Azerbaijan's kind consent to Washington meeting
    Calculated move

    ANALYTICS  10 July 2024 - 18:40

    Murad Abiyev
    Caliber.Az

    Media reports indicate that today, on the sidelines of the NATO summit, a trilateral meeting is expected involving US Secretary of State Antony Blinken, Azerbaijani Foreign Minister Jeyhun Bayramov, and Armenian Foreign Minister Ararat Mirzoyan.

    In recent months and weeks, various representatives of official Washington have emphasized the urgent need for a swift peace agreement between Azerbaijan and Armenia. These statements have consistently shown support for Yerevan, sometimes accompanied by hints of pressure on Baku. For example, US Assistant Secretary of State for European and Eurasian Affairs James O'Brien mentioned an independent investigation into the circumstances of Armenians relocating from Azerbaijan to Armenia in an interview with Armenian Radio Liberty. Almost simultaneously, a report by the American "human rights" organization Freedom House was released, accusing Azerbaijan of ethnic cleansing against the Armenian population. Concurrently, assistance to Armenia from the United States is openly provided across all fronts.

    Washington's activity runs parallel to Baku's broadcast demands for amendments to Armenia's Constitution, specifically the removal of clauses asserting territorial claims against Azerbaijan. This stands as one of Azerbaijan's main prerequisites for signing a peace agreement.

    The White House is not keen on seeing Yerevan pursue peace on this matter, and Yerevan itself lacks the will or clear determination to convincingly persuade its society of the necessity for such constitutional amendments. Yerevan's motivations are understandable—the sudden shutdown of the “miatsum” (unity) reactor that fuels the collective unconscious of Armenian society was never anticipated. Armenian authorities must also consider this, even if they are sincerely convinced of the need to amend the fundamental law. However, Washington's position demands deeper consideration, though it too becomes understandable upon closer examination.

    In its actions, Washington is guided by two main considerations. Firstly, Americans aim to maintain tensions between countries to exert influence over the region through conflict management. Support for Armenia becomes increasingly relevant for Washington because Georgia, the third South Caucasus country, albeit not without risks, is pursuing a course to eliminate Western interference in its internal affairs. Secondly, and no less important, on the eve of perhaps the most dramatic U.S. presidential elections in modern history, Democrats are keen not to lose the support of the Armenian diaspora—several hundred thousand actively voting citizens. If the Biden administration could persuade Baku to sign a peace treaty with Armenia without preconditions regarding the Armenian constitution, this would be a credit to the Democratic Party. The 44-day war and Azerbaijan's victory occurred during the Republicans' tenure, and Democrats sought to portray themselves to Armenians as the "correctors" of the situation.

    The installation of the Lachin checkpoint, anti-terrorism measures on September 19-20, 2023, and the subsequent voluntary resettlement of Armenians to Armenia occurred during the Democratic administration and dealt a heavy blow to their prestige in the eyes of the Armenian population in the United States.

    We can assume that now, in an attempt to catch up and prove to American Armenians that "not all is lost," Washington is likely also trying to persuade Baku to include a provision in the agreement ensuring the unconditional return of Armenians to the Karabakh region of Azerbaijan.

    Baku's position is clear. Yerevan must remove from its constitution any clauses containing territorial claims against Azerbaijan. The country also rejects any mention of "Armenian Karabakh" in the peace agreement. If Armenians wish to live in the Karabakh region of Azerbaijan, they must accept Azerbaijani citizenship. Furthermore, this issue must be resolved reciprocally, meaning the 250,000 Azerbaijanis expelled from Armenia should be granted a similar right to return to their former places of residence. Pressuring Baku is futile. To understand this, one needs only to recall the events of previous years when Azerbaijan managed Western pressure under less favourable conditions—first, the occupation of 20% of its territory, and then the presence of part of the Karabakh territory under the responsibility of Russian peacekeepers.

    So what does the meeting in Washington imply in this case, considering that Blinken, unlike German Chancellor Scholz and Kazakh President Tokayev, not only provides a platform for the parties but also intends to attend himself?

    As Azerbaijani political analyst and head of the South Caucasus Research Center Farhad Mammadov writes in his Telegram channel, Azerbaijan has acknowledged the meeting due to substantial US influence, prioritizing US opinion over the negotiation process with Armenia.

    Indeed, from this perspective, we again observe not a reactive but a proactive strategy from Baku, which, while rejecting the format of trilateral negotiations, still does not refuse the meeting, allowing its American counterparts to fully reveal their cards. Azerbaijan remains committed to strengthening its sovereignty and international standing. There is no room on this path for momentary grievances against world powers, nor is there a desire to please one more than another.

    To complete my thoughts, let me quote to quote Farhad Mammadov again: “Azerbaijan's position is clear and logical, and it will be reiterated in Washington. Immediate signing of a peace agreement, as transmitted from Washington, is not expected... And so, after the strategic partnership with China, a visit to the US is just what is needed...”

    Caliber.Az

    Subscribe to our Telegram channel


Read also

China’s increasing footprint in Central Asia Stepping up military

19 July 2024 - 15:06

How Azerbaijan asserts its global influence? President Aliyev in London

19 July 2024 - 16:14

Armenian-French alliance vs London’s goodwill Peace talks tanked?

19 July 2024 - 13:06

Azerbaijan-Slovenia ties get gas boost: New pipeline, green energy on horizon Caliber.Az review

19 July 2024 - 14:43

Pashinyan harms peace process by refusing to meet Azerbaijani president at UK summit What's next?

19 July 2024 - 12:26

Armenian PM's hesitation to meet Azerbaijani leader in UK casts doubt on his peace deal commitment Has the peace process reached the deadline?

18 July 2024 - 17:53
ADVERTS
Video
Latest news

    Exploring world's most overrated tourist attractions

    20 July 2024 - 05:04

    World's first dual-tower solar thermal plant boosts efficiency

    20 July 2024 - 03:05

    Complex India-China relationship amidst shifting dynamics

    20 July 2024 - 01:03

    Japan faces surge in Covid-19 cases amidst new variant

    19 July 2024 - 23:03

    UN rep calls for global unity ahead of COP29

    19 July 2024 - 21:16

    Ukraine secures accelerated F-16 delivery from Poland

    19 July 2024 - 21:04

    Azerbaijan proposes $1 billion climate finance action fund at COP29

    19 July 2024 - 20:52

    Azerbaijan announces significant housing developments in Zangilan

    PHOTO

    19 July 2024 - 20:48

    Azerbaijan launches COP29 partnership programme for local businesses

    19 July 2024 - 20:40

    NASA cancels VIPER lunar rover mission

    19 July 2024 - 20:28

    Azerbaijan guarantees accessible voting in liberated areas for snap elections

    19 July 2024 - 20:16

    Azerbaijan’s COP29 CEO urges limited hydrocarbon use for climate goals

    19 July 2024 - 20:12

    Azerbaijan opens COP29 Academy to train youth in climate action

    19 July 2024 - 20:09

    POLITICO: Kamala Harris allies quietly prepare for potential Biden withdrawal

    19 July 2024 - 20:04

    COP29 Climate Change Champion highlights ongoing efforts to foster inclusivity

    19 July 2024 - 19:55

    Iran criticizes Israeli Knesset resolution as evidence of racism

    19 July 2024 - 19:52

    UN court declares Israeli settlements in West Bank, East Jerusalem illegal

    19 July 2024 - 19:40

    Man severely injured in mine explosion in Azerbaijan’s Kalbajar

    19 July 2024 - 19:28

    Turkish troops neutralise more terrorists in Syria, Iraq

    VIDEO

    19 July 2024 - 19:16

    Uzbekistan unveils advanced armored personnel carrier

    PHOTO / VIDEO

    19 July 2024 - 19:04

    Azerbaijan promises exemplary COP29 with broad focus on global issues

    19 July 2024 - 18:52

    Russia's breakthrough in UAV technology

    Drone flies with domestic AI chip

    19 July 2024 - 18:40

    Top 10 destinations for Azerbaijani oil

    19 July 2024 - 18:28

    Stoltenberg: Europe must brace for decade-long Ukraine conflict

    19 July 2024 - 18:15

    US unveils new satellite-jamming technology targeting Russian, Chinese ops

    19 July 2024 - 18:02

    Georgian Parliament Chair: No compromise on peace for European integration

    19 July 2024 - 17:50

    China struggles with military AI deployment amid US concerns

    Caliber.Az on YouTube

    19 July 2024 - 17:36

    Azerbaijan revives mining industry in liberated lands

    19 July 2024 - 17:26

    China hits back at NATO for "overstepping boundaries" in meddling Sino-Russian relations

    19 July 2024 - 17:14

    Indian oil giant acquires stakes in Azeri-Chirag-Guneshli, Baku-Tbilisi-Ceyhan projects

    19 July 2024 - 17:02

    British defence chief says UK won't aid Ukraine in attacking Russian targets

    19 July 2024 - 16:50

    Israel skips Gaza peace talks, frustrating officials who believe deal is near

    19 July 2024 - 16:38

    Israeli military confirms Iranian-made drone strike on Tel Aviv

    Investigation underway

    19 July 2024 - 16:36

    Envoy: Iran to double gas exports to Armenia

    19 July 2024 - 16:26

    How Azerbaijan asserts its global influence?

    President Aliyev in London

    19 July 2024 - 16:14

    Türkiye's strategic pivot towards the West

    Economic incentives and geopolitical maneuvers

    19 July 2024 - 16:02

    Trump urges Democrats to drop charges after recounting assassination attempt

    19 July 2024 - 15:50

    Türkiye set to host upcoming "3+3" foreign ministers meeting

    19 July 2024 - 15:38

    Trump's pick of JD Vance as running mate should alarm Europe

    Opinion by The Telegraph

    19 July 2024 - 15:27

    Envoy: UAE may join Gaza stabilisation mission

    19 July 2024 - 15:15

All news

Вежливое согласие Баку
    К предстоящей встрече в Вашингтоне

    АНАЛИТИКА  10 Июля 2024 - 15:45

    Мурад Абиев
    Caliber.Az

    СМИ сообщают, что сегодня на полях саммита НАТО ожидается трехсторонняя встреча госсекретаря США Энтони Блинкена, министра иностранных дел Азербайджана Джейхуна Байрамова и главы МИД Армении Арарата Мирзояна.

    Напомню, что в последние месяцы и недели различные представители официального Вашингтона озвучивали необходимость скорейшего заключения мира между Азербайджаном и Арменией. Причем во всех этих заявлениях ощущалась поддержка Еревану и даже слышались нотки шантажа в отношении Баку. Так, помощник госсекретаря США по делам Европы и Евразии Джеймс О’Брайен в интервью армянскому радио «Свобода» заявил о некоем независимом расследовании обстоятельств переселения армян из Азербайджана в Армению. Почти синхронно с этим заявлением был опубликован доклад американской «правозащитной» организации Freedom House, в котором наша страна обвиняется в «этнической чистке» армянского населения. Параллельно по всем направлениям нарочито открыто осуществляется помощь Армении со стороны Соединенных Штатов.

    Активность Вашингтона идет параллельно трансляции Баку требования об изменении Конституции Армении, то есть удаления из нее пункта, содержащего территориальные претензии к Азербайджану. И это одно из главных предусловий Азербайджана для подписания мирного договора.

    Белый дом не заинтересован в том, чтобы Ереван пошел на мировую в этом вопросе, да и сам Ереван никак не может найти силу воли или желание планомерно и определенно убедить общество в необходимости такого очищения основного закона страны. Мотивация Еревана в принципе понятна – мы никогда не питали особой надежды на внезапное отключение миацумного реактора, питающего коллективное бессознательное армянского социума, и это также должны учитывать и власти Армении, будь они даже трижды искренне убеждены в необходимости изменения основного закона. А вот позиция Вашингтона требует большего осмысления, хотя и она при ближайшем рассмотрении становится понятной.

    В своих действиях Вашингтон руководствуется двумя основными соображениями. Во-первых, американцы хотят сохранить противоречия между странами, для того чтобы иметь влияние на наш регион методом конфликтного управления. Поддержка Армении становится для Вашингтона тем более актуальным вопросом, что третья страна Южного Кавказа, Грузия, уверенно, хоть и не без рисков, проводит курс на устранение вмешательства Запада в свои внутренние дела. А во-вторых, и это не менее важно, накануне, пожалуй, самых драматичных в современной истории Штатов президентских выборов демократам очень важно не потерять поддержку армянской диаспоры, а это, внимание, – несколько сот тысяч активно голосующих граждан. Если бы администрации Байдена удалось уговорить Баку подписать мирный договор без предусловий по армянской конституции, то это можно было бы записать в актив Демпартии. 44-дневная война и победа в ней Азербайджана пришлись на пребывание у власти республиканцев, и демократы всячески пытались выставить себя в глазах армян «исправителями» ситуации.

    Установка ППП «Лачин», антитеррористические мероприятия 19–20 сентября 2023 года и последовавшее за ними добровольное переселение армян в Армению произошли уже в период правления демократов и стали сильным ударом по их престижу в глазах армянского населения США.

    Можем предположить, что сейчас, в попытке догнать уходящий поезд и доказать американским армянам, что еще «не все потеряно», Вашингтон также, скорее всего, пытается убедить Баку включить в текст соглашения некий пункт, обеспечивающий безоговорочное возвращение армян в Карабахский регион Азербайджана.

    Позиция Баку ясна. Ереван должен исключить из конституции пункты, содержащие территориальные претензии к Азербайджану. Наша страна также не приемлет никакого упоминания «армян Карабаха» в мирном договоре. Если же армяне хотят жить в Карабахском регионе Азербайджана, то они должны принять азербайджанское гражданство. Более того, этот вопрос должен решаться в обоюдном порядке, то есть, изгнанным из Армении 250 тысячам азербайджанцев должно быть предоставлено аналогичное право – вернуться в места своего прежнего проживания. Давление на Баку бессмысленно. Для того чтобы понять это, достаточно вспомнить все те же события предыдущих лет, когда Азербайджан справлялся с давлением Запада в менее выгодных для себя условиях – сначала оккупация 20% территорий, а затем нахождение части территории Карабаха в зоне ответственности российских миротворцев.

    Так что же сулит в таком случае встреча в Вашингтоне, учитывая, что Блинкен, в отличие от канцлера ФРГ Шольца и президента Казахстана Токаева, не только предоставляет сторонам площадку, но и сам собирается на ней присутствовать?

    Как пишет в своем Telegram-канале «Мнение ФМ» азербайджанский политолог, глава Центра исследований Южного Кавказа Фархад Мамедов: «Ну, если США всем своим огромным туловищем навалились, то Азербайджан пошел на сам факт встречи, однако здесь для Баку больше интересно мнение США, нежели переговорный процесс с Арменией».

    И действительно, с этого ракурса мы вновь наблюдаем не реактивную, а проактивную стратегию Баку, который, отрицая формат трехсторонних переговоров, тем не менее, не отказывается от встречи, позволяя американским визави полностью раскрыть свои карты. Азербайджан верен курсу на укрепление своего суверенитета и международного веса. На этом пути нет места сиюминутным обидам на мировые державы, как, впрочем, и желания понравиться кому-то больше, чем другим.

    Завершая мысль, позволю себе привести слова все того же Фархада Мамедова: «Позиция Азербайджана ясна и логична, она будет повторена и в Вашингтоне. «Немедленного» подписания мирного договора, как транслируется из Вашингтона, не ожидается… А так, после стратегического партнерства с Китаем, визит в США — это самое то…»

    Caliber.Az

    Просмотров: 2277

    Подписывайтесь на наш Telegram-канал


Читайте также

Азербайджано-китайское партнерство против цинизма «первых среди равных» Размышления Теймура Атаева

25 Июля 2024 - 15:15

Не стоит ссориться с тем, кого не понимаешь «Неудобная правда» Самита Алиева

25 Июля 2024 - 16:45

Виртуальное оружие против Баку и Тегерана Кампания дезинформации в действии

25 Июля 2024 - 14:17

Азербайджан XVI-XIX веков в османских архивах «Непростая история» с Ризваном Гусейновым

25 Июля 2024 - 13:09

Приглашение к миру Ереван должен думать быстро

24 Июля 2024 - 20:08

Учения по дестабилизации Аналитика Лиманского

24 Июля 2024 - 17:00
РЕКЛАМА
Видео
Последние новости

    Не стоит ссориться с тем, кого не понимаешь

    «Неудобная правда» Самита Алиева

    25 Июля 2024 - 16:45

    Число погибших в Газе возросло

    25 Июля 2024 - 16:41

    Путин и Лукашенко провели встречу на Валааме

    25 Июля 2024 - 16:36

    В Азербайджане увеличивается оборот платежных операций

    25 Июля 2024 - 16:36

    KOBİA: Между Азербайджаном и Катаром начинается новый этап развития экономических и деловых связей

    25 Июля 2024 - 16:30

    В Азербайджане планируется открыть около 30 ресторанов популярных брендов

    25 Июля 2024 - 16:27

    В Москве случайно задержали международного террориста, разыскиваемого Азербайджаном

    25 Июля 2024 - 16:27

    Кто будет учиться за рубежом за счет государства?

    СПИСОК

    25 Июля 2024 - 16:23

    Утверждена кандидатура Полада Бюльбюльоглу в депутаты

    25 Июля 2024 - 16:20

    В направлении Товуза нейтрализован армянский квадрокоптер

    25 Июля 2024 - 16:07

    Соратник Тер-Петросяна: Если завтра Армения станет членом ЕС, то наша экономика рухнет

    25 Июля 2024 - 16:02

    Израиль нанес удары по целям в южном Ливане

    ВИДЕО

    25 Июля 2024 - 16:02

    Ереван готовит ответные предложения Баку по мирному договору

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:56

    Северная Корея запустила в сторону Южной взрывающиеся шары

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:51

    Когда зарубежные доноры перестанут финансировать радикализм в Грузии?

    Мнение Кобахидзе

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:49

    Австралийские газетчики отказываются освещать Олимпийские игры в Париже

    Делать больше за меньшие деньги

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:46

    МЧС продолжает поиски подростка, утонувшего в Самур-Абшеронском канале

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:45

    Джейхун Байрамов встретился с молодыми дипломатами, начавшими работу в МИД

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:35

    Центробанк Узбекистана снизил основную ставку

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:30

    Израиль предупредил о вероятных терактах на Олимпиаде

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:28

    ЕК не приняла никаких мер против Украины

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:21

    В Румынии обнаружили обломки российских «Шахедов»

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:20

    Азербайджано-китайское партнерство против цинизма «первых среди равных»

    Размышления Теймура Атаева

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:15

    Представитель МО Китая: США стали империей лжи

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:12

    Блогер Джалилов инкогнито «засветился» за границей

    Псих-лечение пошло на пользу? / ВИДЕО

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:08

    Как в турецком Бодруме поймали исполнителя теракта в России?

    Видео задержания

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:08

    Али Асадов встретился с председателем Конституционного суда Турции

    ФОТО

    25 Июля 2024 - 14:55

    Иран считает выступление Нетаньяху позорным

    25 Июля 2024 - 14:49

    Обсуждали ли Путин и Асад Украину?

    25 Июля 2024 - 14:40

    Азербайджан и Казахстан приступят к прокладке волоконно-оптической линии связи

    25 Июля 2024 - 14:22

    Эксперт Меликян: В Армении усиливается давление на СМИ

    25 Июля 2024 - 14:20

    Виртуальное оружие против Баку и Тегерана

    Кампания дезинформации в действии

    25 Июля 2024 - 14:17

    Матери Национального героя Азербайджана Натига Гасымова государство подарило квартиру

    ФОТО

    25 Июля 2024 - 14:13

    Reuters: Переговоры с ХАМАС находятся на завершающей стадии

    25 Июля 2024 - 14:09

    Шольц не хочет допустить войны России и НАТО

    25 Июля 2024 - 14:08

    В Ереване проходит заседание по делу сына Кочаряна

    25 Июля 2024 - 14:04

    Арестованы ли Агададаш Агаев и избивший его охранник?

    Экс-зэк & народный артист ВИДЕО/ПОДРОБНОСТИ

    25 Июля 2024 - 13:59

    Бабаев: Следующее заседание МПК Азербаджана и Сербии пройдет в 2025 году в Белграде

    25 Июля 2024 - 13:55

    Россия открыта к переговорам по Украине

    25 Июля 2024 - 13:55

    Украинский вингер переходит в «Нефтчи»

    25 Июля 2024 - 13:49

Все новости