Navigating complexity: the contradictory path of Nikol Pashinyan

    ANALYTICS  16 April 2024 - 18:13

    Murad Abiyev
    Caliber.Az

    We often and rightly criticize Armenian Prime Minister Nikol Pashinyan for inconsistency in promoting the peace agenda, indulging in revanchism in Armenian society, promoting the interests of third forces and militarization of the region. However, at the same time, it must be recognized that Pashinyan is a complex figure, and some of his actions in the long term could serve to establish peace and stability in the region.

    These are, first of all, his statements questioning one of the main spiritual pillars of the Armenian nation - territorial claims to its neighbours. Let's remember how back in June of last year he spoke about Mount Agrydag located in Türkiye on the Armenian state emblem: “What is depicted on our coat of arms? Noah's Ark on Mount Ararat, coats of arms of the four dynasties of Armenia. Lately, when I look at this coat of arms, I have a question: how is the image, which is a shrine for each of us, connected with the state founded in 1991? What is it about? Noah's Ark is located on Mount Ararat, and today's territory of the Republic of Armenia is underwater. A lion that has not been in Armenia for a long time under natural conditions.” The prime minister then asked those present if they had thought about how the image relates to each family and what it says about the future. It was then that Pashinyan first voiced the thesis about “oscillations between historical and real Armenia,” to which we will return below.

    In February of this year, in an interview with Public Television, Pashinyan continued to discuss this topic, this time coming up with an allegory with bulls and a grandmother: “Imagine, we are walking along the same road, we need to go from point A to point B. Let's go and we see that there are bulls on both sides of the road. And we are dressed all in red. Moreover, these red clothes were sewn for me by my grandmother, who is no longer alive. This is a talisman for me. But we must go this way. This is where we have to discuss and decide together.” The particular value of that interview is that in it Pashinyan spoke about the need to revise the Constitution of Armenia, which, as we know, disputes the territorial integrity of Azerbaijan. It was the provisions of the Constitution that Pashinyan compared with the red clothes that his grandmother sewed.

    And speaking recently in the National Assembly, Pashinyan again touched upon the topic of national psychology, using the conflict between the so-called "historical" and real Armenia already cited above. The speech was quite eloquent, surprisingly slender, and contained a number of interesting ideas and images. For example, the following: "From this moment (September 2022) the actual political and psychological process, which can be called the process of demarcation between real Armenia and historical Armenia, has actually started. The process of demarcation and delimitation between real and historical Armenia is no easier than the process of demarcation between Armenia and Azerbaijan. Frankly speaking, the process of demarcation between real and historical Armenia is much more painful also because this demarcation takes place inside each of us and reveals unexpected layers and nuances".

    Let us not now argue with the Prime Minister regarding the legitimacy of the concept of “historical Armenia”. One way or another, this concept is so deeply ingrained in the minds of ordinary Armenians that trying to challenge it quickly is a completely impossible task. Understanding this, Pashinyan takes a different path - he says that reality does not coincide with history, and history should not be a reason for changing reality. And even in this mild form, such a paradigm shift is already fundamental and shocking for the Armenian society, which is accustomed to attaching extremely sacred meaning and elevating its largely fictitious history to the rank of absolute.

    The most interesting thing is that a few days after the aforementioned speech in parliament, Pashinyan nevertheless stepped even further and made an attempt to carefully revise his attitude towards the events of 1915. On April 14, the Armenian Prime Minister gave a lecture at the School of Democracy on the topic “Social Psychology of the Republic of Armenia.” During his speech, Pashinyan made an attempt to invite listeners to look at the problem of “genocide” through the prism of global geopolitics and, in particular, Soviet-Turkish relations. Here is how the opposition publication Hraparak writes about it: “The main essence of the hour-long lecture was that the topic of statements about the Armenian genocide was aggravated by Russia, more precisely the USSR, when, starting in 1946, relations between Russia and Türkiye worsened and NATO was created. According to Pashinyan, the USSR organized the return of emigrants who escaped the genocide, which further aggravated the issue of claims. Throughout the entire lecture, Pashinyan did not use the words “genocide,” “Metz Yeghern,” or “misfortune,” which Armenians have always accused US presidents of.”

    Hraparak also notes that a day after the lecture, member of the “Civil Contract” Andranik Kocharyan continued Pashinyan’s theme, openly questioning the fact of “genocide”, calling for the names of all victims of the “Armenian genocide” to be found out and recorded. “In the end, you need to have a list of all the victims. What if it turns out to be more or less than 1.5 million, as is commonly believed,” Kocharyan explained his position during parliamentary briefings,” the publication wrote.

    Opposition journalists associate such rhetoric by Pashinyan and his associates with compliance with Türkiye’s precondition - refusal to exaggerate the topic of “genocide” in order to normalize relations.

    If this is really the reason, then we can only rejoice at the current situation, which demonstrates the strength of Türkiye, capable of dictating its own rules of the game contrary to the wishes of Armenia’s traditional patrons.

    However, it seems to me that the picture is a little more complex and still reflects the deep-seated request of the healthy side of the Armenian society to change the existing state of affairs, to improve the consciousness, suffocating in the musty fumes of national exclusivity. This deep-seated request overlaps with Pashinyan’s political program. In general, we can conclude that in the short and medium term Pashinyan is playing for revanchists, but in the long term, on the contrary, he is betting on the healthy forces of Armenian society. Pashinyan, a politician, uses the short term to stay in power now, and the long term to try to stay in power in the future.

    Well, the main thing is that long-range plans are not sacrificed to those near.

    Caliber.Az

    Subscribe to our Telegram channel


Read also

Will Ebrahim Raisi’s death alter regional geopolitics? Inescapable partnership

30 May 2024 - 15:30

Georgia's deep seaport project with China faces fierce criticism Balancing act amid geopolitical shifts

30 May 2024 - 17:40

Azerbaijan's green agenda & the battle against landmines Zangilan conference highlights the danger

30 May 2024 - 13:46

Aghdam and Khojaly: Powering Karabakh's future through industry and logistics From ruins to renaissance

30 May 2024 - 15:05

Russia’s plan to open consulate in Azerbaijan’s Khankendi raises eyebrows Strategic implications & forecasts

29 May 2024 - 17:29

Azerbaijani president embraces Khojaly returnees, outlines future vision for embattled town In the wake of President Aliyev’s speech

30 May 2024 - 15:54
ADVERTS
Video
Latest news

    Europol's anti-hacker operation leads to arrests in Armenia, Ukraine

    30 May 2024 - 19:02

    France could announce sending military trainers to Ukraine soon

    Diplomats say

    30 May 2024 - 18:50

    Erdogan asserts Türkiye's stand against terrorist threats near southern borders

    30 May 2024 - 18:38

    EUobserver: European countries have limited intelligence sharing with Hungary

    30 May 2024 - 18:26

    Informal meeting of NATO foreign ministers to be held in Prague

    30 May 2024 - 18:14

    Mossad data points to Iran as culprit behind attacks on Israeli embassies

    30 May 2024 - 18:02

    French Polynesia officials call for global support in decolonization, economic development

    30 May 2024 - 17:50

    Georgia's deep seaport project with China faces fierce criticism

    Balancing act amid geopolitical shifts

    30 May 2024 - 17:40

    COP29 office opens in British Embassy in Baku

    30 May 2024 - 17:39

    ANAMA, UNDP agree to set up Centre of Excellence for mine action

    30 May 2024 - 17:27

    Far-right controversy dominates European Commission debates

    Ahead of June elections

    30 May 2024 - 17:15

    Armenia reforms security apparatus

    30 May 2024 - 17:04

    Georgian PM pledges to confront potential Maidan uprising

    30 May 2024 - 16:52

    West's actions destabilize South Caucasus, official Baku concurs - Russian Spokesperson

    30 May 2024 - 16:43

    Russia monitoring Azerbaijan-Armenia border delimitation for regional stability - Spokesperson

    30 May 2024 - 16:41

    French Polynesian leader seeks Azerbaijan’s support for decolonization efforts

    30 May 2024 - 16:29

    Echoes of colonialism: Kanaky's fight for independence from France continues

    The Guardian article

    30 May 2024 - 16:17

    Baku conference addresses French Polynesia's right to decolonization

    30 May 2024 - 16:06

    Azerbaijani president embraces Khojaly returnees, outlines future vision for embattled town

    In the wake of President Aliyev’s speech

    30 May 2024 - 15:54

    Official: Ukraine can use US air defences vs. Russian threats on Russian soil

    30 May 2024 - 15:42

    Zangilan conference highlights mine problem, humanitarian law violations

    OIC representative says

    30 May 2024 - 15:42

    Will Ebrahim Raisi’s death alter regional geopolitics?

    Inescapable partnership

    30 May 2024 - 15:30

    Israeli pundit calls handing over mine maps by Armenia a step towards peace

    30 May 2024 - 15:19

    Erdogan urges Armenia to break free from foreign influence for regional stability

    30 May 2024 - 15:17

    Aghdam and Khojaly: Powering Karabakh's future through industry and logistics

    From ruins to renaissance

    30 May 2024 - 15:05

    Human rights commission shocked by scale of destruction in Karabakh

    Highlights violations, mine threats

    30 May 2024 - 14:52

    US State Secretary emphasizes efforts to achieve peace between Baku, Yerevan

    30 May 2024 - 14:37

    Baku to host annual World Summit on Air Navigation

    30 May 2024 - 14:22

    Karabakh agriculture planning in focus at Azerbaijan's working group meeting

    30 May 2024 - 14:10

    Great Return: 15 more families returned to Shusha

    UPDATED/PHOTO

    30 May 2024 - 13:59

    Washington, Yerevan set to sign customs cooperation agreement

    30 May 2024 - 13:58

    Azerbaijan's green agenda & the battle against landmines

    Zangilan conference highlights the danger

    30 May 2024 - 13:46

    Armenia to repair railway in flood-hit areas with Russian assistance, says PM

    30 May 2024 - 13:46

    Red Crescent staff killed in Israeli strike on ambulance in Rafah

    30 May 2024 - 13:34

    Armenia Parliament speaker to lead delegation on Slovenia visit

    30 May 2024 - 13:22

    Minister Bayramov emphasises COP29 as catalyst for Azerbaijan-Pakistan cooperation

    30 May 2024 - 13:10

    Azerbaijan surges to second place in gas supplies to Türkiye

    30 May 2024 - 12:58

    Azerbaijan's FM highlights effectiveness of delimitation agreements with Armenia

    30 May 2024 - 12:54

    Zangilan-hosted conference on mine action ties to COP29 climate goals

    30 May 2024 - 12:46

    COP29 President: Mines pose dual threats to lives and sustainable development

    30 May 2024 - 12:34

All news

Из недр здравого смысла
    Пашинян и миссия оздоровления

    АНАЛИТИКА  16 Апреля 2024 - 17:35

    Мурад Абиев
    Caliber.Az

    Мы часто и справедливо критикуем армянского премьера Никола Пашиняна за непоследовательность в продвижении мирной повестки, потакание реваншизму в армянском обществе, проведение интересов третьих сил и милитаризацию региона. Однако вместе с тем нужно признать, что Пашинян — фигура сложная, и некоторые его действия в долгосрочной перспективе могли бы служить установлению мира и стабильности в регионе.

    Таковы, в первую очередь, его высказывания, ставящие под сомнение одни из главных духовных стержней армянской нации — территориальные претензии к соседям. Вспомним, как еще в июне прошлого года он говорил о расположенной в Турции горе Агрыдаг на армянском государственном гербе: «Что изображено на нашем гербе? Ноев ковчег на горе Арарат, гербы четырех династий Армении. В последнее время, когда я смотрю на этот герб, у меня возникает вопрос: как связано изображение, которое является для каждого из нас святыней, с государством, основанным в 1991 году? О чем оно? Ноев ковчег находится на горе Арарат, а сегодняшняя территория Республики Армении находится под водой. Лев, которого в естественных условиях давно нет в Армении». Премьер-министр спросил тогда присутствующих, думали ли они о том, как изображение связано с каждой семьей и что оно говорит о будущем. Именно тогда Пашинян впервые озвучил тезис о «колебаниях между исторической и реальной Арменией», к которому мы вернемся ниже.

    В феврале же этого года в интервью Общественному телевидению Пашинян продолжил рассуждать на эту тему, на этот раз придумав аллегорию с быками и бабушкой: «Представьте себе, мы идем по одной и той же дороге, нам нужно пройти из пункта А в пункт Б. Идем и видим, что по обе стороны дороги стоят быки. А мы одеты во всё красное. Причем эту красную одежду сшила для меня моя бабушка, которой уже нет. Это для меня талисман. Но мы должны пройти этот путь. Вот тут-то мы и должны обсудить и принять решение вместе». Особая ценность того интервью в том, что в нем Пашинян говорил о необходимости пересмотра Конституции Армении, в которой, как мы знаем, оспаривается территориальная целостность Азербайджана. Именно положения Конституции сравнил Пашинян с красной одеждой, которую сшила бабушка.

    А выступая недавно в Национальном собрании, Пашинян снова коснулся темы национальной психологии, используя уже приведенный выше конфликт между так называемой «исторической» и реальной Арменией. Выступление было вполне красноречивым, удивительно стройным, содержало ряд интересных идей и образов. Например, такой: «С этого момента (сентябрь 2022 г.) фактически стартовал актуальный политический и психологический процесс, который можно назвать процессом демаркации между реальной Арменией и исторической Арменией. Процесс демаркации и делимитации между реальной и исторической Арменией проходит не легче, чем процесс демаркации между Арменией и Азербайджаном. Честно говоря, процесс разграничения между настоящей и исторической Арменией гораздо более болезнен еще и потому, что это разграничение происходит внутри каждого из нас и обнажает неожиданные слои и нюансы».

    Не будем сейчас спорить с премьером относительно правомочности понятия «историческая Армения». Так или иначе, этот концепт настолько крепко засел в головах простых армян, что пытаться с наскоку оспорить его — труд совершенно неподъемный. Понимая это, Пашинян идет другим путем — он говорит о том, что реальность не совпадает с историей, а история не должна быть поводом для изменения реальности. И даже в этом мягком виде такой разворот парадигмы уже является фундаментальным и шокирующим для армянского социума, привыкшего придавать крайне сакральный смысл и возводить в ранг абсолюта свою во многом вымышленную историю.

    Самое же интересное заключается в том, что еще через несколько дней после упомянутого выступления в парламенте Пашинян все-таки шагнул еще дальше и сделал попытку осторожного пересмотра отношения к событиям 1915 года. 14 апреля армянский премьер выступил в Школе демократии с лекцией на тему «Социальная психология Республики Армения». Во время выступления Пашинян сделал попытку предложить слушателям посмотреть на проблему «геноцида» через призму глобальной геополитики и, в частности, советско-турецких отношений. Вот как пишет об этом оппозиционное издание «Грапарак»: «Основная суть часовой лекции заключалась в том, что тему заявлений о геноциде армян обострила Россия, точнее СССР, когда, начиная с 1946 года, обострились отношения между Россией и Турцией и было создано НАТО. По словам Пашиняна, СССР организовал возвращение избежавших геноцида эмигрантов, что еще более обострило вопрос исковых требований. На протяжении всей лекции Пашинян не употребил ни слова «геноцид», ни «Мец Егерн», ни «несчастье», в чем армяне всегда обвиняли президентов США».

    «Грапарак» также замечает, что спустя день после лекции член «Гражданского договора» Андраник Кочарян продолжил тему Пашиняна, открыто поставив под сомнение факт «геноцида», призвав выяснить и зафиксировать имена всех жертв «геноцида армян». «В конце-то концов, надо иметь список всех жертв. А вдруг окажется больше или меньше 1,5 миллионов, как это принято считать», – разъяснил свою позицию в ходе парламентских брифингов Кочарян», – написало издание.

    Оппозиционные журналисты связывают подобную риторику Пашиняна и его соратников с соблюдением предварительного условия Турции — отказ от муссирования темы «геноцида» для нормализации отношений.

    Если причина действительно в этом, то остается только радоваться сложившейся конъюнктуре, демонстрирующей силу Турции, способной диктовать свои правила игры вопреки желаниям традиционных покровителей Армении.

    Однако мне представляется, что картина чуть более сложна и все-таки отражает глубинный запрос здоровой стороны армянского социума на изменение существующего положения дел, на оздоровление сознания, задыхающегося в затхлых парах национальной исключительности. Этот глубинный запрос накладывается на политическую программу Пашиняна. В общем и целом, можно сделать вывод, что в краткосрочной и среднесрочной перспективе Пашинян играет на реваншистов, но в долгосрочной перспективе, наоборот, делает ставку на здоровые силы армянского общества. Пашинян — политик использует краткосрочную перспективу, чтобы остаться у власти сейчас, и долгосрочную перспективу — чтобы попробовать остаться и в будущем.

    Что ж, главное, чтобы дальние планы не были принесены в жертву ближним.

    Caliber.Az

    Просмотров: 2673

    Подписывайтесь на наш Telegram-канал


Читайте также

Библейский сюжет против церкви Пашинян развивает доктрину

27 Мая 2024 - 19:03

Что сулит пересмотр госбюджета? Пенсии, пособия, ОМС

28 Мая 2024 - 09:17

Заморозка, прослушка и задержания «Неудобная правда» Самита Алиева

27 Мая 2024 - 17:23

Олимпийское перемирие, МУС и анархия Расклад Прейгермана

27 Мая 2024 - 13:41

Баграт, сбросивший рясу: новая серия армянской трагикомедии А лицедеи все те же

27 Мая 2024 - 09:25

Жонглирование «Бастионами» От Армении до Украины

25 Мая 2024 - 22:33
РЕКЛАМА
Видео
Последние новости

    Палестина ожидает признания от четырех стран

    28 Мая 2024 - 12:25

    Заложенл фундамент села Шотланлы Агдамского района

    28 Мая 2024 - 12:20

    Израиль поздравил Азербайджан с Днем независимости

    ФОТО

    28 Мая 2024 - 12:18

    Пылевой туман продержится на территории Азербайджана еще два дня

    28 Мая 2024 - 12:11

    Ильхам Алиев заложил фундамент села Намирли Агдамского района

    28 Мая 2024 - 12:08

    Заложен фундамент села Гюллюджа Агдамского района

    28 Мая 2024 - 12:04

    Президент Ильхам Алиев заложил фундамент села Тагибейли Агдамского района

    28 Мая 2024 - 12:02

    Сельчук Байрактар: Пусть наше единство и солидарность с Азербайджаном будут вечными

    28 Мая 2024 - 11:57

    Иран закупит у России 12 вертолетов Ми-17

    28 Мая 2024 - 11:55

    Генеральный секретарь ТЮРКСОЙ поздравил Азербайджан

    28 Мая 2024 - 11:50

    День независимости Азербайджана отмечают в Грузии

    ФОТО

    28 Мая 2024 - 11:45

    Глава МИД Литвы поздравил Азербайджан

    28 Мая 2024 - 11:40

    Сийярто: Венгрия не поддержат переизбрание фон дер Ляйен главой ЕК

    28 Мая 2024 - 11:38

    Резидент-координатор ООН пожелала Азербайджану устойчивого развития

    ФОТО

    28 Мая 2024 - 11:31

    Сотрудники компаний Global Media Group состязались в интеллектуальной игре Həngamə

    ФОТО

    28 Мая 2024 - 11:26

    Минобороны Азербайджана поделилось видеороликом по случаю Дня независимости

    ВИДЕО

    28 Мая 2024 - 11:23

    В Алматы обсуждают участие стран ЦА в COP29 в Баку

    28 Мая 2024 - 11:20

    Бельгия намерена поставить Украине 30 F-16

    28 Мая 2024 - 11:15

    Посол Франции поздравила Азербайджан с Днем независимости

    28 Мая 2024 - 11:13

    МИД Казахстана поздравил Азербайджан с Днем независимости

    ФОТО

    28 Мая 2024 - 11:07

    МИД Пакистана поздравил Азербайджан с Днем независимости

    ФОТО

    28 Мая 2024 - 11:05

    Медведев заявил, что РФ близка к установлению отношений с талибами

    28 Мая 2024 - 11:00

    В Агдаме сотрудник ANAMA подорвался на мине

    28 Мая 2024 - 10:51

    В Польше не исключили отправку войск в Украину

    28 Мая 2024 - 10:47

    Джахит Багчи пожелал Азербайджану мира, процветания и прогресса

    ФОТО

    28 Мая 2024 - 10:38

    В Бакпорту прошло мероприятие ООН по возможностям COP29

    28 Мая 2024 - 10:34

    МВД: В Азербайджане задержаны 49 лиц по подозрению в совершении преступлений

    28 Мая 2024 - 10:24

    МИД Турции поздравил народ Азербайджана по случаю Дня независимости

    ФОТО

    28 Мая 2024 - 10:21

    Фергюс Олд: Азербайджан вносит свой вклад в борьбу с самой большой мировой проблемой - изменением климата

    ВИДЕО

    28 Мая 2024 - 10:18

    Главы МИД ЕС впервые обсудили санкции против Израиля

    28 Мая 2024 - 10:16

    Мирный процесс между Баку и Ереваном на повестке Совета нацбезопасности Турции

    28 Мая 2024 - 10:11

    Спикером парламента Ирана переизбран Мохаммад Багер Галибаф

    28 Мая 2024 - 10:08

    Высотное здание в Багдаде подсвечено цветами флага Азербайджана

    ФОТО

    28 Мая 2024 - 10:03

    Brent подорожала до 83,28 долл за баррель

    28 Мая 2024 - 10:00

    Посольство Польши поздравило Азербайджан с Днем независимости

    28 Мая 2024 - 09:56

    ГУАМ поздравил Азербайджан по случаю Дня независимости

    28 Мая 2024 - 09:47

    Новая Зеландия эвакуировала из Новой Каледонии 370 человек

    28 Мая 2024 - 09:43

    Скончался бывший министр обороны Азербайджана

    28 Мая 2024 - 09:38

    МИД Азербайджана поздравил народ по случаю Дня независимости

    28 Мая 2024 - 09:31

    Президент Конго поздравил президента Азербайджана

    28 Мая 2024 - 09:29

Все новости