Armenian cacophony instead of Francophonie
    Pashinyan's verbiage back in action

    ANALYTICS  22 November 2022 - 20:35

    Huseyn Safarov
    Caliber.Az

    The 18th Summit of Francophonie, the international organisation of French-speaking countries, was held recently in the Tunisian city of Djerba. The Prime Minister of Armenia, which is a member of the organisation, but has no relation to the French language, except for a special fondness for French names, Nikol Pashinyan, who flew to Tunisia, addressed the forum. Pashinyan's speech was supposedly at odds with the format of the summit but was in line with the Armenian agenda of preventing a peace agreement between Azerbaijan and Armenia.

    In other words, the Armenian leader rushed to Djerba to tell the participants of the international event about the "terrible" situation on the notional Armenian-Azerbaijani border due to Baku's "aggressive intentions". Obviously, he expressed the opinion of the Armenian side alone, without backing it up with anything other than far-fetched narratives. However, it seems that at the current Francophone gathering the problems of the French-speaking countries were put aside - it was necessary to sympathise with Armenia and support its interpretation of events.

    Naturally, the Armenian envoys in Tunisia were not ashamed to tearfully assure everyone that they were "peace-loving" and that Azerbaijan did not want real peace, refusing to compromise because it wanted to annex "historic Armenian lands". In general, the initiative to discuss the Armenian-Azerbaijani settlement at the Francophone summit can hardly be called constructive for the member countries of the organisation, and for Armenia itself. However, it would be naive to expect Pashinyan and his team to give a fair assessment of the process of resolving Armenian-Azerbaijani relations, especially in the margins of such a specific event, where representatives of countries, most of which are not very friendly with Azerbaijan and are very supportive of Armenia, have gathered.

    Pashinyan obviously wanted to test the rise of national spirit in a favourable environment, forgetting that only two years ago it ended very badly for the Armenian people. Apparently, he is trying to escalate the conflict again, not realising that his utopian preconditions and absurd interpretation of the peace treaty are in fact a pretext for a resumption of hostilities. It is possible that this is exactly what the Armenian leader is trying to achieve.

    In his bravura speech, Pashinyan said that "the principles of the UN Charter, in particular the principle of the non-use of force against the territorial integrity of another state, on which our collective security is based, have been undermined, and thus the law of the strongest is gradually rising". It must be said that there is some truth in Pashinyan's words: the principles of the UN Charter were indeed undermined by the Karabakh conflict, not today, but in 1992-2020 when Armenia occupied 20% of Azerbaijani territories, carried out ethnic cleansing of Azerbaijani people, committed the Khojaly genocide and bombed Azerbaijani civilian cities.

    Moreover, for 30 years the Armenian side has been violating all existing international conventions, cynically ignoring UN resolutions and staging all kinds of provocations on the border. Civilians still suffer from anti-personnel mines planted by the Armenian occupants on Azerbaijani lands. Nearly 3000 people have fallen victim to landmines during the Armenian-Azerbaijani conflict, 525 of whom were killed. The fact of non-observance to the UN Charter is also the state policy of Armenia to destroy the traces of Azerbaijanis both in the history of Azerbaijani lands it has occupied and in the territory of its country, where Azerbaijanis have lived since ancient times. In other words, attempts were made to distort the history of the Azerbaijani people, to wipe out its cultural heritage.

    Of course, there was not even a hint about all this at the Francophonie summit, but the topics of "Azerbaijanis' perfidy" and "annexationist policy of their country" were hotly debated.

    Pashinyan, inspired by the Francophone welcome, kept ratcheting up anti-Azerbaijani rhetoric: "The aggression of which the Republic of Armenia became a victim on September 13-14 of this year by Azerbaijan is a perfect illustration of this state of affairs. Unjustified and unprovoked aggression led to the occupation of certain parts of the territory of Armenia, as well as to the death, and suffering of the civilian population and significant destruction. We expect that in the face of these new threats, the international community will rightly assess the situation in our country today, condemn the occupation of a part of Armenia's territory, and demand the return of Azerbaijani forces to their previous positions. Armenia, for its part, is firmly committed to advancing the negotiation process towards a peace agreement with Azerbaijan, as well as ensuring the rights and security of the Armenian population of Nagorno-Karabakh."

    Pashinyan's statement suggests that Armenia traditionally relies on the international community while putting forward demands that are unacceptable to Azerbaijan. However, according to the premier, in order to reach a peace agreement Baku must meet Yerevan's demands, i.e. withdraw its troops from the conditional border and agree to discuss the "status of Karabakh" with the separatists. In short, Pashinyan voiced a set of Armenian requirements, and a person unfamiliar with the situation would think that Armenia won the war and is now dictating the terms of the peace agreement.

    Meanwhile, the very meaning of Pashinyan's Francophone speeches does not at all correspond to the essence of the conversation held a month ago in Prague between the president of Azerbaijan and the Armenian prime minister. Moreover, if the Armenian leadership considers itself democratic and speaks out about the establishment of peaceful conditions, it must conduct itself in accordance with democratic values and the rule of law. First, Armenia must withdraw from the occupied Azerbaijani territories its armed formations, as required by the paragraphs of the trilateral statement of November 10, 2020, and decisions of authoritative international organizations. As long as Yerevan engages in verbiage instead of taking real steps toward an Armenian-Azerbaijani settlement, the risk of a military solution to the issue remains high. Unless Armenia acts in accordance with its obligations and the position of the international community, removes its fighters and saboteurs from the Azerbaijani territories where the Russian peacekeeping contingent is temporarily deployed, and stops provocations on the notional Armenian-Azerbaijani border, Baku will have the right to choose methods for overcoming the disagreement. Two years ago, Azerbaijan already proved that it can solve the problem of 30 years ago in 44 days, but today Armenia does not have even those four dozen days for a constructive solution. And the sooner the Armenian political establishment finally draws conclusions, the better for its people.

    All the more so because even among Francophones, Pashinyan has not achieved what he wanted. As Ilham Aliyev said the day before, at an event dedicated to the 30th anniversary of the founding of the ruling Yeni Azerbaijan Party, "As a result of the efforts of our friends in the Francophonie organisation – we know them well and they are our friends in the true sense of the word – all anti-Azerbaijani theses were removed from there. The French-Armenian tandem failed to use this opportunity."

    Maybe at least this will properly motivate the Armenian authorities and set them up to be constructive in taking decisions on resolving relations with Azerbaijan.

     

    Caliber.Az

    Subscribe to our Telegram channel


Read also

Mark Rutte seeks Türkiye's backing for new job A new pair of hands

24 April 2024 - 16:55

Bilateral relations, regional dynamics, & peacekeepers’ withdrawal Key takeaways from President Aliyev's Moscow visit

24 April 2024 - 14:07

Assessing Pashinyan's statements on normalizing relations with Baku Armenia's political shift

24 April 2024 - 16:15

Azerbaijan's "white gold" Cotton market rebounds

24 April 2024 - 14:28

Lachin checkpoint: A symbol of Azerbaijan's commitment to peace and stability A year on

24 April 2024 - 13:04

Türkiye-Iraq diplomatic thaw and regional integration Ambitious vision

23 April 2024 - 16:16
ADVERTS
Video
Latest news

    Iranian president urges international courts to punish Israel for Gaza Strip operation

    25 April 2024 - 10:09

    Azerbaijan submits report on Convention against Torture to UN

    25 April 2024 - 09:55

    Azerbaijan, Kyrgyzstan sign Memorandum on Cooperation in religious sphere

    25 April 2024 - 09:43

    US welcomes start of Azerbaijan-Armenia border delimitation process

    25 April 2024 - 09:21

    PM vows to boost UK defence spending to 2.5% of GDP by 2030

    25 April 2024 - 09:07

    Azerbaijani, Turkish communities hold rally against fictitious Armenian genocide in Washington

    PHOTO

    25 April 2024 - 09:00

    EU’s 2050 net zero goals at risk as electric vehicle rollout faces setbacks

    25 April 2024 - 07:03

    World’s largest wealth fund issues inflation warning on hot commodity markets

    real wildcard

    25 April 2024 - 05:04

    How US F-16 fighter jets stack up to Su-35s sent to Iran?

    25 April 2024 - 03:05

    Belgian brewer whose body produces its own alcohol cleared of drink driving

    25 April 2024 - 01:03

    Milan becomes latest European hotspot to battle overtourism

    No ice cream and pizza after midnight

    24 April 2024 - 23:00

    Germany's position on Taurus remains unchanged

    24 April 2024 - 20:59

    German business activity increasing in April

    24 April 2024 - 20:48

    Baku to host space technology conf for Central Asian region

    24 April 2024 - 20:45

    Sweden’s plan for worst-case scenario

    War spreading in Europe

    24 April 2024 - 20:40

    President’s special rep: Karabakh can be called eco-region of Azerbaijan

    24 April 2024 - 20:32

    Azerbaijani energy minister holds talks with Algerian delegation on advancing bilateral cooperation

    24 April 2024 - 20:28

    China's Xiaomi selling more EVs than expected

    raising hopes it can break even sooner

    24 April 2024 - 20:24

    France proposes new EU sanctions to fight Russian disinformation

    24 April 2024 - 20:18

    European Commission disburses additional $1.6 billion in bridge financing to Ukraine

    24 April 2024 - 20:16

    Serb Member of Presidency of Bosnia & Herzegovina Željka Cvijanović invited to COP29

    24 April 2024 - 20:12

    UK to transfer Paveway IV bombs to Ukraine

    PHOTO

    24 April 2024 - 19:59

    Azerbaijani minister, Uzbek ambassador discuss defence cooperation issues

    PHOTO

    24 April 2024 - 19:48

    State reception commences to honor Kyrgyz President Sadyr Zhaparov

    24 April 2024 - 19:40

    MFA: Azerbaijan continues contributing to peace, security

    24 April 2024 - 19:35

    Kyrgyz president pays tribute to Azerbaijani martyrs

    24 April 2024 - 19:30

    Azerbaijani MPs, assistants to US congressmen discuss relations with Armenia, Russia

    PHOTO

    24 April 2024 - 19:27

    Kyrgyz president pays respect to Great Leader Heydar Aliyev

    24 April 2024 - 19:19

    Turkish president appeals to Armenian Patriarch

    24 April 2024 - 19:15

    Türkiye rejects “one-sided” statements on 1915 events

    24 April 2024 - 19:09

    Air France plane safely evacuated at Heydar Aliyev Int’l Airport

    24 April 2024 - 19:08

    United Kingdom Maritime Trade Operations receives report of incident near Djibouti

    24 April 2024 - 19:03

    Azerbaijani, Kyrgyz leaders unveil monument to prominent novelist

    24 April 2024 - 18:55

    US Central Command, Royal Jordanian Air Force conduct humanitarian airdrops into Gaza

    24 April 2024 - 18:51

    Iran not to surrender to West's bullying, sanctions

    24 April 2024 - 18:45

    ADA University rep: Kyrgyzstan to become third country participating in school construction in Karabakh

    24 April 2024 - 18:36

    China’s president visits Belgrade around anniversary of NATO embassy bombing

    24 April 2024 - 18:22

    Best way to avoid war is to “talk less, prepare more”

    Finland’s president says

    24 April 2024 - 18:07

    International experts view restoration activities in Lachin

    24 April 2024 - 18:03

    Jamaica recognizes State of Palestine

    24 April 2024 - 17:53

All news

Армяновония вместо Франкофонии
    И вновь о словоблудии Пашиняна

    АНАЛИТИКА  22 Ноября 2022 - 16:12

    Гусейн Сафаров
    журналист Caliber.Az

    В тунисской Джербе на днях состоялся 18-й саммит Франкофонии, международной организации франкоязычных стран. С речью к участникам форума обратился прилетевшей в Тунис Никол Пашинян, премьер-министр Армении, входящей в это объединение, но никакого отношения к французскому языку не имеющей, кроме разве что особого пристрастия армян к французским именам. Выступление Пашиняна, по идее, противоречило формату саммита, но зато соответствовало армянской повестке, направленной на воспрепятствование достижению мирного соглашения между Азербайджаном и Арменией.

    Иными словами, армянский лидер примчался в Джербу, чтобы рассказать участникам международного мероприятия об «ужасной» ситуации на условной армяно-азербайджанской границе из-за «агрессивных намерений» Баку. Понятное дело, он выразил мнение исключительно армянской стороны, не подкрепив его ничем, кроме далеких от правды нарративов. Но, похоже, на нынешнем франкофонском сборище проблемы франкоязычных стран были отложены куда подальше – надо было посочувствовать Армении и поддержать ее трактовку событий.

    Естественно, армянские засланцы в Тунисе не постеснялись со слезами на глазах уверять всех в своем «миролюбии» и в том, что Азербайджан не хочет реального мира, отказывается от компромиссов, потому что задумал аннексировать «исторические армянские земли». В общем инициативу обсуждения армяно-азербайджанского урегулирования на саммите Франкофонии трудно назвать конструктивной как для стран - членов организации, так и для самой Армении. Впрочем, было бы верхом наивности ожидать от Пашиняна и его команды справедливой оценки процесса урегулирования азербайджано-армянских отношений, тем более на полях столь специфичного мероприятия, где собрались представители стран, большая часть которых не очень дружественно воспринимает Азербайджан и весьма благосклонных к Армении.

    Очевидно, Пашиняну захотелось в благоприятной для него обстановке еще разок испытать подъём национального духа, забыв, что всего два года назад для армянского народа это закончилось весьма плачевно. Судя по всему, он пытается вновь раздуть конфликт, не до конца сознавая, что выдвигаемые им утопические предусловия и абсурдное трактование мирного договора фактически повод для возобновления боевых действий. Не исключено, однако, что именно этого армянский лидер и добивается.

    В своей бравурной речи Пашинян, в частности, заявил, что «были подорваны принципы Устава Организации Объединенных Наций, в частности принцип неприменения силы против территориальной целостности другого государства, на котором основана наша коллективная безопасность, и, таким образом, постепенно воцаряется закон сильнейшего». И надо сказать, что в словах Пашиняна есть доля истины: принципы Устава ООН действительно были подорваны Карабахским конфликтом, но не сегодня, а в 1992-2020 годах, когда Армения оккупировала 20% территорий Азербайджана, предприняла этнические чистки азербайджанцев, учинила Ходжалинский геноцид, бомбила мирные азербайджанские города.

    Более того, армянская сторона на протяжении 30 лет нарушала все существующие международные конвенции, цинично игнорировала резолюции ООН, устраивала всевозможные провокации на границе. От установленных армянскими оккупантами на азербайджанских землях противопехотных мин до сих пор страдают мирные граждане. За все время армяно-азербайджанского конфликта на минах подорвались почти 3000 человек, 525 из них погибли. Фактом несоблюдения Устава ООН является и государственная политика Армении повсюду, куда дотянулись ее руки, уничтожать следы азербайджанцев в истории как находившихся у нее в оккупации азербайджанских земель, так и в пределах своей страны, где издревле проживали азербайджанцы. То есть осуществлялись попытки извратить историю азербайджанского народа, стереть с лица земли его культурное наследие.

    Обо всем этом, конечно же, и намека не было на франкфонском форуме, зато бурно дискутировались темы «коварства азербайджанцев» и «аннексионистской политики их страны».

    А Пашинян, вдохновленный радушным приемом франкофонцев, все усиливал антиазербайджанскую риторику: «Агрессия, жертвой которой стала Республика Армения 13 и 14 сентября текущего года со стороны Азербайджана, является прекрасной иллюстрацией такого положения дел. Неоправданная и неспровоцированная агрессия, которая привела к оккупации определенных частей территории Армении, а также к гибели, страданиям гражданского населения и значительным разрушениям. Мы ожидаем, что перед лицом этих новых угроз международное сообщество справедливо оценит ситуацию, сложившуюся сегодня в нашей стране, осудит оккупацию части территории Армении и потребует возвращения азербайджанских сил на прежние позиции. Армения, со своей стороны, твердо привержена продвижению переговорного процесса к мирному соглашению с Азербайджаном, а также обеспечению прав и безопасности армянского населения Нагорного Карабаха».

    Как следует из заявления Пашиняна, Армения традиционно уповает на международное сообщество, выдвигая при этом неприемлемые для Азербайджана требования. Однако, по словам премьера, для достижения мирного соглашения Баку должен пойти навстречу Еревану, то есть отвести свои войска от условной границы и согласиться на обсуждение с сепаратистами «статуса Карабаха». Одним словом, Пашинян озвучил комплекс армянских требований, услышав которые незнакомый с ситуацией человек решит, что это Армения выиграла войну и сейчас диктует условия мирного соглашения.

    Между тем сам смысл франкофонских речей Пашиняна нисколько не соответствует сути беседы, состоявшейся месяц назад в Праге между президентом Азербайджана и армянским премьером. К тому же если руководство Армении считает себя демократическим и рассуждает о создании мирных условий, то и вести себя должно в соответствии с демократическими ценностям и верховенством закона. Для начала Армения должна вывести с оккупированных азербайджанских территорий свои бандформирования, как того требуют пункты трехстороннего заявления от 10 ноября 2020 года и решения авторитетных международных организаций. А до тех пор, пока Ереван вместо реальных шагов для армяно-азербайджанского урегулирования будет заниматься словоблудием, риск военного решения вопроса остается большим. Пока Армения не станет действовать согласно своим обязательствам и позиции международного сообщества, не уберет своих боевиков и диверсантов с азербайджанских территорий, где временно размещен российский миротворческий контингент, не прекратит провокаций на условной армяно-азербайджанской границе, за Баку останется право выбора методов преодоления разногласий. Два года назад Азербайджан уже доказал, что способен решить проблему 30-летней давности за 44 дня, а сегодня у Армении для принятия конструктивного решения нет даже этих четырех десятков дней. И чем раньше политический истеблишмент Армении наконец сделает выводы, тем лучше для ее народа.

    Тем более что даже среди франкофонцев Пашинян не достиг желаемого. Как сказал накануне Ильхам Алиев на торжественном мероприятии, посвященном 30-летию основания правящей партии «Ени Азербайджан», «все антиазербайджанские тезисы были сняты благодаря усилиям наших друзей из организации Франкофония - мы их хорошо знаем, и они наши друзья в прямом смысле этого слова. Франко-армянский тандем не смог воспользоваться и этой возможностью».

    Может, хоть это правильно мотивирует армянские власти и настроит их на конструктивность в принятии решений по урегулированию отношений с Азербайджаном.

    Caliber.Az

    Просмотров: 3169

    Подписывайтесь на наш Telegram-канал


Читайте также

Дипломатия со знаком плюс Баку создал новую геополитическую реальность

20 Апреля 2024 - 18:11

Иран-Израиль: противостояние, возможности и ограничения Расклад Шерешевского

20 Апреля 2024 - 17:00

Запад открывает «второй фронт»: цель — Китай Аналитика Сергея Богдана

20 Апреля 2024 - 15:50

Триумф Алиева, неспокойная Грузия и дуэль на Ближнем Востоке «События» с Мурадом Абиевым

20 Апреля 2024 - 19:35

Российский уход из Карабаха и стратегия просчитанного риска Размышления Орхана Амашова

20 Апреля 2024 - 17:35

Как это делалось в Новом Свете-2 «Неудобная правда» Самита Алиева

21 Апреля 2024 - 16:18
РЕКЛАМА
Видео
Последние новости

    В Мексике произошло сильное землетрясение

    22 Апреля 2024 - 00:30

    NBC: Байден может потерять поддержку мусульман на выборах президента

    22 Апреля 2024 - 00:13

    Сель полностью заблокировал трассу Армения-Иран

    ВИДЕО

    21 Апреля 2024 - 23:59

    В Гяндже заработало почетное консульство Узбекистана

    21 Апреля 2024 - 23:47

    Столтенберг: У НАТО нет планов отправить в Украину боевые подразделения

    21 Апреля 2024 - 23:39

    Перекрывшие трассу в Армении не собираются расходиться

    21 Апреля 2024 - 23:25

    В Азербайджане обнаружен труп 45-летнего мужчины

    21 Апреля 2024 - 23:11

    В Германии панельные дома времен социализма признали памятниками архитектуры

    21 Апреля 2024 - 22:58

    МЮ сыграет в финале Кубка Англии с «Ман Сити»

    21 Апреля 2024 - 22:45

    Чемпионат Европы: Три азербайджанских боксера вышли в 1/4 финала

    21 Апреля 2024 - 22:35

    Шольц в разговоре с Нетаньяху заявил о необходимости не допустить эскалации

    21 Апреля 2024 - 22:20

    Норвегия планирует потратить на оборону 52 млрд евро

    21 Апреля 2024 - 22:00

    В Премьер-лиге Азербайджана по футболу подведены итоги 31-го тура

    21 Апреля 2024 - 21:51

    Тысячи жителей Стамбула приняли участие в акции в поддержку жителей Газы

    21 Апреля 2024 - 21:40

    Президент ТРСК посетит с визитом Азербайджан

    21 Апреля 2024 - 21:37

    Зеленский заявил о шансе на победу

    21 Апреля 2024 - 21:20

    В Огузе автомобиль врезался в столб, пострадали два человека

    21 Апреля 2024 - 21:12

    Парижский префект заявил о сохранении во Франции повышенной террористической угрозы

    21 Апреля 2024 - 21:00

    В Иордании заявили, что операция Израиля в Рафахе обернется бойней и безумием

    21 Апреля 2024 - 20:40

    В Армении протестуют против возвращения Азербайджану четырех сел

    21 Апреля 2024 - 20:26

    Нетаньяху заявил, что будет изо всех сил бороться с санкциями против армии Израиля

    21 Апреля 2024 - 20:20

    Немецкие округа потребовали остановить приток украинских беженцев

    21 Апреля 2024 - 20:00

    В Литве начались военные учения с участием союзников по НАТО

    21 Апреля 2024 - 19:48

    Нетаньяху заявил, что Израиль усилит давление на ХАМАС

    21 Апреля 2024 - 19:35

    Германия одобрила экспорт оружия более чем на €5 млрд

    21 Апреля 2024 - 19:23

    На территории рынка в Хачмазе возник пожар

    21 Апреля 2024 - 19:22

    Изабель Бонналь: Азербайджан признан страной, внесшей вклад в мировой спорт

    21 Апреля 2024 - 19:09

    Премьер-лига: «Кяпаз» уступил «Сабаху» в 31-м туре

    21 Апреля 2024 - 19:09

    СМИ: площадь лесов Мали сокращается на 100 тыс. га в год из-за незаконной вырубки

    21 Апреля 2024 - 18:55

    Президент ACES: Надеюсь, что Баку будет избран спортивной столицей мира

    21 Апреля 2024 - 18:52

    «Хезболлах» обстреляла ракетами израильские военные объекты в Западной Галилее

    21 Апреля 2024 - 18:43

    В Шри-Ланке автомобиль врезался в толпу зрителей на гонках

    21 Апреля 2024 - 18:30

    Генсек ACES заявил, что поражен гостеприимством Баку

    21 Апреля 2024 - 18:24

    В Нигере состоялась демонстрация с требованием вывода войск США

    21 Апреля 2024 - 18:17

    Оценен ущерб от климатических изменений

    21 Апреля 2024 - 18:05

    Баку номинирован на звание спортивной столицы мира в 2026 году

    21 Апреля 2024 - 18:01

    Латвия откажется от изучения русского языка в школах

    21 Апреля 2024 - 17:52

    В США 10-летний мальчик признался в убийстве спящего незнакомца

    21 Апреля 2024 - 17:40

    Около 3 тыс. жителей Мьянмы пересекли границу с Таиландом из-за боевых действий

    21 Апреля 2024 - 17:28

    Под угрозой паводка в Китае оказались более 127 млн человек

    21 Апреля 2024 - 17:15

Все новости