"Armenia hampers early onset of peace in South Caucasus"
    Foreign experts' opinions on Caliber.Az

    INTERVIEWS  13 March 2023 - 10:05

    Vadim Mansurov
    Caliber.Az

    The Armenian Prime Minister put up a new political show: at the government meeting, he bluntly accused Azerbaijan of new "terrorist attacks" and "provocations". Azerbaijan, he said, is staging them to "frustrate further negotiations with representatives of Karabakh and prepare the ground for a new military provocation".

    Insinuations about Baku's aggressiveness and perfidy are coming out of Pashinyan's mouth one after another. At the same time, he does not seem to want to explain what Armenian militants, armed to the teeth, are doing on Azerbaijani territory. What kind of weaponry do they use to attack our troops? He is persistently pursuing Yerevan's tried and tested method of blocking the peace talks under any pretext, launching more and more armed and political provocations. So, everything is as usual, as it has been for the last two and a half years.

    Pashinyan is trying hard to persuade the world community and his foreign patrons that "by the terrorist act of March 5 Azerbaijan pursued several goals". First, he stresses that Baku seeks to disrupt "the talks with the representatives of Karabakh". The next goal, he says, is to create false evidence that arms and ammunition are being transported from the Republic of Armenia to Karabakh. This topic, he points out, is now crucial for Azerbaijan, but he cleverly avoids the unpleasant question of why and for what purpose tons of weapons and ammunition are delivered to the Karabakh separatists from Armenia. Does he think that this will help to establish a peaceful dialogue in the region?

    Alas, all the tricks of Yerevan have long been known both in Baku and abroad and do not mislead politicians and political analysts at all. According to the Ukrainian military expert and the press officer of the first brigade of special forces of the AFU Taras Berezovets, it is obvious that after the loss of Moscow's support in the negotiations with Azerbaijan, the Armenian Prime Minister found himself in a stalemate situation. In a conversation with Caliber.Az, Berezovets stressed that against this background, Pashinyan's spirits had brightened sharply after the UN International Court of Justice ruled to "unblock the Lachin road".

    "Elated with success, he appears to be trying to increase pressure on Azerbaijan's positions. Realizing that Russia's support has been lost, but there is a chance for the support of EU countries, first of all, France, on which the Armenian prime minister counts a lot," the Ukrainian military expert said.

    Berezovets is sure that the situation is difficult for Pashinyan. And he cannot come out of it defeated, otherwise he will be destroyed by the domestic opposition.

    "He now needs to maintain the discourse that he, Pashinyan, is a super-successful diplomat and negotiator. In fact, he is trying to convey this with all his rhetoric: yes, I am not the most successful economist, but as a negotiator, I have already achieved solutions beneficial for Armenia. It is like a TV series: publicity and drawing of maximum attention allows him to be on a roll," the Ukrainian expert believes.

    That is why, according to Berezovets, Pashinyan needs to drag out the dialogue on all issues because he is trying to win support from outside before the next round of talks. Our interlocutor believes that he will manage to do so for some time because the attention of the world centres of power is currently shifted to the confrontation between Ukraine and Russia, as well as the USA and China.

    "The position on this political fringe may allow Pashinyan to play this kind of game for some time yet. Speaking about the prospects of negotiations, I must say that they are possible, in my view, with the participation of external mediators who will be trusted by both sides. In this case, it is not France, which is rejected by the Azerbaijani leadership, and not the USA, which rather shows a semblance of involvement, not intending to get particularly engaged in the situation. The only option is Russia. But Moscow is playing for its own domestic interest rather than for the interests of Azerbaijan and Armenia, so it is not the best negotiator either. I see the expediency to try to involve Türkiye in this process, the relations with which Yerevan has recently begun to improve," Berezovets concluded.

    Saken Mukan, a Kazakhstani political scientist and professor at the Department of Media Communication and History of Kazakhstan at MUIT, Almaty, expressed an even harsher opinion on the actions of Yerevan. The way in which the current Armenian leadership interprets the March 5 incident in the Karabakh region of Azerbaijan generally causes fears that further peace talks between Baku and Yerevan are deadlocked, he said.

    Revanchist sentiments in Armenian circles, Mukan points out, have long been on the world's radar, and the presence of weapons on the Armenian side while driving into Karabakh does not fit in any way with the points of the Trilateral Statement of 2020.

    "Clearly, in my opinion, the Azerbaijani side suspected that there were weapons in the vehicle, and therefore the Azerbaijani military tried to carry out a search. Unfortunately, it had a sad end," the political analyst said.

    Talking about an act of terrorism carried out by the Azerbaijani side, as stated by Pashinyan, is not a convincing argument, as "in a hotspot with a sensitive past, no reasonable state has ever abolished the right to self-defense," the Kazakhstani expert believes. Moreover, he believes that the mere presence of weapons in the transported cargoes demonstrates clear revanchist intentions on the part of Armenia, which a priori undermines the process of peaceful dialogue.

    "As many analysts have already pointed out, the Azerbaijanis have only just begun to build a normal dialogue with the Karabakh Armenians, immediately followed by provocations in Karabakh - a common pattern and correlation of events is evident. In analysing this cyclical pattern of events, peace will obviously not come to the South Caucasus for long. In his speech on March 9 at the 10th Global Baku Forum on "Peace Today: Challenges and Hopes" organised by the Nizami Ganjavi International Centre, President Ilham Aliyev of Azerbaijan stated directly that 'Armenia has lost its chance to become an independent country', thus emphasising the main issue on the agenda," professor Mukan believes.

     

    Caliber.Az

    Subscribe to our Telegram channel


Read also

Armenia’s European dreams: Geography cannot be overruled Expert insights

21 June 2024 - 14:02

French arms & Armenian revanchism: What's behind the deal? Expert opinions

21 June 2024 - 14:14

Papikyan's Paris visit unlikely to shift power balance between Baku, Yerevan Expert opinions

18 June 2024 - 13:57

“Pashinyan dances to the tune of the West and follows its instructions” Expert insight

19 June 2024 - 14:42

US diplomacy, the Zangazur corridor Balancing interests in the Caucasus

20 June 2024 - 15:14

"West demands total obedience from Tbilisi" Georgian experts on Caliber.Az

19 June 2024 - 11:02
ADVERTS
Video
Latest news

    Belarus Foreign Ministry hands note of protest to Armenia

    21 June 2024 - 20:59

    Turkish disinformation center refutes claims of 2.5 million refugees in Istanbul

    21 June 2024 - 20:54

    Hungary opts out of NATO military mission in Ukraine, says PM Orban

    21 June 2024 - 20:46

    Norway pledges to bolster safety of Ukrainian NPP

    21 June 2024 - 20:31

    Brazilian president congratulates Azerbaijani opposite number on Independence Day

    21 June 2024 - 20:25

    Israel warns Armenia

    21 June 2024 - 20:12

    EU intends to suspend high-level visits to Georgia

    21 June 2024 - 19:56

    Azerbaijani foreign minister meets outgoing Kyrgyz ambassador

    21 June 2024 - 19:39

    Ombudsperson warns: Mines impede Karabakh, Zangezur recovery efforts

    21 June 2024 - 19:29

    Russia, China develop payment workarounds amid expanding US sanctions

    21 June 2024 - 19:14

    Germany arrests three on suspicion of spying

    21 June 2024 - 19:02

    South Korea summons Russian ambassador to protest Moscow-Pyongyang pact

    21 June 2024 - 18:50

    London to host second IEA-COP29 High-Level Dialogue

    21 June 2024 - 18:38

    US redirects air defence missile deliveries to Ukraine to counter Russian attacks

    21 June 2024 - 18:26

    Insurance market of Azerbaijan: Premiums rise amid persistent risks

    Review by Caliber.Az

    21 June 2024 - 18:14

    Azerbaijan, Iran, and Russia discuss North-South transport corridor development

    21 June 2024 - 18:02

    ISW: Russia deploys FAB-3000 M-54 bomb in Ukraine strikes

    PHOTO/VIDEO

    21 June 2024 - 17:50

    High-Level Meeting on COP29 wraps up in Azerbaijan’s Zangilan

    21 June 2024 - 17:41

    Prosecutors in Sen. Menendez’s corruption trial shift focus to Qatar

    New details emerge in pro-Armenian politician's bribery case

    21 June 2024 - 17:38

    Paris and Baku: A clash of interests & ideologies

    Historical context & rivalry origins

    21 June 2024 - 17:26

    Türkiye’s Baykar unveils amount spent on unmanned combat aerial vehicles

    21 June 2024 - 17:14

    Hypersonic arms race between China and the US

    What to expect?

    21 June 2024 - 17:02

    US Embassy in Baku condoles death of ANAMA employee

    PHOTO

    21 June 2024 - 16:50

    Another incident occurs in Armenian separatist representative office

    VIDEO

    21 June 2024 - 16:38

    France's arms deal with Armenia sparks regional tensions

    Paris thirsts for war

    21 June 2024 - 16:26

    Azerbaijan hands over remains of two Armenian soldiers to Yerevan

    Official information

    21 June 2024 - 16:14

    Azerbaijan aims to transform Karabakh into a leading clean energy hub

    21 June 2024 - 16:02

    Türkiye kills four PKK terrorists in northern Iraq

    VIDEO

    21 June 2024 - 15:50

    Swastika defaces mosque under construction in France

    21 June 2024 - 15:38

    Azerbaijan's oil giant begins natural gas supplies to Bulgarian industrial enterprises

    21 June 2024 - 15:27

    Azerbaijani first couple inaugurates new Institute of Botany building, tours Botanical Garden

    PHOTO

    21 June 2024 - 15:15

    France's economy faces risk from potential far-right and far-left governance

    Caliber.Az on YouTube

    21 June 2024 - 15:14

    TURKSOY head looks forward to attending events in Azerbaijan’s Shusha

    21 June 2024 - 15:02

    Israel summons Armenian ambassador over recognition of Palestinian state

    21 June 2024 - 14:45

    Azerbaijan rejects EU High Representative's accusations on Armenian prisoners

    21 June 2024 - 14:43

    Some Muslims choose to vote for Le Pen in France

    Anyone but Macron

    21 June 2024 - 14:29

    French arms & Armenian revanchism: What's behind the deal?

    Expert opinions

    21 June 2024 - 14:14

    Armenia’s European dreams: Geography cannot be overruled

    Expert insights

    21 June 2024 - 14:02

    Azerbaijani pundit castigates France, India for disruptive actions in region

    21 June 2024 - 13:56

    Ambassador: Russia ready to play mediating role between Azerbaijan, Armenia

    21 June 2024 - 13:43

All news

«Из-за Армении мир придет на Южный Кавказ еще нескоро»
    Экспертные мнения на Caliber.Az

    ИНТЕРВЬЮ  10 Марта 2023 - 17:20

    Вадим Мансуров
    Журналист Caliber.Az

    Премьер-министр Армении устроил новое политическое шоу: на заседании правительства он не моргнув глазом обвинил Азербайджан в новых «теракте» и «провокациях». Азербайджан, заявил он, устраивает их, чтобы «сорвать дальнейшие переговоры с представителями Карабаха и подготовить фон для новой военной провокации».

    Инсинуации с утверждениями об агрессивности и коварстве Баку сыплются из уст Пашиняна одна за другой. При этом он, похоже, и не собирается объяснять, что, собственно, делают вооруженные до зубов армянские боевики на азербайджанской территории, откуда у них оружие, из которого они периодически обстреливают наших военных? Он упорно продолжает уже апробированный Ереваном способ, чтобы под любым предлогом блокировать ход мирных переговоров, запуская все новые и новые вооруженные и политические провокации. То есть все, как всегда, как все последние два с половиной года.

    Пашинян изо всех сил пытается уверить мировую общественность и своих зарубежных покровителей в том, что «терактом 5 марта Азербайджан преследовал несколько целей». Прежде всего, подчеркивает он, Баку таким образом стремится сорвать «переговоры с представителями Карабаха». Следующая цель, по его словам, – создать ложные доказательства того, что из Республики Армения в Карабах перевозится оружие и боеприпасы. Эта тема, указывает он, сейчас особенно важна для Азербайджана, но при этом ловко обходит неприятный вопрос - почему и для чего карабахским сепаратистам доставляются из Армении тонны оружия и боеприпасов? Неужто он полагает, что именно это поможет наладить мирный диалог в регионе?

    Увы и ах, все уловки Еревана давно известны как в Баку, так и за рубежом и вовсе не вводят в заблуждение политиков и политологов.  Как считает украинский военный эксперт, пресс-офицер первой бригады специального назначения ВСУ Тарас Березовец, очевидно, что премьер-министр Армении после потери поддержки Москвы в переговорах с Азербайджаном оказался в патовой ситуации. В беседе с Caliber.Аz Березовец подчеркнул, что на этом фоне Пашинян резко воспрял духом после решения Международного суда ООН, призвавшего «разблокировать лачинскую дорогу».

    «Окрыленный успехом он, по всей видимости, пытается усилить давление на позиции Азербайджана. Понимая, что поддержка России потеряна, но есть шанс на поддержку стран Евросоюза, в первую очередь Франции, на которую очень рассчитывает армянский премьер-министр», - отметил украинский военный эксперт.

    Ситуация, уверен Березовец, тем не менее складывается для Пашиняна тяжелая. Причем он не может выйти из нее проигравшим, иначе его уничтожит внутренняя оппозиция.

    «Ему сейчас нужно поддерживать дискурс, что он, Пашинян, – суперуспешный дипломат и переговорщик. Этим он и торгует. Собственно, он и пытается донести это всей своей риторикой: да, я не самый успешный экономист, но как переговорщик я уже добился выгодных для Армении решений. Это как сериальная история: публичность и максимальное привлечение внимания позволяют ему оставаться на коне», - убежден украинский эксперт.

    Поэтому, как считает Т.Березовец, затягивание диалога по всем вопросам сейчас необходимо Пашиняну, потому что он пытается заручиться поддержкой извне перед новым раундом переговоров. И это, полагает наш собеседник, какое-то время будет ему удаваться, потому что внимание мировых центров силы в целом сейчас переключено на противостояние Украины и России, а также США и Китая.

    «Положение на этакой политической периферии может позволить Пашиняну еще какое-то время играть подобной тематикой. Говоря же о перспективах переговоров, должен сказать, что они, на мой взгляд, возможны при участии внешних посредников, которым будут доверять обе стороны. В данном случае это не Франция, которую отвергает руководство Азербайджана, и не США, которые скорее демонстрируют видимость участия, не собираясь особенно втягиваться в ситуацию. Остается, к сожалению, только Россия. Но Москва играет на свой внутренний интерес, а не на интересы Азербайджана и Армении, так что это тоже не самый лучший переговорщик. Вижу целесообразность попытаться ввести в этот процесс Турцию, отношения с которой в последнее время у Еревана начали улучшаться», - заключил Березовец.

    Еще более резкое мнение о действиях Еревана высказал Caliber.Аz казахстанский политолог, профессор кафедры медиакоммуникации и истории Казахстана АО «МУИТ» города Алматы Сакен Мукан. То, как интерпретирует инцидент 5 марта в Карабахском регионе Азербайджана нынешнее руководство Армении, вообще вызывает опасения, что дальнейшие мирные переговоры между Баку и Ереваном заходят в тупик, считает он.

    Реваншистские настроения в армянских кругах, указывает Мукан, давно уже в поле зрения мирового сообщества, а наличие оружия у армянской стороны при проезде в Карабах никак не вписывается в пункты Трехстороннего заявления 2020 года.

    «Однозначно, на мой взгляд, что азербайджанская сторона подозревала о наличии оружия в автомашине, а потому азербайджанские военные попытались произвести досмотр. В результате произошло то, что, к сожалению, произошло», - отметил политолог.

    Говорить о теракте, осуществленном азербайджанской стороной, как это заявил Н. Пашинян, аргумент не убедительный, так как «в горячей точке с чувствительным прошлым никакое разумное государство никогда не отменяло право на самооборону», считает казахстанский эксперт. Более того, он полагает, что само наличие оружия в перевозимых грузах демонстрирует явные реваншистские намерения со стороны Армении, что априори подрывает процесс мирного диалога.

    «Как уже указывали многие аналитики, азербайджанцы только начали выстраивать нормальный диалог с карабахскими армянами, вслед за чем сразу же возникли провокации в Карабахе – общий почерк и связь событий налицо. Анализируя такого рода цикличность событий, вообще хочется высказать опасение, что мир, очевидно, придет на Южный Кавказ еще нескоро. В своем выступлении 9 марта на X Глобальном Бакинском форуме «Мир сегодня: вызовы и надежды», организованном Международным центром Низами Гянджеви, президент Азербайджана Ильхам Алиев прямо заявил, что «Армения потеряла свой шанс стать независимой страной», подчеркнув тем самым основную проблематику повестки дня», - уверен профессор Мукан.

    Caliber.Az

    Просмотров: 1301

    Подписывайтесь на наш Telegram-канал


Читайте также

Армения катится к десуверенизации Межевич и Митрахович на Caliber.Az

20 Июля 2024 - 09:30

Индия от Ганди до Моди Руслан Сафаров в эфире Caliber.Az

19 Июля 2024 - 19:01

«Армения превратится в колонию ЕС» Экспертные мнения на Caliber.Az

19 Июля 2024 - 17:15

«Армения — один из инструментов внешнего влияния на Южном Кавказе» Эсен Усубалиев на Caliber.Az

18 Июля 2024 - 14:11

Китай от Конфуция до коммунизма Рафик Аббасов в эфире Caliber.Az

17 Июля 2024 - 15:05

«Макрон оказался между двух огней» Гольцман и Осинчук на Caliber.Az

17 Июля 2024 - 17:01
РЕКЛАМА
Видео
Последние новости

    Казахстан, Туркменистан и Афганистан хотят построить новую железнодорожную магистраль

    21 Июля 2024 - 02:30

    Южная Корея ответила КНДР на запуск шаров трансляциями по громкоговорителям

    21 Июля 2024 - 02:00

    Мэр российского города предложил приковать его к столбу

    21 Июля 2024 - 01:30

    Вьетнам подал заявку в ООН на расширение континентального шельфа

    21 Июля 2024 - 01:00

    Врач Байдена рассказал о его проблемах со здоровьем

    21 Июля 2024 - 00:29

    Одобрен проект по созданию общего рынка электроэнергии России и Беларуси

    21 Июля 2024 - 00:00

    Нетаньяху заявил, что Израиль будет защищать себя «любыми средствами»

    20 Июля 2024 - 23:45

    Два человека утонули на пляже в Баку

    20 Июля 2024 - 23:39

    Израильтяне вновь вышли на массовые акции протеста

    20 Июля 2024 - 23:30

    Байден обсудил Украину с главой Еврокомиссии

    20 Июля 2024 - 23:15

    Хуситы в Йемене обещали ответить эскалацией на израильские удары

    20 Июля 2024 - 23:00

    Глава МИД Израиля призвал ужесточить санкции против Ирана после ударов в Йемене

    20 Июля 2024 - 22:48

    Турецкие СМИ широко осветили выступление Ильхама Алиева на медиафоруме в Шуше

    20 Июля 2024 - 22:38

    WSJ: более 30 демократов уже призвали Байдена выйти из предвыборной гонки

    20 Июля 2024 - 22:35

    Холанд не хочет переходить в «Реал» из-за Мбаппе

    20 Июля 2024 - 22:22

    Ильхам Алиев о будущем Организации тюркских государств

    20 Июля 2024 - 22:10

    Взрыв рядом с полигоном Минобороны Армении

    20 Июля 2024 - 22:08

    Патруль Сенегала перехватил судно с более 200 нелегальными мигрантами

    20 Июля 2024 - 21:55

    ЦАХАЛ прокомментировал удары по Ходейде в Йемене

    20 Июля 2024 - 21:43

    Личный состав азербайджанской армии, участвовавший в учениях «Бірлестік-2024», вернулся на родину

    ФОТО

    20 Июля 2024 - 21:30

    Проводится реконструкция железнодорожной линии Алят-Османлы-Астара

    20 Июля 2024 - 21:17

    Ильхам Алиев: До конца 2027 года мы должны увеличить экспорт газа в Европу до 16 млрд кубометров

    20 Июля 2024 - 21:16

    В честь участников Второго Шушинского глобального медиафорума дан прием

    20 Июля 2024 - 21:12

    Сорванные переговоры в Британии и Трамп в отрыве

    «События» с Мурадом Абиевым

    20 Июля 2024 - 21:04

    Газированные напитки в два раза увеличивают риск развития рака

    20 Июля 2024 - 21:00

    Президент Азербайджана о поддержке пакистанских СМИ

    20 Июля 2024 - 20:51

    Израиль нанес удары по нефтехранилищам в Йемене

    20 Июля 2024 - 20:47

    Президент Азербайджана: Мы прекрасно знаем, какие страны производят больше всего углеродных отходов

    20 Июля 2024 - 20:46

    Алиев о сотрудничестве с Африканским Союзом

    20 Июля 2024 - 20:45

    В США назвали срок завершения обучения пилотов ВСУ на F-16

    20 Июля 2024 - 20:40

    Президент Азербайджана: Мы хотим, чтобы конференция COP29 стала мероприятием солидарности

    20 Июля 2024 - 20:38

    Норрис выиграл квалификацию Гран-при Венгрии «Формулы-1»

    20 Июля 2024 - 20:26

    Маск заявил, что США пора отправить астронавтов на Марс

    20 Июля 2024 - 20:14

    Корейская футбольная ассоциация пожаловалась в ФИФА на расизм

    20 Июля 2024 - 20:02

    Британия сообщила об атаках беспилотников на судно в Красном море

    20 Июля 2024 - 19:50

    Президент Азербайджана: Ради мира и освобождения наших территорий мне пришлось отбросить все свои личные эмоции

    20 Июля 2024 - 19:49

    Фермеры и экоактивисты на тракторах устроили беспорядки в Ла-Рошели

    20 Июля 2024 - 19:39

    Ильхам Алиев: Если кто-то попытается игнорировать наши интересы, то будет неправ и потерпит неудачу

    20 Июля 2024 - 19:38

    В Бангладеш полиция начала применять боевые патроны по демонстрантам

    20 Июля 2024 - 19:27

    Президент Азербайджана: В Британии все лидеры задавали мне вопросы об Армении

    20 Июля 2024 - 19:18

Все новости