Armenia's CSTO withdrawal: A strategic move or political maneuvering?
    Tug of war between alliances, economic realities

    INTERVIEWS  13 May 2024 - 11:23

    Samir Ibrahimov

    Armenia will not allocate funds to finance the activities of the Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO), announced Ani Badalyan, spokesperson for the Foreign Ministry, in response to an inquiry from Factor. "Armenia will abstain from endorsing the CSTO's budget decision for 2024, scheduled for November 23, 2023, and consequently, will not contribute to financing the organization's activities," she stated. Badalyan further mentioned that Yerevan will not oppose the approval of the CSTO budget in a limited capacity. Previously, Armenia had actually frozen its membership in the CSTO, ceasing its participation in the bloc's activities, including joint military exercises.

    Subsequently, Pashinyan allowed withdrawal from the CSTO if the organization does not designate the borders of Armenia's sovereign territory, which it is ready to defend. The Russian Foreign Ministry called this statement "ultimatum and insulting rhetoric". Russian President Vladimir Putin noted that Armenia's withdrawal from the CSTO does not meet Yerevan's interests.

    What is behind Yerevan's decision to stop funding the organization? Is it possible to assume that all the critical statements and decisions of the Armenian leadership regarding the CSTO over the past years have consistently served one purpose - the collapse of this military bloc, whose behavior there is called treasonous?

    Foreign political commentators responded to these questions from Caliber.Az.

    Russian political scientist and head of the expert-analytical network PolitRus, Vitaly Arkov, believes that Armenia's withdrawal from the CSTO will not be the reason for the organization's abolition, so all the efforts of Pashinyan's "friends" in Paris, Brussels and Washington are absolutely in vain.

    "Several states are currently interested in cooperation with the CSTO, including not excluding joining as a full member. First of all.

    Furthermore, the likelihood of Armenia's definitive withdrawal from the CSTO remains highly uncertain. In contemporary Armenian politics, irrespective of the leadership, there is a tendency towards utilizing ultimatums and leveraging for personal gains. We are currently witnessing another manifestation of this trend, where the astute Pashinyan has positioned Armenia's CSTO membership as a bargaining chip in negotiations with both the Kremlin and the West - weighing the offers for its preservation or withdrawal. Yerevan's decision to abstain from financing CSTO activities in 2024 only escalates the stakes in these negotiations. Additionally, it seems improbable that Armenia is utilizing its own funds for this purpose - rather, it likely only allocated a fraction of the loans regularly received from Russia, which are frequently renegotiated and sometimes outright forgiven," stated the expert.

    And it seems that Yerevan's blackmail is again reaching its goal – ahead of Nikol Pashinyan's visit to Moscow, it became known that the Eurasian Fund for Stabilization and Development (EFSD) will provide Armenia with a $100 million tranche for the implementation of economic reforms, he noted.

    "It is not difficult to calculate that this is a multiple of the amount of Armenia's annual contribution to the CSTO. It is obvious that the economic reforms in Armenia are carried out only on paper, and once again the money allocated by the EFSD will be used to patch the holes of the Armenian budget, which is treated as a personal purse by the Prime Minister’s wife Anna Hakobyan, who has climbed to the top of the Armenian corruption pyramid.

    It is noteworthy that Nikol Pashinyan refrains from publicly addressing Armenia's membership in the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) in discussions with the Kremlin. This caution likely stems from concerns that his family and close associates wield considerable influence over, or impose a form of corruption tax on, many of the economic initiatives within the EAEU. Any shift in Armenia's stance could potentially jeopardize these ventures and the substantial profits derived from parallel imports/exports facilitated by Armenia's ability to navigate around anti-Russian sanctions.

    The Western powers are cognizant of the origins of the capital amassed by the Pashinyan-Hakobyan family, much of which is diverted to accounts primarily in France and Canada. Initially promised immunity, these assets are now under scrutiny, with threats looming to freeze accounts, seize real estate and business holdings linked to Pashinyan, and impose personal sanctions for alleged corruption and involvement in income-generating schemes with Moscow that circumvent sanctions. Consequently, Pashinyan finds himself in a precarious position, grappling with mounting pressure from both Eastern and Western fronts.

    Kyrgyz political expert, Doctor of Historical Sciences, Professor Askar Dzhakishev noted in his turn that during the last three decades of the CSTO's existence this military-political organization has experienced various metamorphoses.

    "The reason for the establishment of the CSTO was the bloody armed conflict in Tajikistan. The expectation was that it would become the very mechanism for resolving, predominantly by political methods, the emerging conflict situations. However, not all CSTO member states were satisfied with their stay in the organization. For example, Uzbekistan has twice joined and twice left the CSTO. Azerbaijan also left the CSTO, apparently convinced of the futility of resolving the Karabakh problem with the help of the CSTO.

    Today Armenia, represented by Pashinyan, dissatisfied with the position of the CSTO, primarily Russia, is purposefully seeking to leave the organization. Armenia sees NATO as an alternative to the CSTO, which creates a new round of tension in the South Caucasus region," Dzhakishev underlined.

    Caliber.Az

    Subscribe to our Telegram channel


Read also

Armenian PM underestimates leader of Belarus Experts’ opinions at Caliber.Az

13 June 2024 - 19:05

Armenia exists thanks to Collective Security Treaty Organisation Russian experts’ opinions at Caliber.Az

14 June 2024 - 12:20

Belfast Agreement serves as model for Armenia-Azerbaijan peace talks Drawing parallels

11 June 2024 - 17:31

Azerbaijani's President visit to Egypt: A step towards greater economic influence in the Middle East? Expert weighs in

09 June 2024 - 13:42

Azerbaijan’s military, economic potential shapes future of Caucasus Jamestown Foundation senior fellow’s opinion at Caliber.Az

10 June 2024 - 11:11

European Parliament elections: Potential impact on EU-Azerbaijan ties Expert opinions on Caliber.Az

08 June 2024 - 15:15
ADVERTS
Video
Latest news

    Europe’s gas supply risks remain despite record storage levels

    15 June 2024 - 07:03

    Mystery as Russia abruptly flips nuclear drill scenario

    15 June 2024 - 05:04

    Is Macron’s gamble France’s Brexit moment?

    15 June 2024 - 03:05

    Trump's Boeing 757 isn't perfect private jet, but it's perfect for him

    15 June 2024 - 01:03

    This is largest hydrogen engine in history

    It will take years to build, and this is what it will be for

    14 June 2024 - 23:04

    Azerbaijan, Albania foster trade ties through business meeting in Baku

    14 June 2024 - 20:59

    Astana hosts preparatory meeting for COP29 in Baku

    14 June 2024 - 20:42

    Azerbaijan’s Defence Minister extends Eid al-Adha greetings to armed forces

    14 June 2024 - 20:37

    Azerbaijani exclave military lyceum celebrates 2024 cadet graduation with solemn ceremony

    14 June 2024 - 20:29

    Armenian forces fire on Azerbaijani positions in Nakhchivan

    14 June 2024 - 20:19

    Iran reaffirms commitment to NPT amid Western pressure - Supreme Leader's adviser

    14 June 2024 - 20:14

    Türkiye’s ASELSAN signs contracts with clients in Asia, Middle East

    PHOTO/VIDEO

    14 June 2024 - 19:55

    Azeri girl makes history as first Azerbaijani woman to graduate from MIT with full support

    14 June 2024 - 19:39

    Russia says detained US reporter Gershkovich will stand trial over "CIA work"

    14 June 2024 - 19:26

    Luxembourg, Azerbaijan hold consular consultations

    14 June 2024 - 19:14

    The complexities of regional integration in Middle East

    Tensions and opportunities

    14 June 2024 - 19:07

    Turkish intelligence officers uncover Mossad cell in Europe

    PHOTO

    14 June 2024 - 19:02

    Azerbaijan, Bangladesh bolster diplomatic ties, discuss regional co-op

    PHOTO

    14 June 2024 - 18:50

    Top military brass oversees tactical & special drills with Azerbaijani army's engineering units

    14 June 2024 - 18:38

    Germany to transfer new aid package to Ukraine

    HIMARS, IRIS-T air defence systems

    14 June 2024 - 18:26

    Baku welcomes Belgrade for talks on defence and regional security

    PHOTO/VIDEO

    14 June 2024 - 18:14

    EU, Azerbaijan discuss partnership within COP29

    14 June 2024 - 18:02

    Central Asia's rare-earth reserves & global geopolitics

    The new great game

    14 June 2024 - 17:50

    Israeli defence minister slams French president over Hezbollah comments

    14 June 2024 - 17:38

    Russian defence ministry establishes Volunteer Corps

    Report by UK’s Defence Intelligence

    14 June 2024 - 17:26

    Azerbaijan, Serbia strengthen defence cooperation with high-level talks

    PHOTO

    14 June 2024 - 17:14

    Putin outlines conditions for peace with Ukraine

    14 June 2024 - 17:02

    Greek premier reshuffles Cabinet over party’s dismal EU polls performance

    14 June 2024 - 16:50

    Hamas admits they don’t know how many hostages are still alive

    14 June 2024 - 16:38

    Azerbaijan gears up for digital transformation on the horizon

    World Economic Forum appreciates Baku's efforts in IT sector

    14 June 2024 - 16:26

    Armenia issues protest note to Belarus amid diplomatic tensions

    14 June 2024 - 16:14

    Last bell rings after 32 years in schools of Azerbaijan’s Fuzuli

    PHOTO

    14 June 2024 - 16:14

    Bruised Macron puts on brave face at G7

    14 June 2024 - 16:02

    Azerbaijan approves customs protocol with Kyrgyzstan

    14 June 2024 - 15:50

    Tajik MP suspected of plotting coup d'état

    14 June 2024 - 15:38

    Turkish naval mission to Japan: A historical & strategic outreach

    Marking century of diplomacy & Ertuğrul tragedy

    14 June 2024 - 15:26

    Finland suspects four Russian military planes violated its airspace

    14 June 2024 - 15:14

    Euro 2024 kickoff: Germany to face Scotland in opening match

    14 June 2024 - 15:02

    G-7 pledge to step up action on Russia oil fleet, energy, metals

    14 June 2024 - 14:48

    US Israel’s key intelligence partner in search for hostages

    14 June 2024 - 14:33

All news

ОДКБ не заметит ухода Армении
    Экспертные мнения на Caliber.Az

    ИНТЕРВЬЮ  13 Мая 2024 - 09:35

    Самир Ибрагимов

    Армения не будет выделять деньги на финансирование деятельности Организации Договора о коллективной безопасности (ОДКБ), сообщила пресс-секретарь Министерства иностранных дел республики Ани Бадалян в ответ на запрос издания Factor. «Армения воздержится от присоединения к решению от 23 ноября 2023 года „О бюджете ОДКБ на 2024 год“ и, тем самым, от участия в финансирования деятельности организации», — сказала она. При этом Ереван не будет возражать против утверждения бюджета ОДКБ в ограниченном формате, добавила Бадалян. Ранее Армения фактически заморозила членство в ОДКБ и перестала участвовать в деятельности блока, в том числе в совместных военных учениях.

    Впоследствии Пашинян допустил выход из ОДКБ, если организация не обозначит границы суверенной территории Армении, которые готова защищать. В МИД РФ назвали это заявление «ультимативной и оскорбительной риторикой». Президент РФ Владимир Путин отмечал, что выход Армении из ОДКБ не отвечает интересам Еревана.

    Что стоит за решением Еревана о прекращении финансирования организации? Можно ли допустить, что все критические заявления и решения руководства Армении в отношении ОДКБ на протяжении последних лет последовательно служат одной цели — развалу этого военного блока, поведение которого там называют предательским?

    На эти вопросы Caliber.Аz ответили иностранные политкомментаторы.

    Российский политолог, основатель экспертно-аналитической сети PolitRUS Виталий Арьков считает, что выход Армении из ОДКБ не станет причиной упразднения организации, так что все старания «друзей» Пашиняна в Париже, Брюсселе и в Вашингтоне абсолютно напрасны.

    «Интерес к сотрудничеству с ОДКБ, в т. ч. не исключая присоединения в статусе полноправного члена, в настоящее время проявляют несколько государств. Это во-первых.

     

    Во-вторых, крайне сомнителен окончательный выход Армении из ОДКБ. Для современной армянской политики, вне зависимости от персон в руководстве, характерна «слабость» к ультиматумам и шантажу. Очередной пример мы наблюдаем и сейчас, когда членство Армении в ОДКБ ушлый Пашинян сделал предметом торга и с Кремлем, и с Западом — кто больше предложит за сохранение или выход. Отказ же Еревана в 2024 году участвовать в финансировании деятельности ОДКБ лишь повышает ставки в этом торге. Притом что вряд ли Армения тратила на это свои деньги — лишь немного выделяла из регулярно получаемых от России кредитов, которые бесконечно реструктуризируются, а попросту прощаются», — рассказал эксперт.

    И, похоже, шантаж Еревана вновь достигает своей цели — накануне визита в Москву Никола Пашиняна стало известно о том, что Евразийский фонд стабилизации и развития (ЕФСР) предоставит Армении транш на реализацию экономических преобразований в объеме 100 млн долларов США, отметил он.

    «Нетрудно посчитать, что это кратно больше суммы ежегодного взноса Армении в ОДКБ. Совершенно очевидно — экономические преобразования в Армении проводятся только на бумаге, а в очередной раз выделенные ЕФСР деньги пойдут на латание дыр армянского бюджета, к которому как к своему личному кошельку относится супруга премьер-министра Анна Акопян, взобравшаяся на вершину армянской коррупционной пирамиды.

    Примечательно, что вопрос членства Армении в Евразийском экономическом союзе (ЕАЭС) Никол Пашинян публично не поднимает перед Кремлем, поскольку его семейство и ближайшее окружение взяли под контроль или обложили коррупционной данью большую часть реализуемых в рамках ЕАЭС экономических проектов. Всего этого они могут лишиться в одночасье. Равно как и сверхдоходов с параллельного импорта/экспорта, осуществляемого с привлечением возможностей Армении в обход антироссийских санкций.

    На Западе осведомлены о происхождении капиталов семейства Пашинян-Акопян, которые выводятся преимущественно во Францию и Канаду. Где поначалу пообещали иммунитет, а теперь взяли Никола Пашиняна за тестикулы, пригрозив арестовать связанные с ним счета, недвижимость и бизнес, а также ввести персональные санкции за коррупцию и получение дохода с подсанкционных схем с Москвой. Вот и вертится теперь Пашинян как уж на сковороде», — приходит к выводу Арьков.

    Кыргызский политический эксперт, доктор исторических наук, профессор Аскар Джакишев отметил в свою очередь, что на протяжении последних трех десятилетий существования ОДКБ эта военно-политическая организация испытывала различные метаморфозы.

    «Поводом к созданию ОДКБ стал кровопролитный вооруженный конфликт в Таджикистане. Делался рассчет на то, что это станет тем самым механизмом по разрешению, преимущественно политическими методами, назревающих конфликтных ситуаций. Однако не все государства-члены ОДКБ были удовлетворены своим пребыванием в этой организации. Например, Узбекистан дважды входил и дважды выходил из ОДКБ. Азербайджан тоже покинул ОДКБ, по-видимому, убедившись в бесперспективности разрешения карабахской проблемы при помощи ОДКБ.

    Сегодня Армения в лице Н. Пашиняна, неудовлетворенная позицией ОДКБ, в первую очередь России, целенаправленно стремится покинуть эту организацию. В качестве альтернативы ОДКБ в Армении видится НАТО, что создает в регионе Южного Кавказа новый виток напряженности», — полагает Джакишев.

    Caliber.Az

    Просмотров: 1716

    Подписывайтесь на наш Telegram-канал


Читайте также

«Авантюры Еревана создают опасные перспективы» Три экспертных мнения на Caliber.Az

13 Июля 2024 - 17:57

Грузия: затишье перед бурей? Гела Васадзе в эфире Caliber.Az

12 Июля 2024 - 19:01

Пезешкиан и ирано-азербайджанские отношения: время покажет Лана Раванди-Фадаи в гостях у Caliber.Az

11 Июля 2024 - 13:16

Азербайджанцы за мир. А армяне? Экспертные мнения на Caliber.Az

10 Июля 2024 - 15:13

«Цена западных «пряников» выходит слишком высокой для грузинского народа» Caliber.Az из Тбилиси

09 Июля 2024 - 16:49

Карабахская декларация и феномен Орбана Тофик Аббасов в эфире Caliber.Az

09 Июля 2024 - 18:30
РЕКЛАМА
Видео
Последние новости

    Армения стала первым государством, в которое Индия экспортирует снайперские винтовки собственного производства

    13 Июля 2024 - 23:58

    Месси о продолжении карьеры

    13 Июля 2024 - 23:47

    Население Украины значительно сократится

    13 Июля 2024 - 23:26

    Азербайджанские гимнастки завоевали бронзовые медали в Норвегии

    13 Июля 2024 - 23:13

    Сборной Испании грозит штраф в финале Евро-2024

    13 Июля 2024 - 23:00

    Визиты Орбана в Москву и Пекин привели в ярость ЕС и НАТО

    13 Июля 2024 - 22:53

    Пашинян и Зея обсудили мирный процесс с Азербайджаном

    13 Июля 2024 - 22:40

    Россия с начала года выслала 65 тысяч мигрантов

    13 Июля 2024 - 22:24

    «Бешикташ» объявил о переходе Иммобиле

    13 Июля 2024 - 22:07

    Орбан продолжает отговаривать Украину от вступления в НАТО

    Bloomberg

    13 Июля 2024 - 21:49

    Лукашенко считает напряженность на границе с Украиной ликвидированной

    13 Июля 2024 - 21:35

    Египет требует от Израиля оставить палестинскую часть КПП «Рафах»

    13 Июля 2024 - 21:19

    Лукашенко считает необходимым «побыстрее договориться» по Украине

    13 Июля 2024 - 21:03

    В США вновь обсуждают Байдена

    13 Июля 2024 - 20:47

    Турецкий депутат: Победа Азербайджана укрепила атмосферу единства в тюркском мире

    13 Июля 2024 - 20:34

    В бакинском поселке навели чистоту

    ФОТО

    13 Июля 2024 - 20:22

    ХАМАС прекратило контакты с находящимися в Газе лидерами движения

    13 Июля 2024 - 20:19

    Швеция закрыла дело о подрыве на газопроводах «Северный поток»

    13 Июля 2024 - 20:06

    Мадридский «Реал» заработал на продаже футболок Мбаппе 800 тысяч евро

    13 Июля 2024 - 19:53

    Стартует регистрация для участия в пробеге классических автомобилей в Баку

    13 Июля 2024 - 19:41

    Фарид Гаибов выступил на мероприятии по Европейской гимнастике

    13 Июля 2024 - 19:29

    Эрдоган не верит в скорое завершение украинского конфликта

    13 Июля 2024 - 19:16

    Нелегально проживающие в Турции граждане Азербайджана получают документы

    13 Июля 2024 - 19:03

    Вежливый Баку, подвешенный Киев и растерянный Париж

    «События» с Мурадом Абиевым

    13 Июля 2024 - 19:01

    Европейская универсиада: Азербайджанские шахматисты вторые на соревнованиях по блицу

    13 Июля 2024 - 18:52

    Лоран Блан возглавил «Аль-Иттихад»

    13 Июля 2024 - 18:38

    Эрдоган намерен завершить операцию против РПК на севере Ирака

    13 Июля 2024 - 18:25

    Азербайджанские гимнасты в финале международного турнира

    13 Июля 2024 - 18:21

    Economist о перспективах вступления Украины в НАТО

    13 Июля 2024 - 17:59

    «Авантюры Еревана создают опасные перспективы»

    Три экспертных мнения на Caliber.Az

    13 Июля 2024 - 17:57

    В Баку пройдет фестиваль инноваций и технологий iFest

    13 Июля 2024 - 17:54

    Спасатели МЧС спасли тонущего человека в Пиршаги

    13 Июля 2024 - 17:51

    Число погибших в Газе возросло

    13 Июля 2024 - 17:50

    Свадьба сына индийского миллиардера обошлась в 600 млн долларов

    ФОТО

    13 Июля 2024 - 17:45

    Песков: Россия - в прицеле американских ракет, находящихся в Европе

    13 Июля 2024 - 17:44

    В России впервые за 40 лет не покажут Олимпийские игры

    13 Июля 2024 - 17:40

    ЦАХАЛ поразил склад с парапланами ХАМАС

    13 Июля 2024 - 17:20

    Мамед Аббасбейли назвал количество субъектов естественных монополий в Азербайджане

    13 Июля 2024 - 17:14

    ПТУР MILAN для РКК, а для Турции эмбарго

    ФОТО

    13 Июля 2024 - 17:10

    Кулеба: Мы не можем ждать еще 75 лет

    13 Июля 2024 - 17:00

Все новости