощной и сытой армянский армии будущего, единственной заботой которой останется «защита родины» и «отражение агрессии». Все остальное – современные оружие и амуниция, комфорт в казармах и дома, зарплата выше, чем у кого бы то ни было в стране, правительство обещает взять на себя. Как говорится – впереди «только победы и новые горизонты». Однако на деле все вылилось в привычные усыпляющие разум и бдительность пассы армянского премьера – то есть, как и все цветастые речи Воваевича, сплошной пшик и ничего более.

    Как известно, с поражением в 44-дневной войне армянский народ настигло немало откровений о собственной жизни, в том числе и о родной армии. Оказывается, профессиональная военная подготовка была на нуле. Плюс к тому в армянской армии царила тотальная коррупция, доведенная до такой стадии, что даже продовольствие для армянских солдат во время второй войны в Карабахе разворовывали еще на территории Армении, до солдатских окопов доходили лишь крохи и объедки (Манвел-тушенка умер, но дело его продолжало жить). В общем, вполне объяснимо, отчего так много армянских солдат дезертировали – что им было делать, голодным, промерзшим и напуганным стремительным наступлением азербайджанской армии.

    После поражения в 44-дневной войне правительство Пашиняна бросилось спешно исправлять ситуацию. Однако спустя полгода после попыток запустить военную реформу начали вылезать весьма неприглядные факты, еще более усугубляющие ком проблем, с которым Армения столкнулась во время прошлой войны. К тому же, как выясняется, Пашинян намерен устроить своим военным настоящий забег с препятствиями. Судя по сообщениям армянским СМИ, кадровые армянские военные уже открыто возмущаются происходящим.

    В октябре правительство одобрило пакет законопроектов с целью повышения привлекательности и заинтересованности военной службы по контракту, в которых предусмотрены солидные доплаты военнослужащим. И, возможно, такое новшество действительно бы привлекло молодых людей на военную службу, кабы всё не испортило одно «но» - зависимость предполагаемых плюсов от аттестации военных. В принципе, в этом ничего необычного, аттестация личного состава введена во многих армиях мира, но армянские военные эксперты утверждают, что большинство военнослужащих ее провалят. А в случае несдачи предусмотрено увольнение из рядов вооруженных сил…

     

    Те же СМИ считают, что попахивает какой-то махинацией на государственном уровне или, по меньшей мере, наглым надувательством: мол, вы приходите в армию, служите и авось когда-нибудь дождетесь озвученной правительством зарплаты. «Премьер-министр Никол Пашинян использует любую подходящую и неподходящую возможность, чтобы напомнить, что оклады военнослужащих в ближайшее время будут повышены в два раза, однако в частных беседах военнослужащие заявляют, что если запланированная ими аттестация будет осуществлена, то оклады увеличиваться не будут и большая часть военнослужащих просто уйдет в отставку», - пишет одна из газет. А источник в армянском Минобороны сообщает, что на грани увольнения оказываются и квалифицированные, имеющие боевой опыт военнослужащие, которые вроде бы разбираются в военном деле, но вот ответить на некоторые теоретические вопросы не смогут.

    Идея аттестации не понравилась даже и высокопоставленным военным, в которой есть и проблема типа «а судьи кто?». Армянские военные раздраженно спрашивают: «А кто будет проводить аттестацию?». Вполне обоснованно они опасаются, что уровень их подготовки будут определять такие как Арцрун Ованнисян и Джалал Арутюнян, те самые, что стали символом позора, трусости и лжи, полной боевой профнепригодности, однако по-прежнему служат в структуре минобороны Армении.  

    Наверняка благодаря их «профессионализму» все начинания армейской реформы стали раскрадывать на корню, и она забуксовала с первых дней. Во всяком случае армянская пресса публикует количество драмов, на которые кинули военнослужащих с обещанными надбавками. Их денюшки практически, не прожевав, проглотило министерство. Так, «Грапарак» сообщает, что в редакцию обратился военнослужащий с жалобой на министра обороны Сурена Папикяна, который обещал, что начиная с сентября каждый месяц до декабря военнослужащим будет выплачиваться надбавка в размере 30% от оклада, а в декабре им будет выдан 13-й оклад. Но после сентябрьских боестолкновений на условной армяно-азербайджанской границе глава ведомства поменял свое решение: военнослужащим выдадут лишь единовременную премию в размере 50 процентов оклада. Между тем, по словам явившегося с жалобой, правительство также приняло решение о выделении 50% надбавки, но премия до военнослужащих не дошла.

    «Офицеры Минобороны возмущаются, что за разгон протестующих полиции выделяются большие премии, а военнослужащих минобороны «кормят завтраками». Получается, что экономия средств распространяется только на военнослужащих Минобороны? Среди военнослужащих ходят слухи, что замминистра обороны Брутян задерживает их премии», - приводит «Грапарак» слова офицеров.

    Таким образом, попытка кабинета Пашиняна переформатировать армию уперлась в тупик. И не просто в тупик, а в новые структурные проблемы, которые вызвали общее недовольство военных. Неспособность армянского премьера и его команды решать важные задачи и проводить масштабные реформы вновь подтвердилась. Раздавать заманчивые обещания – еще не значит их выполнять. Ереван увеличивает военный бюджет, но плачевную ситуацию в проигравшей армии это вряд ли исправит. Хотя, судя по всему, уже ясно, что по размаху коррупционных схем очередная военная реформа, кажется, обставит все прочие армейские «новшества». 

    Caliber.Az

    Просмотров: 2824

    Подписывайтесь на наш Telegram-канал


Читайте также

Армения наступает на старые грабли Баку предупредил Ереван

22 Июня 2024 - 17:17

Европейский садовник и его джунгли Чего стоят слова Борреля?

22 Июня 2024 - 17:15

Третья Карабахская война стала неизбежной Регион на пороге большого пожара

22 Июня 2024 - 14:32

Тандем марионеток Расклад Лиманского

22 Июня 2024 - 13:12

Мышиная возня История одного штурма

22 Июня 2024 - 12:02

Кобулов как первый ученик «Неудобная правда» Самита Алиева

22 Июня 2024 - 16:01
РЕКЛАМА
Видео
Последние новости

    Премьер Франции исключил отставку Макрона после внеочередных парламентских выборов

    23 Июня 2024 - 04:30

    Милею в Гамбурге вручили медаль за программу экономических реформ

    23 Июня 2024 - 03:31

    Англичанам пообещали 30-градусную жару

    23 Июня 2024 - 02:31

    Власти Египта лишили лицензий 16 турфирм из-за гибели паломников

    23 Июня 2024 - 02:00

    Разрыв между правыми и левыми во Франции сокращается

    23 Июня 2024 - 01:31

    Сборная Бельгии победила Румынию на чемпионате Европы

    23 Июня 2024 - 01:03

    В Нигере расследуют диверсии на участке нефтепровода в Бенин

    23 Июня 2024 - 00:59

    Число отравившихся на свадьбе в Агстафе достигло 20 человек

    ОБНОВЛЕНО-2

    23 Июня 2024 - 00:52

    Хорватию оштрафовали из-за поведения болельщиков на матче Евро-2024 с Албанией

    23 Июня 2024 - 00:31

    Жителям Барселоны могут запретить сдавать жилье туристам

    22 Июня 2024 - 23:59

    В Турции зафиксировали землетрясение

    22 Июня 2024 - 23:56

    Роналду установил рекорд Евро по количеству сыгранных подряд матчей

    22 Июня 2024 - 23:40

    МВД ФРГ планирует увеличить число мигрантов на госслужбе

    22 Июня 2024 - 23:25

    Девять медалей Азербайджана в последний день Игр БРИКС

    22 Июня 2024 - 23:23

    Более 30 человек погибли при крушении лодки у берегов Италии

    22 Июня 2024 - 23:12

    Израильтяне требуют освободить заложников

    22 Июня 2024 - 23:02

    Пакистан объявил о начале масштабной антитеррористической кампании

    22 Июня 2024 - 22:47

    Назван способ захвата Китаем Тайваня без единого выстрела

    22 Июня 2024 - 22:35

    На освобожденных территориях Азербайджана впервые пройдет форум НПО

    22 Июня 2024 - 22:23

    США донесли до КНР приверженность обязательствам перед Филиппинами

    22 Июня 2024 - 22:10

    Сборная Португалии разгромила Турцию и вышла в плей-офф ЧЕ

    22 Июня 2024 - 22:09

    Россия готова принять у себя до 43 тысяч палестинских беженцев

    ФОТО

    22 Июня 2024 - 21:58

    «Бавария» близка к покупке хавбека «Кристал Пэлас» Олисе

    22 Июня 2024 - 21:55

    «ПСЖ» задолжал Мбаппе 100 млн евро

    22 Июня 2024 - 21:41

    Трамп знает слабые места Байдена

    New York Post

    22 Июня 2024 - 21:27

    Экс-президент Швейцарии назвала условие для вступления страны в НАТО и ЕС

    22 Июня 2024 - 21:14

    Путин наградил посла РФ в Азербайджане орденом Александра Невского

    22 Июня 2024 - 21:08

    Макрон провоцирует выход Франции из Евросоюза

    22 Июня 2024 - 20:59

    Ураган повредил два боевых вертолета в Польше

    22 Июня 2024 - 20:53

    Начал работу Европейский форум азербайджанских инженеров

    ФОТО

    22 Июня 2024 - 20:52

    Вице-канцлер ФРГ призвал Пекин не продавать РФ товары двойного назначения

    22 Июня 2024 - 20:40

    Вратарь сборной Грузии отличился во время матча с Чехией

    22 Июня 2024 - 20:29

    Во Франции прощаются с «макронизмом»

    22 Июня 2024 - 20:28

    Госдеп доволен отношениями США и Вьетнама

    22 Июня 2024 - 20:15

    Турецкий клуб намерен усилиться еще одним азербайджанским форвардом

    22 Июня 2024 - 20:02

    Атомный авианосец США покидает Красное море на фоне атак хуситов

    22 Июня 2024 - 19:50

    Греция собирается приобрести у США F-35

    22 Июня 2024 - 19:38

    В Нахчыване уничтожено около 74 тонн дикорастущей конопли

    22 Июня 2024 - 19:35

    США закрывают визовые центры России в Нью-Йорке и Вашингтоне

    22 Июня 2024 - 19:26

    Ереван вновь предложил Баку создать механизм расследования нарушений перемирия

    22 Июня 2024 - 19:16

Все новости