Pros and cons of Georgia-Russia air traffic renewal
    Experts share their opinions with Caliber.Az

    INTERVIEWS  22 May 2023 - 11:22

    Vadim Mansurov
    Caliber.Az

    The situation is turbulent in Georgia, the country is almost split into two camps. The subject of disagreement is foreign policy priorities: supporters of the pro-Western path are convinced that the ruling Georgian Dream Party crossed certain red lines in resuming relations with Moscow and this is unacceptable. The Georgian government's decision to launch direct flights to Russia, as well as a visa-free regime with Russia for Georgian citizens was met with mixed feelings. On May 19, protests broke out directly at Tbilisi airport, where demonstrators tried to block the arrival of the first flight from Moscow.

    The uneasy situation reigns in the country's capital: a disagreement over air links to Russia led to a scuffle between Georgian MPs, and the opposition gathered a protest rally in front of the parliament on the evening of May 19. The protesters told journalists that the resumption of flights to Russia threatens Georgia with a refusal to be granted candidate status by Brussels for accession to the European Union.

    So which vector is Tbilisi choosing? Will it pivot to the West or Moscow? Or maybe the situation looks different and Georgia has decided to be more independent in its foreign and domestic policy, without looking to Washington.

    It should be noted that while the masses are opposed to rapprochement with Russia, official Tbilisi has intensified negative rhetoric towards the US and the EU. The ruling party, for example, accused Washington that the US consulate in Georgia "unreasonably and discriminatorily" refuses to issue visas to Georgian citizens. The US Ambassador in Georgia Kelly Degnan, recently denied all allegations and stated that thousands of Georgians travel to the US every year, there are just certain rules and procedures that are required to obtain US visas and the process is transparent. Degnan called on the Georgian authorities to question the Russian President's motives for lifting the restrictions imposed on Georgians by the President himself ... "I think an important question is why now? Why is Putin now making these concessions and these offers to Georgia? What is the price that Georgia is going to have to pay for direct flights, for lifting the visa regime? These are very important questions because we all know Putin does not give anything without extracting a price," warned the US diplomat.

    However, to all appearances, this is not about visas or planes, but rather about the current political discourse in Tbilisi. To understand the situation Caliber.Az decided to listen to the opinions of Georgian political analysts, who view the created situation in different ways.

    Political analyst Simon Kopadze, in particular, reminded that he has repeatedly noted the distance of the ruling Georgian Dream Party from the all-Georgian consensus and its loss of closeness to the people.

    "Bidzina Ivanishvili, who is considered an unofficial moderator of all government decisions in Georgia, has his big business in Russia and apparently thinks that by renewing ties with Moscow and criticizing the West he is saving his business, his money. In fact, he treats Georgia as his corporation and cares for his interests and leadership of the Georgian Dream coalition, which is fully subordinate to him, is taking extremely short-sighted steps and statements. They are not in favor of Georgia," stressed the Georgian political analyst.

    In his opinion, the Georgian authorities are "playing with the Russian authorities" to the detriment of the national interests.

    "In general, I have a negative attitude towards such tactics of official Tbilisi, I am against such a policy and am critical of such steps," Kopadze said.

    Political scientist Archil Sikharulidze, the founder of the SIKHA Foundation research centre, has a different view of what is happening in Georgia. According to his observations, over the past thirty years, the country has been constantly trying to find only one centre of gravity, a metropolis on which it could rely, transfer some powers to it and "live peacefully on its own". Sikharulidze believes that most of the Georgian political elites have found such a metropolis in the US.

    "But when the Georgian Dream decided to request more sovereignty, the right to rely not only on relations with its metropolis, but to build independent relations with Türkiye, Iran, China, and Russia, without changing, however, its generally pro-Western direction, I considered it pragmatically correct. A country in the South Caucasus bordering both Azerbaijan and Armenia, as well as Türkiye and Russia, should not behave as if it were in the centre of Europe or America. So, the new approach, the direction of the Georgian Dream is to be part of the European world but also to be critical of the US as a partner, at the same time actively cooperate with Azerbaijan and other countries in the region and have direct flight connection to Russia. I am sure it is right, it is an adequate policy," the political scientist said.

    He doesn't exclude that the Georgian Dream is pursuing its own interests with such a policy: the West has not wanted this party to remain in power for some time and is going to find for itself a more assimilating political force, so the "dreamers" have decided to rely on other external opportunities and attract new electorate with such multi-polar policy.

    "But in general, forming in the country not pro-American, not pro-Western, but exclusively Georgian national policy, which would imply a such multipolar approach to both, but at the same time would be based on its own, national values and principles - is extremely useful for the country. Therefore, there should be direct flight connections with Türkiye, Russia, and even China - we need to trade with all countries, and the people of Georgia should be able to travel everywhere as far as possible without visas and to host representatives of all countries without exception. But those countries should also appreciate the free choice of Georgia and its democratic values" stressed the Georgian political scientist.

    Caliber.Az

    Subscribe to our Telegram channel


Read also

Armenian Constitution, Belfast agreement, Middle Corridor and COP29 Amashov converses with Ambassador James Sharp

15 June 2024 - 17:16

Unprotected and unpunished: Turning a blind eye to anti-Jewish attacks in Armenia

16 June 2024 - 11:19

What fate awaits Armenian government after early parliamentary session? Experts analyse

16 June 2024 - 15:36

Armenian PM underestimates leader of Belarus Experts’ opinions at Caliber.Az

13 June 2024 - 19:05

Armenia exists thanks to Collective Security Treaty Organisation Russian experts’ opinions at Caliber.Az

14 June 2024 - 12:20

Belfast Agreement serves as model for Armenia-Azerbaijan peace talks Drawing parallels

11 June 2024 - 17:31
ADVERTS
Video
Latest news

    Rare tissue-damaging bacteria spreads in Japan

    Fatal within 48 hours

    16 June 2024 - 16:45

    Asian leaders’ low attendance at Ukraine peace summit signals their other priorities

    The Straits Times

    16 June 2024 - 16:28

    Hamas leader eyes to reach Gaza deal

    16 June 2024 - 16:11

    Georgian party appeals to Putin to cancel visa regime

    16 June 2024 - 15:53

    What fate awaits Armenian government after early parliamentary session?

    Experts analyse

    16 June 2024 - 15:36

    French ex-president calls dissolving parliament "risky move"

    16 June 2024 - 15:19

    Xiaomi fires two key executives for bribes

    16 June 2024 - 15:01

    Azerbaijani, Pakistani leaders discuss enhancing bilateral ties

    16 June 2024 - 14:48

    FT: Russia overtook US as gas supplier to Europe in May

    16 June 2024 - 14:45

    Finnish president urges China to influence Putin to put end to war

    16 June 2024 - 14:28

    Syrian citizen shoots five people and committs suicide in Türkiye

    16 June 2024 - 14:12

    Random shooting in Michigan water park injures nine

    Including two children

    16 June 2024 - 13:55

    Prisoners in Rostov detention centre neutralised after taking hostage staff members

    16 June 2024 - 13:39

    IDF imposes daily humanitarian pauses in fighting

    16 June 2024 - 13:21

    Armenia arrests five more people due to clashes near parliament

    Second wave of arrests

    16 June 2024 - 13:04

    Britain reports new attack on ship off Yemen's coast

    16 June 2024 - 12:47

    Türkiye favours Russia's participation at summit in Switzerland

    16 June 2024 - 12:31

    Sweden, Iran exchange prisoners in breakthrough deal

    16 June 2024 - 12:15

    Armenian forces shell Azerbaijani Army positions in Nakhchivan

    16 June 2024 - 11:57

    Azerbaijan’s path towards complete restoration of sovereignty, Russia’s ultimatum and France’s panic

    Weekly review

    16 June 2024 - 11:51

    Azerbaijan sees increase in Indian tourist influx

    16 June 2024 - 11:35

    Unprotected and unpunished: Turning a blind eye to anti-Jewish attacks in Armenia

    16 June 2024 - 11:19

    French company risks losing Niger uranium mine sought by Russia

    16 June 2024 - 11:03

    German chancellor admits peace in Ukraine cannot be achieved without Russia

    16 June 2024 - 10:47

    Italian PM: Prospect of unfreezing Russian assets stems from peace negotiations

    16 June 2024 - 10:30

    Armenian PM offers Baku to create mechanism to investigate ceasefire violations

    16 June 2024 - 10:14

    Spain resumes import of Russian iron, steel

    16 June 2024 - 09:56

    US backs Ukraine to maintain favourable world order, VP says

    16 June 2024 - 09:42

    Former IDPs participate in Eid al-Adha prayer at mosque in Shusha

    PHOTO

    16 June 2024 - 09:34

    Hamas fighters kill eight Israeli soldiers in southern Gaza

    16 June 2024 - 09:26

    Turkish president congratulates Azerbaijani people on National Salvation Day

    PHOTO

    16 June 2024 - 09:10

    G7 threatens China with further sanctions over Russia war support

    Opinion by Financial Time

    16 June 2024 - 08:55

    Lithuania connects to Europe’s rearmament industry

    Analysis by CEPA

    16 June 2024 - 06:30

    Moderna says next-generation COVID vaccine efficacy non-inferior to current shot

    16 June 2024 - 04:23

    Aselsan to showcase advanced defence technologies at Eurosatory

    Article by Defence Blog

    16 June 2024 - 02:20

    US Air Force eyes regular CCA overhauls

    No 30-year-old drone wingmen/ Article by Defense News

    16 June 2024 - 00:15

    Europe presses US to lift Ukraine weapons limits

    Article by POLITICO

    15 June 2024 - 22:10

    Court suspends French right-wing leader Ciotti's expulsion from party

    Article by Le Monde

    15 June 2024 - 20:00

    Bundestag deputy calls for Ukraine to target Russian military sites with Western weapons

    15 June 2024 - 18:40

    Session of CSTO Foreign Ministers Council to be held in Almaty

    15 June 2024 - 18:28

All news

Тбилиси-Москва и без оглядки на Вашингтон?
    «За» и «против» на Caliber.Az

    ИНТЕРВЬЮ  20 Мая 2023 - 15:15

    Вадим Мансуров
    Журналист Caliber.Az

    В Грузии неспокойно - ситуация накаляется, страна практически разделилась на два лагеря. Предмет разногласий - внешнеполитические приоритеты: сторонники прозападного пути уверены, что правящая партия «Грузинская мечта» перешла некие красные линии в возобновлении отношений с Москвой и это недопустимо. Согласованное с Москвой решение властей Грузии запустить прямое авиасообщение с Россией, а также безвизовый режим с ней для граждан Грузии не все восприняли однозначно, и накануне акции протеста развернулись прямо в Тбилисском аэропорту, где демонстранты пытались заблокировать прибытие первого рейса из Москвы.

    Неспокойно и в столице страны: разногласия по поводу авиасообщения с Россией привели к потасовке между грузинскими депутатами, а оппозиция собрала вечером 19 мая митинг протеста у парламента страны. Участники акции заявили журналистам, что возобновление полетов в Россию грозит Грузии отказом в предоставлении Брюсселем статуса кандидата на вступление в Евросоюз.

    Так какой все же вектор выбирает Тбилиси, с кем ему по пути - с Западом или Москвой? А может, ситуация выглядит иначе, и Грузия решила быть более независимой в своей внешней и внутренней политике, без оглядки на Вашингтон?

    Следует отметить, что, в то время как массы выступают против сближения с РФ, официальный Тбилиси усилил негативную риторику в адрес США и ЕС. Партия власти, например, обвинила Вашингтон в том, что американское консульство в Грузии «необоснованно и дискриминационно» отказывает в выдаче виз гражданам Грузии. Заслуживает внимания и комментарий посла США в Грузии Келли Дегнан, которая на днях опровергла все обвинения и заявила, что ежегодно тысячи грузин отправляются в Соединенные Штаты, просто существуют определенные правила и процедуры, которые необходимы для получения американских виз, и что данный процесс прозрачен. В то же время Дегнан призвала грузинские власти задуматься, чем руководствовался президент России, отменяя введенные ранее им же самим ограничения для грузин... «Думаю, что вопрос в том, почему именно сейчас Путин идет на эти уступки. Какую цену придется заплатить Грузии за восстановление прямого авиасообщения, безвизового режима или возможное восстановление железнодорожного сообщения… Это очень важные вопросы, потому что все мы знаем, что Путин ничего не делает просто так и ничего не дает даром», – предупредила американский дипломат.

    Впрочем, судя по всему, дело, по большому счету, не в визах и самолетах, а в нынешнем политическом дискурсе Тбилиси. Чтобы разобраться, Caliber.Az решил выслушать мнения грузинских политологов, по-разному рассматривающих создавшуюся ситуацию.

    Политолог Симон Копадзе, в частности, напомнил, что не раз отмечал отдаление правящей партии «Грузинская мечта» от общегрузинского консенсуса, потерю ею близости с народом.

    «Бидзина Иванишвили, который считается неофициальным модератором всех властных решений, принимаемых в Грузии, имеет свой большой бизнес в России и, видимо, считает, что возрождая связи с Москвой и критикуя Запад, он спасает свой бизнес, свои деньги. Он, по сути, относится к Грузии как к своей корпорации и блюдет свои интересы, а руководство «Грузинской мечты», которое полностью подчиняется ему, предпринимает крайне недальновидные шаги и заявления. Они точно не в пользу Грузии», - подчеркнул грузинский политолог.

    По его мнению, власти Грузии «заигрались с российскими властями» в ущерб национальным интересам.

    «В целом у меня негативное отношение к такой тактике официального Тбилиси, я против такой политики и критически отношусь к таким шагам», - сказал С.Копадзе. 

    Иная точка зрения на происходящее в Грузии у политолога, основателя научно-исследовательского центра SIKHA Foundation Арчила Сихарулидзе. По его наблюдениям за последние тридцать лет страна постоянно пыталась найти только один центр притяжения, метрополию, на которую она могла бы положиться, передать ей какие-то полномочия и «самой спокойно себе жить». И, считает А.Сихарулидзе, большинство грузинских политических элит нашли себе такую метрополию в лице США.

    «Но когда «Грузинская мечта» решила запросить больше суверенитета, право опираться не только на отношения со своей метрополией, а выстраивать независимые связи с Турцией, Ираном, Китаем и Россией, не меняя, однако, своего в целом прозападного направления, я счел это прагматически верным. Нельзя, чтобы страна на Южном Кавказе, граничащая и с Азербайджаном, и с Арменией, и с Турции, и с Россией вела себя так, как будто находится в центре Европы или Америки. Так что новый подход, направление «Грузинской мечты» нацелены на то, чтобы быть частью европейского мира, но при этом критически относиться к США как своему партнеру, одновременно активно сотрудничать с Азербайджаном и другими странами региона и иметь при этом прямое авиасообщение с Россией. Уверен, что это правильно, это адекватная политика», - сказал политолог.

    Он не исключает, что «Грузинская мечта» такой политикой преследует собственные интересы: Запад с некоторых пор не хочет, чтобы эта партия оставалась у власти, и собирается найти для себя более прилежную, поддакивающую ему политическую силу, вот «мечтатели» и решили опираться и на другие внешние возможности и такой многополярной политикой привлечь новый электорат.

    «Но в целом формирование в стране не проамериканской, не прозападной, а исключительно грузинской национальной политики, которая предполагала бы такой мультиполярный подход и к тем, и к другим, но при этом опиралась на свои, национальные ценности и принципы – крайне полезно для страны. Поэтому должно быть прямое авиасообщение и с Турцией, и Россией, даже с Китаем - надо торговать со всеми странами, а народ Грузии должен иметь возможность путешествовать повсюду, насколько возможно – без виз и принимать у себя представителей всех государств без исключения. Однако и эти государства, в свою очередь, должны ценить свободный выбор Грузии и ее демократические ценности», - подчеркнул грузинский политолог.         

    Caliber.Az

    Просмотров: 1362

    Подписывайтесь на наш Telegram-канал


Читайте также

Армения катится к десуверенизации Межевич и Митрахович на Caliber.Az

20 Июля 2024 - 09:30

Индия от Ганди до Моди Руслан Сафаров в эфире Caliber.Az

19 Июля 2024 - 19:01

«Армения превратится в колонию ЕС» Экспертные мнения на Caliber.Az

19 Июля 2024 - 17:15

«Армения — один из инструментов внешнего влияния на Южном Кавказе» Эсен Усубалиев на Caliber.Az

18 Июля 2024 - 14:11

Китай от Конфуция до коммунизма Рафик Аббасов в эфире Caliber.Az

17 Июля 2024 - 15:05

«Макрон оказался между двух огней» Гольцман и Осинчук на Caliber.Az

17 Июля 2024 - 17:01
РЕКЛАМА
Видео
Последние новости

    Олимпийские сувениры оказались опасными для здоровья детей

    21 Июля 2024 - 08:30

    Не менее 80 человек ранены в результате ударов по Ходейде

    21 Июля 2024 - 07:30

    В Малайзии короновали нового монарха

    21 Июля 2024 - 06:30

    Египет призвал не допустить хаоса на Ближнем Востоке

    21 Июля 2024 - 05:30

    Глобальный сбой в работе Microsoft затронул 8,5 миллиона компьютеров

    21 Июля 2024 - 04:30

    Азербайджанские борцы уверенно выступают на Мировой серии

    21 Июля 2024 - 03:30

    Казахстан, Туркменистан и Афганистан хотят построить новую железнодорожную магистраль

    21 Июля 2024 - 02:30

    Южная Корея ответила КНДР на запуск шаров трансляциями по громкоговорителям

    21 Июля 2024 - 02:00

    Мэр российского города предложил приковать его к столбу

    21 Июля 2024 - 01:30

    Вьетнам подал заявку в ООН на расширение континентального шельфа

    21 Июля 2024 - 01:00

    Врач Байдена рассказал о его проблемах со здоровьем

    21 Июля 2024 - 00:29

    Одобрен проект по созданию общего рынка электроэнергии России и Беларуси

    21 Июля 2024 - 00:00

    Нетаньяху заявил, что Израиль будет защищать себя «любыми средствами»

    20 Июля 2024 - 23:45

    Два человека утонули на пляже в Баку

    20 Июля 2024 - 23:39

    Израильтяне вновь вышли на массовые акции протеста

    20 Июля 2024 - 23:30

    Байден обсудил Украину с главой Еврокомиссии

    20 Июля 2024 - 23:15

    Хуситы в Йемене обещали ответить эскалацией на израильские удары

    20 Июля 2024 - 23:00

    Глава МИД Израиля призвал ужесточить санкции против Ирана после ударов в Йемене

    20 Июля 2024 - 22:48

    Турецкие СМИ широко осветили выступление Ильхама Алиева на медиафоруме в Шуше

    20 Июля 2024 - 22:38

    WSJ: более 30 демократов уже призвали Байдена выйти из предвыборной гонки

    20 Июля 2024 - 22:35

    Холанд не хочет переходить в «Реал» из-за Мбаппе

    20 Июля 2024 - 22:22

    Ильхам Алиев о будущем Организации тюркских государств

    20 Июля 2024 - 22:10

    Взрыв рядом с полигоном Минобороны Армении

    20 Июля 2024 - 22:08

    Патруль Сенегала перехватил судно с более 200 нелегальными мигрантами

    20 Июля 2024 - 21:55

    ЦАХАЛ прокомментировал удары по Ходейде в Йемене

    20 Июля 2024 - 21:43

    Личный состав азербайджанской армии, участвовавший в учениях «Бірлестік-2024», вернулся на родину

    ФОТО

    20 Июля 2024 - 21:30

    Проводится реконструкция железнодорожной линии Алят-Османлы-Астара

    20 Июля 2024 - 21:17

    Ильхам Алиев: До конца 2027 года мы должны увеличить экспорт газа в Европу до 16 млрд кубометров

    20 Июля 2024 - 21:16

    В честь участников Второго Шушинского глобального медиафорума дан прием

    20 Июля 2024 - 21:12

    Сорванные переговоры в Британии и Трамп в отрыве

    «События» с Мурадом Абиевым

    20 Июля 2024 - 21:04

    Газированные напитки в два раза увеличивают риск развития рака

    20 Июля 2024 - 21:00

    Президент Азербайджана о поддержке пакистанских СМИ

    20 Июля 2024 - 20:51

    Израиль нанес удары по нефтехранилищам в Йемене

    20 Июля 2024 - 20:47

    Президент Азербайджана: Мы прекрасно знаем, какие страны производят больше всего углеродных отходов

    20 Июля 2024 - 20:46

    Алиев о сотрудничестве с Африканским Союзом

    20 Июля 2024 - 20:45

    В США назвали срок завершения обучения пилотов ВСУ на F-16

    20 Июля 2024 - 20:40

    Президент Азербайджана: Мы хотим, чтобы конференция COP29 стала мероприятием солидарности

    20 Июля 2024 - 20:38

    Норрис выиграл квалификацию Гран-при Венгрии «Формулы-1»

    20 Июля 2024 - 20:26

    Маск заявил, что США пора отправить астронавтов на Марс

    20 Июля 2024 - 20:14

    Корейская футбольная ассоциация пожаловалась в ФИФА на расизм

    20 Июля 2024 - 20:02

Все новости