COP29: Azerbaijan's green transition and China's BRI initiative
    Pakistan Observer article

    ECONOMICS  29 May 2024 - 14:23

    Pakistan Observer newspaper has published an article on the COP29 climate conference to be held in Baku in November this year. Caliber.Az reprints the piece.

    The ongoing global heatwave has burnt souls, societies, systems and has once again emphasized on the immediate persuasions of green technologies in the world. It seems that “Green Transformation” has become the only hope for the survival of communities, countries and continents around the globe.

    The paradigm shift in the Chinese Belt and Road Initiative (BRI) has already geared up green plans, policies, plants, projects and constant persuasions in its 152 members in the world, changing miseries into opportunities, increasing heat spells into soul healing agents, deforestation into massive forestation, sandy lands into green fields and polluted environment into holistic and comprehensive concept of ecological civilization.

    China being the champion of green technologies is expected to continue to green-align its overseas BRI projects, with a broader and more transformative focus on environmental sustainability. Greening the BRI emphasizes China’s firm commitment to encourage a low-carbon global economy as a responsible international stakeholder. China’s endeavours to increasingly green-align the BRI are, in fact, the cumulative outcome of its sagacious policy measures put in force over the last several years. The share of green energy engagement is expected to see a radical rise in 2024.

    On its part, Azerbaijan has chalked out a new grand strategy that aligns with national interests, encompassing a competitive economy, climate justice and innovation. Among these priorities, emphasis is placed on achieving a clean environment and promoting ‘green development.’ Harmonizing national environmental policies with international best practices is crucial in this endeavor. Azerbaijan’s hosting of the 29th session of the Conference of the Parties to the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change (COP29) in November further underscores this commitment. Azerbaijan is an important player in the South Caucasus region, which is also a crucial part of the Silk Road Economic Belt. China and Azerbaijan signed a MOU on construction of the Silk Road Economic Belt.

    The two countries are diversifying economic cooperation to various sectors including green transport and logistics, agriculture and other areas. China’s advanced experience and technologies in the field of alternative energy would be a value addition for its macro-economy.

    The Azerbaijan President’s decree declaring 2024 as the ‘Year of Solidarity for the Green World’ vividly reflects a continuation of the transition to a green economy strategy. It seems that the COP29 offers an opportunity for Azerbaijan to integrate its efforts and strategies to diminish environmental impact while amalgamating best practices for climate change adaptation.

    The COP29 has broad scope and relevance and also carries significant socio-economic implications. Hopefully, hosting COP29 will further enhance Azerbaijan’s transition to a green economy and attract foreign investments.

    Azerbaijan has initiated investments in green energy projects in collaboration with foreign investors. The role of COP29 in Azerbaijan as a platform for attracting long-term investments and fostering advancements in the field of green energy cannot be overstated.

    According to Azerbaijan’s official data, China-Azerbaijan bilateral trade reached $3.1 billion in 2023, a year-on-year increase of 43.5 per cent, with both imports and exports seeing double-digit growth. China remained Azerbaijan’s fourth-largest trading partner. China also became Azerbaijan’s second-largest source of imports for the first time, ahead of Türkiye, and accounting for 17.5 per cent of the country’s total imports.

    Azerbaijan, the country’s strategic geographical location also positions it as a critical transportation hub for the China-Europe freight train. The demand for the cargo train has seen a significant increase thanks to its competitive advantages as a reliable transportation tool, particularly following the Red Sea crisis, which resulted in a substantial extension of transportation time and costs for sea voyages.

    Azerbaijan plays a crucial role in the trans-Caspian international transportation corridor, serving as a dynamic new market at the crossroads of Europe and Asia. It’s not only a vital node in the BRI but also a significant gateway for Chinese enterprises to access the markets of the Caucasus and the EU.

    China is now the world’s largest producer of clean energy equipment. In 2021, the output value of the energy conservation and environmental protection industry exceeded 1.13 trillion dollars. China’s export of three tech-intensive green products, namely solar batteries, lithium-ion batteries and electric vehicles, registered a 66.9 per cent increase in the first quarter of this year, official data showed. Together they contributed 2 percentage points to the overall export growth, up from 1.7 percentage points for 2022.

    Green energy has great prospects in Azerbaijan. It has already announced to generate 30 per cent of its electricity from renewable sources and to export 4 GW of energy to Europe through the cables passing the Black Sea by 2030, which has great trans-regional socio-economic, geopolitical, and geostrategic multiplier effects.

    Azerbaijan has committed to reducing its greenhouse gas emissions by 30 percent from 1990 levels by 2030 and by 40 percent by 2050, as part of the Paris Climate Agreement. To achieve this strategic goal, it has formed the Renewable Energy Agency, which ensures the active participation of the private sector in the country. Ultimately, it has increased the share of installed electricity generation from renewable energy sources.

    In summary, the commissioning of the 230 MW Garadagh Solar Power Plant (GES) with the participation of the President of Azerbaijan which is the first industrial-scale solar power plant in the Caspian Sea region with the assistance of Masdar” company of the UAE, works on the construction of the 240 MW Khizi-Absheron wind power station (KES) project and the 240 MW Shafaq GES project in Jabrayil district will commence from the second half of the current year witnessing rapid green transformation of Azerbaijan.

    The hosting of COP29 in Azerbaijan will emerge as a pivotal opportunity to showcase the nation’s economic potential and attract long term investment, particularly in the realm of green energy. Hopefully, COP29 will serve as a catalyst for advancing these efforts and positioning the country as a key player in the global transition to renewable energy.

    Caliber.Az

    Subscribe to our Telegram channel


Read also

Azerbaijan's green energy share reaches 14% in electricity generation

22 June 2024 - 12:33

Pakistan moves to join North-South transport corridor

22 June 2024 - 09:11

S&P upgrades AzerEnergy's standalone credit profile

22 June 2024 - 10:13

Azerbaijan, Iran, and Russia discuss North-South transport corridor development

21 June 2024 - 18:02

Azerbaijan's oil giant begins natural gas supplies to Bulgarian industrial enterprises

21 June 2024 - 15:27

From Italy to Tunisia: Azerbaijan's top oil export destinations

21 June 2024 - 12:30
ADVERTS
Video
Latest news

    Japan's imperial couple leaves for Britain as state guests

    22 June 2024 - 12:48

    Azerbaijan's green energy share reaches 14% in electricity generation

    22 June 2024 - 12:33

    US assumes world gendarme role

    Policing global dynamics

    22 June 2024 - 12:18

    US policy allows Ukraine limited strikes on Russian targets

    Amidst restrictions

    22 June 2024 - 12:03

    Azerbaijani police seize cache of weapons in Khankandi

    Furthering security measures

    22 June 2024 - 11:48

    Boeing's Starliner return to Earth postponed

    NASA says no new date set

    22 June 2024 - 11:33

    USS Theodore Roosevelt arrives in Busan in show of force

    22 June 2024 - 11:19

    Poland scrambles jets as Russia strikes Ukraine

    22 June 2024 - 11:05

    Azerbaijani President announces Green World Solidarity Year at Baku Energy Week

    Interview with Euronews/PHOTO/VIDEO

    22 June 2024 - 10:51

    US notifies Russia of visa center closures in Washington, New York

    22 June 2024 - 10:39

    Russian deputy foreign minister admits collapse of Iran nuclear deal

    22 June 2024 - 10:26

    Armenia shells Azerbaijani army positions in Kalbajar

    Retaliatory measures taken

    22 June 2024 - 10:18

    S&P upgrades AzerEnergy's standalone credit profile

    22 June 2024 - 10:13

    Ukraine forced to impose entry restrictions on Israeli citizens

    Ambassador says

    22 June 2024 - 10:00

    Germany, Norway collaborate on hypersonic missiles for German navy frigates

    22 June 2024 - 09:47

    St. Maarten activist condemns French colonial control

    Appeals to Azerbaijan for support

    22 June 2024 - 09:35

    Azerbaijan secures additional Olympic qualifications for Paris 2024

    22 June 2024 - 09:23

    Pakistan moves to join North-South transport corridor

    22 June 2024 - 09:11

    Iran's water crisis leads to alarming ground collapse

    22 June 2024 - 09:09

    Five challenges for NATO’s next chief Mark Rutte

    22 June 2024 - 07:04

    French president’s project of reform at risk

    22 June 2024 - 05:04

    Germany’s Rheinmetall gets record $9.1 billion ammo order

    22 June 2024 - 03:05

    Reuters: US, China hold first informal nuclear talks in five years, eyeing Taiwan

    22 June 2024 - 01:03

    Toyota just beat hydrogen forever

    New technology America doesn’t know about

    21 June 2024 - 23:04

    Belarus Foreign Ministry hands note of protest to Armenia

    21 June 2024 - 20:59

    Turkish disinformation center refutes claims of 2.5 million refugees in Istanbul

    21 June 2024 - 20:54

    Hungary opts out of NATO military mission in Ukraine, says PM Orban

    21 June 2024 - 20:46

    Norway pledges to bolster safety of Ukrainian NPP

    21 June 2024 - 20:31

    Brazilian president congratulates Azerbaijani opposite number on Independence Day

    21 June 2024 - 20:25

    Israel warns Armenia

    21 June 2024 - 20:12

    EU intends to suspend high-level visits to Georgia

    21 June 2024 - 19:56

    Azerbaijani foreign minister meets outgoing Kyrgyz ambassador

    21 June 2024 - 19:39

    Ombudsperson warns: Mines impede Karabakh, Zangezur recovery efforts

    21 June 2024 - 19:29

    Russia, China develop payment workarounds amid expanding US sanctions

    21 June 2024 - 19:14

    Germany arrests three on suspicion of spying

    21 June 2024 - 19:02

    South Korea summons Russian ambassador to protest Moscow-Pyongyang pact

    21 June 2024 - 18:50

    London to host second IEA-COP29 High-Level Dialogue

    21 June 2024 - 18:38

    US redirects air defence missile deliveries to Ukraine to counter Russian attacks

    21 June 2024 - 18:26

    Insurance market of Azerbaijan: Premiums rise amid persistent risks

    Review by Caliber.Az

    21 June 2024 - 18:14

    Azerbaijan, Iran, and Russia discuss North-South transport corridor development

    21 June 2024 - 18:02

All news

СОР29: «Зелёный» переход Азербайджана и китайская инициатива BRI
    Статья Pakistan Observer

    ЭКОНОМИКА  29 Мая 2024 - 13:31

    В пакистанской газете Pakistan Observer опубликована статья, посвящённая климатической конференции СОР29, которая пройдёт в Баку в ноябре этого года. Предлагаем вниманию читателей Caliber.Az перевод данного материала.

    «Глобальное потепление подчеркнуло необходимость внедрения зеленых технологий. Кажется, что «зеленый» переход стал единственной надеждой на выживание сообществ, стран и континентов по всему миру.

    Ожидается, что Китай, являющийся лидером по внедрению «зеленых» технологий, продолжит озеленять зарубежные проекты BRI («Один пояс – один путь»), уделяя особое внимание экологической устойчивости. Усилия Китая по экологизации BRİ – это, по сути, результат его продуманных политических мер, принятых за последние несколько лет. Ожидается, что в 2024 году доля китайского участия в «зеленой» энергетике радикально возрастёт.

    В свою очередь, Азербайджан разработал новую стратегию, соответствующую национальным интересам и включающую в себя конкурентоспособную экономику, климатическую справедливость и инновации. Среди этих приоритетов особое внимание уделяется достижению чистой окружающей среды и продвижению «зеленого развития». Важнейшее значение в этом деле имеет гармонизация национальной экологической политики с передовым международным опытом. Проведение в Баку COP29 еще раз подчёркивает эту приверженность. Азербайджан – важный игрок в регионе Южного Кавказа, который также является значимой частью Экономического пояса Шелкового пути.

    Баку и Пекин диверсифицируют экономическое сотрудничество в различных секторах, включая «зеленый» транспорт, логистику, сельское хозяйство и другие области. Передовой опыт и технологии Китая в области альтернативной энергетики станут ценным дополнением для макроэкономики Азербайджана.

    Распоряжение президента Азербайджана о провозглашении 2024 года «Годом солидарности во имя зеленого мира» наглядно отражает продолжение стратегии перехода к «зеленой» экономике. COP29 предоставит Азербайджану возможность интегрировать усилия и стратегии по снижению воздействия на окружающую среду, объединив при этом лучшие практики по адаптации к изменению климата.

    COP29 имеет широкий масштаб и актуальность. Хочется надеяться, что проведение конференции будет способствовать переходу Азербайджана к «зеленой» экономике и привлечению иностранных инвестиций. Роль COP29 в Баку как платформы для привлечения долгосрочных инвестиций и стимулирования прогресса в области зеленой энергетики трудно переоценить.

    Согласно официальным данным, в 2023 году объем двусторонней торговли между Китаем и Азербайджаном достиг 3,1 миллиарда долларов, увеличившись за год на 43,5 процента, причем как импорт, так и экспорт выросли в два раза. Пекин остался четвертым по величине торговым партнером Баку. Китай впервые стал вторым по величине источником импорта Азербайджана, опередив Турцию, на долю которой приходится 17,5% от общего объема импорта страны.

    Благодаря своему стратегическому географическому положению, Азербайджан также является важнейшим транспортным узлом для грузового поезда Китай-Европа. Спрос на грузовой поезд значительно вырос благодаря его преимуществам как надежного транспортного средства, особенно после кризиса в Красном море, который привел к значительному увеличению стоимости морских перевозок.

    Азербайджан играет важнейшую роль в Транскаспийском международном транспортном маршруте (ТМТМ), выступая в качестве динамичного рынка на стыке Европы и Азии. Это не только жизненно важный узел в рамках инициативы BRI, но и ворота для выхода китайских предприятий на рынки Кавказа и ЕС.

    В настоящее время Китай является крупнейшим в мире производителем оборудования для чистой энергетики. В 2021 году объем производства в отрасли энергосбережения и охраны окружающей среды превысил 1,13 триллиона долларов.

    Зеленая энергетика имеет большие перспективы в Азербайджане. Страна уже объявила о том, что к 2030 году будет производить 30% электроэнергии из возобновляемых источников и экспортировать 4 ГВт энергии в Европу по кабелям, проходящим по дну Черного моря, что имеет большой трансрегиональный социально-экономический, геополитический и геостратегический эффект.

    В рамках Парижского соглашения по климату Азербайджан обязался сократить выбросы парниковых газов на 30% по сравнению с уровнем 1990 года к 2030 году и на 40% к 2050 году. Для достижения этой стратегической цели было создано Международное агентство по возобновляемым источникам энергии, которое обеспечивает активное участие частного сектора в жизни страны. В конечном итоге это позволило увеличить долю установленной выработки электроэнергии за счет возобновляемых источников энергии.

    В частности, сдана в эксплуатацию Гарадагская солнечная электростанция (СЭС) мощностью 230 МВт, которая является первой солнечной электростанцией промышленного масштаба в регионе Каспийского моря, начнутся работы по строительству ветряной электростанции (ВЭС) мощностью 240 МВт «Хызы-Абшерон» и проекта ГЭС «Шафаг» мощностью 240 МВт в Джабраильском районе, что свидетельствует о стремительной зеленой трансформации Азербайджана.

    Проведение COP29 в Азербайджане станет важнейшей возможностью продемонстрировать экономический потенциал страны и привлечь долгосрочные инвестиции, особенно в сфере зеленой энергетики. Надеемся, что COP29 послужит катализатором для продвижения этих усилий и позиционирования государства в качестве ключевого игрока в глобальном переходе к возобновляемым источникам энергии», – говорится в статье.

    Перевод: Фарах Мамедли

    Caliber.Az

    Просмотров: 346

    Подписывайтесь на наш Telegram-канал


Читайте также

Азербайджан и ЕС обсудили энергетическое партнерство ФОТО

20 Июня 2024 - 19:08

Названа среднемесячная зарплата в Баку ОТЧЕТ

20 Июня 2024 - 17:54

В Азербайджане планируется увеличение застрахованной сельхозтерритории

20 Июня 2024 - 17:49

Ялчын Рафиев о роли частного сектора в климатической повестке

20 Июня 2024 - 16:06

Азербайджан возглавил Внутриевропейскую организациию налоговых администраций ФОТО

20 Июня 2024 - 15:33

Комиссар ЕС в Азербайджане: на повестке приоритеты COP29

20 Июня 2024 - 15:20
РЕКЛАМА
Видео
Последние новости

    В Таджикистане запретили хиджаб

    20 Июня 2024 - 21:48

    Олаф Шольц собирался заключить с США тайную сделку

    Из документов правительства ФРГ

    20 Июня 2024 - 21:40

    129 граждан Азербайджана будут учиться в вузах Венгрии

    20 Июня 2024 - 21:28

    Путин: у Южной Кореи нет поводов бояться договора РФ и КНДР

    20 Июня 2024 - 21:25

    Али Асадов подписал распоряжение по вопросу создания искусственных земельных участков на Каспии

    20 Июня 2024 - 21:24

    Индия выразила Канаде протест из-за действий сикхских сепаратистов

    20 Июня 2024 - 21:12

    Бакинская инициативная группа организовала конференцию в штаб-квартире ООН

    20 Июня 2024 - 21:07

    МЧС Азербайджана обратилось к населению в связи с погодными условиями

    20 Июня 2024 - 21:05

    Путин сказал, когда Запад «уберет» Зеленского

    20 Июня 2024 - 21:01

    Азербайджанский тяжелоатлет завоевал три золотые медали на ЧЕ

    20 Июня 2024 - 20:59

    Путин призвал к реформированию ООН

    20 Июня 2024 - 20:47

    В западном регионе Азербайджана ветер привел к сбоям в подаче электроэнергии

    ФОТО

    20 Июня 2024 - 20:45

    Случаев смерти среди азербайджанских паломников во время хаджа не зафиксировано

    20 Июня 2024 - 20:43

    БИГ продолжает информировать мировое сообщество о реальной ситуации в колонизированных регионах

    ФОТО

    20 Июня 2024 - 20:42

    Байрамов и комиссар ЕС обсудили подготовку к COP29

    20 Июня 2024 - 20:41

    Риши Сунак может потерять пост премьер-министра Британии

    The Telegraph

    20 Июня 2024 - 20:31

    Игрок сборной Албании и «Рубина» оскорбил македонцев по национальному признаку на Евро-2024

    20 Июня 2024 - 20:22

    Запад всерьез задумался о замене Зеленского Залужным

    20 Июня 2024 - 20:10

    Посол Украины обсудил с министром энергетики Азербайджана перспективы развития сотрудничества

    20 Июня 2024 - 20:02

    В Норвегии будут производиться ракеты морского и воздушного базирования

    Bloomberg

    20 Июня 2024 - 19:56

    Сербия направила письмо в УЕФА по факту непристойных кричалок фанатов Албании и Хорватии

    20 Июня 2024 - 19:43

    В Азербайджане впервые проходит международный фестиваль гурама

    ФОТО

    20 Июня 2024 - 19:35

    Южная Корея задумалась о прямых поставках оружия Украине

    20 Июня 2024 - 19:31

    Президент Египта поручил создать комиссию для контроля ситуации с умершими паломниками

    20 Июня 2024 - 19:22

    США перенаправят Украине не системы Patriot, а ракеты к ним

    20 Июня 2024 - 19:19

    Сборная Сербии сыграла вничью со Словенией, отыгравшись в компенсированное время

    20 Июня 2024 - 19:10

    Азербайджан и ЕС обсудили энергетическое партнерство

    ФОТО

    20 Июня 2024 - 19:08

    США перебросили на Гуам группу стратегических бомбардировщиков

    20 Июня 2024 - 19:05

    Аве, Цезарь?

    «Неудобная правда» Самита Алиева

    20 Июня 2024 - 19:01

    Президент Румынии выходит из борьбы за кресло генсека НАТО

    20 Июня 2024 - 18:53

    Генерал Велиев исследует военные мощности Сербии

    ФОТО

    20 Июня 2024 - 18:45

    Азербайджанские гимнастки завоевали 13 медалей на международном турнире

    ФОТО

    20 Июня 2024 - 18:40

    Яцкин: Межпарламентское сотрудничество между Россией и Азербайджаном активно развивается

    20 Июня 2024 - 18:30

    Финляндия заявила о готовности защищать Аландские острова

    20 Июня 2024 - 18:28

    Нифтуллаев завоевал очередное золото Азербайджана на Играх БРИКС

    20 Июня 2024 - 18:16

    Число погибших в Газе возросло

    20 Июня 2024 - 18:05

    МАГАТЭ не может доказать разработку Ираном ядерного оружия

    20 Июня 2024 - 18:02

    Cтраны НАТО согласовали кандидатуру Рютте на пост генсека

    20 Июня 2024 - 17:55

    Названа среднемесячная зарплата в Баку

    ОТЧЕТ

    20 Июня 2024 - 17:54

    Индекс пожароопасности в регионах Азербайджана: где выше и где ниже?

    20 Июня 2024 - 17:52

Все новости