Iran: Azerbaijan's good neighbour or sneaky adversary?
    Inconsistency of Tehran diplomacy

    ANALYTICS  16 August 2022 - 10:38

    Matanat Nasibova
    Caliber.Az

    Late autumn 1991. The USSR is bursting at the seams. Countries one after another declare their sovereignty. No one doubts that the Soviet Union is living out its last days. Azerbaijan, which has been facing the Union Center's indulgence of Armenia's aggressive policy for more than three years, restored its state independence on October 18. The first countries to recognize Azerbaijan's independence were Türkiye (November 9), Romania (December 11), and Pakistan (December 13). It would seem that our southern neighbor, Iran, with which Azerbaijan is connected not only by neighborhood, but also by culture, religion, and history, should also have been among them. But it was not.

    On November 27, Azerbaijan was surprised to learn that Iran has no intention of recognizing the independence of our state. At that time, at the dawn of Azerbaijan's independence, Ali Akbar Velayati, then foreign minister and adviser to the Supreme Leader of Iran, unequivocally declared it in an interview with Russia's "Ekho Moskvy" radiostation.

    "We do not intend to recognize the independence of Azerbaijan. Relations with this republic will develop within the framework of the Soviet Union," Velayati said.

    Curiously, the Iranian diplomat announced the intentions of the Iranian side to develop relations with Azerbaijan within the framework of the Soviet Union on the eve of his trip to the Muslim republics of the former Soviet Union, including Azerbaijan. Of course, such a categorical position of Tehran on Baku was an unpleasant surprise for our country. Let us repeat: as its closest neighbor and due to its cultural and historical proximity, Azerbaijan counted on Iran's solidarity on this issue of principle importance to it. But it has received this support only from Türkiye, which to this day remains a staunch supporter of its efforts to preserve territorial integrity and inviolability of borders.

    As for Iran, it recognized Azerbaijan's independence in fact on the day of the official collapse of the USSR - December 25, 1991, when Gorbachev resigned from his post as president, the Russian flag flew over the Kremlin instead of the red one. That is, Tehran dragged out the recognition of Azerbaijan until the day when it made no sense to delay any further.

    At the same time, if we compare Iran's previous policy with the current one, it is obvious that it has always pursued a far from balanced policy towards Baku, which has often led to serious disagreements in bilateral relations. Meanwhile, Azerbaijan, which has been pursuing a balanced policy in the international system of coordinates in general and in regional politics in particular since 1993, has repeatedly used tools of political diplomacy, ironing out difficulties in its relations with Iran. Even despite this, it happened that the hostile attitude of Tehran (groundlessly) contributed to the undermining of the trust of official Baku. It is enough to recall the accusations from the Iranian side that Baku could allegedly provide the US with an opportunity to attack Iran. Every time Baku has proved that such groundless accusations are contrary to the state policy of Azerbaijan.

    Another important point is that despite frequently changing officials in the country's government, Iran's foreign policy priorities have remained intact for years. This was graphically illustrated by Iranian-Armenian relations. Iran has always supported Armenia as a regional ally, providing it with all kinds of economic support. Moreover, Yerevan continues to count on Tehran's help to this day. To put it mildly, Baku is not happy with Tehran's policy towards Armenia, but it is not trying to dictate the rules of regional diplomacy and the laws of international law.

    It would seem logical for Iran and Armenia to adhere to this policy. But they are known to implement a far from consistent policy towards their neighbors in the region, first of all towards Azerbaijan. There is a clear similarity between the positions of Armenia and Iran, and there are a number of examples that confirm this. Here is one of them. Iran sees a threat in Azerbaijan's purchases of weapons from Israel and does not hide its displeasure over this. Why should it be so? First of all, Azerbaijan has a right to buy arms from anyone it wants. Secondly, Israeli arms are by no means directed against Iran, and that is the main argument that Baku appeals to with both words and actions.

    On the other hand, one of the determining factors in Iranian-Azerbaijani relations is Tehran's position in the Karabakh conflict. It is known that before it was resolved, Iran formally held a neutral position in Armenian-Azerbaijani relations. But in September 2020 (during the Second Karabakh war) the facts confirming that Iranian cars were delivering fuel to the occupied Karabakh were made public. There is more to come. In winter 2020, footage emerged of Iranian trucks delivering fuel and food to Karabakh without Baku's permission. Later, the Iranian side tried to deny this footage, accusing Armenians, who want to drive a wedge into Iranian-Azerbaijani relations, of falsification. Nevertheless, it was evident that the footage was fresh.

    Considering all these episodes, it can be concluded that Iran, positioning itself in words almost as a friend of Azerbaijan, in fact, by providing Armenia with opportunities to obtain weapons and military equipment through its territory, put relations with Baku under real threat. Which also does not add a positive image to Tehran. On the other hand, which is also impossible to miss, the rhetoric of the statements that were voiced in Tehran after Azerbaijan's victory in the 44-day war in 2020 has changed markedly. The same ex-Minister of Iran, and now an adviser to the Supreme Leader on international affairs Ali Akbar Velayati (who at one time unequivocally questioned the recognition of Azerbaijan's independence) said that the occupied Azerbaijani lands had to be liberated and that the Azerbaijani people did it.

    Undoubtedly, Velayati's "heartfelt" recognition is a diplomatic victory for Azerbaijan, which all regional neighbors, including fastidious Iran, had to put up with one way or another. In the same context, further Iranian-Azerbaijani relations and, most recently, Velayati's statements that Iran and Azerbaijan share a common history and religion are inspiring.

    In conclusion, one more important fact should be noted concerning the growing day-by-day relations between Azerbaijan and Türkiye. It is obvious that this fact is a source of concern for our regional neighbors, including Iran. That is why Baku is completely satisfied with the relative warming in the Iran-Türkiye relations that has been observed lately. In any case, this is indicated by the meetings of the heads of the two states, the last of which took place in Tehran.

    Despite the existing contradictions around the regional conflicts in Syria, Libya, and the Middle East in general, it is obvious that against the backdrop of current global processes, regional powers are consistently changing their foreign policy guidelines, building a new system of international relations. Türkiye plays a key role in this regional chain of relationships, with which such strong states as Iran and Russia are trying to build close relations, and this is directly in the interests of Azerbaijan. Considering that official Ankara fully shares the essentially important priorities of the state policy of Baku, it is quite logical that the brotherly Türkiye has become a true strategic ally of Azerbaijan and not inconsistent Iran. All it had to do was to recognize Azerbaijan as one of the first, not to interfere in our internal affairs, and not flirt with aggressive Armenia...

    Caliber.Az

    Subscribe to our Telegram channel


Read also

Revenge seeker at the separatist's grave Galstanyan calls upon Muradyan's spirit

18 June 2024 - 12:00

Washington's hasty steps Yerevan is in turmoil, Baku is in no rush

18 June 2024 - 10:45

China's expanding influence in Azerbaijan amid shifting global trade routes Beijing military in Baku as global trade routes shift

17 June 2024 - 15:55

European far-right turn New political landscape emerges

18 June 2024 - 13:23

Muscle flexing or shades of a new Cuban Missile Crisis? Analogy with the events of 1962

17 June 2024 - 13:14

Azerbaijan’s path towards complete restoration of sovereignty, Russia’s ultimatum and France’s panic Weekly review

16 June 2024 - 11:51
ADVERTS
Video
Latest news

    Russian flag, coat of arms torn down at Victory Park in Yerevan

    PHOTO/VIDEO

    18 June 2024 - 13:40

    European far-right turn

    New political landscape emerges

    18 June 2024 - 13:23

    Jamaican professor calls for urgent need of climate adaptation

    Addressing Baku Summit

    18 June 2024 - 13:08

    France, Armenia sign agreement for supply of CAESAR howitzers

    18 June 2024 - 12:50

    India has more nuclear weapons than Pakistan

    Swedish think-tank says

    18 June 2024 - 12:33

    Turkish Intelligence thwarts planned second terror attack in Moscow - media

    18 June 2024 - 12:17

    Revenge seeker at the separatist's grave

    Galstanyan calls upon Muradyan's spirit

    18 June 2024 - 12:00

    Azerbaijan prioritizes human health investments during COP29 chairmanship

    18 June 2024 - 11:52

    Over 3 billion people globally impacted by climate change

    Forecasting Healthy Futures chief urges

    18 June 2024 - 11:38

    Armenian opposition announces youth rally amid ongoing protests

    18 June 2024 - 11:19

    Special Representative urges focus on climate, health financing ahead of COP

    18 June 2024 - 11:04

    COP29 lead negotiator affirms focus on public health

    Amid climate change challenges

    18 June 2024 - 10:52

    Washington's hasty steps

    Yerevan is in turmoil, Baku is in no rush

    18 June 2024 - 10:45

    Police detain 9 protesters outside of Israeli PM's residence in Jerusalem

    18 June 2024 - 10:39

    WHO Director General commends integration of health in COP29 agenda

    18 June 2024 - 10:26

    US, Saudi top diplomats discuss Sudan, Yemen, Gaza Crisis

    18 June 2024 - 10:13

    Global summit "Forecasting Healthy Futures" kicks off in Baku

    Ahead of COP29

    18 June 2024 - 10:06

    Armenian parliament speaker dismisses opposition calls for resignation

    18 June 2024 - 09:58

    Azerbaijani judokas clinch top spot at European Cup

    18 June 2024 - 09:50

    Armenian parliament disrupts as PM's faction blocks session on government resignation

    18 June 2024 - 09:43

    Two-thirds of Europe’s defence spending goes to US contractors

    NATO Secretary General says

    18 June 2024 - 09:28

    Armenian, US officials discuss expanding strategic partnership

    18 June 2024 - 09:21

    Azerbaijan conference calls for unified global response to demining

    Article by Euronews

    18 June 2024 - 09:15

    Houthis maintain stronghold in Red Sea

    Despite US-led coalition efforts

    18 June 2024 - 09:02

    Far right's global surge

    Democracy as the defining divide

    18 June 2024 - 08:05

    China's proxy war on Israel

    Dangerous alliance with Hamas

    18 June 2024 - 06:13

    The Economist: Vladimir Putin and Kim Jong Un's "bromance"

    Strategic alliances amid global tensions

    18 June 2024 - 04:07

    Desperate Beijing seeks love wherever it can find it

    18 June 2024 - 02:10

    Paris loses crown as Europe’s biggest stock market to London

    18 June 2024 - 00:06

    ASEAN all adrift over South China Sea consensus

    17 June 2024 - 22:04

    Ukraine appeals to bondholders for $20 billion debt reduction

    17 June 2024 - 20:02

    Ammunition explosion at Czech army training area kills one, injures 8 others

    17 June 2024 - 18:42

    Armenian prime minister hints at need for referendum

    17 June 2024 - 18:30

    Turkish MP: Brotherhood of Azerbaijan, Türkiye strengthens OTS power

    17 June 2024 - 18:15

    Russia's president to visit Vietnam, sparking US rebuke of Hanoi

    17 June 2024 - 18:01

    EU plans to crack down on aid theft to Ukraine

    17 June 2024 - 17:44

    Azerbaijani FM holds telephone conversation with Turkish counterpart

    17 June 2024 - 17:29

    US, Canada, Japan, Philippines conduct exercises in South China Sea

    17 June 2024 - 17:13

    Iranian conservative candidate Qalibaf pushes rivals out

    17 June 2024 - 16:58

    Israeli PM Netanyahu disbands war cabinet

    17 June 2024 - 16:42

All news

Как Иран Азербайджан признавать не хотел
    Непоследовательность тегеранской дипломатии

    АНАЛИТИКА  15 Августа 2022 - 19:01

    Матанат Насибова
    Политический обозреватель Caliber.Az

    Поздняя осень 1991 года. СССР трещит по швам. Парад суверенитетов. Ни у кого уже не вызывает сомнений, что Советский Союз доживает последние дни. Азербайджан, вот уже более трех лет сталкивающийся с потаканием союзного Центра агрессивной политике Армении, еще 18 октября восстановил свою государственную независимость. Первыми странами, признавшими независимость Азербайджана, стали Турция (9 ноября), Румыния (11 декабря) и Пакистан (13 декабря). Казалось бы, в этом ряду должен был находиться и наш южный сосед – Иран – с которым Азербайджан сближает не только соседство, но и культура, религия и история. Но не тут-то было.

    27 ноября в Азербайджане с удивлением узнали, что Иран не намерен признавать независимость нашего государства. Тогда, на заре самостоятельности Азербайджана, об этом однозначно, не утруждая себя дипломатической уклончивостью, заявил в интервью радиостанции «Эхо Москвы» нынешний советник по международным делам высшего руководителя Ирана, а тогда министр иностранных дел ИРИ Али Акбар Велаяти.

    «Мы не намерены признавать независимость Азербайджана. Отношения с этой республикой будут развиваться в рамках Советского Союза», - сказал Велаяти.

    Что любопытно, о намерениях иранской стороны развивать отношения с Азербайджаном в рамках Советского Союза было заявлено иранским дипломатом накануне его поездки по мусульманским республикам бывшего СССР, в том числе и в Азербайджан. Разумеется, столь категоричная позиция Тегерана в отношении Баку стала неприятным сюрпризом для нашей страны. Повторимся - на правах ближайшего соседа и в силу культурно-исторической близости Азербайджан рассчитывал в том числе и на солидарность Ирана в принципиально важном для себя вопросе. Но получил эту поддержку только от Турции, которая по сегодняшний день остается верным сторонником в его усилиях по сохранению территориальной целостности и нерушимости границ.

    Что же касается Ирана, то он признал независимость Азербайджана фактически в день официального распада СССР - 25 декабря 1991 года, когда Горбачев сложил с себя полномочия президента, а над Кремлем вместо красного флага взвился флаг России. То есть, Тегеран дотянул с признанием Азербайджана до того дня, когда тянуть дальше уже не имело смысла.

    Вместе с тем, если сравнивать прежнюю политику Ирана с нынешней, то очевидно, что он всегда вел далеко не сбалансированную политику в отношении Баку, что нередко приводило к серьезным разногласиям в двусторонних отношениях. Между тем Азербайджан, который с 1993 года проводит взвешенную политику в международной системе координат в целом и в региональной политике - в частности, не раз использовал инструменты политической дипломатии, сглаживая острые углы в отношениях с Ираном. И даже несмотря на это случалось, что враждебный настрой Тегерана (причем без всяких на то оснований) способствовал подрыву доверия официального Баку. Достаточно вспомнить обвинения иранской стороны в том, что якобы Баку может предоставить США возможность для атаки на Иран. И всякий раз Баку доказывал, что такого рода необоснованные обвинения идут вразрез с государственной политикой Азербайджана.

    Еще один важный нюанс связан с тем, что несмотря на смену официальных лиц в руководстве страны приоритеты внешней политики ИРИ долгие годы оставались неизменны. Наглядно это просматривалось на примере ирано-армянских отношений. Иран фактически всегда поддерживал Армению как регионального союзника, оказывая ей всяческую экономическую поддержку. Более того, Ереван продолжает рассчитывать на помощь Тегерана и по сей день. Баку, мягко говоря, не в восторге от политики Тегерана, которую тот проводит в отношении Армении, и тем не менее не пытается диктовать тому правила региональной дипломатии и законы международного права.

    Казалось бы, логично, если бы этой политики придерживались в Иране и Армении. Но они, как известно, реализуют далеко не последовательную политику в отношении своих соседей по региону, прежде всего в отношении Азербайджана. Тут наблюдается явное сходство позиций Армении и Ирана, и есть ряд примеров, подтверждающих это. Вот один из них. Иран усматривает угрозу в том, что Азербайджан покупает оружие у Израиля, и не скрывает своего недовольства по этому поводу. Хотя, казалось бы, с какой стати? Азербайджан вправе покупать оружие у кого угодно, это, во-первых. Во-вторых, израильское вооружение никоим образом не направлено против Ирана - и это главный аргумент, которым апеллирует Баку как на словах, так и своими действиями.

    С другой стороны, одним из определяющих факторов в ирано-азербайджанских отношениях является позиция Тегерана по Карабахскому конфликту. Известно, что до его урегулирования Иран формально придерживался нейтральной позиции в армяно-азербайджанских отношениях. Однако в сентябре 2020 года (во время Второй Карабахской войны) были преданы огласке факты, подтверждающие доставку в оккупированный Карабах горючего на иранских автомобилях. Дальше больше. Зимой 2020 года появилась запись, на которой были запечатлены иранские фуры, доставляющие топливо и продовольствие в Карабах без разрешения Баку. Позже эти кадры иранская сторона пыталась опровергнуть, обвинив в подтасовке армян, которые жаждут вбить клин в ирано-азербайджанские отношения. Тем не менее было заметно, что кадры на видео свежие.

    Учитывая все эти эпизоды, можно сделать вывод, что Иран, позиционирующий себя на словах чуть ли не другом Азербайджана, на деле, предоставляя Армении возможности для получения оружия и военной техники через свою территорию, подвергал реальной угрозе отношения с Баку. Что также не прибавляет положительного имиджа Тегерану. С другой стороны, что также невозможно упустить, риторика заявлений, которые озвучивались в Тегеране уже после победы Азербайджана в 44-дневной войне 2020 года, заметно изменилась. Тот самый экс-министр Ирана, а ныне советник верховного лидера по международным вопросам Али Акбар Велаяти (который в свое время в однозначном порядке поставил под сомнение признание независимости Азербайджана) заявил, что оккупированные азербайджанские земли надо было освободить и что азербайджанский народ сделал это.

    Безусловно, «чистосердечное» признание Велаяти - это дипломатическая победа Азербайджана, с которой так или иначе пришлось мириться всем региональным соседям, в том числе и привередливому Ирану. В этом же контексте энтузиазма добавляют и дальнейшие ирано-азербайджанские отношения, и совсем недавние высказывания Велаяти о том, что Иран и Азербайджан имеют общую историю и религию.

    В заключение нужно отметить еще один немаловажный факт, касающийся крепнущих день ото дня взаимоотношений Азербайджана и Турции. Очевидно, что эта данность вызывает в той или иной степени обеспокоенность наших региональных соседей, в том числе и Ирана. Поэтому Баку полностью устраивает относительное потепление в ирано-турецких отношениях, которое наблюдается в последнее время. Во всяком случае на это указывают встречи глав двух государств, последняя из которых состоялась в Тегеране.

    Несмотря на имеющиеся противоречия вокруг региональных конфликтов в Сирии, Ливии и в целом на Ближнем Востоке, очевидно, что на фоне нынешних глобальных процессов региональные державы последовательно меняют внешнеполитические ориентиры, выстраивая новейшую систему международных отношений. В этой региональной цепочке отношений ключевую роль играет сегодня именно Турция, с которой стремятся выстраивать тесные отношения такие сильные державы, как Иран и Россия, что напрямую в интересах Азербайджана. Учитывая, что официальная Анкара полностью разделяет принципиально важные приоритеты государственной политики Баку, вполне логично, что именно братская Турция стала настоящим стратегическим союзником Азербайджана, а не столь непоследовательный в своих и без того витиеватых позициях Иран. А ведь нам всего-то и нужно было – признать Азербайджан одним из первых, не вмешиваться в наши внутренние дела и не заигрывать с агрессивной Арменией…

    Caliber.Az

    Просмотров: 5810

    Подписывайтесь на наш Telegram-канал


Читайте также

Хлопок в кластерном производстве Обзор Caliber.Az

16 Июля 2024 - 09:58

Около нуля В Армении «заботятся» о нацменьшинствах

15 Июля 2024 - 18:04

Изменит ли Америку покушение на Трампа? США – это уже не про безопасность

15 Июля 2024 - 16:31

Покушение на Трампа: террор как часть американской традиции Или свидетельство глубокого кризиса системы?

15 Июля 2024 - 10:13

Покушение на Трампа: случайность или закономерность? Размышления Теймура Атаева

14 Июля 2024 - 16:10

«Контрольный выстрел» в утерянный статус США О покушении на Дональда Трампа и не только

14 Июля 2024 - 12:04
РЕКЛАМА
Видео
Последние новости

    Шахруддин возвращается

    16 Июля 2024 - 10:54

    Cеверокорейский дипломат сбежал в Южную Корею

    16 Июля 2024 - 10:53

    Одноклассники о Томасе Круксе: «комически плохой» стрелок

    ФОТО

    16 Июля 2024 - 10:50

    Азербайджан представил возможности орнитологического туризма на выставке в Британии

    ФОТО

    16 Июля 2024 - 10:49

    Страны ЕС хотят возобновить работу посольств в Афганистане

    16 Июля 2024 - 10:44

    Американские военные уничтожили беспилотники хуситов

    16 Июля 2024 - 10:43

    Цена на Azeri Light упала ниже 90 долларов

    16 Июля 2024 - 10:43

    ЕК призывает комиссаров идти против Венгрии

    16 Июля 2024 - 10:28

    Азербайджан сокращает морские грузоперевозки, но увеличивает пассажироперевозки

    16 Июля 2024 - 10:25

    Хуситы атаковали три судна в Красном и Средиземном морях

    16 Июля 2024 - 10:23

    Население Нахчывана приблизилось к 470 тысячам

    16 Июля 2024 - 10:20

    Зеленский готов работать и с Трампом

    16 Июля 2024 - 10:17

    В США могут отомстить за покушение на Трампа

    16 Июля 2024 - 10:06

    Загадка Африканского Рога: куда исчезло судно с оружием для хуситов?

    16 Июля 2024 - 10:06

    Фицо: Членство Украины в НАТО угрожает миру

    16 Июля 2024 - 10:05

    Месси вошел в сборную Кубка Америки — 2024

    ФОТО

    16 Июля 2024 - 10:05

    Денежные доходы населения Азербайджана приближаются к 40 млрд манатов

    16 Июля 2024 - 10:04

    Хлопок в кластерном производстве

    Обзор Caliber.Az

    16 Июля 2024 - 09:58

    Нефть продолжает дешеветь

    16 Июля 2024 - 09:39

    В МИД Индии вызвали посла Украины

    16 Июля 2024 - 09:38

    Тысячи пассажиров Бакметрополитена опоздали на работу

    Сорван график / ОФИЦИАЛЬНО

    16 Июля 2024 - 09:38

    Маск планирует выделять десятки миллионов долларов на кампанию Трампа

    16 Июля 2024 - 09:30

    ВВС Израиля атаковали юг Ливана

    ВИДЕО

    16 Июля 2024 - 09:30

    Байден оценил свои шансы на победу

    16 Июля 2024 - 09:25

    В каких районах Баку отключат газ?

    16 Июля 2024 - 09:24

    Над регионами РФ сбили 13 БПЛА

    16 Июля 2024 - 09:23

    Курсы валют ЦБА: рубль и евро дешевеют

    16 Июля 2024 - 09:20

    Трамп не стал отвечать на вопрос о встрече с Путиным

    16 Июля 2024 - 09:20

    Полицейская операция в Агджабеди: изъято семь килограммов наркотиков

    16 Июля 2024 - 09:18

    Сестра Ким Чен Ына пригрозила Сеулу

    16 Июля 2024 - 09:11

    На трех улицах Баку затруднено движение транспорта

    16 Июля 2024 - 09:03

    Нетаньяху: Израиль намерен сохранять контроль за Филадельфийским коридором

    16 Июля 2024 - 08:30

    Смарт-часы адаптировали для проверок лекарств от аритмии

    16 Июля 2024 - 07:30

    «Бавария» проявляет интерес к полузащитнику «Лейпцига» Ольмо

    16 Июля 2024 - 06:30

    Покушавшийся на Трампа состоял в стрелковом клубе и помогал больным

    16 Июля 2024 - 05:30

    «Севилья» арендовала полузащитника «Арсенала» Локонга

    16 Июля 2024 - 04:30

    Сборная Испании провела в Мадриде чемпионский парад

    16 Июля 2024 - 03:30

    Экс-депутата Европарламента объявили в международный розыск

    16 Июля 2024 - 02:31

    Байден поручил предоставить госохрану Кеннеди-младшему

    16 Июля 2024 - 02:00

    В Аргентине в ходе празднования победы в Кубке Америки пострадали 17 человек

    16 Июля 2024 - 01:30

Все новости