Navigating Armenia's path amidst church protests, historical myths
    Pashinyan's doctrine

    ANALYTICS  29 May 2024 - 15:09

    Murad Abiyev
    Caliber.Az

    The return of four villages of the Gazakh district to Baku's control was a major milestone in the normalization of relations between Azerbaijan and Armenia. At the same time, this issue, due to the context of revanchist sentiments in Armenian society, as is known, has become central to the protests led by the Armenian Church together with the Karabakh clan. Against this backdrop, on May 24, Prime Minister Nikol Pashinyan addressed the nation.

    In general, Pashinyan repeated his narrative about “historical Armenia” (read, “mythical”), which must be overcome by “real Armenia”, about the conflict between the ideas of “historical Armenia” and the position of neighbors guided by international law, i.e. about the very “bull and men in red clothes”, though this time without such lavish allegories.

    However, Pashinyan has now taken the next step in these reflections, touching upon both the origin of this dissonance between “historical” and real Armenia and the ways out of it. Reflecting on the roots of such a distortion of reality, Pashinyan, of course, made a great deal of misunderstanding, or rather, misrepresentation, by blaming the entire responsibility for the mythical consciousness of Armenians on the Soviet Union. Allegedly, the Soviet authorities sought to erase the sense of statehood from Armenians and for this purpose planted the idea of an independent state outside of Soviet Armenia. “One of the Soviet Union's methods of dealing with the strong national consciousness of Armenians was to channel dreams of Armenian SSR independence outside the territory of Soviet Armenia and the Soviet Union, sometimes for geopolitical purposes and sometimes to weaken and eradicate the perception of the Armenian SSR as a potential territory for the re-establishment of Armenian statehood. The Soviet Union promoted among Armenians the formula of seeking a homeland outside the Armenian SSR,” Pashinyan said.

    This is a ridiculous statement. The Soviet Union by definition could not encourage in the national republics the sprouts of a future state, but the irony of fate is that just for Armenia during the Soviet period the most favorable conditions for the formation of a purely mono-ethnic republic were created. It is enough to recall the deportation of Azerbaijanis from Armenia in the late 40s and 80s of the 20th century.

    However, the purpose of such manipulations of Pashinyan is clear: in the context of the struggle with the opposition, tacitly supported by Moscow, it is important for him to show that he is against the Kremlin, and, accordingly, he carefully attributes all the negativity of his theoretical calculations solely to Russia, completely “forgetting” about the role of Western powers in the formation of the Armenian nationalist idea.

    However, Pashinyan's next thought compensates for this unilateralism and challenges any doctrine linking Armenia's fate to third forces: “Under these circumstances, the sovereignty of Azerbaijan suffers significantly because when your notions of homeland do not coincide with your country's internationally recognized borders, you are forced to open the way for disproportionate influences from others. This is because you feel that by doing so, you gain power and support to advance agendas that do not align with your legitimate borders.

    Afterwards, Pashinyan makes another clever move. He begins to use religious motifs in his rhetoric, as if trying to deprive the Armenian Church of the basis of its protest rhetoric and take away its monopoly on spiritual truth. While churchmen are muttering something unintelligible about the betrayal of the spiritual staples of the Armenian people, Pashinyan finds the most successful (in the context of fighting expansionist ideas) of all possible religious parallels for the current situation, calling the Republic of Armenia the “Promised Land.” “We are passing through this path, and at the end of this path is our Promised Land, the Republic of Armenia, with the only difference that we are here now, but very often we do not notice our Promised Land and, not noticing it, we continue our search for the Promised Land.

    Our country today is not perfect in part because our endless search for the Promised Land in the Promised Land does not allow us to concretize and formulate an answer to the question of what territory, in what place, what size we want to build a home-state, and the process of delimitation by each border pillar formulates an answer to that question.”

    Perhaps it is difficult to overestimate the power of this message. It mimics the traditional casuistry that Pashinyan likes to feed his audience, but we must admit that unlike many of the Prime Minister's previous statements, this message has a tremendous creative energy. It is capable of shifting the focus of the Armenian view of the world and of oneself in the world, and for the first time in many years the Republic of Armenia can be clearly seen as a gift from above. This message is both practical and religious. Perhaps it is worth bringing the passage around the “Promised Land” to the end: “And we together must walk this path, which, yes, is not a carpet, but passes through thorns and traps, difficult and complex decisions, disappointments and misunderstandings, but it is the only path that has a horizon in front of it and leads to the real Promised Land, the real Armenia - the Republic of Armenia.

    This is the decisive path. One of the philosophers says that the best path is the one that leads you to where you are. This path leads us to where we are, to the Republic of Armenia, and gives us the opportunity to look at our reality from a completely different angle. And only from this angle we can see the future and the path that leads to that future. There is only one guarantee to successfully follow this path to the end: the nationwide awareness and conviction in the mission of political leadership.

    It is also worth noting how Pashinyan combined a spiritual message with the need to follow the course of the “party and government”. Perhaps we can conclude that in the ideological sense the Etchmiadzin card is beaten.

    “Long live our children who will live in a Free and Happy Armenia!” is how Pashinyan concluded his speech.

    It couldn't be said better. Indeed, Armenia needs to free itself from the ways of external governance, which impose ideas of greatness on the people and do not allow them to focus on the problems of statehood. In this sense, Pashinyan is carrying out serious, responsible and sometimes dangerous work.

    It is a pity that Pashinyan did not demonstrate such an approach earlier, before September 2020, but, as he himself admitted in the same address, it took time for him to come to such an understanding of things. And with all obviousness - a crushing defeat in the war with Azerbaijan on all fronts.

    Caliber.Az

    Subscribe to our Telegram channel


Read also

US assumes world gendarme role Policing global dynamics

22 June 2024 - 12:18

Azerbaijan's gas diversification: betting on Bulgarian industry Caliber.Az review

22 June 2024 - 13:33

Paris and Baku: A clash of interests & ideologies Historical context & rivalry origins

21 June 2024 - 17:26

Hypersonic arms race between China and the US What to expect?

21 June 2024 - 17:02

French Senate's anti-Azerbaijani move backfires “A sacred space is never empty”

21 June 2024 - 15:46

Insurance market of Azerbaijan: Premiums rise amid persistent risks Review by Caliber.Az

21 June 2024 - 18:14
ADVERTS
Video
Latest news

    Russian Su-35, US MQ-9 drones near collision over Syria

    22 June 2024 - 14:30

    Russia threatens retaliation if US closes visa centers, ends diplomatic tax privileges

    22 June 2024 - 14:15

    Armenia takes revenge on Israel by recognizing Palestinian state

    Article by Ynet News

    22 June 2024 - 14:00

    Venezuelan president accuses opposition of plotting coup ahead of election

    22 June 2024 - 13:48

    Azerbaijan's gas diversification: betting on Bulgarian industry

    Caliber.Az review

    22 June 2024 - 13:33

    New Zealand's Interislander ferry runs aground

    PHOTO

    22 June 2024 - 13:18

    Russian air forces neutralize five Ukrainian drones across different regions

    22 June 2024 - 13:03

    Japan's imperial couple leaves for Britain as state guests

    22 June 2024 - 12:48

    Azerbaijan's green energy share reaches 14% in electricity generation

    22 June 2024 - 12:33

    US assumes world gendarme role

    Policing global dynamics

    22 June 2024 - 12:18

    US policy allows Ukraine limited strikes on Russian targets

    Amidst restrictions

    22 June 2024 - 12:03

    Azerbaijani police seize cache of weapons in Khankandi

    Furthering security measures

    22 June 2024 - 11:48

    Boeing's Starliner return to Earth postponed

    NASA says no new date set

    22 June 2024 - 11:33

    USS Theodore Roosevelt arrives in Busan in show of force

    22 June 2024 - 11:19

    Poland scrambles jets as Russia strikes Ukraine

    22 June 2024 - 11:05

    Azerbaijani President announces Green World Solidarity Year at Baku Energy Week

    Interview with Euronews/PHOTO/VIDEO

    22 June 2024 - 10:51

    US notifies Russia of visa center closures in Washington, New York

    22 June 2024 - 10:39

    Russian deputy foreign minister admits collapse of Iran nuclear deal

    22 June 2024 - 10:26

    Armenia shells Azerbaijani army positions in Kalbajar

    Retaliatory measures taken

    22 June 2024 - 10:18

    S&P upgrades AzerEnergy's standalone credit profile

    22 June 2024 - 10:13

    Ukraine forced to impose entry restrictions on Israeli citizens

    Ambassador says

    22 June 2024 - 10:00

    Germany, Norway collaborate on hypersonic missiles for German navy frigates

    22 June 2024 - 09:47

    St. Maarten activist condemns French colonial control

    Appeals to Azerbaijan for support

    22 June 2024 - 09:35

    Azerbaijan secures additional Olympic qualifications for Paris 2024

    22 June 2024 - 09:23

    Pakistan moves to join North-South transport corridor

    22 June 2024 - 09:11

    Iran's water crisis leads to alarming ground collapse

    22 June 2024 - 09:09

    Five challenges for NATO’s next chief Mark Rutte

    22 June 2024 - 07:04

    French president’s project of reform at risk

    22 June 2024 - 05:04

    Germany’s Rheinmetall gets record $9.1 billion ammo order

    22 June 2024 - 03:05

    Reuters: US, China hold first informal nuclear talks in five years, eyeing Taiwan

    22 June 2024 - 01:03

    Toyota just beat hydrogen forever

    New technology America doesn’t know about

    21 June 2024 - 23:04

    Belarus Foreign Ministry hands note of protest to Armenia

    21 June 2024 - 20:59

    Turkish disinformation center refutes claims of 2.5 million refugees in Istanbul

    21 June 2024 - 20:54

    Hungary opts out of NATO military mission in Ukraine, says PM Orban

    21 June 2024 - 20:46

    Norway pledges to bolster safety of Ukrainian NPP

    21 June 2024 - 20:31

    Brazilian president congratulates Azerbaijani opposite number on Independence Day

    21 June 2024 - 20:25

    Israel warns Armenia

    21 June 2024 - 20:12

    EU intends to suspend high-level visits to Georgia

    21 June 2024 - 19:56

    Azerbaijani foreign minister meets outgoing Kyrgyz ambassador

    21 June 2024 - 19:39

    Ombudsperson warns: Mines impede Karabakh, Zangezur recovery efforts

    21 June 2024 - 19:29

All news

Библейский сюжет против церкви
    Пашинян развивает доктрину

    АНАЛИТИКА  27 Мая 2024 - 19:03

    Мурад Абиев
    Caliber.Az

    Возвращение под контроль Баку четырех сел Газахского района стало важнейшей вехой в процессе нормализации отношений между Азербайджаном и Арменией. Вместе с тем этот вопрос в силу контекста наличия реваншистских настроений в армянском обществе, как известно, стал центральным в протестах, возглавляемых армянской церковью в связке с карабахским кланом. На этом фоне 24 мая премьер Никол Пашинян выступил с обращением к народу.

    В целом Пашинян повторил свой нарратив об «Армении исторической» (читай, «мифической»), которую должна перебороть «Армения реальная», о конфликте между идеями «исторической Армении» и позицией соседей, руководствующихся международным правом, то есть о тех самых «быке и людях в красных одеждах», правда, на этот раз без подобных пышных аллегорий.

    Однако сейчас Пашинян сделал следующий шаг в этих размышлениях, коснувшись как вопроса происхождения такого диссонанса между «исторической» и реальной Арменией, так и путей выхода из него. Размышляя о корнях подобного искажения действительности, Пашинян, конечно, сильно намудрил, а точнее, слукавил, взвалив всю ответственность за мифическое сознание армян на Советский Союз. Якобы советская власть стремилась вытравить из армян чувство государственности и для этой цели подкладывала им идею о независимом государстве вне Советской Армении. «Одним из методов борьбы Советского Союза с сильным национальным самосознанием армян было направление мечтаний о независимости Армянской ССР за пределы территории Советской Армении и Советского Союза, иногда в геополитических целях, а иногда в целях ослабления и искоренения восприятия Армянской ССР как потенциальной территории воссоздания армянской государственности. Советский Союз продвигал среди армян формулу поиска родины за пределами Армянской ССР», — сказал Пашинян.

    Смехотворное заявление. Советский Союз по определению не мог поощрять в национальных республиках ростки будущего государства, однако ирония судьбы в том, что как раз-таки для Армении в советский период и были созданы максимально благоприятные условия для формирования сугубо моноэтнической республики. Достаточно вспомнить депортацию азербайджанцев из Армении в конце 40-х и 80-х годов 20 века.

    Однако цель подобных манипуляций Пашиняна понятна: в условиях борьбы с оппозицией, негласно поддерживаемой Москвой, ему важно показать, что он против Кремля, и, соответственно, весь негатив своих теоретических выкладок он старательно списывает единственно на Россию, начисто «забывая» о роли западных держав в формировании армянской националистической идеи.

    Однако следующая мысль Пашиняна все-таки компенсирует эту односторонность и бросает вызов любой доктрине, связывающей судьбу Армении с третьими силами: «В этих условиях суверенитет нашей страны существенно страдает, поскольку, когда твои представления о родине не совпадают с международными легитимными границами твоей страны, ты вынужден открывать путь для непропорциональных влияний со стороны других, поскольку тебе кажется, что тем самым ты получаешь силу и поддержку для продвижения повесток, которые не совпадают с твоими легитимными границами».

    Далее Пашинян делает еще один ловкий ход. Он начинает использовать в своей риторике религиозные мотивы, как будто пытаясь лишить армянскую церковь основы ее протестной риторики и отнять у нее монополию на духовную истину. Пока церковные деятели бубнят что-то нечленораздельное про предательство духовных скреп армянского народа, Пашинян находит для нынешней ситуации самую удачную (в контексте борьбы с экспансионистскими идеями) из всех возможных религиозных параллелей, назвав Республику Армения «Землей обетованной»: «Мы проходим этот путь, и в конце этого пути находится наша Земля обетованная, Республика Армения, с той лишь разницей, что мы и сейчас находимся здесь, но очень часто не замечаем нашей Земли обетованной и, не замечая ее, продолжаем наш поиск Земли обетованной. Сегодня наша страна не идеальна в том числе и потому, что наши бесконечные поиски Земли обетованной в Земле обетованной не позволяют нам конкретизироваться и сформулировать ответ на вопрос, на какой территории, в каком месте, какого размера мы хотим построить дом-государство, и процесс делимитации каждым пограничным столбом формулирует ответ на этот вопрос».

    Пожалуй, трудно переоценить силу этого посыла. Он мимикрирует под традиционную казуистику, которой Пашинян любит потчевать свою аудиторию, однако нужно признаться, что в отличие от многих предыдущих высказываний премьера этот мессидж обладает огромной созидательной энергией. Он способен передвинуть фокус в оптике армянского взгляда на мир и на себя в мире и впервые за долгие годы увидеть со всей отчетливостью Республику Армения как подарок свыше. Этот посыл одновременно практичен и религиозен. Пожалуй, стоит привести пассаж вокруг «Земли обетованной» до конца: «И мы вместе должны пройти этот путь, который, да, не является ковровой дорожкой, а проходит через тернии и ловушки, сложные и трудные решения, разочарования и непонимания, но это единственный путь, который имеет перед собой горизонт и ведет в реальную Землю обетованную, реальную Армению — Республику Армения. Это решающий путь. Один из философов говорит, что лучший путь — это тот, который приводит тебя туда, где ты находишься. Этот путь ведет нас туда, где мы находимся, в Республику Армения, и дает нам возможность взглянуть на нашу реальность совершенно с другого ракурса. И только с этого ракурса можно увидеть будущее и путь, который ведет к этому будущему. Есть только одна гарантия успешно пройти этот путь до конца: общенародная осознанность и убежденность в миссии политического лидерства».

    Стоит также обратить внимание, как Пашинян соединил духовный посыл с необходимостью следовать курсом «партии и правительства». Пожалуй, можно заключить, что в идейном смысле карта Эчмиадзина бита.

    «Да здравствуют наши дети, которые будут жить в Свободной и Счастливой Армении!», — так завершил свое выступление Пашинян.

    Лучше не скажешь. Действительно, Армении необходимо освободиться от пут внешнего управления, которые навязывают народу идеи о величии и не дают сосредоточиться на проблемах государственности. В этом смысле Пашинян проводит серьезную, ответственную и подчас опасную работу.

    Жаль, что Пашинян не демонстрировал подобный подход раньше, до сентября 2020 года, однако, как он сам признался в этом же обращении, для того чтобы прийти к такому пониманию вещей, ему потребовалось время. И со всей очевидностью — разгромное поражение в войне с Азербайджаном на всех фронтах.

    Caliber.Az

    Просмотров: 3416

    Подписывайтесь на наш Telegram-канал


Читайте также

Мышиная возня История одного штурма

22 Июня 2024 - 12:02

США в мундире мирового жандарма Размышления Теймура Атаева

22 Июня 2024 - 10:41

Газовая диверсификация Баку: ставка на болгарскую индустрию Обзор Caliber.Az

22 Июня 2024 - 09:46

Момент истины и тест искренности Армении Видео YouTube-канала Caliber.Az

21 Июня 2024 - 21:07

Конкурс продолжается, отбоя нет от номинантов Эти забавные соседи и их покровители

21 Июня 2024 - 17:30

Западные союзы: от ценностных к межгосударственным противоречиям Расклад Прейгермана

21 Июня 2024 - 19:01
РЕКЛАМА
Видео
Последние новости

    Захарова пригрозила США

    22 Июня 2024 - 13:01

    Азербайджан увеличивает производство стройматериалов

    22 Июня 2024 - 12:54

    Некоторые реки Азербайджана стали полноводными после ливней

    ВИДЕО

    22 Июня 2024 - 12:43

    Мадуро обвинил оппозицию в подготовке госпереворота

    22 Июня 2024 - 12:42

    В Азербайджане одобрен новый перечень реабилитационных средств для инвалидов

    22 Июня 2024 - 12:39

    Когда Милли Меджлис шестого созыва завершит свою работу?

    22 Июня 2024 - 12:36

    В Новой Зеландии паром потерпел аварию

    ФОТО

    22 Июня 2024 - 12:22

    Мышиная возня

    История одного штурма

    22 Июня 2024 - 12:02

    Императорская чета Японии отправилась в Британию

    22 Июня 2024 - 12:00

    Землетрясение в Каспийском море

    22 Июня 2024 - 11:51

    США закрывают визовый центр РФ

    22 Июня 2024 - 11:40

    В Азербайджане увеличилась доля «зеленой энергии»

    22 Июня 2024 - 11:35

    Fitch изменило прогноз по рейтингу Грузии с «позитивного» на «стабильный»

    22 Июня 2024 - 11:26

    Минобороны РФ о работе ПВО против дронов ВСУ

    22 Июня 2024 - 11:21

    На каких территориях Баку планируют проложить новые линии метро?

    ВИДЕО

    22 Июня 2024 - 11:06

    Игры БРИКС: пикантные подробности самых масштабных состязаний в России

    Репортаж Caliber.Az

    22 Июня 2024 - 11:02

    Вашингтон ограничил ВСУ в ударах по РФ американским оружием?

    22 Июня 2024 - 11:01

    Алиев: Наша цель - обеспечить экспорт возобновляемых энергоресурсов

    22 Июня 2024 - 10:58

    Azeri Light подскочила в цене

    22 Июня 2024 - 10:48

    В Карабахе сожгли тонны наркотиков

    22 Июня 2024 - 10:47

    Когда в Азербайджане вступит в силу закон, запрещающий родственные браки?

    22 Июня 2024 - 10:44

    Зачистка продолжается: oружие в Ханкенди

    ЦИФРЫ от МВД Азербайджана

    22 Июня 2024 - 10:44

    США в мундире мирового жандарма

    Размышления Теймура Атаева

    22 Июня 2024 - 10:41

    Алиев: Азербайджан обязан быть в числе передовиков в области «зеленого» перехода

    22 Июня 2024 - 10:40

    Кубок Америки: Перу и Чили разошлись миром

    22 Июня 2024 - 10:40

    Ливни вызвали сели на многих реках Азербайджана

    ВИДЕО

    22 Июня 2024 - 10:36

    В Баку прошел «Концерт памяти» в память героев войны

    ФОТО

    22 Июня 2024 - 10:36

    Euronews на Бакинской энергетической неделе: выставки и интервью с президентом Алиевым

    ВИДЕО

    22 Июня 2024 - 10:33

    Демонстрация силы: «Теодор Рузвельт» прибыл в Пусан

    22 Июня 2024 - 10:22

    Польша подняла в воздух военную авиацию

    22 Июня 2024 - 10:02

    В Баку пройдёт эко-акция

    22 Июня 2024 - 10:01

    Кяльбаджар под обстрелом армян

    Приняты ответные меры

    22 Июня 2024 - 09:59

    Операция в Шамкире: задержан наркоторговец

    22 Июня 2024 - 09:49

    Газовая диверсификация Баку: ставка на болгарскую индустрию

    Обзор Caliber.Az

    22 Июня 2024 - 09:46

    Евро 2024: Турция и Грузия проведут сегодня вторые матчи

    Расписание

    22 Июня 2024 - 09:39

    Британские ВМС о нападении на судно у побережья Йемена

    22 Июня 2024 - 09:20

    Возвращение корабля Starliner с орбиты отложено

    22 Июня 2024 - 09:08

    США закрывают российские визовые центры в Вашингтоне и Нью-Йорке

    22 Июня 2024 - 08:41

    В ряде регионов РФ сократят допустимую долю иностранных работников

    22 Июня 2024 - 08:30

    Ученые выяснили, как повысить шансы дожить до 100 лет

    22 Июня 2024 - 07:30

Все новости