“USA wanted to caress Armenians, but in the end, it almost lost Azerbaijan”
    Zulfugarov and Musabayov on Caliber.Az

    INTERVIEWS  06 December 2023 - 15:08

    Vadim Mansurov
    Caliber.Az

    On December 6, US Assistant Secretary of State for European and Eurasian Affairs James O’Brien will arrive in Azerbaijan. The same one who allowed himself last month to make several baseless statements against Azerbaijan. Baku reacted quite harshly to these preconceived opinions. US Secretary of State Antony Blinken undertook to smooth out the situation by calling Azerbaijani President Ilham Aliyev on November 27 and asking for permission for O'Brien to visit Baku to normalize relations.

    So, what is O'Brien coming to us with? The editorial office of Caliber.Az asked Azerbaijani ex-foreign minister Tofig Zulfugarov and MP Rasim Musabayov to answer the question.

    In the opinion of Tofig Zulfugarov, it should be taken into account that the root of the problem in O'Brien's speech in the US Congress and his attacks on Azerbaijan lies in Armenian-Russian relations. All this, he is sure, has only an indirect relation to Azerbaijan, and is primarily aimed at effectively “caressing” the Armenians, so that America seems to them a new savior.

    “However, the United States has a problem - after all, Azerbaijan made its assessment of what is happening and voiced the opinion that American mediation is now impossible, given Washington’s unilateral position. And this is a serious obstacle that the United States faces. Fighting for the sympathy of public opinion in Armenia, they sharply lost the favor of public opinion in Azerbaijan. Moreover, the level of attitude towards Americans has dropped to critical levels; in fact, it is the same as towards France,” Zulfugarov noted.

    Therefore, in his opinion, the US mediation mission has radically stalled as a result of Baku’s reaction. And Azerbaijan will try to use this US mistake to its advantage.

    “Azerbaijan’s initiative for border negotiations seriously worries the United States, although they seem to have verbally supported this format. And the Armenians are not delighted with this seeming “support” from the United States. After all, they wanted more - for Americans to be present at the negotiations with Baku, who would replace the “Russian uncle”. But just as Azerbaijan previously rejected France as a mediator, the same fate may befall American mediation.

    No negotiations, alright then. We previously had an active negotiating initiative on a peace treaty, but the Armenians narrowed it down to framework agreements. And now we can do without a framework agreement - Azerbaijan has already achieved its strategic goals. And the United States understands well that attempts to put pressure on Azerbaijan are counterproductive. In addition, the United States has tactical and strategic objectives in its foreign policy. The tactical one is to oust Russia from Armenia and to prepare the Armenian lobby for the upcoming elections in the United States. Congress is certainly working on this.

    The strategic task is the Iranian issue, the political course towards rapprochement with Central Asia. But how can all this be implemented without dialogue with Azerbaijan? When they try to scare us from overseas, we understand that these threats are very broad. The real American interests are much deeper, and the United States understands that it is better not to spit in a well from which tomorrow you may need to drink water. How does anyone imagine US sanctions against a state that simultaneously borders both Iran and Russia - important objects of US political interests? Here Baku needs our positive attitude towards dialogue,” the diplomat believes.

    So, the situation continues to develop, and, according to T. Zulfugarov, Azerbaijan is using it to cement its position.

    “On the other hand, that’s what diplomacy is for, to negotiate. As for O’Brien’s latest far from friendly gesture, it can be noted that the United States is a great country, but not every American is a great person. We must still take into account the factor of personalities. And it is possible that O’Brien simply overdid it, deciding to wave the sanctions baton. At the same time, the US State Department employs many smart people who understand well what and how things are in reality.

    In my opinion, this is a completely normal political process, it is not even a crisis. Do you think they haven’t tried to put pressure on us on some issues before? Everyone tried, starting from Russia and Iran and ending with the USA and France,” Tofig Zulfugarov said.

    According to Rasim Musabayov, the goal of the US in the South Caucasus is to completely separate it from Russia. Taking into account the preferences of Pashinyan and his team, Armenia was chosen as a promising direction by the current administration of President Biden.

    “Although there has been a lot of talk on Capitol Hill about the Karabakh Armenians and their rights, the Senate resolution is entitled `Armenia Defense Act’.” Pashinyan, Mirzoyan, and Grigoryan are spreading lies that Moscow allegedly wants to punish Armenia through Azerbaijan and is secretly pushing us to aggressive actions. So, O’Brien’s main mission is to understand the situation on the spot, listen to the opinion of Azerbaijan, convey to it the concerns of the Americans, and receive the desired assurances,” Musabayov believes.

    Everything else, including the fuss with the voluntary exodus of Armenians from Karabakh, was started by the State Department as an instrument of pressure on Baku. In addition, the Pashinyan government still does not dare to leave the CSTO and break with Moscow.

    “I do not exclude those things that may come to the refusal of the ‘services’ of the Russian border guards and the closure of the 102nd military base. Knowing the Armenians and the fact that up to half of the personnel in these structures consists of residents, an attempt to appropriate the property of these Russian formations is very likely. After all, their withdrawal is possible only through Azerbaijan, and the Americans, under the pretext that Russia will use the weapons and equipment exported from Armenia in the war against Ukraine, would like us not to allow this cargo to pass through our territory. Let me remind you that when the Russian military bases in Georgia were closed, equipment and weapons were partially transferred to Armenia and partially exported through Azerbaijan.

    It is clear that Azerbaijan has absolutely no need for Russian military property to go to the Armenians and it is better to allow the Russians to take it out via our railway. Just a couple of years ago, the most radical Armenian analysts called for the nationalization of all Russian assets in Armenia in the event of a cessation of supplies of Russian oil products, gas, and fuel for the Metsamor nuclear power plant. In this case, the Americans would very much like to put the burden of supporting Armenia on Azerbaijan, which in this regard ensures and provides Georgia.

    The above considerations refer to hypothetical scenarios, but may suddenly become actual. The United States strives to promote the Armenian-Azerbaijani and Armenian-Turkish settlement to expand the opportunities for Armenia to free itself from total dependence on Russia and, together with Georgia, move along the path of integration into Western institutions - the European Union and NATO,” summed up R. Musabayov.

    Caliber.Az

    Subscribe to our Telegram channel


Read also

"Azerbaijan-Türkiye alliance will ruin Macron's game in the Caucasus" Foreign experts on Caliber.Az

04 March 2024 - 14:29

Moldova's EU aspirations in the shadow of Transnistria Journalist from Chisinau on Caliber.Az

04 March 2024 - 11:40

Experts reflect on backfire effect of European Parliament's anti-Azerbaijani attacks Caliber.Az conversation with Ishmukhamedov, Apkhaidze

02 March 2024 - 17:17

Germany challenges France to duel over mediating role in Azerbaijan-Armenia settlement Experts ponder over FRG's negotiation initiatives

02 March 2024 - 12:43

"Armenia's goal is to provoke Azerbaijan into retaliation" Experts' views on Yerevan's insidious plans

29 February 2024 - 12:33

Current geopolitical position of Armenia created by will of its people Foreign experts on Caliber.Az

29 February 2024 - 12:42
ADVERTS
Video
Latest news

    World needs better blueprint for structural reform

    Opinion by Financial Times

    05 March 2024 - 00:01

    Would limiting US fossil fuel production actually help climate change?

    04 March 2024 - 23:00

    How trade can help US beat China?

    04 March 2024 - 22:00

    Azerbaijan signs up to Global Methane Pledge

    04 March 2024 - 21:10

    Austrian MPs updated on prospects for Azerbaijan-Armenia peace process

    04 March 2024 - 21:05

    Egypt studies plan to expand Suez Canal

    04 March 2024 - 20:57

    More than 6 in 10 US adults doubt Biden’s mental capability

    04 March 2024 - 20:53

    Bitcoin smashes through $65,000

    04 March 2024 - 20:46

    Azerbaijan establishes Ski Journalists Club

    PHOTO

    04 March 2024 - 20:41

    President Biden sure of victory in coming US presidential election

    04 March 2024 - 20:37

    In search of mutual trust: What can be done?

    Contemplations with Orkhan Amashov

    04 March 2024 - 20:29

    Shahbaz Sharif takes oath as 24th prime minister of Pakistan

    04 March 2024 - 20:20

    16 candidates go to run off in Tehran parl. elections

    04 March 2024 - 20:17

    Cambodian People’s Party: Azerbaijan to play even greater role in regional, global affairs

    04 March 2024 - 20:05

    Azerbaijan, Pakistan intensify military cooperation

    PHOTO

    04 March 2024 - 20:05

    Azerbaijan, Bulgaria hail successful energy cooperation

    PHOTO

    04 March 2024 - 19:53

    Azerbaijan to host first meeting of BSEC tourism educational institutions

    04 March 2024 - 19:41

    Lowest voter turnout in Iran's parliamentary polls stuns ruling regime

    Azerbaijanis opposing Kurds' land claims in Iran

    04 March 2024 - 19:35

    Khankendi-Baku Ultramarathon wraps up in Azerbaijan

    PHOTO

    04 March 2024 - 19:29

    Türkiye unveils AZAT FPV kamikaze drone

    PHOTO

    04 March 2024 - 19:21

    Turkmenistan could join Organisation of Turkic States in 2024

    04 March 2024 - 19:13

    Reuters: EU wants fossil fuel sector to help pay to combat climate change

    04 March 2024 - 19:05

    Azerbaijan, Bulgaria eying development of interstate, interparliamentary cooperation

    PHOTO

    04 March 2024 - 18:57

    Azerbaijan, Qatar discuss current financial situation

    04 March 2024 - 18:45

    Turkish COBRA-II armoured tactical vehicles spotted in Kazakhstan

    PHOTO/VIDEO

    04 March 2024 - 18:37

    Palestinian president set to visit Türkiye

    Meeting with Erdoğan scheduled

    04 March 2024 - 18:25

    Algerian president's security officers block Iranian leader's guards

    VIDEO

    04 March 2024 - 18:13

    Turkish trainer aircraft “HÜRJET” accomplishes another test

    VIDEO

    04 March 2024 - 18:01

    Pundit warns against overestimating Armenia's importance in regional dynamics

    04 March 2024 - 17:54

    Baku's former train station makes way for "hybrid green corridor"

    From rails to trails/VIDEO

    04 March 2024 - 17:46

    Italian warship forced to shoot down Houthi missile in Red Sea

    04 March 2024 - 17:37

    Hungarian PM: West misses opportunity to conclude peace agreement on Ukraine

    04 March 2024 - 17:29

    Expert: Europeans unwilling to die for Armenia

    04 March 2024 - 17:20

    Iran to hold second round of elections as results of first round announced

    04 March 2024 - 17:12

    Death toll in Israel’s war on Gaza rises to 30,534

    04 March 2024 - 17:03

    Azerbaijan, Iran discuss Aghband-Julfa road construction

    04 March 2024 - 16:56

    Armenia, Greece bolstering military-technical cooperation

    04 March 2024 - 16:47

    Azerbaijani Mine Action Agency defuses over 580 munitions in liberated lands

    04 March 2024 - 16:38

    Türkiye's annual inflation climbs to over 67% in February

    04 March 2024 - 16:30

    President Aliyev reaffirms Azerbaijan's commitment to boost ties with Pakistan

    04 March 2024 - 16:29

All news

«США хотели приласкать армян, но в итоге почти потеряли Азербайджан»
    Зульфугаров и Мусабеков на Caliber.Az

    ИНТЕРВЬЮ  06 Декабря 2023 - 14:00

    Вадим Мансуров
    Журналист Caliber.Az

    Как уже сообщалось, сегодня, 6 декабря, в Азербайджан прибудет помощник госсекретаря США по делам Европы и Евразии Джеймс О’Брайен. Тот самый, что позволил себе в прошлом месяце ряд безосновательных высказываний в адрес Азербайджана. Баку отреагировал достаточно жестко на эти предвзятые мнения. Сгладить ситуацию взялся госсекретарь США Энтони Блинкен, который 27 ноября позвонил президенту Азербайджана Ильхаму Алиеву и попросил дать разрешение на визит О'Брайена в Баку с целью нормализации отношений.

    Так с чем же едет к нам О'Брайен? Ответить на этот вопрос редакция Caliber.Az попросила экс-министра иностранных дел Азербайджана Тофика Зульфугарова и депутата Милли меджлиса Расима Мусабекова.

    По словам Тофика Зульфугарова, следует учитывать, что корень проблемы в выступлении О'Брайена в Конгрессе США и его нападках на Азербайджан кроется в армяно-российских отношениях. Все это, уверен он, имеет лишь косвенное отношение к Азербайджану, а в первую очередь нацелено на то, чтобы эффектно «приласкать» армян, дабы Америка показалась им новым спасителем.

    «Но тут у США возникла проблема – ведь Азербайджан выступил со своей оценкой происходящего, и озвучил мнение о том, что американское посредничество сейчас невозможно, учитывая одностороннюю позицию Вашингтона. И это серьезное препятствие, которое возникло у США. Борясь за симпатии общественного мнения Армении, они резко потеряли расположенность общественного мнения Азербайджана. Причем уровень отношения к американцам снизился до критических значений, по сути, он такой же, как к Франции», - отметил Зульфугаров.

    Поэтому, по его мнению, посредническая миссия США вследствие реакции Баку кардинально застопорилась. И Азербайджан попытается использовать этот промах США в своих интересах.

    «Инициатива Азербайджана о переговорах на границе серьезно беспокоит США, хотя они вроде бы на словах выступили с поддержкой этого формата. Да и армяне от такой вроде бы «поддержки» США, судя по всему, не в восторге. Они ведь хотели большего - чтобы на переговорах с Баку присутствовали американцы, которые заменят «российского дядю». Но как азербайджанская сторона ранее отвергла Францию в качестве посредника, такая же участь может постигнуть и американское посредничество.

    Нет переговоров, ну и ладно. Была у нас ранее активная переговорная инициатива по мирному договору, но армяне сузили ее до рамочных соглашений. А теперь можно и без рамочного соглашения обойтись - Азербайджан уже достиг своих стратегических целей. И США хорошо понимают, что попытки давления на Азербайджан контрпродуктивны. К тому же у США во внешней политике имеются тактическая и стратегическая задачи. Тактическая - это вытеснить из Армении Россию, подготовить армянское лобби к предстоящим выборам в США. Конгресс, безусловно, работает над этим.

    Стратегическая задача - это иранская проблематика, политический курс на сближение с Центральной Азией. Но как все это реализовывать без диалога с Азербайджаном? Когда нас из-за океана пытаются пугать, мы понимаем, что эти угрозы носят весьма пространный характер. Настоящие американские интересы куда глубже и в США понимают, что лучше не плевать в колодец, из которого завтра может понадобится воды испить. Как кто-то представляет себе санкции США против государства, который одновременно граничит и с Ираном, и с Россией – важными объектами политических интересов США? Здесь нужен Баку и наша позитивная настроенность на диалог», - полагает дипломат.  

    Так что ситуация продолжает развиваться, и, как считает Т.Зульфугаров, Азербайджан использует ее для того, чтобы укрепить свои позиции

    «С другой стороны, на то она и дипломатия, чтобы договариваться. Что касается последних далеко не дружеских выходок О’Брайена, то тут можно заметить, что США – великое государство, но далеко не каждый американец – великий человек. Надо все-таки учитывать фактор персоналий. И не исключено, что О’Брайен просто перестарался, решив помахать санкционной дубинкой. В то же время в Госдепартаменте США работает немало умных людей, которые хорошо понимают, что и как обстоит в действительности.

    На мой взгляд, это вполне нормальный политический процесс, он даже не кризисный. Думаете, раньше по каким-то вопросам на нас не пытались давить? Пытались все, кому не лень, начиная от России и Ирана и заканчивая США и Францией», - сказал Т.Зульфугаров.

    По мнению же Расима Мусабекова, цели США на Южном Кавказе заключаются в его полном отрыве от России. А в качестве перспективного направления, с учетом пристрастий Пашиняна и его команды, нынешней администрацией президента Байдена избрана Армения.

    «Хотя на Капитолийском холме много разглагольствовали о карабахских армянах и их правах, но резолюция Сената озаглавлена как «Акт о защите Армении». Пашинян, Мирзоян, Григорян тиражируют измышления о том, что якобы Москва руками Азербайджана желает наказать Армению и тайно подталкивает нас к агрессивным действиям. Так что основная миссия О’Брайена заключается в том, чтобы на месте разобраться в ситуации, выслушать мнение азербайджанской стороны, довести до нее обеспокоенность американцев и получить желаемые заверения», - полагает Мусабеков.

    А все остальное, в том числе возня с добровольным исходом армян из Карабаха, затеяно Госдепартаментом в качестве инструмента давления на Баку. Кроме того, правительство Пашиняна все еще не решается выйти из ОДКБ и пойти на разрыв с Москвой.

    «Не исключаю, что дело может дойти до отказа от «услуг» российских пограничников и закрытия 102-й военной базы. Зная армян и то, что до половины персонала в этих структурах состоит из местных жителей, весьма вероятна попытка присвоения имущества этих российских формирований. Ведь их вывод возможен лишь через Азербайджан и американцы под предлогом того, что вывозимые из Армении вооружение и технику Россия будет использовать в войне против Украины, хотели бы, чтобы мы не пропускали этот груз через свою территорию. Напомню, что, когда закрывались военные базы РФ в Грузии, техника и вооружение частично были переданы Армении, частично вывезены через Азербайджан. Понятно, что Азербайджану совсем ни к чему, чтобы российское военное имущество досталось армянам и лучше разрешить русским вывезти его посредством нашей железной дороги. Еще пару лет назад наиболее радикальные армянские аналитики на случай прекращения поставок российских нефтепродуктов, газа, топлива для Мэцаморской АЭС призывали национализировать все российские активы на территории Армении. На этот случай американцы очень хотели бы повесить груз поддержки Армении на Азербайджан, который в этом плане страхует и обеспечивает Грузию.

    Приведенные рассуждения относятся к гипотетическим сценариям, но могут внезапно актуализироваться. Однозначно США стремятся продвинуть армяно-азербайджанское и армяно-турецкое урегулирование с тем, чтобы расширить возможности для Армении освободиться от тотальной зависимости от России и вместе с Грузией двигаться по пути интеграции в западные институты – Евросоюз и НАТО», - резюмировал Р. Мусабеков.

    Caliber.Az

    Просмотров: 5925

    Подписывайтесь на наш Telegram-канал


Читайте также

«Европарламент, желая наказать Баку, высечет Европу» Ишмухамедов и Апхаидзе на Caliber.Az

02 Марта 2024 - 15:05

Хруст французской политики на Южном Кавказе Развернутое интервью с Максимом Шевченко

01 Марта 2024 - 18:35

Берлин бросает перчатку Парижу Кудряц и Рар о переговорных инициативах ФРГ

01 Марта 2024 - 15:15

«Цель Армении - спровоцировать Азербайджан на ответные действия» Комментируют Мусабеков и Рубаев

29 Февраля 2024 - 11:25

Фантазии профессора Хачикяна Озер и Маисая на Caliber.Az

29 Февраля 2024 - 09:15

«Когда Москва отреагирует, мало в Ереване не покажется никому» Лещенюк и Гердин на Caliber.Az

28 Февраля 2024 - 16:03
РЕКЛАМА
Видео
Последние новости

    Спецпредставитель Армении: Мы можем достичь мира с Азербайджаном в кратчайшие сроки

    02 Марта 2024 - 17:53

    Турецкий экспорт в Россию упал

    02 Марта 2024 - 17:48

    ХАМАС о создании единого правительства Палестины

    02 Марта 2024 - 17:40

    Джейхун Байрамов обсудил вопросы сотрудничества с главой МИД Молдовы

    02 Марта 2024 - 17:34

    На матче «Карабах» - «Байер» ожидается аншлаг

    ФОТО

    02 Марта 2024 - 17:31

    Лавров оценил заявления Армении по ОДКБ

    02 Марта 2024 - 17:25

    Число жертв в секторе Газа растет

    02 Марта 2024 - 17:22

    ХАМАС не может сообщить национальность погибших 70 заложников

    02 Марта 2024 - 17:15

    Последние колонии декадентской империи

    Обзор Артема Кирпиченка

    02 Марта 2024 - 17:09

    Израильская делегация прибудет в Каир

    02 Марта 2024 - 17:01

    Французские фермеры: Макрон дискредитирует нас

    Статья в News Rebeat

    02 Марта 2024 - 16:59

    Китай и ЕС ставят на Средний коридор

    Реалии и перспективы

    02 Марта 2024 - 16:50

    Судно Rubymar затонуло в Красном море

    ФОТО

    02 Марта 2024 - 16:50

    Рустамов: Для управления железной дорогой Баку-Тбилиси-Карс будет создано совместное предприятие

    02 Марта 2024 - 16:43

    Спикер парламента Венгрии одобрил вступление Швеции в НАТО

    02 Марта 2024 - 16:41

    Хусейн - Байрамову: Ирак заинтересован в дальнейшем развитии отношений с Азербайджаном

    02 Марта 2024 - 16:34

    СМИ: Синуар жив, а батальоны ХАМАС воюют

    02 Марта 2024 - 16:30

    Лавров: Наш посол по особым поручениям посещал Баку, Ереван же до сих пор не подтвердил его визит

    02 Марта 2024 - 16:20

    Санду хочет объединить два берега Днестра

    02 Марта 2024 - 16:20

    Аскер Расулов награжден орденом

    Распоряжение президента

    02 Марта 2024 - 16:10

    Ганц посетит США без согласования с Нетаньяху

    02 Марта 2024 - 16:02

    Глава МИД России: Азербайджан подтверждает свою приверженность трехсторонним договоренностям

    02 Марта 2024 - 15:58

    Израильский беспилотник нанес удар по Ливану

    ОБНОВЛЕНО/ВИДЕО/ФОТО

    02 Марта 2024 - 15:49

    Таир Будагов: Укрепление солидарности в тюркском мире серьезно беспокоит некоторые круги

    02 Марта 2024 - 15:32

    ЦАХАЛ в Газе: уничтожены десятки террористов

    ВИДЕО

    02 Марта 2024 - 15:21

    Чавушоглу: Некоторые европейские страны срывают азербайджано-армянские переговоры

    02 Марта 2024 - 15:12

    «Европарламент, желая наказать Баку, высечет Европу»

    Ишмухамедов и Апхаидзе на Caliber.Az

    02 Марта 2024 - 15:05

    В Турции ответили на вопрос об открытии границы с Арменией

    02 Марта 2024 - 14:58

    Азербайджан обсудил с TikTok возможности сотрудничества

    02 Марта 2024 - 14:41

    Политолог Бадалян: Азербайджан диктует повестку дня и не отказывается от своих условий

    02 Марта 2024 - 14:40

    Китайские тайконавты вышли в открытый космос

    02 Марта 2024 - 14:40

    На выборах в Иране проголосовали менее половины избирателей

    02 Марта 2024 - 14:22

    Байрамов обсудил c Сарыбайем углубление партнерства в рамках СВМДА

    ОБНОВЛЕНО

    02 Марта 2024 - 14:09

    Милей закрывает единственное новостное госагентство

    02 Марта 2024 - 14:04

    Байрамов обсудил с представителем Святого Престола ситуацию в регионе

    02 Марта 2024 - 13:42

    Байрамов и Беттель обсудили развитие сотрудничества

    02 Марта 2024 - 13:42

    В Турции прошли 20-е испытания ударного беспилотника Bayraktar TB3

    ВИДЕО

    02 Марта 2024 - 13:40

    Двуличие Еревана

    Статья Тараса Кузио

    02 Марта 2024 - 13:33

    В Ираке заявили об отсутствии решения о выводе войск коалиции из страны

    02 Марта 2024 - 13:21

    Когда состоится внеочередная встреча глав МИД стран ОИС?

    02 Марта 2024 - 13:18

Все новости