Lachin checkpoint: A symbol of Azerbaijan's commitment to peace and stability
    A year on

    ANALYTICS  24 April 2024 - 13:04

    Murad Abiyev
    Caliber.Az

    A year ago, on 23 April 2023, a border checkpoint was established on the Lachin road. The event is truly historic. In fact, it was the final signal to all intelligent people that the "miatsum" was over. The installation of the Lachin checkpoint signalled the end of unimpeded communication between Armenia and the separatists in Karabakh. From then on, all goods and people crossing the conditional border were subjected to a thorough inspection, and not a single cartridge or provocateur could enter Azerbaijani territory.

    The 44-day war left Armenia and Karabakh Armenians in shock, but they naively believed that the Russian peacekeeping contingent served as a guarantor of the inviolability of the separatists' imaginary statehood, albeit truncated. Many Armenians thought in the same spirit that the districts around Karabakh were a necessary sacrifice for the preservation of the so-called "nkr" (“Nagorno-Karabakh Republic”) and considered Shusha and Hadrut the only real loss. Heartily, they were glad that everything else had been preserved. Moreover, many Armenians sincerely believed that it was under Russian control that "Artsakh" had gained maximum security guarantees.

    Baku, by erecting the border crossing point, demonstrated to everyone that only Azerbaijan has full authority on its sovereign territory and that no one - neither important people in the offices of world powers nor soldiers of the peacekeeping contingent - has the right to prevent the exercise of this authority. Noteworthy in this sense are the words of President Ilham Aliyev during his visit to Salyan a few days before the installation of the Lachin checkpoint: "Let everyone hear this, both the leadership of Armenia and the forces behind it today - no one can influence our will. We proved it during the war and after it. If necessary, we will prove it again in any form".

    The installation of the Lachin checkpoint was thus an act of the sovereign will of the Azerbaijani state. In the most difficult geopolitical conditions, under simultaneous pressure from several great powers, Baku managed, on the one hand, playing on the contradictions between them and, on the other hand, being determined to act without regard to third forces, to place border guards at the entrance to the Karabakh region, signalling to its citizens and the whole world that nothing threatened the territorial integrity of the country.

    Of course, this move was met with a wave of "concern" in the West, which continued and still continues to fulfil its mission of defending the Armenian idea. "The United States is deeply concerned that Azerbaijan's establishment of a checkpoint in the Lachin corridor undermines efforts to establish confidence in the peace process," said Vedant Patel, Deputy Chief of Staff of the US State Department. European Union High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy Josep Borrel said that Azerbaijan's decision to establish a checkpoint on the Lachin road "goes against the European Union's call to reduce tensions in the region". Meanwhile, French Foreign Ministry spokeswoman Anne Claire Lejeandre said: "France condemns Azerbaijan's establishment of a checkpoint at the entrance to the new road in the Lachin corridor, which contradicts the commitments made under the ceasefire agreements and damages the negotiation process."

    I have quoted the words of Western officials to remind what pressure the powers that be have exerted and continue to try to exert on Baku. It can also be concluded that the very fact of the West's harsh reaction is the main evidence of the value of Azerbaijan's steps.

    President Ilham Aliyev in June 2023, while in Lachin, said: "By establishing a border checkpoint on the Azerbaijani-Armenian border on 23 April, we have finally resolved the issue of territorial integrity. Our territorial integrity had already been restored as a result of the Second Karabakh War. But the border crossing was the last point from which there was uncontrolled movement from Armenia to the Karabakh region of Azerbaijan and back. There is still traffic today, but it is under full control".

    Yes, the installation of the checkpoint, although significantly reduced, did not completely stop the smuggling of Armenian arms into Karabakh through the inaccessible mountain routes. The Yerevan-Khankendi criminal nexus continued to smuggle weapons and personnel from Armenian territory into Karabakh. The Karabakh land continued to be mined with Armenian mines. The explosion of several Azerbaijani citizens on these mines in September last year exhausted Baku’s patience, and on September 19–20, local counter-terrorism measures were successfully carried out in less than 24 hours, as a result of which the Armenian armed forces were forced to surrender and leave the territory of Azerbaijan. Our army entered Asgaran, Aghdara, Khojavand, Khojaly. President Aliyev raised the flag of Azerbaijan on the main square of Khankendi. Miatsum has officially given up the ghost. But in order to carry out this operation, it was necessary to prepare the ground, and in a number of measures serving this purpose, the installation of the Lachin checkpoint occupies a special place. It was she who slammed the mousetrap, into which both the leaders of the separatists and the remnants of the Armenian army fell.

    Thus, the installation of the Lachin checkpoint will be inscribed with golden letters in the majestic chronicle of restoration of territorial integrity and sovereignty of our Azerbaijan.

    İt is also worth noting that the Lachin checkpoint, since its installation, has become an embodiment of the high culture of Azerbaijani society. Karabakh residents of Armenian origin freely crossed the checkpoint on presentation of proper documents. Azerbaijani border guards treated them with the utmost courtesy, and during the mass voluntary resettlement of Karabakh Armenians to Armenia, they provided all possible assistance to people stuck in queues.

    It seems likely to us that all these people will remember this attitude, and the memory of it will become another brick in the peace building in the South Caucasus.

    This is how the checkpoint on the small Hakari River turned out to be a bridge on the road to greater peace.

    Caliber.Az

    Subscribe to our Telegram channel


Read also

A deep dive into potential policies, their impact on US future Trump 2.0

25 May 2024 - 17:00

Momentum surges as Chinese trucks embark on Azerbaijan's Middle Corridor journey Driving towards success

25 May 2024 - 11:21

Amid regional tension & domestic opposition, Armenia returns occupied villages to Azerbaijan after 30 years Historic handover sets stage for peace talks

25 May 2024 - 09:17

Azerbaijan, Tajikistan elevate bilateral relations through strategic partnership agreements

24 May 2024 - 13:00

Tensions run high between the Pashinyan government & the Armenian Apostolic Church Government's vision vs. Church-led opposition

24 May 2024 - 09:35

IAEA ignores nuclear dangers of Armenia's aging Metsamor NPP Double standards

25 May 2024 - 12:28
ADVERTS
Video
Latest news

    Mediated Israel-Hamas talks on hostage deal expected next week, source says

    25 May 2024 - 18:15

    Blinken to discuss support for Ukraine in Czech Republic visit next week

    25 May 2024 - 18:00

    Heads of CIS security agencies meet in Bishkek

    PHOTO

    25 May 2024 - 17:45

    Senior UN peacekeeper deems Arab League's Gaza deployment call premature

    25 May 2024 - 17:31

    EU's Borrell urges choice: Rule of law or support for Israel

    25 May 2024 - 17:18

    Six NATO countries to create "drone wall" for border protection

    25 May 2024 - 17:02

    A deep dive into potential policies, their impact on US future

    Trump 2.0

    25 May 2024 - 17:00

    Media: Italy plans to resume funding for UNRWA

    25 May 2024 - 16:50

    Turkish transport minister foresees 1,500 block trains annually along Middle Corridor

    25 May 2024 - 16:38

    Yemen's Houthis to release 100 prisoners

    25 May 2024 - 16:28

    Azerbaijan's Defence Ministry delegation enhances military ties with Kazakhstan

    25 May 2024 - 16:14

    Can the India-Oman deal unlock strategic gains amid Gulf instability?

    Caliber.Az on YouTube

    25 May 2024 - 16:02

    Germany proposes €500 billion defence fund for EU amid security threats

    25 May 2024 - 15:50

    Azerbaijan's Shusha hosts discussions on preservation of historical monuments

    PHOTO

    25 May 2024 - 15:38

    Kremlin spox responds to mobilisation claims in Russia

    25 May 2024 - 15:28

    More than 300 buried in Papua New Guinea landslide, local media says

    25 May 2024 - 15:16

    Wanted terrorist "neutralized" in southeastern Türkiye

    VIDEO

    25 May 2024 - 15:04

    Erdogan expresses Türkiye's constant pride in Azerbaijan's advancements

    25 May 2024 - 14:53

    Azerbaijani president receives credentials of incoming Italian, Ukrainian envoys

    PHOTO

    25 May 2024 - 14:49

    ICC's controversial arrest requests for Israeli leaders

    Implications and global reactions

    25 May 2024 - 14:42

    Armenia targets another so-called "mayor" of previously occupied Azerbaijani town

    25 May 2024 - 14:36

    First Chinese trucks arrive in Azerbaijan under new Trans-Caspian pilot project

    PHOTO

    25 May 2024 - 14:34

    Despite best efforts, world is falling prey to a new set of military conflicts

    Kazakh president says

    25 May 2024 - 14:19

    US president hails bilateral ties with Azerbaijan

    25 May 2024 - 14:11

    Rafah op. doesn't contradict ICJ ruling, we will continue, Israel says

    25 May 2024 - 14:04

    US, Armenia hold joint drills against weapons of mass destruction threats

    25 May 2024 - 13:52

    Türkiye plans LNG exports to Europe from surplus gas imports

    25 May 2024 - 13:40

    Vice-President of Heydar Aliyev Foundation attends Berlin event dealing with bison reintroduction

    25 May 2024 - 13:28

    Reports suggest potential military provocation from Russia and North Korea

    25 May 2024 - 13:16

    Putin applauds Azerbaijan's well-deserved prestige on the world stage

    In congratulatory letter to President Aliyev

    25 May 2024 - 13:04

    China ends war games, Taiwan details warplane, warship surge

    25 May 2024 - 13:04

    The Guardian: After Macron’s visit, New Caledonia’s Kanak demand their own future

    "Not our president"

    25 May 2024 - 12:52

    NATO chief wants to free Ukraine to strike hard inside Russia

    25 May 2024 - 12:40

    IAEA ignores nuclear dangers of Armenia's aging Metsamor NPP

    Double standards

    25 May 2024 - 12:28

    Egypt agrees to resume aid to Gaza through Israel after US pressure

    25 May 2024 - 12:16

    Musk reveals "tough problem" battling Russian jamming efforts on Starlink

    Amid Ukraine war

    25 May 2024 - 12:06

    King Charles III expresses hope for continued UK-Azerbaijan collaboration on key global matters

    25 May 2024 - 11:58

    Azerbaijani Army's engineering units excel in combat training sessions

    25 May 2024 - 11:56

    Media: Pashinyan considered imposing state of emergency

    25 May 2024 - 11:44

    Türkiye achieves 5 million cubic meters per day in Black Sea gas production

    25 May 2024 - 11:32

All news

Большая история на малой реке
    Исполняется год с установки ППП «Лачин»

    АНАЛИТИКА  23 Апреля 2024 - 19:37

    Мурад Абиев
    Caliber.Az

    Ровно год назад, 23 апреля 2023 года, на Лачинской дороге был установлен погранично-пропускной пункт. Событие поистине историческое. Фактически именно оно стало для всех умных людей окончательным сигналом того, что «миацуму» пришел конец. Установка ППП «Лачин» означала конец беспрепятственной коммуникации между Арменией и сепаратистским огрызком в Карабахе. С тех пор все грузы и люди, пересекающие условную границу, стали подвергаться тщательному досмотру, и ни один патрон или провокатор не мог въехать на территорию Азербайджана.

    44-дневная война повергла Армению и карабахских армян в шок, однако они наивно полагали, что российский миротворческий контингент служит гарантом неприкосновенности мнимой государственности сепаратистов, пусть и обрезанной. Многие армяне думали в том духе, что районы вокруг Карабаха — необходимая жертва для сохранения т.н. «нкр», и единственной реальной потерей считали Шушу с Гадрутом. Скрепя сердце, они радовались, что всё остальное удалось сохранить. Более того, какая-то часть армян, и их было немало, искренне верила в то, что именно под российским контролем «арцах» приобрел максимальные гарантии безопасности.

    Баку, возведя погранично-пропускной пункт, продемонстрировал всем, что только Азербайджан обладает полнотой власти на своей суверенной территории и что никто — ни важные люди в кабинетах мировых держав, ни солдаты миротворческого контингента — не вправе препятствовать исполнению этой власти. Примечательны в этом смысле слова президента Ильхама Алиева, сказанные им во время посещения Сальяна за несколько дней до установки ППП «Лачин»: «Пусть каждый услышит это, как руководство Армении, так и стоящие сегодня за ним силы — никто не сможет повлиять на нашу волю. Мы доказали это во время войны и после нее. Если понадобится, еще раз докажем в любой форме». 

    Установка ППП «Лачин» стала таким образом актом суверенной воли азербайджанского государства. В сложнейших геополитических условиях, при одновременном давлении со стороны нескольких великих держав Баку удалось, с одной стороны, играя на противоречиях между ними, а с другой — будучи полным решимости действовать без оглядки на третьи силы, поставить пограничников у въезда в Карабахский регион, сигнализируя своим гражданам и всему миру о том, что территориальной целостности страны уже ничто не угрожает.

    Разумеется, данный шаг встретил волну «озабоченности» на Западе, продолжавшем и до сих пор продолжающем исполнять миссию защитника армянской идеи. «Соединенные Штаты глубоко обеспокоены тем, что установление Азербайджаном контрольно-пропускного пункта в Лачинском коридоре подрывает усилия по установлению доверия к мирному процессу», — заявил заместитель руководителя пресс-службы Госдепартамента США Ведант Патель. Глава дипломатической службы Евросоюза Жозеп Боррель заявил, что решение Азербайджана установить пункт пропуска на Лачинской дороге «идет вразрез с призывом Евросоюза снизить напряженность в регионе». А официальный представитель французского МИД Анн Клер Лежандр вообще заявила: «Франция осуждает создание Азербайджаном контрольно-пропускного пункта на въезде на новую дорогу в Лачинском коридоре, что противоречит обязательствам, взятым в рамках соглашений о прекращении огня, и наносит ущерб переговорному процессу».

    Я привел слова западных чиновников, чтобы напомнить, какое давление оказывали и продолжают пытаться оказывать на Баку сильные мира сего. Из этого также можно сделать вывод, что сам факт жесткой реакции со стороны Запада и есть главное свидетельство ценности шагов Азербайджана.

    Президент Ильхам Алиев в июне 2023 года, находясь в Лачине, сказал: «Установив 23 апреля погранично-пропускной пункт на азербайджано-армянской границе, мы окончательно решили вопрос территориальной целостности. Наша территориальная целостность и без того была восстановлена в результате Второй карабахской войны. Но погранично-пропускной пункт являлся последним пунктом, откуда осуществлялось бесконтрольное движение из Армении в Карабахский регион Азербайджана и обратно. Движение есть и сегодня, но оно находится под полным контролем».

    Да, установка ППП, хотя и существенно снизила, однако не прекратила полностью контрабандное проникновение армянского вооружения в Карабах через труднодоступные горные маршруты. Преступная спайка Ереван — Ханкенди продолжала провозить с территории Армении в Карабах вооружение и личный состав. Карабахскую землю продолжали минировать армянскими минами. Подрыв нескольких азербайджанских граждан на этих минах в сентябре прошлого года переполнил чашу терпения Баку, и 19–20 сентября меньше чем за сутки были успешно проведены контртеррористические мероприятия локального характера, в результате которых армянские вооруженные отряды вынуждены были сдаться и покинуть территорию Азербайджана. Наша армия вошла в Аскеран, Агдере, Ходжавенд, Ходжалы. Президент Алиев поднял флаг Азербайджана на главной площади Ханкенди. «Миацум» официально испустил дух. Но для осуществления этой операции нужно было подготовить почву, и в ряде мер, служащих этой цели, особое место занимает установка ППП «Лачин». Именно она захлопнула мышеловку, в которую попали как главари сепаратистов, так и остатки армянской армии.

    Таким образом, установка ППП «Лачин» будет вписана золотыми буквами в величественную хронику восстановления территориальной целостности и суверенитета нашего Азербайджана.

    Здесь также необходимо добавить, что ППП «Лачин» с момента установки стал воплощением высокой культуры азербайджанского общества. Жители Карабаха армянского происхождения свободно пересекали пункт по предъявлении надлежащих документов. Азербайджанские пограничники обходились с ними предельно вежливо, а во время массового добровольного переселения карабахских армян в Армению оказывали всяческую помощь застрявшим в очередях людям.

    Нам представляется вероятным, что все эти люди запомнят такое отношение, и память о нем станет еще одним кирпичиком в мирное строительство на Южном Кавказе.

    Вот так ППП на маленькой реке Хаккари оказался мостом на пути к большому миру.

    Caliber.Az

    Просмотров: 2971

    Подписывайтесь на наш Telegram-канал


Читайте также

Выборы в Европарламент: на кого опирается Урсула фон дер Ляйен? Ажиотаж поглощает Старый Свет

25 Мая 2024 - 17:05

Трамп 2.0: возможные сценарии для США Прогнозы Шерешевского

25 Мая 2024 - 13:20

Средний коридор перетягивает автоперевозки Китайские фуры проследуют через Азербайджан

25 Мая 2024 - 09:39

Без крови и предусловий Флаг Азербайджана над освобожденными селами Газаха

24 Мая 2024 - 19:01

Без единого выстрела «Неудобная правда» Самита Алиева

24 Мая 2024 - 17:37

Азербайджанский флаг в Новой Каледонии и боль мадам Буайе Напоминание Парижу о прописных истинах

24 Мая 2024 - 14:48
РЕКЛАМА
Видео
Последние новости

    В Джебраиле определен земельный участок для солнечной электростанции

    25 Мая 2024 - 17:40

    SOHR о взрыве в Дамаске: погибший был связан с Ираном

    25 Мая 2024 - 17:22

    Точка в деле Анастасии Бектимировой, которую истязал муж

    Новое решение суда / ФОТО

    25 Мая 2024 - 17:06

    Выборы в Европарламент: на кого опирается Урсула фон дер Ляйен?

    Ажиотаж поглощает Старый Свет

    25 Мая 2024 - 17:05

    Азербайджанская параатлетка: Горжусь тем, что стала четырехкратной чемпионкой мира

    25 Мая 2024 - 17:03

    У берегов Турции может быть открыто новое месторождение природного газа

    25 Мая 2024 - 17:01

    В Азербайджане определились требования для получения сертификата независимого эксперта

    25 Мая 2024 - 16:45

    В ООН назвали Тайвань провинцией Китая

    25 Мая 2024 - 16:41

    Боррель: ЕС придется выбирать

    25 Мая 2024 - 16:20

    В Азербайджане проведут разведку рудных и нерудных месторождений

    25 Мая 2024 - 16:08

    «Карабах» нацелился на португальского вратаря

    25 Мая 2024 - 16:02

    СМИ: Италия планирует возобновить финансирование БАПОР

    25 Мая 2024 - 16:00

    В Шушу вернулись еще 32 семьи

    ОБНОВЛЕНО

    25 Мая 2024 - 15:51

    В Азербайджане повысился прогноз по налогу на имущество юрлиц

    25 Мая 2024 - 15:50

    Тарифы на передачу и распределение электроэнергии в Азербайджане будут регулироваться

    25 Мая 2024 - 15:43

    Озгюр Озель: Позиция Турции в отношениях между Украиной и Россией правильная

    25 Мая 2024 - 15:42

    Баку — Ереван: спорные моменты сохраняются?

    Мусабеков и Мамедов на Caliber.Az

    25 Мая 2024 - 15:30

    Литва и страны Балтии создадут «стену дронов» на границе

    25 Мая 2024 - 15:21

    Си Цзиньпин поздравил президента Азербайджана

    25 Мая 2024 - 15:16

    Абдулкадир Уралоглу: По Среднему коридору будут курсировать 1 500 блок-поездов в год

    25 Мая 2024 - 15:06

    Блинкен посетит Чехию и Молдову

    25 Мая 2024 - 15:03

    Хуситы планируют освободить не менее 100 пленных

    25 Мая 2024 - 14:52

    В ООН ответили на идею ввода миротворческой миссии в сектор Газа

    25 Мая 2024 - 14:40

    В Германии предложили создать в ЕС многомиллиардный оборонный фонд

    25 Мая 2024 - 14:36

    Али Асадов встретился с генпрокурором Италии

    25 Мая 2024 - 14:36

    Ильхам Алиев принял верительные грамоты посла Италии

    ОБНОВЛЕНО/ФОТО

    25 Мая 2024 - 14:27

    В Армении взялись еще за одного т.н. «мэра» ранее оккупированного азербайджанского города

    25 Мая 2024 - 14:26

    Над Белгородской областью сбили третий БПЛА

    25 Мая 2024 - 14:22

    ЦИК завершает процесс уточнения списка избирателей

    25 Мая 2024 - 14:20

    На крыше собора Нотр-Дам установили отреставрированный крест

    25 Мая 2024 - 14:16

    Песков о мобилизации в России

    25 Мая 2024 - 14:04

    ГПС Азербайджана предотвратили контрабанду наркотиков из Ирана

    25 Мая 2024 - 14:00

    Сход оползня в Папуа-Новой Гвинее: погибли более 300 человек

    25 Мая 2024 - 13:55

    Жители Ирана вышли на улицы для прощания с министром иностранных дел

    25 Мая 2024 - 13:41

    Найдена легендарная подлодка времен Второй мировой войны USS Harder

    ФОТО

    25 Мая 2024 - 13:35

    Прогноз доходов по линии НДС в Азербайджане увеличен

    25 Мая 2024 - 13:32

    Bozdoğan-40: Нейтрализован опасный террорист

    ВИДЕО

    25 Мая 2024 - 13:23

    В Шуше обсуждают сохранение исторических памятников

    25 Мая 2024 - 13:21

    Трамп 2.0: возможные сценарии для США

    Прогнозы Шерешевского

    25 Мая 2024 - 13:20

    Ильхам Алиев принял верительные грамоты посла Украины

    ОБНОВЛЕНО/ФОТО

    25 Мая 2024 - 13:17

Все новости