Armenian Church's involvement in border disputes
    Challenges to peace

    ANALYTICS  24 April 2024 - 12:30

    Murad Abiyev
    Caliber.Az

    The signing of the protocol between Baku and Yerevan on the return to Azerbaijani control of four villages in the Gazakh region - Baghanis Ayrim, Ashagi Askipara, Kheyrimli and Gizilhajili - was without any doubt a serious positive step towards a peaceful settlement between Azerbaijan and Armenia. However, as expected, forces quickly emerged in Armenia to challenge the delimitation commission's decisions. Residents of the occupied and border villages have taken to protesting, including blocking the roads leading to these settlements.

    One might think that these actions are spontaneous. However, this is not the case - the Armenian Church decided to lead this gathering. As it became known from media materials: “Bagrat Galstanyan, head of the Tavush Diocese of the Armenian Apostolic Church, joined the demonstrators and called on the villagers to unite to hold joint large-scale actions. On April 21, demonstrators prevented the authorities from starting demining work on the territory of the Church of the Holy Virgin Mary at the border". The representative of the church voiced many pathetic words addressed to various representatives of Armenian society, among which a particularly memorable appeal to the military: "Your uniform is your honour, which we respect. It is the Motherland and the state that you are defending. Say something, show something." What is this but a direct call to overthrow the legitimate authorities on the part of the Armenian Apostolic Church?

    In this sense, interesting information was provided by the Radar Armenia website: “A preliminary decision was made to minimize the participation of the forces of Robert Kocharyan and Serzh Sargsyan in the ongoing events in order to prevent the failure of the struggle due to the negative rating of the former, as a result of which it was decided to transfer the leadership of the protests to Etchmiadzin . According to the same source, closed meetings were recently held on this decision with the participation of civil and ecclesiastical leaders under the leadership of the Catholicos. A road map of action was adopted. The Karabakh clan quite wisely decided that it was no longer possible to restore their authority and that any of their undertakings began to cause rejection in society by the very fact of connection with them. And a solution was found - the public protest was led by Catholicos of All Armenians Karekin II. The calculation here is that the religious feelings of the Armenians and the authority of the patriarch will play their role and the Armenian people will force the government to refuse to donate the occupied lands.”

    This is very similar to the truth, especially since the church has long been in opposition to Pashinyan and his team due to attempts to limit its influence on Armenian society. True, it is still difficult to say that Garegin “led the public protest.” So far he has not made any statements regarding the return of the villages, although in general, he demonstrates somewhat defiant behaviour towards the authorities. For example, on April 16, he received the head of the EU intelligence mission, Markus Ritter, in Etchmiadzin. As Armenian publications write: “His Holiness expressed concern about the current tension and the safety of residents of border settlements, emphasizing that the encroachments and demands of Azerbaijan pose Armenia with new security challenges, and also jeopardize the peaceful negotiation process.” He seems to have his finger on the pulse but does not dare to directly lead the protests. Apparently, he feels that he could make a cruel miscalculation. But the Karabakh clan, for its part, is doing everything right. Trusting the church is a foul of the last hope, they won’t come up with anything better, and so, in the words of the hero of the cult film: “At least I tried.” But who can really seriously miscalculate is the Armenian Apostolic Church itself. Indeed, in fact, in order to show closeness to the people, she had to distance herself from the Karabakh clan, but in fact, by supporting the protests, she only showed her closeness to it.

    The Armenian idea rested on three pillars: Armenia, the church and the diaspora. Moreover, Armenia in the minds of Armenians was perceived only through the prism of “miatsuma,” that is, the occupation of Karabakh and unification with it. The Church and the Diaspora in every possible way nurtured and cherished precisely this understanding of Armenia. Even the arrogant Yerevan residents, who turned their nose up at the Karabakh Shurtvatians, perceived Karabakh as something a priori Armenian. The function of the church and the diaspora was exclusively to support the Armenian idea associated with “miatsum”.

    Azerbaijan, by several successive and decisive blows (victory in the 44-day war, the installation of the Lachin checkpoint, the anti-terrorist operation), which destroyed the Miatsum, literally knocked the ground out from under the feet of the entire Armenian society. The whole Armenian idea flew into tatters. It is quite natural that, having gone into oblivion, the "miatsum" took with it, like Siamese twins, both the Church and the Diaspora. They no longer exist. Of course, not literally, but symbolically - they have no perspective, in the language of psychoanalysis, they have undergone symbolic castration.

    The old Armenia no longer exists, and the new one has not yet been invented, and so Pashinyan is trying to forge in society an understanding of the new Armenia, the one that consists of "29,600 square kilometres", the one that is "real, not historical Armenia". Through the string of casuistic statements of the Prime Minister, one can hear a rather shrill cry - let us love and cherish what we have been given as a state by fate.

    The occupation of Karabakh was initially a fatal mistake. The people, who had gained independence within recognised borders, instead of settling down and strengthening statehood within these borders, embarked on an adventure of conquering "living space". This cannot be called anything other than arrogance.

    It was arrogance and hubris that played a cruel joke on the Armenian people. And hubris is a terrible sin in Christianity. And how monstrous it is that the Church, instead of turning its flock away from this sin, on the contrary, tries in every possible way to involve the broad masses of people in it. The Armenian people intuitively feel that something is wrong here. Armenians realise that the Armenian Church has long ago broken away from its Christian roots and preaches a deeply pagan idea of national exclusivity. Armenians feel it but cannot voice it. Pashinyan is voicing it as carefully as he can.

    Caliber.Az

    Subscribe to our Telegram channel


Read also

A deep dive into potential policies, their impact on US future Trump 2.0

25 May 2024 - 17:00

Momentum surges as Chinese trucks embark on Azerbaijan's Middle Corridor journey Driving towards success

25 May 2024 - 11:21

Amid regional tension & domestic opposition, Armenia returns occupied villages to Azerbaijan after 30 years Historic handover sets stage for peace talks

25 May 2024 - 09:17

Azerbaijan, Tajikistan elevate bilateral relations through strategic partnership agreements

24 May 2024 - 13:00

Tensions run high between the Pashinyan government & the Armenian Apostolic Church Government's vision vs. Church-led opposition

24 May 2024 - 09:35

IAEA ignores nuclear dangers of Armenia's aging Metsamor NPP Double standards

25 May 2024 - 12:28
ADVERTS
Video
Latest news

    Sweden awards 7-year command, control systems contract to Marshall

    Article by The Defense Post

    26 May 2024 - 00:15

    Ukraine’s air defence woes can’t be fixed by American aid

    Opinion by Defense News

    25 May 2024 - 22:10

    Brussels shot Hungary in the back over border protection: PM

    Article by Anadolu Agency

    25 May 2024 - 20:00

    Mediated Israel-Hamas talks on hostage deal expected next week, source says

    25 May 2024 - 18:15

    Blinken to discuss support for Ukraine in Czech Republic visit next week

    25 May 2024 - 18:00

    Heads of CIS security agencies meet in Bishkek

    PHOTO

    25 May 2024 - 17:45

    Senior UN peacekeeper deems Arab League's Gaza deployment call premature

    25 May 2024 - 17:31

    EU's Borrell urges choice: Rule of law or support for Israel

    25 May 2024 - 17:18

    Six NATO countries to create "drone wall" for border protection

    25 May 2024 - 17:02

    A deep dive into potential policies, their impact on US future

    Trump 2.0

    25 May 2024 - 17:00

    Media: Italy plans to resume funding for UNRWA

    25 May 2024 - 16:50

    Turkish transport minister foresees 1,500 block trains annually along Middle Corridor

    25 May 2024 - 16:38

    Yemen's Houthis to release 100 prisoners

    25 May 2024 - 16:28

    Azerbaijan's Defence Ministry delegation enhances military ties with Kazakhstan

    25 May 2024 - 16:14

    Can the India-Oman deal unlock strategic gains amid Gulf instability?

    Caliber.Az on YouTube

    25 May 2024 - 16:02

    Germany proposes €500 billion defence fund for EU amid security threats

    25 May 2024 - 15:50

    Azerbaijan's Shusha hosts discussions on preservation of historical monuments

    PHOTO

    25 May 2024 - 15:38

    Kremlin spox responds to mobilisation claims in Russia

    25 May 2024 - 15:28

    More than 300 buried in Papua New Guinea landslide, local media says

    25 May 2024 - 15:16

    Wanted terrorist "neutralized" in southeastern Türkiye

    VIDEO

    25 May 2024 - 15:04

    Erdogan expresses Türkiye's constant pride in Azerbaijan's advancements

    25 May 2024 - 14:53

    Azerbaijani president receives credentials of incoming Italian, Ukrainian envoys

    PHOTO

    25 May 2024 - 14:49

    ICC's controversial arrest requests for Israeli leaders

    Implications and global reactions

    25 May 2024 - 14:42

    Armenia targets another so-called "mayor" of previously occupied Azerbaijani town

    25 May 2024 - 14:36

    First Chinese trucks arrive in Azerbaijan under new Trans-Caspian pilot project

    PHOTO

    25 May 2024 - 14:34

    Despite best efforts, world is falling prey to a new set of military conflicts

    Kazakh president says

    25 May 2024 - 14:19

    US president hails bilateral ties with Azerbaijan

    25 May 2024 - 14:11

    Rafah op. doesn't contradict ICJ ruling, we will continue, Israel says

    25 May 2024 - 14:04

    US, Armenia hold joint drills against weapons of mass destruction threats

    25 May 2024 - 13:52

    Türkiye plans LNG exports to Europe from surplus gas imports

    25 May 2024 - 13:40

    Vice-President of Heydar Aliyev Foundation attends Berlin event dealing with bison reintroduction

    25 May 2024 - 13:28

    Reports suggest potential military provocation from Russia and North Korea

    25 May 2024 - 13:16

    Putin applauds Azerbaijan's well-deserved prestige on the world stage

    In congratulatory letter to President Aliyev

    25 May 2024 - 13:04

    China ends war games, Taiwan details warplane, warship surge

    25 May 2024 - 13:04

    The Guardian: After Macron’s visit, New Caledonia’s Kanak demand their own future

    "Not our president"

    25 May 2024 - 12:52

    NATO chief wants to free Ukraine to strike hard inside Russia

    25 May 2024 - 12:40

    IAEA ignores nuclear dangers of Armenia's aging Metsamor NPP

    Double standards

    25 May 2024 - 12:28

    Egypt agrees to resume aid to Gaza through Israel after US pressure

    25 May 2024 - 12:16

    Musk reveals "tough problem" battling Russian jamming efforts on Starlink

    Amid Ukraine war

    25 May 2024 - 12:06

    King Charles III expresses hope for continued UK-Azerbaijan collaboration on key global matters

    25 May 2024 - 11:58

All news

Немощная рать
    Армянская церковь против мира

    АНАЛИТИКА  23 Апреля 2024 - 13:09

    Мурад Абиев
    Caliber.Az

    Подписание протокола между Баку и Ереваном о возвращении под контроль Азербайджана четырех сел Газахского района — Багынис Айрым, Ашагы Аскипара, Хейрымлы и Гызылгаджилы — без всяких сомнений стало серьезным положительным шагом на пути к мирному урегулированию между Азербайджаном и Арменией. Однако, как и ожидалось, в Армении быстро обнаружились силы, которые пытаются опротестовать решения комиссии по делимитации. Жители оккупированных и приграничных сел выходят на акции протеста, включая блокирование дорог, ведущих к означенным населенным пунктам.

    Можно было бы подумать, что эти акции являются стихийными. Однако это не так — возглавить это сборище решила армянская церковь. Как стало известно из материалов СМИ: «К демонстрантам присоединился глава Тавушской епархии Армянской апостольской церкви Баграт Галстанян и призвал сельчан объединиться, чтобы провести совместные масштабные акции. 21 апреля демонстранты не позволили представителям власти начать работы по разминированию на территории приграничного храма Святой Богородицы». Представитель церкви говорил много патетических слов, обращенных к различным представителям армянского общества, среди которых особенно запомнился призыв к военным: «Ваша форма — ваша честь, которую мы уважаем. Это Родина и государство, которые вы защищаете. Скажите что-то, покажите что-то». Что это, как не прямой призыв к свержению легитимной власти со стороны Армянской апостольской церкви?

    В этом смысле любопытную информацию предоставил сайт Radar Armenia: «Принято предварительное решение свести к минимуму участие сил Роберта Кочаряна и Сержа Саргсяна в происходящих событиях, чтобы не допустить провала борьбы из-за негативного рейтинга бывших, в результате чего было решено передать руководство акциям протестов Эчмиадзину. По данным того же источника, недавно по этому решению были проведены закрытые заседания с участием гражданских и духовных деятелей под руководством католикоса. Была принята дорожная карта действий. Карабахский клан вполне мудро решил, что их авторитет восстановить уже невозможно и что любое их начинание начинает вызывать отторжение в обществе уже самим фактом связи с ними. И решение было найдено — общественный протест возглавил католикос всех армян Гарегин II. Расчет здесь сделан на то, что религиозные чувства армян и авторитет патриарха сыграют свою роль и армянский народ заставит правительство отказаться от дарения оккупированных земель».

    Это очень похоже на правду, тем более что церковь давно находится в оппозиции к Пашиняну и его команде из-за попыток ограничить ее влияние на армянское общество. Правда, пока трудно говорить о том, что Гарегин «возглавил общественный протест». Пока никаких заявлений он по поводу возврата сел не делал, хотя в целом демонстрирует несколько вызывающее поведение по отношению к власти. Так, например, 16 апреля он принял в Эчмиадзине руководителя разведывательной миссии ЕС Маркуса Риттера. Как пишут армянские издания: «Его Святейшество выразил обеспокоенность нынешней напряженностью и безопасностью жителей приграничных населенных пунктов, подчеркнув, что посягательства и требования Азербайджана ставят Армению перед новыми вызовами безопасности, а также ставят под угрозу мирный переговорный процесс».Он как бы держит руку на пульсе, но не решается напрямую возглавить протесты. Видать, чувствует, что может жестоко просчитаться. А вот карабахский клан со своей стороны все делает правильно. Довериться церкви - это фол последней надежды, лучше они уже ничего не придумают, а так, по выражению героя культовой картины: «Я хотя бы попытался». А вот кто действительно может сильно просчитаться, так это сама Армянская апостольская церковь. Ведь фактически для того чтобы показать близость к народу, она должна была дистанцироваться от карабахского клана, а на деле, поддерживая протесты, только показала свою близость к нему.

    Армянская идея держалась на трех китах: Армении, церкви и диаспоре. Причем Армения в сознании армян воспринималась не иначе как через призму «миацума», то есть оккупации Карабаха и объединении с ним. Церковь и диаспора всячески холили и лелеяли именно такое понимание Армении. Даже высокомерные ереванцы, воротящие нос от карабахских шуртвацев, воспринимали Карабах как нечто априори армянское. Функция церкви и диаспоры заключалась исключительно в поддерживании армянской идеи, связанной с «миацумом».

    Азербайджан несколькими последовательными и решительными ударами (победа в 44-дневной войне, установка ППП «Лачин», антитеррористическая операция), уничтоживший «миацум», буквально выбил почву из-под ног всего армянского общества. Вся армянская идея полетела в тартарары. Совершенно естественно, что, уйдя в небытие, «миацум» увлек за собой, как сиамских близнецов, и церковь, и диаспору. Их больше не существует. Конечно, не в буквальном, а в символическом смысле — у них нет никакой перспективы, выражаясь языком психоанализа, они подверглись символической кастрации.

    Старой Армении больше нет, а новой еще не придумали, и вот Пашинян пытается выковать в обществе понимание новой Армении, той самой, которая состоит из «29 600 квадратных километров», той самой «реальной, а не исторической Армении». Сквозь вереницу казуистических высказываний премьера слышен довольно пронзительный вопль — давайте любить и дорожить тем, что нам волею судьбы было дано в качестве государства.

    В оккупации Карабаха изначально была заключена роковая ошибка. Народ, получивший независимость в пределах общепризнанных границ, вместо того чтобы обустроить жизнь и укрепить государственность в пределах этих границ, пустился на авантюру с завоеванием «жизненного пространства». Это нельзя назвать иначе как высокомерием.

    Именно высокомерие и гордыня сыграли злую шутку с армянским народом. А гордыня в христианстве — страшный грех. И как же чудовищно выглядит то, что церковь, вместо того чтобы отвратить свою паству от этого греха, наоборот, всячески пытается вовлечь в него широкие народные массы. Армянский народ интуитивно чувствует — что-то тут не так. Армяне осознают, что армянская церковь давно оторвалась от христианских корней и проповедует глубоко языческую идею национальной исключительности. Армяне чувствуют, но не могут это озвучить. Пашинян озвучивает это осторожно, как может.

    Caliber.Az

    Просмотров: 3436

    Подписывайтесь на наш Telegram-канал


Читайте также

Жонглирование «Бастионами» От Армении до Украины

25 Мая 2024 - 22:33

Крысиная возня Франции Что стоит за бойкотом Парижем COP29?

25 Мая 2024 - 19:22

Выборы в Европарламент: на кого опирается Урсула фон дер Ляйен? Ажиотаж поглощает Старый Свет

25 Мая 2024 - 17:05

Села Газаха, европейский шантаж Грузии и военный тупик в Украине «События» с Мурадом Абиевым

25 Мая 2024 - 20:40

Трамп 2.0: возможные сценарии для США Прогнозы Шерешевского

25 Мая 2024 - 13:20

Средний коридор перетягивает автоперевозки Китайские фуры проследуют через Азербайджан

25 Мая 2024 - 09:39
РЕКЛАМА
Видео
Последние новости

    Два автобуса с болельщиками «Лиона» загорелись после нападения фанатов «ПСЖ»

    26 Мая 2024 - 00:08

    Рождаемость в Японии упала до рекордно низкого уровня

    25 Мая 2024 - 23:59

    В Азербайджане впервые прошел Бакинский фестиваль скорости

    ФОТО

    25 Мая 2024 - 23:40

    В Германии выступили за равномерное распределение украинских беженцев в ЕС

    25 Мая 2024 - 23:28

    Мурад Папазян: Франция не отправит в Армению войска в случае агрессии против нее

    25 Мая 2024 - 23:16

    Агамирова стала 17-й на ЕВРО

    25 Мая 2024 - 23:00

    Мирзоян обсудил с Боррелем армяно-азербайджанское урегулирование

    25 Мая 2024 - 22:46

    G7 осудила КНДР и Иран за сотрудничество с Россией

    25 Мая 2024 - 22:43

    Жонглирование «Бастионами»

    От Армении до Украины

    25 Мая 2024 - 22:33

    Определились все азербайджанские футбольные клубы, получившие путевки в еврокубки

    25 Мая 2024 - 22:26

    Байден назвал США единственной в мире сверхдержавой

    25 Мая 2024 - 22:11

    В Администрации президента Турции отметили День независимости Азербайджана

    ФОТО

    25 Мая 2024 - 22:08

    В Абу-Даби организован прием по случаю Дня независимости

    ФОТО

    25 Мая 2024 - 21:58

    Столтенберг призвал разрешить Украине ударить по территории России

    25 Мая 2024 - 21:45

    Азербайджанский атлет завоевал бронзовую медаль на чемпионате Балкан

    25 Мая 2024 - 21:34

    На заброшенной боевой позиции в Карабахском регионе Азербайджана обнаружена система ПВО

    ФОТО/ВИДЕО

    25 Мая 2024 - 21:33

    Байден вновь не сдержал эмоции о Путине

    25 Мая 2024 - 21:23

    В Иране назовут всех кандидатов на пост президента страны

    25 Мая 2024 - 21:10

    Ле Пен высказалась о предложении Макрона

    25 Мая 2024 - 21:10

    Эрдоган заявил о продолжении давления на Израиль

    25 Мая 2024 - 20:57

    Азербайджанские борцы завоевали серебряные медали на чемпионате Европы в Баку

    25 Мая 2024 - 20:48

    Парижские экоактивисты бастуют против TotalEnergies

    25 Мая 2024 - 20:44

    Села Газаха, европейский шантаж Грузии и военный тупик в Украине

    «События» с Мурадом Абиевым

    25 Мая 2024 - 20:40

    Выпускники устроили массовую драку в Казахстане

    25 Мая 2024 - 20:36

    МИД Азербайджана поздравил Иорданию

    25 Мая 2024 - 20:28

    Группа жителей Ханкенди обеспечена работой

    ФОТО

    25 Мая 2024 - 20:25

    «Манчестер Юнайтед» выиграл Кубок Англии

    25 Мая 2024 - 20:20

    Ильхам Алиев подписал распоряжение о помиловании ряда осужденных лиц

    ОБНОВЛЕНО

    25 Мая 2024 - 20:12

    Минобороны Армении пригрозило СМИ последствиями за критику генералов

    25 Мая 2024 - 20:10

    Учения армии Китая вблизи Тайваня вызвали беспокойство США

    25 Мая 2024 - 19:57

    Последняя немая кинолента азербайджанского кинематографа отмечает 90-летие

    ФОТО

    25 Мая 2024 - 19:51

    В Азербайджане водителя придавило грузовиком

    25 Мая 2024 - 19:49

    Утвержден протокол о строительстве участка железной дороги Баку-Тбилиси-Карс

    25 Мая 2024 - 19:48

    Названа сумма ущерба Турции от землетрясений 2023 года

    25 Мая 2024 - 19:46

    Во Львове организована выездная консульская служба для азербайджанцев

    ФОТО

    25 Мая 2024 - 19:33

    Крысиная возня Франции

    Что стоит за бойкотом Парижем COP29?

    25 Мая 2024 - 19:22

    В ходе очередного субботника в Баку вымыты 549 улиц

    ФОТО

    25 Мая 2024 - 19:21

    Утвержден протокол в связи с Международной программой «Молодежная столица ОИС Шуша – 2024»

    25 Мая 2024 - 19:19

    Сотрудники органов юстиции в Азербайджане будут получать денежную компенсацию за аренду жилья

    25 Мая 2024 - 19:18

    Определились участники международного турнира по баскетболу в Габале

    25 Мая 2024 - 19:10

Все новости