Who do Moscow and Washington prefer to see at the helm of Türkiye?
    Shereshevskiy's analysis

    ANALYTICS  28 March 2023 - 15:25

    Moscow clearly favours incumbent President Recep Tayyip Erdogan. Washington would probably like the six-party opposition to win.

    In the short term, Moscow, according to many analysts, benefits from Erdogan because it can negotiate with him. He allows capital to flow into Türkiye, turning it into a bridge between the Russian and world economies, and helps arrange deals on Syria and Ukraine. President Erdogan, on the other hand, needs financial injections (to pay back loans and stabilize the Turkish currency). He is also interested in modernizing infrastructure (Russia is building the Akkuyu NPP at a cost of up to $25 billion at a time when nuclear energy has become a very promising industry). Cheap Russian energy is essential to Türkiye's growing industry (it grew by 5.6 per cent last year, and that growth comes in large part from its export-oriented industry and military).

    For the same reasons that Erdogan is getting closer to Russia on some issues, he is strengthening cooperation with his recent rivals in the Middle East - Saudi Arabia and the UAE - he needs their investment amid Western capital outflow from Türkiye.

    Furthermore, Erdogan is using cooperation with Russia as a tool to help him influence Washington ("you don't want us to further strengthen and expand ties with Russia, so you have to make advances on different issues").

    From the perspective of Ukraine and the US, they are pleased with Erdogan's resolute stance in the Black Sea region - from supplying Ukraine with advanced weapons to closing the way for Russian warships in the Black Sea. The fact is that this is where Türkiye's interests stand in opposition to Russia's. For Türkiye, as one of the leading (in the recent past) American diplomats, Middle East specialist James Jeffrey, pointed out, Moscow's strengthening of its position in the critically important Black Sea region is unacceptable. It is therefore providing serious support for Ukraine.

    Again, it seeks to use cooperation with the US and Ukraine to put pressure on Russia ("you don't want our tanks to be supplied to the AFU, in which case you should cede to us on some issues").

    In the long run, however, Erdogan is a definite problem for the Kremlin. It is this ambitious politician who is turning Türkiye into a military and scientific-industrial superpower. He strengthens not only his alliance with Azerbaijan, expanding Turkish influence in the South Caucasus, but also the Organization of Turkic States (OTS), which includes countries with a population of 160 million and a GDP of $1.5 trillion, increasing Türkiye's influence in Central Asia. The Black Sea region, the South Caucasus and Central Asia are three regions where Russian influence has dominated in the recent past. Türkiye is creating or may create in the future, politico-military and economic blocs there. And they will inevitably be directed against Russia, not because Türkiye has something against it personally, but because two bears cannot get along in the same den. In the long run, the stronger the Turkish State, the more problems the Russian State will have. Add to that the big project of Turkish political and cultural hegemony. Türkiye is developing a network of universities with affordable low-cost education, where people from all the Central Asian republics, as well as many other countries, study. They are the future engineers, scientists, administrators, political technologists, journalists, historians, entrepreneurs and politicians of the region.

    It is not at all certain that the Turkish coalition led by Kemal Kilicdaroglu will be able to fully pursue this course. Most likely, if it wins the election, it will be immersed in Türkiye's internal reforms and its own squabbles to the point where it will find it difficult to continue Erdogan's earlier assertive, determined, tough and purposeful policies.

    But, on the other hand, it is important to remember two things. First, this group, should it come to power, will become more aligned with Washington and Brussels than Erdogan. The opposition is predominantly secular, unlike Erdogan's Justice and Development Party (AKP). It includes politicians oriented towards an economic alliance with the West. The six-party coalition will need foreign investment and closer cooperation with the European Union and the United States, their markets and technology, as this is the key to a dynamic Turkish economy. For Türkiye, the EU countries are its main market; without Western technology, Türkiye's expanding military-industrial complex, which depends heavily on imports, cannot survive.

    Moreover, the six-party coalition will not feel secure because the media, the courts and the power structures consist of Erdogan supporters. This means a difficult process of reform, purges and instability. In this situation, Türkiye's new leaders will try to rely on the United States and Europe to present certain trump cards to business, the military and society - the lifting of sanctions, positive dynamics in relations, the supply of advanced Western weapons, investments, lower inflation, etc. The West, of course, will demand a weakening of ties with Moscow in return.

    At the same time, the US welcomes Türkiye's plans in the Black Sea and Central Asia because they reduce Russia's influence there. Washington may be influenced by the Armenian lobby and this affects its plans in the South Caucasus, but even here Türkiye and allied Azerbaijan will have a chance. And of course, the US will encourage these very areas of Turkish policy.

    Secondly, Erdogan's active foreign policy is not only linked to his personal subjective characteristics and ideology. It is also related to the strengthening of Türkiye's economic, scientific, technical and military power against the background of the weakening international influence of the United States. Türkiye has become stronger, while the US has become somewhat weaker. That is why Türkiye began to fill the vacuum in the Middle East and elsewhere. Ankara will continue to do so to the best of its ability, simply because it can.

    Navigating between Russia and the US is among the tools of big Turkish politics - it is a way of enhancing its international influence and the six-party coalition is unlikely to avoid it for the foreseeable future. Both for the political and economic reasons discussed above. Another thing is that subjective factors and internal contradictions can affect this advance by Türkiye, slowing it down or, on the contrary, speeding it up.

    Thus, the six-party coalition is likely to distance itself more from Russia than Erdogan, should he come to power. But it is hard to say how far-reaching the change will be since there are different forces at work here. The changes may not be radical.

    Furthermore, it is likely that the foreign policy of the six-party coalition will become more cautious, at least for a few years, as the new government will focus more on domestic issues and reforms.

    Caliber.Az

    Subscribe to our Telegram channel


Read also

Paris and Baku: A clash of interests & ideologies Historical context & rivalry origins

21 June 2024 - 17:26

Hypersonic arms race between China and the US What to expect?

21 June 2024 - 17:02

Insurance market of Azerbaijan: Premiums rise amid persistent risks Review by Caliber.Az

21 June 2024 - 18:14

France's arms deal with Armenia sparks regional tensions Paris thirsts for war

21 June 2024 - 16:26

Escalating tensions & prospect of war in the South Caucasus Can French arms supply reignite new regional war?

20 June 2024 - 15:53

Russia – North Korea deal: a new geopolitical axis? New level ties

20 June 2024 - 14:28
ADVERTS
Video
Latest news

    Norway pledges to bolster safety of Ukrainian NPP

    21 June 2024 - 20:31

    Brazilian president congratulates Azerbaijani opposite number on Independence Day

    21 June 2024 - 20:25

    Israel warns Armenia

    21 June 2024 - 20:12

    EU intends to suspend high-level visits to Georgia

    21 June 2024 - 19:56

    Azerbaijani foreign minister meets outgoing Kyrgyz ambassador

    21 June 2024 - 19:39

    Ombudsperson warns: Mines impede Karabakh, Zangezur recovery efforts

    21 June 2024 - 19:29

    Russia, China develop payment workarounds amid expanding US sanctions

    21 June 2024 - 19:14

    Germany arrests three on suspicion of spying

    21 June 2024 - 19:02

    South Korea summons Russian ambassador to protest Moscow-Pyongyang pact

    21 June 2024 - 18:50

    London to host second IEA-COP29 High-Level Dialogue

    21 June 2024 - 18:38

    US redirects air defence missile deliveries to Ukraine to counter Russian attacks

    21 June 2024 - 18:26

    Insurance market of Azerbaijan: Premiums rise amid persistent risks

    Review by Caliber.Az

    21 June 2024 - 18:14

    Azerbaijan, Iran, and Russia discuss North-South transport corridor development

    21 June 2024 - 18:02

    ISW: Russia deploys FAB-3000 M-54 bomb in Ukraine strikes

    PHOTO/VIDEO

    21 June 2024 - 17:50

    High-Level Meeting on COP29 wraps up in Azerbaijan’s Zangilan

    21 June 2024 - 17:41

    Prosecutors in Sen. Menendez’s corruption trial shift focus to Qatar

    New details emerge in pro-Armenian politician's bribery case

    21 June 2024 - 17:38

    Paris and Baku: A clash of interests & ideologies

    Historical context & rivalry origins

    21 June 2024 - 17:26

    Türkiye’s Baykar unveils amount spent on unmanned combat aerial vehicles

    21 June 2024 - 17:14

    Hypersonic arms race between China and the US

    What to expect?

    21 June 2024 - 17:02

    US Embassy in Baku condoles death of ANAMA employee

    PHOTO

    21 June 2024 - 16:50

    Another incident occurs in Armenian separatist representative office

    VIDEO

    21 June 2024 - 16:38

    France's arms deal with Armenia sparks regional tensions

    Paris thirsts for war

    21 June 2024 - 16:26

    Azerbaijan hands over remains of two Armenian soldiers to Yerevan

    Official information

    21 June 2024 - 16:14

    Azerbaijan aims to transform Karabakh into a leading clean energy hub

    21 June 2024 - 16:02

    Türkiye kills four PKK terrorists in northern Iraq

    VIDEO

    21 June 2024 - 15:50

    Swastika defaces mosque under construction in France

    21 June 2024 - 15:38

    Azerbaijan's oil giant begins natural gas supplies to Bulgarian industrial enterprises

    21 June 2024 - 15:27

    Azerbaijani first couple inaugurates new Institute of Botany building, tours Botanical Garden

    PHOTO

    21 June 2024 - 15:15

    France's economy faces risk from potential far-right and far-left governance

    Caliber.Az on YouTube

    21 June 2024 - 15:14

    TURKSOY head looks forward to attending events in Azerbaijan’s Shusha

    21 June 2024 - 15:02

    Israel summons Armenian ambassador over recognition of Palestinian state

    21 June 2024 - 14:45

    Azerbaijan rejects EU High Representative's accusations on Armenian prisoners

    21 June 2024 - 14:43

    Some Muslims choose to vote for Le Pen in France

    Anyone but Macron

    21 June 2024 - 14:29

    French arms & Armenian revanchism: What's behind the deal?

    Expert opinions

    21 June 2024 - 14:14

    Armenia’s European dreams: Geography cannot be overruled

    Expert insights

    21 June 2024 - 14:02

    Azerbaijani pundit castigates France, India for disruptive actions in region

    21 June 2024 - 13:56

    Ambassador: Russia ready to play mediating role between Azerbaijan, Armenia

    21 June 2024 - 13:43

    Hikmet Hajiyev underscores Azerbaijan's key role in North-South transport corridor dev't

    21 June 2024 - 13:31

    Armenian MP advocates EU membership as beneficial for small countries

    21 June 2024 - 13:18

    Institute for Study of War unveils likely scenarios of Putin's nuclear maneuver

    21 June 2024 - 13:06

All news

Выборы в Турции и предпочтения Москвы и Вашингтона
    Обзор Шерешевского

    АНАЛИТИКА  28 Марта 2023 - 12:29

    В Москве явно предпочитают действующего президента Реджепа Тайипа Эрдогана. Вашингтон, вероятно, хотел бы победы оппозиции, которая состоит из шести партий.

    В краткосрочной перспективе Москве, как считают многие аналитики, выгоден Эрдоган, потому что с ним можно договариваться. Он позволяет отводить в Турцию капиталы, превращая ее в мост между российской и мировой экономиками, помогает организовывать сделки по Сирии и Украине. Президенту Эрдогану же необходимы финансовые вливания (чтобы отдавать займы по кредитам и стабилизировать турецкую валюту). Также он заинтересован в модернизации инфраструктуры (Россия строит АЭС «Акую» стоимостью до 25 млрд долларов, в то время, когда именно ядерная энергетика сегодня стала очень перспективной отраслью). Дешевые российские энергоносители необходимы для растущей турецкой промышленности (в прошлом году она выросла на 5,6 процента и этот рост происходит в значительной мере благодаря экспортно-ориентированной индустрии и ВПК).

    По тем же причинам, по которым Эрдоган в некоторых вопросах сближается с Россией, он укрепляет сотрудничество со своими недавними соперниками на Ближнем Востоке - Саудовской Аравией и ОАЭ - ему нужны их инвестиции на фоне оттока западных денег из Турции. 

    Кроме того, Эрдоган использует сотрудничество с Россией в качестве инструмента, помогающего ему влиять на Вашингтон («вы же не хотите, чтобы мы продолжали укреплять и расширять связи с Россией, ну так вам придется пойти нам навстречу в разных вопросах»).

    С точки зрения Украины и США, Эрдоган им приятен решительной позицией в Черноморском регионе - от поставок Украине новейшего оружия до закрытия пути для российских военных кораблей в Черном море. Дело в том, что именно здесь интересы Турции противостоят российcким. Для Турции, как указывал один из ведущих (в недавнем прошлом) американских дипломатов, специалист по Ближнему Востоку Джеймс Джеффри, неприемлемо усиление позиций Москвы в критически важном для нее Черноморском регионе. Поэтому она обеспечивает Украине серьезную поддержку.

    И опять же, она стремится использовать сотрудничество с США и Украиной для оказания давления на Россию («вы же не хотите, чтобы наши танки были поставлены ВСУ, в таком случае вам стоит уступить нам в некоторых вопросах»).

    В долгосрочной же перспективе Эрдоган - это определенная проблема для Кремля. Именно этот амбициозный политик превращает Турцию в военную и научно-промышленную сверхдержаву. Он укрепляет не только союз с Азербайджаном, расширяя турецкое влияние на Южном Кавказе, но и Организацию тюркских государств (ОТГ), куда входят страны с населением в 160 миллионов человек с ВВП в 1,5 трлн долларов, усиливая влияние Турции в Центральной Азии. Черноморский регион, Южный Кавказ и Центральная Азия - три региона, где влияние России еще в недавнем прошлом было доминирующим. Турция создает или может создать там в будущем военно-политические и экономические блоки. И они будут неизбежно направлены против России не потому, что Турция что-то имеет против нее персонально, а потому, что двум медведям невозможно ужиться в одной берлоге. В перспективе, чем сильнее турецкое государство, тем больше проблем у государства российского. Прибавим к этому большой проект турецкой политико-культурной гегемонии. Турция развивает сеть университетов с доступным дешевым образованием, где учатся представители всех республик Центральной Азии, а также множества других стран. Это - будущие инженеры, ученые, администраторы, политтехнологи, журналисты, историки, предприниматели и политики региона.

    Совершенно не факт, что турецкая коалиция во главе с Кемалем Кылычдароглу сможет в полной мере продолжать этот курс. Скорее всего, в случае победы на выборах она будет погружена во внутренние реформы Турции и в собственные дрязги до такой степени, что ей будет сложно продолжать прежнюю напористую, решительную, жесткую и целенаправленную политику Эрдогана.

    Но, с другой стороны, важно помнить две вещи. Во-первых, эта группа, в случае прихода к власти, станет больше ориентироваться на Вашингтон и Брюссель, чем Эрдоган. Оппозиция преимущественно светская, секулярная, в отличие от Партии справедливости и развития (ПСР) Эрдогана. Она включает политиков, ориентированных на экономический союз с Западом. Шестипартийной коалиции понадобятся иностранные инвестиции и более тесное сотрудничество с Евросоюзом и США, их рынки и технологии, поскольку в этом залог динамичного развития турецкой экономики. Для Турции главным рынком сбыта являются страны Евросоюза; без западных технологий не сможет существовать набирающий силу турецкий ВПК, который в очень большой степени зависит от импорта.

    К тому же, шестипартийная коалиция не будет чувствовать себя уверенно, поскольку СМИ, суды и силовые структуры состоят из сторонников Эрдогана. Это означает сложный процесс реформ, чистки, нестабильность. В этой ситуации новые руководители Турции постараются опереться на США и Европу, чтобы предъявить определенные козыри бизнесу, военным и обществу - снятие санкций, положительную динамику отношений, поставки новейшего западного оружия, инвестиции, снижение инфляции и т.д. Запад в обмен, конечно, потребует ослабления связей с Москвой.

    При этом, США нравятся планы Турции на Черном море и в Центральной Азии, поскольку они уменьшают там влияние России. Вашингтон может испытывать влияние армянского лобби и это влияет на его планы на Южном Кавказе, но даже и здесь у Турции и союзного ей Азербайджана будут шансы. И конечно, США будут поощрять именно эти направления турецкой политики.

    Во-вторых, активная внешняя политика Эрдогана связана не только с его личными субъективными особенностями и идеологией. Она также связана с укреплением экономической, научно-технической и военной мощи Турции на фоне ослабления международного влияния США. Турция сделалась сильнее, а США несколько ослабли. Именно поэтому Турция стала заполнять вакуум на Ближнем Востоке и в других регионах. Анкара станет это делать и дальше, в меру своих возможностей просто потому, что может.

    Лавирование между Россией и США входит в число инструментов большой турецкой политики - это способ усиления своего международного влияния и шестипартийная коалиция вряд ли сможет в обозримой перспективе этого избегать. Как по политическим, так и по экономическим причинам, о которых речь шла выше. Другое дело, что субъективные факторы и внутренние противоречия могут повлиять на это продвижение Турции, замедлив его или, наоборот, ускорив.

    Таким образом, в случае прихода к власти, шестипартийная коалиция, вероятно, будет больше дистанцироваться от России, чем Эрдоган. А вот насколько масштабными станут перемены - сказать сложно, поскольку здесь действуют разнонаправленные силы. Изменения могут и не быть радикальными.

    Кроме того, с большой вероятностью, внешняя политика шестипартийной коалиции станет более осторожной, по крайней мере на несколько лет, поскольку новая власть будет больше заниматься внутренними проблемами и реформами.

    Caliber.Az

    Просмотров: 942

    Подписывайтесь на наш Telegram-канал


Читайте также

Раскудахтались Размышления Эмина Галалы

18 Июля 2024 - 18:41

Побег от диалога Малодушие Пашиняна

18 Июля 2024 - 19:30

Если враг не сдается Его не уговаривают

18 Июля 2024 - 16:05

Вашингтонский выстрел в мир на Южном Кавказе США сделали ставку на регионального лузера

18 Июля 2024 - 17:26

Армения: бизнес на продуктовом контрафакте От молочки до икры

18 Июля 2024 - 12:17

Харизма против двойных стандартов Независимый Будапешт не по душе Брюсселю

18 Июля 2024 - 09:19
РЕКЛАМА
Видео
Последние новости

    Трамп: Россия воодушевилась провалом США

    19 Июля 2024 - 09:16

    В бакинском поселке возникнут перебои в газоснабжении

    19 Июля 2024 - 09:16

    Мухтар Бабаев направил официальные письма правительствам стран-участниц COP29

    19 Июля 2024 - 09:13

    На двух улицах Баку затруднено движение транспорта

    19 Июля 2024 - 09:00

    ФРГ вводит контроль на границе с Францией в связи с проведением ОИ

    19 Июля 2024 - 09:00

    ESPN назвал лучшего спортсмена XXI века

    19 Июля 2024 - 08:30

    Китайская фуд-блогер умерла на глазах у своей аудитории

    19 Июля 2024 - 07:30

    «Манчестер Сити» объявил о переходе Савио

    19 Июля 2024 - 06:30

    Преступнику решили сохранить жизнь за 20 минут до казни

    19 Июля 2024 - 05:30

    Раскрыт список самых популярных автомобилей в Европе

    19 Июля 2024 - 04:31

    Принцесса Дубая объявила мужу о разводе в соцсетях

    19 Июля 2024 - 03:31

    Компания OpenAI представила новую нейросеть

    19 Июля 2024 - 02:31

    Оппозиция ЮАР требует принятия закона об иностранных агентах

    19 Июля 2024 - 02:00

    Microsoft научилась генерировать картинки

    19 Июля 2024 - 01:31

    «Барселона» может перехватить Вендела у «Галатасарая»

    19 Июля 2024 - 01:00

    Французским полицейским запретили жевать жвачку во время Олимпиады

    19 Июля 2024 - 00:30

    Айхан Гаджизаде о заявлении Макрона на саммите Европейского политического сообщества

    19 Июля 2024 - 00:26

    Грузинская оппозиция собирается не признавать парламентские выборы

    19 Июля 2024 - 00:11

    Подробности встречи Алиева и Шольца в Оксфорде

    ОБНОВЛЕНО/ФОТО

    19 Июля 2024 - 00:08

    Отношения Турции и Сирии под пристальным вниманием США

    19 Июля 2024 - 00:04

    Европейская универсиада: азербайджанский каратист завоевал золотую медаль

    18 Июля 2024 - 23:47

    «Лион» подписал нападающего сборной Грузии Микаутадзе

    18 Июля 2024 - 23:45

    Врач О'Коннор: Байден переносит коронавирус в мягкой форме

    18 Июля 2024 - 23:32

    Встреча Алиева и Мишеля - не повод для армянской радости

    18 Июля 2024 - 23:27

    Франция готовит новый пакет помощи Украине

    18 Июля 2024 - 23:19

    Мамардашвили и Кошта в списке самых дорогих вратарей мира

    18 Июля 2024 - 23:04

    ФИФА может отстранить Израиль от международных соревнований

    18 Июля 2024 - 22:50

    Пашиняна назвали инструментом США в борьбе с РФ

    18 Июля 2024 - 22:44

    Новым спикером парламента Франции избрали Яэль Брон-Пиве

    18 Июля 2024 - 22:43

    Генсек ООН разочарован декларацией Кнессета против создания Палестины

    18 Июля 2024 - 22:37

    Орбан оценил политику Евросоюза по Украине

    18 Июля 2024 - 22:24

    Обама не верит в победу Байдена

    The Washington Post

    18 Июля 2024 - 22:11

    Захарова: Россия планирует открыть генконсульство в Армении

    18 Июля 2024 - 21:59

    Конституционный суд Грузии принял иск против «закона об иноагентах»

    18 Июля 2024 - 21:46

    США следят за возможными угрозами экс-чиновникам страны от Ирана

    18 Июля 2024 - 21:35

    В Кении отменили запрет полиции на проведение демонстраций в Найроби

    18 Июля 2024 - 21:25

    «Ювентус» объявил об уходе из клуба Адриена Рабьо

    18 Июля 2024 - 21:08

    Ильхам Алиев: В некоторых странах потребление азербайджанской нефти составляет пятьдесят и более процентов их спроса

    18 Июля 2024 - 21:04

    Президент: У Азербайджана появится больше возможностей для поставок газа в другие европейские страны

    18 Июля 2024 - 21:03

    Фуад Ибрагимов рассказывал о своей глубокой связи с Шушой

    18 Июля 2024 - 20:57

Все новости