Armenia coming to terms with post-conflict reality
    What about the internal policy?

    ANALYTICS  11 December 2023 - 11:34


    The process of disbanding the "Artsakh Republic" became inevitable as a result of the substantive changes that took place in the negotiation process in August 2016, said Nikol Pashinyan, Armenian Prime Minister, Chairman of the Civil Contract party's Board, during the meeting of the initiative group in Ijevan.

    Undoubtedly, this was a statement aimed at the internal, purely Armenian audience. He mentioned the "Artsakh Republic" for the same purpose. Of course, an attempt is not torture, but somehow all this looks funny after Pashinyan's numerous statements about recognising the territorial integrity of Azerbaijan. True, all these recognitions were made by him not immediately and not at all willingly. This, however, does not prevent Pashinyan from blaming his mistakes on the former Armenian authorities.

    "In the negotiation situation we inherited, the inevitable way forward was not only the transfer of territories, etc., but also the dissolution and cancellation of the established state order in Karabakh," he said.

    Pashinyan blames everything on the heavy legacy of the Karabakh clan. Against this background, it makes sense to recall some facts that prove the fallacy of the Armenian prime minister's assertion. To begin with, I will mention the situation that emerged after the four days of fighting in April 2016, as a result of which Azerbaijan for the first time rigidly demonstrated its readiness and ability to restore its territorial integrity by military means. Indeed, until that time there was an opinion in Yerevan that it was possible to imitate participation in the negotiation process indefinitely while keeping our lands under occupation. Numerous myths were created about the "invincibility" of the Armenian army and the "insurmountability" of the so-called [former Armenian Defence Minister Seyran] “Ohanyan’s line”. Of course, the Armenian side's confidence in the correctness of its chosen path was also linked to the position of the OSCE Minsk Group Co-Chair countries. They also tried to keep the Armenian-Azerbaijani conflict "frozen", pursuing their own geopolitical goals. But all this was nullified precisely by the results of the four-day war in April.

    That was the exact reason why the third President of Armenia Serzh Sargsyan and Ohanyan were going out of their way to deny the defeat of the Armenian army, the liberation of over 20 square kilometres of our lands by the Azerbaijani Armed Forces and the transfer of strategically important heights under our control. Serzh and Seyran realised that the loss of power was close. This had happened indeed. It was the collapse of many myths in April 2016 that catalysed the processes that led to the change of power in Armenia in 2018.

    But what did the new Armenian authorities in the person of Nikol Pashinyan do? No, he did not abandon his previous line of imitating the negotiation process, did not agree to the withdrawal of Armenian occupation troops from our lands, and did not recognise the territorial integrity of Azerbaijan. On the contrary, Baku heard openly provocative statements from the representatives of official Yerevan. For example, in March 2019, then-Armenian Defence Minister David Tonoyan, who was on an official visit to the United States, said at a meeting with representatives of the Armenian community in New York: "As Defence Minister, I say that I have rephrased the formula "territories in exchange for peace" into the formula "new war - new territories". But this was only the beginning.

    Already in the summer of 2019, during a trip to the then-occupied Khankendi, Pashinyan declared in front of an angry crowd that "Karabakh is Armenia, and that's it!". Official Baku justifiably perceived Pashinyan's words as a refusal to negotiate a settlement of the Armenian-Azerbaijani conflict.

    On July 12, 2020, clashes started on the border between Armenia and Azerbaijan. This was a provocation organized personally by Pashinyan, who hoped to draw the CSTO and Azerbaijan into the conflict. His plans were not destined to come true, but the very fact of that provocation, as well as the above-mentioned actions of official Yerevan, contradict the current statement of Pashinyan, who is trying to blame his predecessors at the helm of the Republic of Armenia exclusively for the disbandment of the puppet entity.

    Undoubtedly, the turning point in changing Pashinyan's position was the 44-day war in 2020, after which he was forced to sign the Trilateral Statement, which was essentially an act of surrender for Armenia. And then there was the negotiation process, which took place in the new realities. Official Yerevan was forced to publicly recognize Karabakh as Azerbaijani territory at the quadripartite meeting in Prague in October 2022. It should be recalled that at that meeting the parties agreed that a peace treaty would be signed based on the UN Charter and the Almaty Declaration.

    Since then, we have been hearing regular statements by Nikol Vovayevich about recognizing the territorial integrity of Azerbaijan. They made the disbanding of the Karabakh junta inevitable. This is what happened at the end of September this year as a result of a brilliantly planned and implemented anti-terrorist operation.

    And now we see a completely new picture. There was a truly breakthrough joint statement of the Presidential Administration of Azerbaijan and the Office of the Prime Minister of Armenia, which laid an important foundation for the signing of a large peace agreement between the countries. I would like to emphasize that according to this statement, Baku and Yerevan agreed to support each other in some international platforms.

    Moreover, in a joint statement, Armenia said that it will support Azerbaijan's bid to host the COP29 conference. We can only hope that by that time a peace treaty between Armenia and Azerbaijan will be signed and RA Prime Minister Nikol Pashinyan will visit our country as a COP29 participant.

    Caliber.Az

    Subscribe to our Telegram channel


Read also

Azerbaijan, EU forge stronger ties Education, energy, and diplomatic frontiers explored

02 March 2024 - 17:13

African nations struggle to escape the shadow of French colonial rule The dawn of a decadent empire

02 March 2024 - 17:50

Azerbaijan explores new frontiers in its foreign policy landscape Opinion by Modern Diplomacy

02 March 2024 - 15:34

The Economist: Azerbaijan racing to rebuild Karabakh

02 March 2024 - 13:49

Regional transit in focus as Azerbaijan, Iran move closer Analysis by Amwaj

02 March 2024 - 11:38

Türkiye's military might set for significant boost US greenlights F-16 sale

01 March 2024 - 15:45
ADVERTS
Video
Latest news

    Russia's aerial bombing strikes Donetsk’s Kurakhove city, leaving 16 injured

    04 March 2024 - 09:35

    Bulgarian parliament speaker arrives in Azerbaijan

    PHOTO

    04 March 2024 - 09:24

    Armenian MP warns against Yerevan's withdrawal from CSTO

    04 March 2024 - 09:16

    Azerbaijani ombudswoman urges international pressure on Armenia for minefield maps

    04 March 2024 - 09:00

    Why Baltic states on NATO's frontline with Russia urging their allies to wake up?

    War in Ukraine

    04 March 2024 - 08:03

    Israel's wartime Cabinet rattled by dispute between Netanyahu, his top political rival

    04 March 2024 - 05:48

    Iranian singer sentenced to jail over Mahsa Amini protest anthem

    04 March 2024 - 03:59

    Intrigue swirls about possible reshuffles as China’s parliament convenes

    04 March 2024 - 02:04

    Two babies among 10 killed as Russia hits Odesa apartment block

    04 March 2024 - 00:12

    Spanish newspaper unveils consequences of Trump's possible election for Europe

    03 March 2024 - 22:01

    Global markets on edge as China initiates "second wave" of exports

    03 March 2024 - 19:56

    Malaysia may renew hunt for missing flight MH370, 10 years after its disappearance

    03 March 2024 - 18:30

    Iranian president holds talks with foreign leaders in Algeria

    03 March 2024 - 18:06

    Iraqi FM highlights Türkiye-Iraq development road as transformative project

    03 March 2024 - 17:54

    Tragic bus accident claims 6 lives in Syria

    03 March 2024 - 17:44

    Militants kill 170 people in northern Burkina Faso

    03 March 2024 - 17:35

    Hamas: Truce agreement with Israel possible within 24-48 hours

    03 March 2024 - 17:30

    Cypriot president seeks to enhance relations with Azerbaijan in digital age

    03 March 2024 - 17:17

    German chancellor vows probe into very serious leak of army talks on Ukraine war

    03 March 2024 - 16:58

    US official: Israel agrees to framework for Gaza ceasefire

    03 March 2024 - 16:43

    Torrential rains wreak havoc across Pakistan

    37 dead, dozens injured

    03 March 2024 - 16:34

    Türkiye announces coordination with Azerbaijan on border opening with Armenia

    "Fair behavior of Armenia is key"

    03 March 2024 - 16:32

    Türkiye hopes Ukraine ceasefire talks can start soon

    03 March 2024 - 16:22

    Turkish, Russian FMs discuss Caucasus peace process

    03 March 2024 - 16:11

    "Armenian-planted mines still pose serious threat"

    Statement by Azerbaijani MFA

    03 March 2024 - 16:05

    Officials: Russia intercepts 38 Ukrainian drones attacking Crimea

    03 March 2024 - 15:54

    Berlin police arrest two in manhunt linked to far-left RAF terror group

    03 March 2024 - 15:36

    Ambassador: Zangezur corridor can be vital in strengthening trust between Azerbaijan, Armenia

    03 March 2024 - 15:17

    Hungarian minister: Sending troops to Ukraine violates NATO’s decision

    03 March 2024 - 15:15

    Iran, Russia enhance energy cooperation

    New contracts on oil & gas fields

    03 March 2024 - 15:00

    Japan boosts international military drills amid regional tensions

    03 March 2024 - 14:42

    Azerbaijani man injured in Agdam landmine blast undergoing surgery in Barda

    His condition is severe/UPDATED

    03 March 2024 - 14:39

    Pakistan appoints new prime minister

    03 March 2024 - 14:24

    Azerbaijan, Algeria discuss expansion of cooperation between SOCAR, Sonatrach

    03 March 2024 - 14:04

    Iran asks Sudan to build permanent naval base in Red Sea

    03 March 2024 - 13:45

    Azerbaijan urges German organisations to cancel biased, pro-Armenian propaganda event

    03 March 2024 - 13:26

    Ship sunk by Houthis threatens Red Sea environment

    03 March 2024 - 13:05

    Korea's first spy satellite transmits good-resolution images of central Pyongyang

    03 March 2024 - 12:29

    Mass grave in Khojaly reveals remains of 14 Azerbaijanis tortured by Armenians

    Sombre realities of the past

    03 March 2024 - 12:14

    Israeli airstrikes kill 14 Palestinians in Rafah

    Including six children

    03 March 2024 - 11:58

All news

Армения: смирение с реальностью
    И заявления для внутреннего пользования

    АНАЛИТИКА  11 Декабря 2023 - 09:42

    Эльчин Ласи-заде
    Caliber.Az

    Процесс расформирования «республики арцах» стал неизбежен в результате содержательных изменений, произошедших в переговорном процессе в августе 2016 года. Об этом в ходе заседания инициативной группы партии «Гражданский договор» в Иджеване заявил председатель правления партии, премьер-министр Армении Никол Пашинян.

    Безусловно, это было заявление, направленное на внутреннюю, сугубо армянскую аудиторию. Вот и про «республику арцах» он упомянул с той же целью. Попытка, конечно, не пытка, но как-то все это забавно выглядит после многочисленных заявлений Пашиняна о признании территориальной целостности Азербайджана. Правда, все эти признания были сделаны им не сразу и вовсе не по доброй воле. Что, впрочем, не мешает Пашиняну перекладывать свои ошибки на прежнюю армянскую власть.

    «В унаследованной нами переговорной ситуации неизбежным путем вперед была не только передача территорий и т. д., но также роспуск и аннулирование установленного государственного порядка в Карабахе», - заявил он.

    Как видим, Пашинян валит все на тяжелое наследие карабахского клана. На этом фоне имеет смысл все же напомнить некоторые факты, доказывающие ошибочность утверждения армянского премьера. Для начала упомяну про ситуацию, которая сложилась впоследствии четырехдневных апрельских боев 2016 года, в результате которых Азербайджан впервые жестко продемонстрировал готовность и способность к восстановлению своей территориальной целостности военным путем. Действительно, до той поры в Ереване бытовало мнение, что можно бесконечно долго имитировать участие в переговорном процессе, сохраняя наши земли под оккупацией. Создавались многочисленные мифы о «непобедимости» армянской армии и «непреодолимости» так называемой «линии Оганяна». Безусловно, уверенность армянской стороны в правильности выбранного ею пути был связан и с позицией стран-сопредседателей Минской группы ОБСЕ. Они также старались держать армяно-азербайджанский конфликт «замороженым», преследуя свои, геополитические цели. Но все это было обнулено именно результатами четырехдневной апрельской войны.

    Собственно, именно поэтому третий президент РА Серж Саргсян и тогдашний глава МО РА Сейран Оганян из кожи вон лезли, отрицая поражение армянской армии, освобождение со стороны ВС Азербайджана свыше 20 квадратных километров наших земель, переход под наш контроль стратегически важных высот. Серж и Сейран понимали, что запахло потерей власти. И нюх их не подвел. Именно крах многих мифов в апреле 2016 года стал катализатором процессов, приведших к смене власти в РА в 2018 году.

    Но что сделала новая армянская власть в лице Никола Пашиняна? Нет, он не стал отказываться от прежней линии по имитации переговорного процесса, не согласился на вывод армянских оккупационных войск с наших земель, не признал территориальную целостность Азербайджана. Совсем наоборот- в Баку услышали откровенно провокационные заявления из уст представителей официального Еревана. К примеру, в марте 2019 года находившийся с официальным визитом в США тогдашний министр обороны Армении Давид Тоноян на встрече с представителями армянской общины в Нью-Йорке заявил: «Как министр обороны я говорю, что формулу «территории в обмен на мир» я перефразировал в формулу «новая война — новые территории». Но это было только начало.

    Уже летом 2019 года в ходе поездки в оккупированный на тот момент Ханкенди Пашинян заявлял перед беснующейся толпой, что «Карабах — это Армения, и точка!». Официальный Баку совершенно обосновано воспринял слова Пашиняна как отказ от переговоров по урегулированию армяно-азербайджанского конфликта.

    А 12 июля 2020 года на границе между Арменией и Азербайджаном начались столкновения. Это была провокация, устроенная лично Пашиняном, который надеялся таким образом втянуть в конфликт с Азербайджаном и ОДКБ. Его планам не суждено было сбыться, но сам факт той провокации, как и указанные выше действия официального Еревана, идут вразрез с нынешним заявлением Пашиняна, который пытается взвалить вину за расформирование марионеточного образования исключительно на своих предшественников у руля РА.

    Безусловно, поворотным моментом в изменении позиции Пашиняна стала 44-дневная война 2020 года, по итогам которой он вынужден был подписать Трехстороннее заявление, по сути являвшемся актом о капитуляции Армении. А далее был переговорный процесс, проходивший в новых реалиях. Официальный Ереван вынужден был пойти на публичное признание Карабаха территорией Азербайджана на четырехсторонней встрече в Праге в октябре 2022 года. Напомним, что на ней стороны согласились с тем, что мирный договор будет подписан на основе Устава ООН и Алматинской декларации.

    С тех пор мы и слышим регулярные заявления Никола Воваевича о признании территориальной целостности Азербайджана. Они, по сути, сделали неизбежным расформирование карабахской хунты. Так и произошло в конце сентября текущего года по итогам блестяще спланированной и реализованной антитеррористической операции.

    И вот сейчас мы видим совершенно новую картину. Имело место поистине прорывное совместное заявление Администрация президента Азербайджана и Аппарата премьер-министра Армении, которое заложило важную основу для подписания большого мирного соглашения между странами. Особо отмечу, что согласно этому заявлению, Баку и Ереван договорились поддерживать друг друга на некоторых международных площадках.

    Более того, в совместном заявлении Армения сообщила, что поддержит заявку Азербайджана на проведение Конференции COP29. Остается надеяться, что к тому времени будет подписан мирный договор между Арменией и Азербайджаном и премьер-министр РА Никол Пашинян посетит нашу страну в качестве участника COP29.

    Caliber.Az

    Просмотров: 4510

    Подписывайтесь на наш Telegram-канал


Читайте также

Макрон благословляет Страсбург Неокрестоносцы против Азербайджана

29 Февраля 2024 - 19:31

Ереван и Париж жаждут войны Подготовка видна невооруженным глазом

29 Февраля 2024 - 16:16

Государственное чувство юмора «Неудобная правда» Самита Алиева

29 Февраля 2024 - 17:05

Жилищный бум в Азербайджане с инфляционной подоплекой Рынок перегрет, но цены растут

29 Февраля 2024 - 15:00

Армянская игра на российских нервах Москва обязательно ответит

28 Февраля 2024 - 19:09

Армянский миф лопнул от укола Берлина Карабах — это Азербайджан!

28 Февраля 2024 - 16:52
РЕКЛАМА
Видео
Последние новости

    Талибы обвинили США в 1,7 тыс. случаев нарушения Дохийского соглашения

    01 Марта 2024 - 02:30

    Боевая группа НАТО в Румынии будет преобразована в бригаду в 2025 году

    01 Марта 2024 - 02:00

    Азербайджанские дзюдоисты выступят на Кубке Европы

    01 Марта 2024 - 01:30

    Трамп обжаловал запрет на голосование в Иллинойсе

    01 Марта 2024 - 01:00

    Семейная пара из Имишли погибла в ДТП в Ульяновской области РФ

    ФОТО

    01 Марта 2024 - 00:43

    Трамп призвал Байдена сдать тест на умственные способности

    01 Марта 2024 - 00:30

    Пентагон оценил ядерный арсенал РФ

    01 Марта 2024 - 00:00

    Избиратели в США назвали Байдена слишком старым, а Трампа — опасным

    29 Февраля 2024 - 23:40

    Евросоюз разморозил около 137 млрд евро для Польши

    29 Февраля 2024 - 23:15

    Обсуждены перспективы развития азербайджано-бразильских связей

    ФОТО

    29 Февраля 2024 - 23:06

    Погба прокомментировал четырехлетнюю дисквалификацию

    29 Февраля 2024 - 22:50

    Польша допустила запрет импорта российской сельхозпродукции

    29 Февраля 2024 - 22:25

    Около 30 азербайджанских сел останутся без газа

    29 Февраля 2024 - 22:13

    Гражданам Азербайджана в Германии будут оказаны выездные консульские услуги

    29 Февраля 2024 - 22:11

    В Палестине десятки людей погибли в давке за гумпомощью

    29 Февраля 2024 - 22:00

    Общественность США проинформировали о минной проблеме Азербайджана

    ФОТО

    29 Февраля 2024 - 21:53

    Торнадо обрушился на авиабазу ВВС США

    29 Февраля 2024 - 21:40

    В Киеве состоялась всеукраинская онлайн-конференция о Ходжалинской трагедии

    29 Февраля 2024 - 21:39

    Инфляция в Европе остается высокой

    29 Февраля 2024 - 21:20

    Посол по особым поручениям МИД Армении подал в отставку

    29 Февраля 2024 - 21:15

    В Берлине на сутки встал общественный транспорт

    29 Февраля 2024 - 21:00

    Азербайджанец награжден в Грузии

    ФОТО

    29 Февраля 2024 - 20:46

    В Нигерии задержали двух менеджеров криптобиржи Binance

    29 Февраля 2024 - 20:40

    В Азербайджане на конкурс выставят некоторые регулярные автобусные маршруты

    29 Февраля 2024 - 20:28

    Из массового захоронения в Ходжалы извлечены останки еще одного несовершеннолетнего

    29 Февраля 2024 - 20:21

    Европарламент призвал к международному расследованию смерти Навального

    29 Февраля 2024 - 20:20

    В Азербайджане ускорят строительство ветряной электростанции

    29 Февраля 2024 - 20:09

    Пророссийские хакеры взломали госсайты Молдовы

    29 Февраля 2024 - 20:00

    В Гяндже грузовик сбил 64-летнюю женщину

    29 Февраля 2024 - 19:48

    Макрон назвал взвешенными свои слова о западных войсках в Украине

    29 Февраля 2024 - 19:46

    Симонян: Ереван пытались «затащить» в Союзное государство

    29 Февраля 2024 - 19:38

    В Афинах студенты провели митинг против частных университетов

    29 Февраля 2024 - 19:34

    Макрон благословляет Страсбург

    Неокрестоносцы против Азербайджана

    29 Февраля 2024 - 19:31

    Азербайджанские арбитры отсудят матчи в Черногории

    29 Февраля 2024 - 19:22

    Азербайджан имеет в обращении евробонды на сумму более 2 млрд долларов

    29 Февраля 2024 - 19:12

    Создан способ точно определять местоположение человека по смартфону

    29 Февраля 2024 - 19:10

    Нетаньяху поздравил Алиева

    29 Февраля 2024 - 18:58

    Западные производители ищут замену рекордно дорогому какао

    29 Февраля 2024 - 18:57

    Обнародован валютный состав внешнего госдолга Азербайджана

    29 Февраля 2024 - 18:53

    Воспоминания очевидицы Ходжалинского геноцида опубликованы на голландском языке

    29 Февраля 2024 - 18:45

Все новости