Armenian PM's Moscow visit sparks speculation on bilateral relations
    Dilemma between East, West

    ANALYTICS  23 April 2024 - 11:19

    Matanat Nasibova
    Caliber.Az

    Armenian media are actively discussing the issue of Prime Minister Nikol Pashinyan's participation in the upcoming three key events in Moscow: President Vladimir Putin's inauguration on May 7, the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) jubilee summit on May 8 and the Victory Day parade on May 9. In particular, as "Hraparak" newspaper notes, while the Armenian authorities are keeping the intrigue to the last, the government apparatus says that all the visits are reported in due order and in a timely manner. At the same time, a message by the Kremlin spokesperson Dmitry Peskov to journalists has largely shed light on this issue.

    Peskov said that Russian President Vladimir Putin and Armenian Prime Minister Nikol Pashinyan will be able to personally discuss various issues in the short term, which most likely means that the Armenian leader's upcoming visit to Moscow is in question. Against the background of Armenia's recent outbursts against Russia, including those related to the recent Brussels meeting in the EU-US-Armenia format, Moscow has accumulated a number of questions for Pashinyan. Therefore, there is no doubt that the Armenian prime minister will have a serious conversation in the Kremlin, which was indirectly hinted at by Dmitry Peskov, emphasizing the issue of the withdrawal of Russian border guards from Armenia. Undoubtedly, this is a fundamentally important issue for Russia, as it predetermines the further presence of the 102nd military base in Gyumri and, in general, the further Russian policy in Armenia. For Moscow, this is an extremely sensitive issue, which is why Moscow is likely to demand specifics from Pashinyan.

    Meanwhile, responding to a question about the 102nd military base stationed in Gyumri, Peskov said there were no signals from Yerevan regarding the withdrawal of the Russian military base from Armenia. "Again, there have been no signals in this regard. We expect that already in a short period of time President Putin and Prime Minister Pashinyan will have an opportunity to discuss these and, if necessary, other topical issues in person," Peskov said.

    Further. At a briefing last week, Russian Foreign Ministry spokeswoman Maria Zakharova said that Russia expects a clear reaction from Armenia after information about "military-political agreements" with the United States and the European Union. The diplomat added that Moscow will not be surprised if it turns out that the US and EU representatives in Brussels have indeed imposed plans on Yerevan that imply replacing the Russian military base and Russian border guards with specialists from the US, NATO and EU. So, during the likely Moscow rendezvous, Pashinyan will have to clarify this issue as well. Yerevan has been made to realize that it cannot sit on two chairs for long.

    And one more important point. As is known, the Armenian leadership has recently been blatantly ignoring CSTO events, demonstrating a clear drift towards the West, but has not yet mentioned the EAEU. There is still an understanding there that no matter how much Armenia dreams of membership in the EU and NATO, it is now financially and economically highly dependent on Russia.  This fact is confirmed by statistics. According to open sources, the volume of exports from Armenia to EAEU countries in 2023 increased by 40.8 per cent, while imports from EAEU countries increased by 44.6 per cent. Moreover, the largest volume of exports from Armenia in 2023 went to Russia and amounted to $3 billion 418 million 641,006, increasing by 38.8 per cent compared to 2022. At the same time, Armenia's trade turnover with the countries of the Eurasian Economic Union in 2023 increased by 42.7 per cent, amounting to $7 billion 615 million 977 002.

    At the moment, Russia remains Armenia's largest trade partner, while the volume of trade with Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Belarus is growing in parallel. The fact that Armenia benefits the most in the EAEU in the proportional dimension was also stated last week by Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov in an interview with three radio stations Sputnik, “Govorit Moskva” and “Komsomolskaya Pravda”, noting that 35 per cent of Armenia's economy is realized through participation in the organization.

    "In 2023, Armenia's trade turnover will be 20-something billion dollars and 37 per cent of that will come from the EAEU, 13 per cent from the EU and 3 per cent from the US. Armenia, being a small country, contributes much less to the EAEU than others, including financial contributions. But it has absolutely equal rights with everyone, including the Russian Federation, when decisions are made, when votes are cast. "Gazprom Armenia supplies gas at $177 per 1,000 cubic meters of gas, the West pays two or three times more, and if they want to heat Armenia with their gas, I don't know how it will be," Lavrov said.

    Accordingly, it would be naive to believe that Armenia will so easily give up its real economic benefits in the EAEU, Pashinyan will rather try to continue bargaining with Moscow in order to stretch the terms of departure to the West.

    Attention should also be paid to the following aspect. Armenia assumed the chairmanship of the bodies of the Eurasian Economic Union on January 1, 2024 and formally committed itself to chair the Supreme Eurasian Economic Council, the Eurasian Intergovernmental Council and the Council of Eurasian Economic Commission during 2024, and this is also a serious reason forcing Pashinyan to participate in the EAEU summit. Although the Armenian side is likely to drag out the issue of withdrawal from the EAEU in order to raise the financial stakes in the West and Russia.

    Finally, Pashinyan's participation in Vladimir Putin's inauguration and at the Victory Parade also leaves no doubts, as well as the fact that after Pashinyan's return to Yerevan, new anti-Russian statements will be voiced there, up to the final decision to turn to the West.

    Vasily Koltashov, director of the Institute of the New Society, is of the same opinion. In a conversation with Caliber.Az, he questioned Armenia's readiness to withdraw from the Eurasian Economic Union. According to him, Nikol Pashinyan would like to use Russia to implement policies favorable to the West, while using the EAEU market.

    "This approach should provide Pashinyan with resource support for his policy, so Armenia will not withdraw from the EAEU. This is the essence of what is happening. The paradox is that the Armenian authorities are against Russia, but at the same time Armenia is not going to leave the EAEU. However, at some point they will have to break with the EAEU, but it will happen not now and not even soon," Koltashov noted.

    Caliber.Az

    Subscribe to our Telegram channel


Read also

Uncertainty over Russian border guard withdrawal from Armenia Amid conflicting statements

18 May 2024 - 14:47

Azerbaijan sets priorities ahead of COP29 "Green" financing, ESG implementation

18 May 2024 - 12:13

New Caledonia crisis mirrors Macron's hypocrisy on Azerbaijan France faces its own crisis

17 May 2024 - 17:20

Armenia's Illegal mining activities, environmental violations near Azerbaijani border New map reveals

17 May 2024 - 12:50

Blaming Azerbaijan for New Caledonia’s quest for independence French colonial hypocrisy

17 May 2024 - 16:45

France's coercive colonial policies in New Caledonia Hypocrisy, repression, struggle for self-determination

16 May 2024 - 17:29
ADVERTS
Video
Latest news

    Russia admits it can’t halt nighttime uncrewed surface vessel raids

    18 May 2024 - 20:00

    Palestinian resistance eliminates 15 Israeli soldiers in Rafah

    18 May 2024 - 18:18

    Slovak PM’s attacker pleads guilty before court — media

    18 May 2024 - 18:08

    White House not thrilled by Macron’s D-Day invite to Russia

    18 May 2024 - 17:59

    Poland to begin construction of Eastern Shield

    18 May 2024 - 17:47

    Resistance destroys 100 Israeli vehicles in 10 days

    18 May 2024 - 17:32

    Hungarian FM calls for Azerbaijani delegation's return to PACE

    18 May 2024 - 17:17

    Ambrey says Panama-flagged oil tanker attacked southwest of Yemen's Mokha

    18 May 2024 - 17:02

    Pakistan, India issue warnings to students in Kyrgyzstan after mob violence

    18 May 2024 - 16:47

    New Croatian government receives confidence vote in Zagreb assembly

    18 May 2024 - 16:36

    Presidential couple attend inauguration, groundbreaking ceremonies in de-occupied territories

    18 May 2024 - 16:30

    Zelenskyy expects Russia to intensify offensive in northeast Ukraine

    18 May 2024 - 16:24

    Azerbaijan participates in 79th CISM General Assembly and Congress

    18 May 2024 - 16:12

    White House: “No surprise” over strengthening Russia-China alliance

    18 May 2024 - 16:00

    Five activists from Yerevan's revanchist movement released after detention

    18 May 2024 - 15:47

    China probes agriculture minister for suspected disciplinary violations

    18 May 2024 - 15:36

    Azerbaijani marine special forces involved in military exercises in Türkiye

    PHOTO

    18 May 2024 - 15:24

    German lawmakers suggest allies could protect sky over western Ukraine from NATO soil

    18 May 2024 - 15:12

    French authorities report sixth fatality in New Caledonia violence

    18 May 2024 - 14:59

    Uncertainty over Russian border guard withdrawal from Armenia

    Amid conflicting statements

    18 May 2024 - 14:47

    Azerbaijan, Iran set to inaugurate Qiz Qalasi hydroelectric complex on Araz River

    18 May 2024 - 14:35

    Future of nuclear energy: balancing clean power, safety, innovation

    Caliber.Az on YouTube

    18 May 2024 - 14:23

    Australia applies sanctions for North Korea arms supply

    18 May 2024 - 14:08

    US: 30 years for man who attacked Nancy Pelosi's husband

    18 May 2024 - 13:53

    Azerbaijani gas supplies to Europe via TAP surpass 35 billion cubic meters

    18 May 2024 - 13:40

    US says drone strikes on Russia hurt fuel supplies but not power

    18 May 2024 - 13:28

    COP29 at crossroads in Azerbaijan with focus on climate finance

    Article by The Guardian

    18 May 2024 - 13:17

    Azerbaijan seize Armenian weapons, ammunition in Khankandi, surrounding areas

    PHOTO/VIDEO

    18 May 2024 - 13:03

    Azerbaijani Army achieves substantial mine clearance in liberated territories

    PHOTO/VIDEO

    18 May 2024 - 12:50

    North Korean president guides tactical missile test with “autonomous navigation”

    18 May 2024 - 12:38

    Armenia, Netherlands mull bilateral relations, Baku-Yerevan peace treaty

    18 May 2024 - 12:26

    Azerbaijan sets priorities ahead of COP29

    "Green" financing, ESG implementation

    18 May 2024 - 12:13

    Pashinyan visits border village to persuade discontented residents, claims revanchist archbishop

    18 May 2024 - 12:03

    Gunmen kill three Spanish tourists in Afghanistan's central Bamyan province

    18 May 2024 - 12:00

    Israeli strike on West Bank's Jenin kills alleged militant leader, injures 8

    18 May 2024 - 11:48

    Turkish transport minister outlines timeline for Zangezur corridor launch

    18 May 2024 - 11:38

    Senegalese prime minister criticises French military bases on territory

    18 May 2024 - 11:37

    Azerbaijani oil price nears $85

    18 May 2024 - 11:24

    IAEA chief Rafael Grossi to discuss Zaporizhzhya NPP in Russia visit

    18 May 2024 - 11:12

    Azerbaijani deputy defence ministers emphasize combat readiness, training reforms

    Meeting with reservists

    18 May 2024 - 11:00

All news

Еревану придется держать ответ перед Москвой
    Май будет жарким

    АНАЛИТИКА  22 Апреля 2024 - 19:01

    Матанат Насибова
    Политический обозреватель Caliber.Az

    В армянских СМИ активно муссируется вопрос участия премьер-министра Никола Пашиняна на предстоящих трех важных мероприятиях в Москве: инаугурации президента Владимира Путина 7 мая, юбилейном саммите ЕАЭС 8 мая и на параде 9 мая, посвященном Дню Победы. В частности, как отмечает газета «Грапарак», пока армянские власти до последнего сохраняют интригу, в аппарате правительства заявляют, что обо всех визитах сообщается в надлежащем порядке и своевременно. Вместе с тем сегодняшнее сообщение пресс-секретаря российского лидера Дмитрия Пескова журналистам во многом пролило свет на этот вопрос.

    Песков заявил, что президент России Владимир Путин и премьер-министр Армении Никол Пашинян в краткосрочной перспективе смогут лично обсудить различные вопросы, что, скорее всего, означает, что речь идет о предстоящем визите армянского лидера в Москву. На фоне последних выпадов Армении в адрес России, связанных в том числе с недавней брюссельской встречей в формате ЕС — США — Армения, у Москвы накопилось много вопросов к Пашиняну. Поэтому не подлежит сомнению, что армянскому премьеру предстоит серьезный разговор в стенах Кремля, на что косвенно намекнул и Дмитрий Песков, акцентируя внимание на вопросе ухода российских пограничников из РА. Несомненно, это принципиально важный вопрос для России, поскольку предопределяет дальнейшее нахождение 102-й военной базы в Гюмри и в целом дальнейшую российскую политику в Армении. Для Москвы это крайне чувствительный вопрос, поэтому, скорее всего, в Москве потребуют от Пашиняна конкретики.

    А пока, отвечая на вопрос про 102-ю военную базу, дислоцированную в Гюмри, Песков сказал, что никаких сигналов от Еревана, касающихся вывода российской военной базы из Армении, не было. «Опять же, никаких сигналов на этот счет не было. Мы ожидаем, что уже в краткосрочной перспективе президенту Путину и премьер-министру Пашиняну представится возможность обсудить эти и при необходимости другие актуальные вопросы лично», — сказал Песков.

    Далее. На прошлой неделе на брифинге официальный представитель МИД РФ Мария Захарова заявила о том, что Россия ожидает от Армении четкой реакциипосле появления сведений о «военно-политических договоренностях» с США и Евросоюзом. Дипломат добавила, что в Москве не будут удивлены, если окажется, что представители США и Евросоюза в Брюсселе действительно навязывали Еревану планы, предполагающие замену российской военной базы и российских пограничников специалистами из США, НАТО и ЕС. Так что в ходе вероятного московского рандеву Пашиняну придется внести ясность и в этот вопрос. Еревану дали понять, что усидеть на двух стульях долго не получится.

    И еще один немаловажный момент. Как известно, руководство Армении в последнее время откровенно игнорирует мероприятия ОДКБ, демонстрируя явный дрейф в сторону Запада, но при этом пока не упоминает ЕАЭС. Там все же есть понимание того, что как бы Армения не грезила членство в ЕС и НАТО, сейчас она финансово и экономически сильно зависима от России.  Данный факт подтверждает статистика. Согласно открытым источникам, объем экспорта из Армении в страны ЕАЭС в 2023 году увеличился на 40,8%, а импорт из стран ЕАЭС вырос на 44,6%. Причем наибольший объем экспорта из Армении в 2023 году пришелся на Россию и составил $3 миллиарда 418 миллионов 641 006, увеличившись по сравнению с 2022 годом на 38,8%. При этом товарооборот Армении со странами Евразийского экономического союза в 2023 году вырос на 42,7%, составив $7 миллиардов 615 миллионов 977 002. На сегодняшний момент крупнейшим торговым партнером Армении остается именно Россия, параллельно растет объем торговли с Казахстаном, Кыргызстаном и Беларусью. О том, что в ЕАЭС Армения в пропорциональном измерении получает самую большую выгоду, заявлял на минувшей неделе и глава МИД РФ Сергей Лавров в интервью трем радиостанциям «Спутник», «Говорит Москва» и «Комсомольская правда», отмечая, что 35% экономики Армении реализуется за счет участия в организации.

    «В 2023 году товарооборот Армении 20 с чем-то миллиардов долларов и 37% от этого — ЕАЭС, 13% — ЕС и 3% — США. Армения, будучи маленькой страной, вносит в ЕАЭС гораздо меньше, чем другие, в том числе финансовые взносы. Но при этом имеет совершенно равные права со всеми, включая РФ, когда принимаются решения, когда голосуют. «Газпром Армения» поставляет газ по 177 долларов за 1 тысячу кубометров газа, на Западе платят в два-три раза больше, и если они хотят своим газом Армению отапливать, то я не знаю, как это будет», — сказал Лавров. 

    Соответственно, было бы наивно полагать, что Армения так просто откажется от своей реальной экономической выгоды в ЕАЭС, скорее Пашинян попытается продолжать торг с Москвой, чтобы растянуть сроки отхождения на Запад.

    Следует обратить внимание и на следующий нюанс. Армения с 1 января 2024 года приняла председательство в органах Евразийского экономического союза и формально обязалась в течение 2024 года председательствовать в Высшем Евразийском экономическом совете, Евразийском межправительственном совете и Совете Евразийской экономической комиссии, и это тоже серьезный повод, вынуждающий Пашиняна участвовать на саммите ЕАЭС. В. Хотя, вероятнее всего, армянская сторона будет затягивать вопрос выхода из ЕАЭС с тем, чтобы повысить финансовые ставки на Западе и в России.

    И, наконец, участие Пашиняна на инаугурации Владимира Путина и на параде Победы также не оставляет каких-то сомнений, как, впрочем, и то, что после возвращения Пашиняна в Ереван там будут озвучиваться новые заявления антироссийской направленности вплоть до принятия окончательного решения по развороту на Запад.

    Идентичного мнения придерживается и директор Института нового общества Василий Колташов. В беседе с Caliber.Аz он поставил под сомнение готовность Армении выйти из Евразийского экономического союза. По его словам, Никол Пашинян хотел бы использовать Россию для реализации выгодной Западу политики, используя при этом рынок ЕАЭС.

    «Такой подход должен обеспечивать Пашиняну ресурсную опору его политики, поэтому Армения не будет выходить из ЕАЭС. В этом суть происходящего. Парадокс в том, что армянские власти против России, но при этом Армения не собирается выходить из ЕАЭС. Однако в какой-то момент они должны будут порвать с ЕАЭС, но это произойдет не сейчас и даже не в скором времени», — сказал В. Колташов.

    Caliber.Az

    Просмотров: 7311

    Подписывайтесь на наш Telegram-канал


Читайте также

Вопли бесполезны Тихо, ведется следствие

17 Мая 2024 - 17:44

Удастся ли Западу повторно втянуть Грузию в цветную «трясину»? Видео YouTube-канала Caliber.Az

17 Мая 2024 - 14:33

Неприкрытая кастрюля неприкрытого национализма «Истерики древнего мира»

17 Мая 2024 - 17:04

Баку и Минск выверили контуры агропромышленной кооперации Расклад Caliber.Az

17 Мая 2024 - 16:32

И вот опять… Размышления Эмина Галалы

17 Мая 2024 - 15:15

Экологическая катастрофа на границе с Азербайджаном Новая карта разоблачает Армению

17 Мая 2024 - 11:01
РЕКЛАМА
Видео
Последние новости

    Ученые предложили использовать бактерии для лечения рака

    18 Мая 2024 - 06:30

    В Намибии семейства львов стали причиной закрытия школ

    18 Мая 2024 - 05:30

    14-летний аргентинец побил рекорд Марадоны

    18 Мая 2024 - 04:30

    В Берлине вандалы облили красной краской магазин Apple

    18 Мая 2024 - 03:30

    Салфетка с текстом первого контракта Месси продана за 900 тысяч евро

    18 Мая 2024 - 02:30

    В Китае раскрыли дату начала туристических полетов в космос

    18 Мая 2024 - 02:00

    Пол Маккартни стал первым музыкантом-миллиардером Британии

    18 Мая 2024 - 01:30

    Великобритания отказалась от расследования в отношении Microsoft

    18 Мая 2024 - 01:00

    Президент Грузии не будет вносить поправок к принятому закону об иноагентах

    18 Мая 2024 - 00:37

    Christie's за день продал картины более чем на 413 млн долларов

    18 Мая 2024 - 00:30

    На Каннском фестивале отменили показ израильского фильма о нападении ХАМАС

    18 Мая 2024 - 00:13

    Участник Евровидения может предстать перед судом в ЕС

    17 Мая 2024 - 23:59

    Индия ждет от Армении предложений по порту Чабахар

    17 Мая 2024 - 23:46

    Сенегал избавляется от французских военных

    17 Мая 2024 - 23:32

    В Азербайджане выпал снег

    В Баку усилился северо-западный ветер

    17 Мая 2024 - 23:26

    Макрон, Шольц и Мелони против вступления Косово в Совет Европы

    17 Мая 2024 - 23:18

    «Я многое потеряю, но дальше меня ждет нечто волшебное»

    Мбаппе об уходе из «ПСЖ»

    17 Мая 2024 - 23:10

    Эрдоган: Водные ресурсы становятся источником конфликтов

    17 Мая 2024 - 23:04

    В Санкт-Петербурге произошел взрыв, пострадали семеро военнослужащих

    17 Мая 2024 - 22:53

    Рост ВВП России резко ускорился

    17 Мая 2024 - 22:50

    Продолжительность жизни в мире вырастет почти на пять лет

    17 Мая 2024 - 22:36

    Хикмет Гаджиев встретился с Джейком Салливаном

    17 Мая 2024 - 22:35

    Азербайджан и Куба обменялись мнениями по COP29

    17 Мая 2024 - 22:34

    Стало известно имя нового главного тренера «Ливерпуля»

    17 Мая 2024 - 22:23

    Алиев и Лукашенко ознакомились с генпланом Физули

    ФОТО/ОБНОВЛЕНО-2

    17 Мая 2024 - 22:18

    Президент Финляндии об идеи Макрона о независимости Европы

    17 Мая 2024 - 22:10

    В Лиепая прошел «День Азербайджана»

    ФОТО

    17 Мая 2024 - 22:06

    «Барселона» начала поиски нового главного тренера

    17 Мая 2024 - 21:54

    ЦАХАЛ по ошибке сбросил боеприпас на израильский поселок

    17 Мая 2024 - 21:40

    Благополучие, построенное на богатствах угнетенных

    Эрдоган о колониальном прошлом Европы

    17 Мая 2024 - 21:31

    Кобахидзе предложил молодежи дебаты по закону об иноагентах

    17 Мая 2024 - 21:26

    Замглавы МИД Азербайджана выступил на 133-й сессии Комитета министров Совета Европы

    17 Мая 2024 - 21:18

    Наставник «Марселя» Гассе объявил о завершении карьеры

    17 Мая 2024 - 21:14

    Генпрокурор Азербайджана провел двусторонние встречи в Душанбе

    ФОТО

    17 Мая 2024 - 21:11

    Маск ищет второго добровольца для вживления мозгового импланта

    17 Мая 2024 - 20:59

    Назначен советник президента AZAL

    17 Мая 2024 - 20:58

    В Евросоюзе поддержали согласование Баку и Ереваном участков границы

    17 Мая 2024 - 20:51

    Суд ООН вынесет решение по иску Мексики против Эквадора

    17 Мая 2024 - 20:48

    Активы инвестиционных компаний Азербайджана выросли на 12 процентов

    17 Мая 2024 - 20:43

    Германия заявила о готовности поддерживать мирный процесс между Баку и Ереваном

    17 Мая 2024 - 20:42

Все новости