The complexities of Israel-Iran dynamics
    Escalation or Restraint?

    ANALYTICS  03 April 2024 - 13:16

    Mikhail Shereshevskiy
    Caliber.Az

    On April 1, an airstrike in Damascus killed Brigadier General Mohammad Reza Zahedi, commander of the Iranian Revolutionary Guard Corps (IRGC) Quds Force in Lebanon and Syria. As usual, Israel did not claim responsibility for the strike, neither claiming nor denying anything. According to reports, the building housing the Iranian consulate was hit by multiple missiles, resulting in its destruction.

    Reuters reporters on the scene in the Mezzeh neighbourhood of Damascus saw emergency workers climbing through the rubble of a collapsed building inside a diplomatic compound adjacent to the main embassy building. Ambulances were parked outside. An Iranian flag hung on a pole in front of the rubble. The Syrian Foreign Minister and Interior Minister were seen at the scene.

    The IRGC officially acknowledged the deaths of seven of its high-ranking officers, among them General Zahedi.

    In order not to be confused by the Iranian system of military governance and to appreciate the magnitude of what has happened, a few things should be kept in mind. The IRGC is a second Iranian army with an independent command, where the most religious officers and soldiers are selected to serve. But the IRGC is also more than an army. It is a network of intelligence agencies, Basij militias designed to disperse protesters, and a super-corporation that controls, directly or through proxies and relatives, about half of Iran's economy. Iranian courts, prosecutors' offices, and a large part of ministries and agencies are under the organisation's control. It is no exaggeration to say that the IRGC is the system of the deep state, the core of Iran's political and economic system, which reports only to the supreme leader, Ayatollah Ali Khamenei, and at the same time ensures his control over the country.

    The Quds Force (or Qods Force - the word in this case means "Jerusalem") is an elite unit of the IRGC that oversees Iran's external covert and military operations. But in fact, the organization has great influence on the entire foreign policy of Iran. The previous head of the Quds Force, Qasem Soleimani, was sometimes called Iran's second-in-command after the Supreme Leader. He was killed on January 3, 2020 by an American missile at Baghdad airport.

    Although General Zahedi did not have the same influence as Soleimani, he reported directly to Qods Force commander Ismail Qaani and was in charge of all Iranian operations in Lebanon and Syria. He became the highest-ranking Iranian killed since the start of the current war, even higher than Syed Reza Mousavi, who was killed in December, according to the Israeli publication The Jerusalem Post. The head of the Institute for National Security Studies (INSS), Tamir Himan, said the following about what happened: “This is the most serious liquidation since the destruction of Soleimani. We are talking about the commander of the northern front of the Quds Force.” The Iranian ambassador to Syria, in turn, said: “The Iranian response will be very tough.”

    So, the Israelis killed one of the most senior leaders of Iran's armed forces. Just as importantly, they destroyed the Iranian consulate in Damascus with a missile strike. The consulate area is considered part of the country's territory, and what happened means nothing more and nothing less than an attack on the Iranian state itself. Why would Israel do this? There are several reasons.

    Since October 7 last year, the Israeli military has been fighting Iranian allies on multiple fronts. They storm the Gaza Strip, where they are opposed by Palestinian Hamas. At the same time, another Iran-linked group, the Lebanese Hezbollah, is shelling Israeli territory in the north, and the Israeli military, in turn, is striking Hezbollah and Iranian positions in Lebanon and Syria. In particular, they constantly attack airfields in Syria to prevent Iran from transporting precision weapons for Hezbollah. Thus, the new strikes are part of the Israeli military confrontation with Iran. But there is probably something more behind this.

    The US, which is an ally of Israel, at the same time restrains it. They are negative about the possibility that Israel will storm the Palestinian city of Rafah in Gaza, where both the remaining combat-ready Hamas units and about 1.5 million Palestinian refugees have accumulated. The Americans are also slowing down Israeli operations in Lebanon and at the same time trying to act as a mediator between Israel and Hezbollah on the issue of delimiting disputed areas between them. The US does not want an escalation of war in the Middle East, where its bases and allies are located, as America faces elections in November and the Biden administration is keen to avoid surprises and additional threats.

    For Israel's leader, Benjamin Netanyahu, the situation is just the opposite. His reputation in Israel has been badly shaken since Hamas was able to infiltrate Israeli territory and kill 1,200 Israeli citizens on October 7 last year. For Netanyahu, the long war must defeat Hamas, Hezbollah and Iran behind them in a major way, so that October 7 will be overshadowed in public memory and Netanyahu himself will be seen as a successful military and national leader as a result of the war. The Israeli strikes on the consulate in Damascus and the assassination of Iranian General Zahedi must be understood in this context.

    A fork in the road has emerged. There are two possible outcomes, and both seem convenient for Netanyahu. If Iran responds with hard rocket strikes against Israel - strikes that it or its ally, Lebanon's Hezbollah, would launch, Iran would thereby give Netanyahu carte blanche to launch large-scale operations in Lebanon and Syria, and maybe even bomb Tehran. In that case, the US, which is still Israel's ally and which has warned Iran, saying it should refrain from attacking Israel, may not be able to stop Israel. Tehran realises this too, and there is no desire there to be attacked by the high-tech Israeli air force. Iran's leaders want to live and they want to keep Iran's defence and nuclear industries intact.

    However, if Iran does not respond, it will show its weakness and thus give carte blanche for more Israeli attacks on any Iranian targets and dignitaries. This, too, looks like a threat. Most likely, Tehran will refrain from a large-scale retaliatory strike, but then its credibility will suffer and the threat of similar Israeli operations will increase.

    These are precisely the goals of the Israeli leadership. It is trying to put Iran in the most uncomfortable position possible, to force its leadership and its proxy, the Lebanese Hezbollah, to back down and not to prevent it from seeing it through to the end, i.e. to the complete elimination of Hamas in Gaza.

    Caliber.Az

    Subscribe to our Telegram channel


Read also

Azerbaijan supports Small Island Developing States, promotes multilateralism

28 May 2024 - 14:30

Macron's Indo-Pacific strategy faces crucial test amid New Caledonia unrest Wooing New Caledonians to stay under French rule

27 May 2024 - 17:30

Israel – Hamas war and conflict realities Fog of the war

27 May 2024 - 16:36

Celebrating the 106th anniversary of first Azerbaijani Democratic Republic Reflections on past achievements and prospects

27 May 2024 - 09:17

France's deceptive maneuvers with armored vehicles for Ukraine & Armenia

28 May 2024 - 13:24

Baltic tensions surge as Russia, NATO escalate military posturing Border clarifications and nuclear drills

27 May 2024 - 13:09
ADVERTS
Video
Latest news

    France warns of fake tickets for 2024 Olympic opening ceremony

    28 May 2024 - 16:58

    Pope uses homophobic slur in meeting with bishops — reports

    28 May 2024 - 16:45

    EU extends sanctions against Syria for one year

    28 May 2024 - 16:33

    Ambassador: Canada eager to collaborate with Azerbaijan at COP29

    28 May 2024 - 16:21

    Conference in Switzerland not to settle situation in Ukraine - Kremlin

    28 May 2024 - 16:09

    Iran to continue policy of strengthening ties with neighbors

    28 May 2024 - 15:54

    Sweden allocates over 56 million euros to boost Ukraine's energy system

    28 May 2024 - 15:35

    UN rep extends wishes for Azerbaijan's sustainable development

    PHOTO

    28 May 2024 - 15:21

    Lithuania's president re-elected in run-off vote

    28 May 2024 - 15:09

    Azerbaijani president lays foundation stones for new settlements in Karabakh on Republic Day

    28 May 2024 - 14:56

    China vs. USA: two approaches to competition

    Escalating economic and political showdow

    28 May 2024 - 14:43

    Azerbaijan supports Small Island Developing States, promotes multilateralism

    28 May 2024 - 14:30

    Poland unveils new Iron Curtain to protect Europe

    28 May 2024 - 14:16

    Belgium to send 30 F-16s to Ukraine before 2028 — top diplomat

    28 May 2024 - 14:01

    Azerbaijan urges international action to address mine threat

    28 May 2024 - 13:51

    Georgian parliament сonvenes to override presidential veto on foreign agents law

    28 May 2024 - 13:48

    Palestine anticipates recognition from four European nations

    28 May 2024 - 13:36

    France's deceptive maneuvers with armored vehicles for Ukraine & Armenia

    28 May 2024 - 13:24

    General Prosecutor's Office investigates mine explosion involving ANAMA employee

    UPDATED

    28 May 2024 - 13:22

    Iran secures deal with Russia for 12 Mi-17 helicopters

    28 May 2024 - 13:12

    Hungary rejects support for Ursula von der Leyen's re-election as EC chief

    28 May 2024 - 13:00

    UN Security Council to hold emergency meeting on IDF strike at Rafah

    28 May 2024 - 12:48

    Ukraine gets €1 billion in arms and security pact with Spain

    28 May 2024 - 12:36

    Georgian analyst discusses Tbilisi's politics, Armenian-Azerbaijani relations, French role in South Caucasus

    Giya Kuchava on Caliber.Az

    28 May 2024 - 12:32

    EU foreign ministers discuss sanctions against Israel

    28 May 2024 - 12:24

    Latvia to spend tens of millions on creating "drone army"

    28 May 2024 - 12:12

    EU pledges €2.12 billion in support of future of Syria, region

    28 May 2024 - 12:00

    Ex-PM Nawaz Sharif set to resume leadership of Pakistan's ruling party

    28 May 2024 - 11:48

    Almaty hosts Central Asian conf on climate change, preparing for COP29

    28 May 2024 - 11:36

    European countries not at war with Russia — Macron

    28 May 2024 - 11:24

    Baku Int’l Sea Trade Port discusses contribution to COP29 goals with UN reps

    28 May 2024 - 11:00

    British envoy praises Azerbaijan's role in regional security and climate action

    VIDEO

    28 May 2024 - 10:48

    Azerbaijan welcomes the world to Baku for COP29 on its 106th independence anniversary

    28 May 2024 - 10:36

    MFA congratulates people of Azerbaijan on Independence Day

    28 May 2024 - 10:28

    Turkish Foreign Ministry congratulates Azerbaijan on Independence Day

    28 May 2024 - 10:21

    Türkiye's National Security Council to address Azerbaijan-Armenia peace process

    28 May 2024 - 10:11

    French, German first ladies caught joking at Holocaust Memorial ceremony

    28 May 2024 - 10:10

    Azerbaijan celebrates Independence Day

    28 May 2024 - 10:04

    US top diplomat congratulates Azerbaijan on Independence Day

    28 May 2024 - 09:58

    Minister: Azerbaijani Army strengthens positions in liberated territories

    28 May 2024 - 09:46

All news

Израиль-Иран: развилка с двумя вариантами
    Расклад Шерешевского

    АНАЛИТИКА  02 Апреля 2024 - 16:06

    Михаил Шерешевский
    Caliber.Az

    В понедельник в результате авиаудара в Дамаске был убит бригадный генерал Мохаммед Реза Захеди, командующий силами «Кудс» иранского Корпуса стражей революции (КСИР) в Ливане и Сирии. Как обычно, Израиль не взял на себя ответственность за удар, ничего не утверждая и не отрицая. Согласно поступающим сообщениям, по зданию, в котором находилось консульство Ирана, был нанесен удар несколькими ракетами, в результате чего оно было уничтожено.

    Репортеры агентства Reuters, оказавшиеся на месте происшествия в районе Меззех в Дамаске, увидели, как сотрудники службы спасения карабкаются по обломкам разрушенного здания внутри дипломатического комплекса, примыкающего к главному зданию посольства. Снаружи были припаркованы машины скорой помощи. На шесте перед обломками висел иранский флаг. На месте происшествия были замечены министр иностранных дел и министр внутренних дел Сирии.

    КСИР официально признал гибель семи своих высокопоставленных офицеров, среди которых находился генерал Захеди.

    Чтобы не запутаться в иранской системе военного управления и оценить масштабы случившегося, следует держать в голове несколько вещей. КСИР — это вторая иранская армия с самостоятельным командованием, куда отбирают служить наиболее религиозных офицеров и солдат. Но КСИР также нечто большее, чем армия. Это сеть спецслужб, ополчения басидж, предназначенные для разгона протестующих, и суперкорпорация, контролирующая напрямую или через доверенных лиц и родственников примерно половину иранской экономики. Под контролем организации находятся иранские суды, прокуратура, значительная часть министерств и ведомств. Можно без преувеличения сказать, что КСИР — это система глубинного государства, ядро политической и экономической системы Ирана, которая подчиняется только верховному лидеру аятолле Али Хаменеи и одновременно обеспечивает его контроль над страной.

    Силы «Кудс» (или «Кодс» — это слово в данном случае означает «Иерусалим») — элитное подразделение КСИР, которое курирует внешние тайные и военные операции Ирана. Но фактически организация имеет большое влияние на всю внешнюю политику Ирана. Предыдущего руководителя сил «Кодс» Касема Солеймани иногда называли вторым человеком в Иране после верховного лидера. Он был убит 3 января 2020 года американской ракетой в аэропорту Багдада.

    Хотя генерал Захеди не имел такого влияния, как Сулеймани, он непосредственно подчинялся командующему cилами «Кодс» Исмаилу Каани, и руководил всеми иранскими операциями в Ливане и Сирии. Он стал самым высокопоставленным иранцем, убитым с начала нынешней войны, даже выше, чем Сайед Реза Мусави, убитый в декабре, как сообщает израильское издание The Jerusalem Post. Глава Исследовательского института национальной безопасности INSS Тамир Химан сказал о случившемся следующее: «Это самая серьезная ликвидация со времен уничтожения Сулеймани. Речь идет о командующем северным фронтом сил Кудс». Посол Ирана в Сирии, в свою очередь, заявил: «Иранский ответ будет очень жестким».

    Итак, израильтяне убили одного из самых высокопоставленных руководителей вооруженных сил Ирана. Что не менее важно, они разрушили ракетным ударом иранское консульство в Дамаске. Территория консульства считается частью территории страны, и случившееся означает не больше и не меньше как атаку на само иранское государство. Зачем это Израилю? На то есть несколько причин.

    Начиная с 7 октября прошлого года, израильские военные ведут сражения с иранскими союзниками на нескольких фронтах. Они штурмуют сектор Газа, где им противостоят палестинский ХАМАС. В то же самое время другая связанная с Ираном группировка, ливанская «Хезболла», ведет обстрелы территории Израиля на севере, а израильские военные, в свою очередь, наносят удары по позициям «Хезболлы» и иранцев в Ливане и Сирии. В частности, они постоянно атакуют аэродромы в Сирии, чтобы помешать Ирану перевозить высокоточное оружие для «Хезболлы». Таким образом, новые удары — часть израильского военного противостояния с Ираном. Но, вероятно, за этим стоит и нечто большее.

    США, которые являются союзником Израиля, в то же самое время сдерживают его. Они негативно относятся к возможности того, что Израиль будет штурмовать палестинский город Рафах в Газе, где скопились как оставшиеся боеспособными соединения ХАМАС, так и около 1,5 млн палестинских беженцев. Также американцы тормозят израильские операции в Ливане и одновременно пытаются выступать в качестве посредника между Израилем и «Хезболлой» в вопросе разграничения спорных районов между ними. США не хотят эскалации войны на Ближнем Востоке, где расположены их базы и союзники, поскольку в Америке в ноябре должны состояться выборы, и администрация Байдена стремится избежать неожиданностей и дополнительных угроз.

    Для руководителя Израиля Биньямина Нетаньяху ситуация как раз обратная. Его авторитет в Израиле сильно пошатнулся после того, как 7 октября прошлого года ХАМАС смог прорваться на израильскую территорию и убить 1200 граждан Израиля. Для Нетаньяху важно, чтобы в ходе длительной войны были нанесены крупные поражения ХАМАС, «Хезболле» и стоящему за их спиной Ирану и чтобы 7 октября в общественной памяти отошло на задний план, а сам Нетаньяху в результате войны предстал перед страной как успешный военный и национальный лидер. В этом контексте и нужно понимать израильские удары по консульству в Дамаске и убийство иранского генерала Захеди.

    Возникла развилка. Есть два варианта развития событий, и оба, как кажется, удобны Нетаньяху. Если Иран ответит жесткими ракетными ударами по Израилю — ударами, которые нанесет он сам или его союзник, ливанская «Хезболла», Иран тем самым даст Нетаньяху карт-бланш на широкомасштабные операции в Ливане и Сирии, а может, и на бомбежки Тегерана. В этом случае США, которые все же остаются союзником Израиля и которые предупреждали Иран, говоря, что ему стоит воздерживаться от атак по Израилю, может быть, и не смогут остановить Израиль. В Тегеране это тоже понимают, и там нет никакого желания подвергаться атакам высокотехнологичных израильских ВВС. Руководители Ирана хотят жить и они хотят сохранить в целости иранскую оборонную и ядерную промышленность.

    Однако, если Иран не ответит, он покажет свою слабость и таким образом даст карт-бланш на новые израильские атаки по любым иранским объектам и высокопоставленным лицам. Это тоже выглядит как угроза. Скорее всего, Тегеран воздержится от масштабного ответного удара, но тогда его авторитет пострадает, а угрозы продолжения аналогичных израильских операций возрастут.

    Именно эти цели и преследует руководство Израиля. Оно пытается поставить Иран в максимально неудобное положение, заставить его руководство и его прокси — ливанскую «Хезболлу» — отступить и не мешать ему довести дело до конца, т. е. до полной ликвидации ХАМАС в Газе.

    Caliber.Az

    Просмотров: 2301

    Подписывайтесь на наш Telegram-канал


Читайте также

США целятся по торговле Китая и России Расклад Шерешевского

23 Апреля 2024 - 18:50

Большая история на малой реке Исполняется год с установки ППП «Лачин»

23 Апреля 2024 - 19:37

Немощная рать Армянская церковь против мира

23 Апреля 2024 - 13:09

Граница на замке. И так будет всегда! «Неудобная правда» Самита Алиева

23 Апреля 2024 - 16:06

Энергомост под напряжением Баку, Москва и Тегеран соединяют энергосистемы

23 Апреля 2024 - 11:24

Установка ППП в Лачине и победа Азербайджана Как это было год назад

23 Апреля 2024 - 09:51
РЕКЛАМА
Видео
Последние новости

    Великобритания направит в Польшу истребители Typhoon в 2025 году

    24 Апреля 2024 - 03:30

    Индия заявила о готовности провести военно-морские учения с АСЕАН

    24 Апреля 2024 - 02:30

    Евросоюз раскрыл механизм изъятия российских активов

    24 Апреля 2024 - 02:00

    Прибыль крупнейшего автопроизводителя США взлетела

    24 Апреля 2024 - 01:30

    В Нью-Йорке задержаны 133 участника акции солидарности с Палестиной

    24 Апреля 2024 - 01:12

    Григорян не поедет в РФ на встречу высоких представителей по безопасности

    24 Апреля 2024 - 01:00

    Премьер Австралии назвал Маска «чванливым миллиардером»

    24 Апреля 2024 - 00:46

    Туск призвал прекратить конкуренцию между оборонными инициативами в Европе

    24 Апреля 2024 - 00:30

    Продажи iPhone в Китае рухнули

    24 Апреля 2024 - 00:00

    Азербайджанский фильм примет участие в Каннском кинофестивале

    23 Апреля 2024 - 23:53

    Германия призвала Баку и Ереван к установлению прочного мира

    23 Апреля 2024 - 23:41

    Спикеры парламентов ЕС поддержали создание общеевропейских сил быстрого реагирования

    23 Апреля 2024 - 23:40

    Трамп обвинил судью в нарушении права на свободу слова

    23 Апреля 2024 - 23:20

    Задержан замминистра обороны России

    23 Апреля 2024 - 23:05

    Генсек НАТО отверг возможность появления ядерного оружия в Польше

    23 Апреля 2024 - 23:00

    Nike готова продлить контракт с «Барселоной» на 4 года

    23 Апреля 2024 - 22:45

    В Армении начали задерживать активистов, перекрывших дорогу к Грузии

    23 Апреля 2024 - 22:44

    Предсказана рекордная жара предстоящим летом

    23 Апреля 2024 - 22:31

    Kia собирается выпускать 70 тыс. авто в год на заводе в Казахстане

    23 Апреля 2024 - 22:16

    В Германии признали, что в экономике страны есть проблемы

    23 Апреля 2024 - 22:03

    Туркменистан заключил меморандум по защите Каспия

    23 Апреля 2024 - 21:50

    США не будут возобновлять ядерные испытания

    23 Апреля 2024 - 21:38

    МИД России: Запад пытается дестабилизировать Южный Кавказ

    23 Апреля 2024 - 21:24

    В Ереване сожгли флаги Азербайджана и Турции

    ВИДЕО

    23 Апреля 2024 - 21:15

    В работе соцсети X произошел сбой

    23 Апреля 2024 - 21:11

    Apple отказалась от выпуска фирменных экологичных чехлов

    23 Апреля 2024 - 21:00

    Родившегося в Ханкенди малыша назвали в честь Верховного Главнокомандующего

    ФОТО/ОБНОВЛЕНО

    23 Апреля 2024 - 20:59

    Австрийский эксперт: Встреча с Ильхамом Алиевым была весьма интересной и продуктивной

    23 Апреля 2024 - 20:48

    В Турине пропалестинские манифестанты устроили беспорядки

    23 Апреля 2024 - 20:40

    Джеймс Шарп: Проведение СОР29 создаст широкие возможности для Азербайджана

    23 Апреля 2024 - 20:21

    В Британии пообещали тратить на оборону больше всех в Европе

    23 Апреля 2024 - 20:20

    В Ханкенди задержан мужчина, утаивший армянское оружие

    ФОТО

    23 Апреля 2024 - 20:18

    Премьер-министр Норвегии приглашен на COP29

    23 Апреля 2024 - 20:09

    Мэтью Брайза оценил процесс нормализации между Азербайджаном и Арменией

    23 Апреля 2024 - 20:02

    Кобахидзе: Закон об иноагентах не имеет альтернативы

    23 Апреля 2024 - 19:52

    Польская оппозиция выступает за размещение в стране ядерного оружия

    23 Апреля 2024 - 19:39

    Ильхам Алиев: Некоторые страны начали холодную войну против Азербайджана

    23 Апреля 2024 - 19:38

    Большая история на малой реке

    Исполняется год с установки ППП «Лачин»

    23 Апреля 2024 - 19:37

    Важные месседжи президента Алиева: ВИДЕО

    23 Апреля 2024 - 19:37

    Гребцы из 20 стран приедут в Азербайджан

    23 Апреля 2024 - 19:26

Все новости