Pashinyan’s imponderable zingers and the question of self-sufficiency
    Contemplations with Orkhan Amashov/VIDEO

    ANALYTICS  08 December 2023 - 11:00

    Orkhan Amashov
    Caliber.Az

    In the latest episode of ‘Contemplations’, Orkhan Amashov reflects on the ‘contrived intractability’ of the Azerbaijani-Armenian peace process and on Armenian Prime Minister Pashinyan’s ‘imponderable zingers’, one of which is a vague and substance-free project marketed as “the Crossroads of Peace”.

    Life is a complicated affair. We all know it. We also probably know that there is no point in over-complicating situations whilst trying to find a solution to earthly quandaries.

    The prospective Azerbaijani-Armenian framework peace deal is not a simple affair; it is fraught with complexities. But it is not rocket science, by any measure.

    There is nothing intractable in concluding a document on normalisation, but it requires intensive efforts, goodwill and a modicum of mutual trust to be able to advance the tapestry of peace agenda items.

    More than anything, it requires a certain amount of self-sufficiency from both sides. Direct talk is not the magical panacea to all the Azerbaijani-Armenian woes, but it is the only way forward.

    Azerbaijan, by withstanding the combined US-EU pressure and by neutralising Russia’s sanctimonious and self-serving interference, has cleared the stage for such a mode of interaction. However, Armenia is not madly keen on direct talks, save perhaps for some meetings of the border commission on delimitation and occasional one-to-one encounters between the foreign ministers on the margins of bigger conferences, or within trilateral convocations mediated by the Western actors or Russia.

    It is abundantly clear to most of us that Yerevan needs a geopolitical heavyweight to prop up its low-rise edifices, and also needs a security guarantor of some kind to keep a beady eye on the process of normalisation. This goes against the grain of Azerbaijan’s vision of the House of Caucasus, wherein the regional actors should decide for themselves, without any outsider imposing conditions upon the parties.

    When Azerbaijan hears an ineffectual Eurocrat in the personage of Toivo Klaar, EU Special Representative for the South Caucasus and crisis in Georgia, say that Baku should be magnanimous and behave as a bigger and stronger party vis-a-vis Yerevan, making gestures to the latter, one cannot help but discern the highest pitch of humbug and hypocrisy that would befit Scrooge himself.

    During the nearly 30 years of Armenian occupation of Azerbaijan’s sovereign territories, Baku was repeatedly told to take into account the factual reality on the ground, to submit to Armenia’s illegal pretensions and cow to the consequences of the unseemly Russian-engineered aggression. And, now, Baku is required to be noble and magnanimous at the expense of the geopolitical advantages gained subsequent to the Second Karabakh War of 2020. 

    The question is one of moral equilibrium and the necessity of being disinterested, whilst mediating between the sides. Toivo Klaar could retort here and argue that he, or the EU itself, as such, was not involved during the protracted negotiations under the auspices of the beleaguered and besmirched OSCE Minsk Group. But then a smart aleck with attention to detail could retaliate, inquiring as to why the self-same gentleman was against the installation of an Azerbaijani border checkpoint at the entrance to the Lachin Road back in early 2023, instead of advocating for giving the Russian contingent additional instruments in the shape of scanner devices to check the goods entering Azerbaijan.

    Could it be that this was attributable to the EU’s desire to augment the Russian contingent’s functional prowess for the sake of inheriting the self-same powers, once Moscow’s troops were replaced by an international mission? Given that this, by and large, appears the only viable answer, then is it not the case that the EU did not act at the time as a disinterested party, but as a player intending to project greater influence in the region at the expense of Azerbaijan’s sovereign rights? Well, enough of rhetorical questions. Let us move on.

    Armenia’s mode of action regarding direct talks seems to be one contingent upon being as unreasonable as humanly possible, thereby proving that Baku and Yerevan are incapable of sorting their problems out on a bilateral footing. By responding to Azerbaijan’s peace treaty suggestions after considerable delays, and then replying with versions, which are not, in fact, answers to Baku’s proposals, but the reiteration of their earlier variations, Yerevan gives the simulacrum of negotiations in a manner befitting a Myna Bird reciting Shakespeare.

    On its own part, Azerbaijan, by means of insisting on results-oriented direct bilateral talks, eliminating any unhelpful external influence, continues to exercise the art of finely-calibrated coercive diplomacy. One small but telling example is that, for three years from 2020-23, Baku insisted on the Zangazur Corridor and Armenia denied its responsibility, as stipulated under Article 9 of the 10 November 2020 tripartite statement.

    In October 2023, Azerbaijan declared that the idea had lost its appeal, due to the lack of success in ensuring the land passage via Armenia, emphasising the alternative Iranian route. And then Pashinyan sprung to action like a primed Jack-in-the-box, offering a vague and largely insubstantial “Crossroads of Peace” project in order not to be excluded from the regional integration agenda. Again, the unseemly truth was that the Armenian Prime Minister was capable of acting relatively reasonably only under duress. Sadly, this remains true today. He can only function with his back against the wall.

    Pashinyan, a chameleonic time-waster, also likes to utter imponderable zingers that are ultimately propping up the disingenuous contrived intractability of the Azerbaijani-Armenian peace deal. Suggesting “a peace treaty is possible within weeks” or that “the bulk of the work is complete and final touches are to be added” are some of those zingers that serve no purpose and are solely a waste of rhetoric. 

    The project “Crossroads of Peace” is itself a type of zinger. It sounds big and lacks substance, much like a Goliath in the heat of battle. This is what it is. In the context of the Azerbaijani-Armenian peace process, there are enough ‘ponderables’ ‘fixables’ and ‘discernables’ that, once focused upon, will produce results. It is not a rocket science and has never been. 

    Caliber.Az

    Subscribe to our Telegram channel


Read also

Unpacking ethnic tensions ahead of Iran's parliamentary elections Azerbaijanis' discontent simmers

27 February 2024 - 09:14

Crumbling Colossus: Africa throwing off France's colonial shackles Sahel Alliance gives Macron his walking ticket

26 February 2024 - 18:01

Pakistan – Iran gas pipeline project restored. What is next? Calibrated response

26 February 2024 - 16:08

Khojaly massacre: the crime that never expires True scale of victims still unknown

26 February 2024 - 11:45

Rearming Armenia to revenge on Azerbaijan & challenge Russia's presence in South Caucasus France's open ambition

26 February 2024 - 09:12

Azerbaijan's new foreign policy priority: Elevating OTS globally Analysis by Daily Sabah

24 February 2024 - 15:25
ADVERTS
Video
Latest news

    Retired Azerbaijani colonel reunites with girl rescued from Khojaly atrocities

    Heartwarming reunion after 32 years/VIDEO

    27 February 2024 - 11:46

    Türkiye's 5th-gen stealth fighter KAAN to offer unique features

    27 February 2024 - 11:37

    Fire at Astana Airport causes flight delays

    27 February 2024 - 11:26

    WP: Hamas leader hiding in Gaza, but killing him risks hostages

    27 February 2024 - 11:17

    NATO sceptical of Russia annexing Moldova's Transnistria

    But ready to respond

    27 February 2024 - 11:08

    Israel to provide Ukraine with missiles, drone alert system - envoy

    27 February 2024 - 10:59

    Thousands of NATO soldiers gather for military drills in Poland

    Dragon-24 takes flight

    27 February 2024 - 10:50

    Azerbaijan, International Chamber of Commerce discuss COP29 preparations

    27 February 2024 - 10:41

    Armenian prime minister departs for Greece on working visit

    27 February 2024 - 10:38

    Azerbaijani naval special forces conduct counter-terrorism drills

    VIDEO

    27 February 2024 - 10:32

    Armenian parliamentarians criticise Zelenskyy's possible visit to Yerevan

    Advise him to deal with "domestic problems”

    27 February 2024 - 10:23

    Japan to announce new anti-Russian sanctions soon

    27 February 2024 - 10:14

    Houthis hit submarine communications cables

    27 February 2024 - 10:05

    Netherlands to allocate 100 million euro to Ukraine for artillery shells

    27 February 2024 - 09:56

    Russian analysts slam past Armenian gov’t for “monstrous policy” against Khojaly civilians

    Urge a tough punishment for the genocide's perpetrators

    27 February 2024 - 09:48

    Macron doesn’t rule out sending Western troops to Ukraine

    27 February 2024 - 09:39

    Hungarian parliament elects new president after predecessor's resignation scandal

    27 February 2024 - 09:30

    Yerevan, Tbilisi discuss defence coooperation

    27 February 2024 - 09:21

    Unpacking ethnic tensions ahead of Iran's parliamentary elections

    Azerbaijanis' discontent simmers

    27 February 2024 - 09:14

    Iran calls for global elimination of nuclear weapons

    27 February 2024 - 09:12

    Why Ukrainian president’s plea to fall on many deaf Republican ears

    27 February 2024 - 09:00

    Gold price trades just below two-week top amid sliding US bond yields

    27 February 2024 - 08:04

    China’s plan to reshape world trade on its own terms

    27 February 2024 - 06:03

    Cold War’s underlying conflict never ended

    27 February 2024 - 04:05

    How could nuclear weapons be used in space?

    27 February 2024 - 02:05

    The Economist: How Marine Le Pen preparing for power

    27 February 2024 - 00:01

    Qatar plans new gas output boost amid global price collapse

    26 February 2024 - 22:00

    Hungary urges PACE to restore Azerbaijani delegation's mandate

    26 February 2024 - 21:08

    President Erdogan: Türkiye locked on F-16s rather than F-35s

    26 February 2024 - 20:58

    Azerbaijani, Turkish leaders vow to further bolster strategic ties

    26 February 2024 - 20:51

    Ukraine publishes article about Azerbaijan’s Khojaly genocide

    26 February 2024 - 20:50

    Azerbaijan begins gas production from East North flank of Shah Deniz field

    26 February 2024 - 20:45

    Grand National Assembly: Justice for Khojaly – Türkiye’s motto as well

    26 February 2024 - 20:41

    World becoming “less safe by the day”

    UN secretary general warns

    26 February 2024 - 20:33

    Russian president not to delay his visit to Türkiye

    President Erdogan says

    26 February 2024 - 20:25

    Georgia publishes article about Azerbaijan’s Khojaly genocide

    26 February 2024 - 20:17

    French journalist arrested in Ethiopia accused of “conspiracy to create chaos”

    26 February 2024 - 20:07

    EU’s rep declares his right to criticise Israeli government’s decisions

    26 February 2024 - 19:55

    Armenian Foreign Minister to visit Türkiye

    26 February 2024 - 19:45

    Turkish parliament holds event on Azerbaijan’s Khojaly genocide

    PHOTO

    26 February 2024 - 19:35

All news

Пустопорожние остроты Пашиняна и вопрос самодостаточности
    Размышления Орхана Амашова

    АНАЛИТИКА  07 Декабря 2023 - 16:04

    Орхан Амашов
    Caliber.Az

    В очередном выпуске цикла передач «Размышления» Орхан Амашов рассуждает о «надуманной неразрешимости» азербайджано-армянского мирного процесса и «пустопорожних остротах» премьер-министра Армении Пашиняна, одной из которых является расплывчатый и лишённый содержания проект «Перекресток мира».

    Жизнь - сложная штука. Мы все это знаем. Мы также, вероятно, знаем, что нет смысла слишком усложнять ситуацию, пытаясь найти решение для всех земных проблем.

    Перспективное азербайджано-армянское рамочное мирное соглашение - дело не простое, там есть, конечно, определенные трудности. Но это же не ядерная физика - ни в коем случае. Нет ничего архисложного в том, чтобы заключить договор о нормализации отношений, но для того, чтобы продвинуть вперед все пункты мирной повестки дня, необходимы интенсивные усилия, добрая воля и толика взаимного доверия. Более того, это требует определенной доли самодостаточности от обеих сторон. Прямой диалог не является универсальной панацеей от всех трудностей в армяно-азербайджанском урегулировании, но это единственный путь к продвижению вперед. Выстояв под совместным давлением США и ЕС и нейтрализовав вмешательство России, Азербайджан расчистил площадку для такого способа взаимодействия. Однако Армения не очень-то стремится к прямым переговорам, за исключением, возможно, некоторых встреч пограничной комиссии по делимитации и случайных встреч тет-а-тет между министрами иностранных дел на полях масштабных конференций или в рамках трехсторонних переговоров при посредничестве западных игроков или России.

    Большинству из нас абсолютно ясно, что Еревану нужен некий гарант безопасности, который бы мониторил процесс нормализации. Это идет вразрез с азербайджанским видением Южно-Кавказского дома, в котором региональные акторы должны принимать решения самостоятельно, без навязывания каких-либо условий со стороны.

    Когда Азербайджан слышит, как неэффективный еврократ, специальный представитель ЕС по Южному Кавказу и кризису в Грузии Тойво Клаар говорит, что Баку должен быть великодушным и вести себя как сильная сторона по отношению к Еревану, делая определённые жесты, нельзя не заметить высочайший уровень хамства и лицемерия в стиле Скруджа.

    В течение почти 30 лет армянской оккупации суверенных территорий Азербайджана Баку неоднократно говорили, что он должен учитывать фактическую реальность на местах, подчиняться незаконным притязаниям Армении и корить себя за последствия агрессии, спровоцированной Россией. И вот теперь от Баку требуют благородства и великодушия в ущерб геополитическим преимуществам, полученным в результате Второй Карабахской войны 2020 года.

    Вопрос заключается в моральном равновесии и необходимости быть незаинтересованным, выступая посредником между сторонами. Тойво Клаар мог бы возразить, что он или ЕС как таковой не были вовлечены в затянувшиеся переговоры под эгидой Минской группы ОБСЕ. Но тогда умный человек, внимательный к деталям, мог бы сделать ответный ход, поинтересовавшись, почему тот же господин был против установки азербайджанского пограничного пункта на въезде на Лачинскую дорогу еще в апреле 2023 года, вместо того чтобы выступить за предоставление российскому контингенту дополнительных инструментов в виде сканеров для проверки товаров, поступающих в Азербайджан.

    Может быть, это объяснялось желанием ЕС усилить функциональные возможности российского контингента ради того, чтобы заполучить те же самые полномочия, когда российские войска будут заменены международной миссией? Если учесть, что это, по большому счету, единственный приемлемый ответ, то не получается ли так, что ЕС действовал в тот момент не как незаинтересованная сторона, а как игрок, намеревающийся усилить свое влияние в регионе за счет суверенных прав Азербайджана? Что ж, хватит риторических вопросов. Давайте двигаться дальше.

    Судя по всему, в вопросе о прямых переговорах Армения руководствуется принципом максимального упрямства в попытке показать, что якобы Баку и Ереван неспособны решить проблемы на двусторонней основе. Отвечая на предложения Азербайджана о заключении мирного договора со значительными задержками, а затем выдвигая версии, которые на самом деле являются не ответами на предложения Баку, а повторением их предыдущих вариантов, Ереван создает видимость переговоров в манере, подобающей птице Майна, цитирующей Шекспира.

    Со своей стороны, Азербайджан, настаивая на прямых двусторонних переговорах, исключая любое нежелательное внешнее влияние, продолжает оттачивать искусство тонко выверенной дипломатии принуждения. Небольшой, но показательный пример: в течение трех лет - с 2020 по 2023 год - Баку настаивал на создании Зангезурского коридора, а Армения отрицала свои обязательства, предусмотренные в 9 пункте Трехстороннего заявления от 10 ноября 2020 года.

    В октябре 2023 года Азербайджан заявил, что эта идея утратила свою актуальность из-за неудачи в построении сухопутного прохода через Армению, выбрав альтернативный иранский маршрут. И тогда Пашинян, как выпрыгнувший чёртик из табакерки, начал действовать, предложив расплывчатый и по большей части бессодержательный проект «Перекресток мира», чтобы не остаться в стороне от повестки дня региональной интеграции. И снова горькая правда заключалась в том, что армянский премьер-министр был способен действовать относительно разумно только под давлением. К сожалению, это остается актуальным и сегодня. Он может действовать только тогда, когда прижат к стене.

    Пашинян - хамелеон, прожигающий время впустую. Он любит говорить пустопорожние вещи, которые в конечном итоге поддерживают надуманную неразрешимость азербайджано-армянского мирного соглашения. Заявления о том, что «мирный договор может быть заключен в течение нескольких недель» или что «основная часть работы завершена, осталось добавить последние штрихи», - это одна из тех фразочек, которые не служат никакой цели и являются лишь пустой риторикой.

    Проект «Перекресток мира» сам по себе является одной из пустопорожних острот Пашиняна. Он звучит грандиозно и лишен сути, подобно Голиафу в разгар битвы. Вот что это такое. В контексте азербайджано-армянского мирного процесса есть достаточно конкретно решаемых и фиксируемых элементов. Если на них сосредоточиться, то можно получить определённый результат. Это же не ядерная физика и никогда ею не была.

    Caliber.Az

    Просмотров: 1602

    Подписывайтесь на наш Telegram-канал


Читайте также

Санкции против России, а в тупике — ЕС Аналитика Сергея Богдана

25 Февраля 2024 - 17:01

Ренессанс ядерного оружия: выжить в условиях анархии Расклад Евгения Прейгермана

25 Февраля 2024 - 09:10

Макрон против мира, грозное затишье в Газе и Медведев на острие войны «События» с Мурадом Абиевым

24 Февраля 2024 - 18:54

Регион на грани новой войны Тандем Макрон-Пашинян бросает вызов

24 Февраля 2024 - 11:01

Средний коридор как альтернатива Суэцкому каналу Обзор Caliber.Az

24 Февраля 2024 - 09:30

«Российский сапог» пригрозили выкинуть из Армении Когда и чем ответит Москва?

23 Февраля 2024 - 20:37
РЕКЛАМА
Видео
Последние новости

    Парламент Венгрии изберет президента и одобрит прием Швеции в НАТО

    26 Февраля 2024 - 08:30

    Криптобиржа Binance выплатит 4,3 млрд долларов властям США

    26 Февраля 2024 - 07:30

    Израиль назвал число потерь своей армии в Газе

    26 Февраля 2024 - 06:30

    Азербайджанский фигурист стал вторым в Италии

    26 Февраля 2024 - 05:30

    ТЮРКСОЙ: С уважением чтим память шехидов Ходжалинского геноцида

    26 Февраля 2024 - 04:30

    ОТГ: Чтим память жертв Ходжалинской трагедии

    26 Февраля 2024 - 03:30

    Лейла Алиева поделилась публикацией в связи с годовщиной Ходжалинского геноцида

    ФОТО

    26 Февраля 2024 - 02:30

    СМИ: Сегодня премьер Палестины объявит об отставке правительства

    26 Февраля 2024 - 02:00

    NYT: Директор ЦРУ совершил секретный визит в Киев

    26 Февраля 2024 - 01:30

    Посол Турции: Мы не дадим забыть Ходжалинский геноцид

    ФОТО

    26 Февраля 2024 - 01:00

    Израиль отложит операцию в Рафахе, если достигнет договоренности по заложникам

    26 Февраля 2024 - 00:31

    Мехрибан Алиева поделилась публикацией в связи с годовщиной Ходжалинского геноцида

    ФОТО

    26 Февраля 2024 - 00:14

    Минуло 32 года со дня Ходжалинского геноцида

    26 Февраля 2024 - 00:01

    Во Франции при сходе лавины погибли четыре человека

    25 Февраля 2024 - 23:44

    Цхададзе стал главным тренером азербайджанского клуба

    25 Февраля 2024 - 23:30

    Турецкие альпинисты почтили память жертв Ходжалинской трагедии

    ФОТО

    25 Февраля 2024 - 23:16

    Гаджиев: Ходжалинский геноцид был совершен при полном молчании международного сообщества

    ВИДЕО

    25 Февраля 2024 - 23:04

    Теракт в Буркина-Фасо: погибли 15 человек

    25 Февраля 2024 - 22:50

    «Ливерпуль» выиграл Кубок английской лиги

    25 Февраля 2024 - 22:37

    МИД: Ходжалинский геноцид является грубым нарушением международных конвенций

    25 Февраля 2024 - 22:28

    На севере Танзании в ДТП погибли 25 человек

    25 Февраля 2024 - 22:14

    Камера разбила лицо судье на матче чемпионата Испании

    25 Февраля 2024 - 22:00

    В Польше вандалы устроили «зерновую диверсию»

    25 Февраля 2024 - 21:40

    Зеленский: Мы были бы рады участию Азербайджана в Формуле мира

    25 Февраля 2024 - 21:37

    Зеленский впервые озвучил потери Украины на войне

    25 Февраля 2024 - 21:20

    Завтра в Баку изменится схема движения ряда регулярных маршрутов

    25 Февраля 2024 - 21:19

    Президент Ильхам Алиев поделился публикацией в связи с 32-й годовщиной Ходжалинского геноцида

    25 Февраля 2024 - 21:08

    США заявили об отсутствии на Украине достаточного числа летчиков, способных управлять F-16

    25 Февраля 2024 - 21:00

    Ученые помогут маркетологам проникнуть в мозг человека

    25 Февраля 2024 - 20:40

    QatarEnergy планирует к 2030 году нарастить производство СПГ до 142 млн тонн в год

    25 Февраля 2024 - 20:20

    В Токио запустили световое шоу, ставшее самым крупным в мире

    25 Февраля 2024 - 20:00

    Уралоглу: Зангезурский коридор является важным проектом, который соединит нашу страну с тюркским миром

    25 Февраля 2024 - 19:57

    США считают, что Нетаньяху подчеркивает глупость, отказываясь от создания двух государств

    25 Февраля 2024 - 19:45

    Эрдоган: Турция стоит плечом к плечу со своими братьями в Карабахе

    25 Февраля 2024 - 19:33

    СМИ: к северо-западу от Каира при крушении парома погибли восемь человек

    25 Февраля 2024 - 19:30

    Айхан Гаджизаде: Виновники Ходжалинского геноцида до сих пор не привлечены к ответственности

    25 Февраля 2024 - 19:20

    Потери Армии обороны Израиля с момента обострения конфликта достигли 580 человек

    25 Февраля 2024 - 19:15

    МИД: Мы с глубокой скорбью чтим память жертв Ходжалинской трагедии

    25 Февраля 2024 - 19:10

    МИД Ирана: удары США и Великобритании по Йемену противоречат международному праву

    25 Февраля 2024 - 19:00

    На севере Израиля прозвучали сирены воздушной тревоги

    25 Февраля 2024 - 18:45

Все новости