Russia warns Armenia against aligning with Western enemies
    Moscow's soft power visiting Yerevan

    ANALYTICS  27 February 2024 - 15:32

    Murad Abiyev
    Caliber.Az

    On February 24, 2024, an international roundtable on "Armenia at a Crossroads: CSTO, NATO or Non-Bloc Status" was held in Yerevan. The event was organized by the Armenian Analytical Centre for Strategic Studies and Initiatives (ACSSI) in partnership with the Russian Gorchakov Fund in Yerevan.

    The meeting featured three speakers, two of whom were keynote speakers - Dmitry Suslov, deputy director at the Center for Comprehensive European and International Studies, National Research University Higher School of Economics, Moscow and deputy director of research programs at the Council on foreign and defense policy, and Ruslan Pukhov, director of the Center for Analysis of Strategies and Technologies (CAST). The third speaker was Arthur Khachikian, Doctor of Political Science at Stanford University, an expert on international relations. On the Armenian side, the event was also attended by leading Armenian experts, journalists and heads of a number of media outlets.

    Suslov and Pukhov generally spoke from a classic stance - showing empathy for Armenia, confessing special feelings for it and even calling Karabakh "Artsakh", but at the same time maintaining an imperial intolerance for creeping accusations against Moscow. They even harshly reprimanded Armenian experts who had made such statements, not forgetting to note that they were friends. So, friendship is friendship, but vassalage is vassalage.

    However, the Russian side accused more. The key point of the accusations was that Armenia had taken a course of rapprochement with Russia's enemies, meaning the West. There are plenty of events in this row, the latest of which is Pashinyan's statement about freezing Armenia's participation in the Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO) and persistently circulating rumors about Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskyy's upcoming visit to Yerevan. Suslov put it quite categorically: "Armenia is moving to the side of the enemy in the conditions of existential confrontation between Russia and the West, when the West aims at inflicting a strategic defeat on Russia".

    Suslov and Pukhov, both in their reports and in their answers to questions, returned to the central leitmotif that had brought them to Yerevan: yes, it is true that Russia is very much distracted by the war with Ukraine, but this does not mean that it is possible to get rid of it so easily. Yerevan's biggest mistake, according to the friend from Moscow, is that by distancing itself from Russia, Armenia is unable to build an alternative security system. According to the Muscovites, Western partners can only pat on the shoulder and make anti-Azerbaijani statements. "They won't even impose sanctions on Azerbaijan," said one of the speakers. To demonstrate the non-seriousness of Western guarantees, Suslov cited the example of European guarantees to Ukraine.

    As a possible punishment for the disastrously short-sighted policy of the current Armenian leadership, experts have voiced not the actions of Russia itself, but alleged aggression from Azerbaijan and Türkiye - precisely because Russia will not be around Armenia. And since there will be no Western allies around Armenia either, the country will collapse. "Freezing Armenia's participation in the CSTO in the current conditions is a conscious invitation of Azerbaijan to aggression against Armenia itself," Suslov again categorically stated.

    According to experts, under conditions of good relations between Armenia and Russia, "Azerbaijan and Türkiye will not go for aggressive actions." "In the conditions of bad relations between Yerevan and Moscow, they may go for such aggression," Suslov continued to frighten Armenians in an ingratiating manner. Moreover, the speakers reiterated the Kremlin's narrative that "Armenia has already partially paid for such a policy with the loss of Karabakh." Although they hinted that in some cases Russia would have to take action: "The appearance of foreign bases will be perceived by Russia, Türkiye and Iran as a threat to their security, with all the consequences that entails.

    The real ice shower for the event participants was Suslov's thesis that Russia wants to be an impartial arbiter in the relations between Armenia and Azerbaijan, not an ally of Armenia, as Türkiye is for Azerbaijan. For the reason, the analyst explained, that by acting otherwise, Russia would turn Azerbaijan into its foe. Following that, the ice shower literally turned into a stream of hail when the speaker added that, among other things, the Azerbaijani people, just like the Armenian people, remain brotherly to Russia due to the Soviet history.

    And this was, perhaps, the crucial thing Armenians should learn from this meeting. Azerbaijan, by virtue of its power, legitimacy, important geostrategic position and, finally, competent foreign policy, is a country which a world power like Russia (and this is undoubtedly true) does not want to quarrel with.

    The speakers were quite cynical. Pukhov said that Moscow is unlikely to use force against Armenia even in the case of Zelenskyy's visit, at least while the war in Ukraine is underway. Russia will not even impose economic sanctions for the time being, because it itself benefits from cooperation with Armenia in terms of circumventing sanctions.

    In general, the recommendation of the speakers to Yerevan is that it should stay calm, wait for the end of the war in Ukraine, after which Russia will be able to flood Armenia with tanks up to its eyeballs, since the Russian military industry has earned a record capacity. At the same time, according to their own words, there is no end to the war in Ukraine yet.

    And one more thesis that the speakers tried to explain to the audience was that Russia's hegemony in the South Caucasus cannot be restored, it is only a question of some kind of presence.

    Those present were dejected. Yes, the Russian experts were so ruthless towards Armenians in their conclusions that once Suslov even apologized to the audience for their harshness. Yes, the soft Russian paratroopers landed on the round Armenian table rather hard. But this is the only way to realize reality for those who are used to eating at other people's expense.

    Caliber.Az

    Subscribe to our Telegram channel


Read also

Türkiye-Iraq diplomatic thaw and regional integration Ambitious vision

23 April 2024 - 16:16

Azerbaijan boosts energy infrastructure for North-South corridor Power bridge connects Baku, Moscow, Tehran

23 April 2024 - 15:17

Armenia returns four villages to Azerbaijan, paving the way for peace in the South Caucasus Landmark accord

23 April 2024 - 09:14

Armenian PM's Moscow visit sparks speculation on bilateral relations Dilemma between East, West

23 April 2024 - 11:19

Gulf – Central Asian partnership is on the rise Global uncertainty

22 April 2024 - 16:55

Armenia faces internal strife as border agreement with Azerbaijan sparks unrest Tensions rise

23 April 2024 - 12:28
ADVERTS
Video
Latest news

    German staffer in EU parliament arrested on China spying charges

    24 April 2024 - 03:15

    Could conflict between Iran, Israel turn nuclear?

    24 April 2024 - 01:05

    Indian air force aims for Tejas Mk2 fighters by decade’s end

    23 April 2024 - 23:00

    Polish opposition party calls for country to host nuclear weapons

    23 April 2024 - 20:59

    COP29 to create great opportunities for Azerbaijan – ex-envoy

    23 April 2024 - 20:50

    Azerbaijan invites Norwegian premier to COP29

    23 April 2024 - 20:38

    Armenia against presence of Russian peacekeepers

    23 April 2024 - 20:28

    Ex-US envoy assesses Baku-Yerevan normalization process

    23 April 2024 - 20:23

    We do not cross red lines - Azerbaijani president

    23 April 2024 - 20:17

    Raisi raps US crackdown on students in pro-Palestine rallies

    23 April 2024 - 20:10

    Azerbaijani president on why nation’s land borders remain closed

    23 April 2024 - 20:03

    Iran calls on European Union to sanction Israel

    23 April 2024 - 19:53

    Azerbaijan, Czechia explore opportunities for cooperation within COP29

    23 April 2024 - 19:45

    Armenian Parliament rejects opposition's draft on border delimitation with Azerbaijan

    23 April 2024 - 19:34

    Azerbaijani top diplomat discusses foreign policy priorities in Prague

    23 April 2024 - 19:26

    Armenia was approached by the UK over Rwanda-style deal, officials say

    23 April 2024 - 19:14

    US delegation visits ANAMA

    PHOTO

    23 April 2024 - 19:05

    Ukraine holds its breath as US set to approve $60bn of military aid

    Our artillery is starving

    23 April 2024 - 18:57

    Trade turnover between Azerbaijan and China up 44 percent

    23 April 2024 - 18:49

    Türkiye, Iraq sign 26 agreements

    23 April 2024 - 18:40

    Media: Iran’s president condemns US crackdown on pro-Palestine students

    23 April 2024 - 18:21

    Ukraine media: Russian forces using chemical weapons to storm Ocheretyne, situation "difficult"

    23 April 2024 - 18:03

    UN rights chief "horrified" by mass grave reports at Gaza hospitals

    23 April 2024 - 17:42

    President Aliyev: "Now, we have a common understanding of how the peace agreement should look like"

    LIVE/UPDATED

    23 April 2024 - 17:37

    Lebanon's Hezbollah launches deepest attack into Israel since Gaza war

    23 April 2024 - 17:29

    French unions denounce Olympics volunteering as “disguised employment”

    No pay, no Olympics

    23 April 2024 - 17:11

    Gaza Strip death toll surpasses 34,000

    23 April 2024 - 16:52

    Azerbaijani FM, Czech PM discuss strategic partnership, regional post-conflict situation

    23 April 2024 - 16:51

    Historic moment: first border pillar established between Azerbaijan and Armenia

    23 April 2024 - 16:33

    Türkiye-Iraq diplomatic thaw and regional integration

    Ambitious vision

    23 April 2024 - 16:16

    Armenian diplomat walks out after failed attempt to exclude Western Azerbaijan Community rep from OSCE event

    23 April 2024 - 16:16

    Russian army to receive S-500 systems for first time

    23 April 2024 - 16:00

    Pro-Armenian senator Menendez's corruption trial postponed to mid-May

    23 April 2024 - 15:46

    Erdogan urges Armenia to embrace realities to normalise relations

    23 April 2024 - 15:31

    Azerbaijan boosts energy infrastructure for North-South corridor

    Power bridge connects Baku, Moscow, Tehran

    23 April 2024 - 15:17

    Israel's military strikes northern Gaza in heaviest shelling in weeks

    23 April 2024 - 15:14

    Turkish army destroys dozens of terrorists

    VIDEO

    23 April 2024 - 14:59

    Narendra Modi accused of stirring tensions as voting in India continues

    23 April 2024 - 14:41

    Azerbaijani deputy FM exposes Armenia's use of fake social media accounts

    Passing them off as Azerbaijani ones

    23 April 2024 - 14:27

    Azerbaijani, Czech foreign ministers mull relations

    23 April 2024 - 14:22

All news

Суслов и товарищи
    Мягкая сила Москвы в гостях у Армении

    АНАЛИТИКА  26 Февраля 2024 - 20:02

    Мурад Абиев
    Caliber.Az

    24 февраля 2024 года в Ереване состоялся международный круглый стол на тему «Армения на перепутье: ОДКБ, НАТО или внеблоковый статус». Мероприятие было организовано армянским Аналитическим центром стратегических исследований и инициатив (АЦСИИ) в партнерстве с российским Фондом Горчакова.

    На встрече выступили три спикера, два из которых были главными — заместитель директора Центра комплексных европейских и международных исследований НИУ ВШЭ, заместитель директора исследовательских программ Совета по внешней и оборонной политике (СВОП) Дмитрий Суслов и директор Центра анализа стратегий и технологий (ЦАСТ) Руслан Пухов. Третьим спикером был доктор политологии Стэнфордского университета, эксперт по международным отношениям Артур Хачикян. С армянской стороны на мероприятии также присутствовали ведущие армянские эксперты, журналисты и руководители ряда СМИ. 

    Суслов и Пухов в целом выступали с классической позиции — выказывая эмпатию Армении, признаваясь в особых чувствах к ней и даже называя Карабах «арцахом», вместе с тем сохраняли имперскую нетерпимость к поползновениям в обвинениях Москвы. Они даже жестко отчитывали армянских экспертов, отметившихся в таких заявлениях, не забывая при этом заметить, что они друзья. Вот так вот, дружба дружбой, а вассалитет вассалитетом.

    Впрочем, обвиняла больше российская сторона. Главный пункт обвинений состоял в том, что Армения взяла курс на сближение с врагами России, подразумевая при этом Запад. Событий в этом ряду — хоть отбавляй, последние из которых — это заявление Пашиняна о замораживании участия Армении в ОДКБ и упорно циркулирующие слухи о грядущем визите украинского президента Владимира Зеленского в Ереван. Суслов выразился достаточно категорично: «Армения переходит на сторону противника в условиях экзистенциального противостояния России и Запада, когда Запад ставит перед собой цель нанесения стратегического поражения России».

    Суслов и Пухов и в своих докладах, и в ответах на вопросы возвращались к центральному лейтмотиву, приведшему их в Ереван, — да, действительно, Россия очень сильно отвлечена войной с Украиной, однако это не означает, что можно так просто от нее избавиться. Самая большая ошибка Еревана, по мнению товарищей из Москвы, в том, что, дистанцируясь от России, Армения не в состоянии выстроить альтернативную систему безопасности. По мнению москвичей, западные партнеры могут только похлопать по плечу и делать антиазербайджанские заявления. «Они даже санкции не примут по отношению к Азербайджану», — сказал один из выступавших. Для демонстрации несерьезности западных гарантий Суслов привел пример европейских гарантий Украине.

    В качестве возможного наказания за катастрофически недальновидную политику нынешнего армянского руководства эксперты озвучили не действия самой России, а якобы агрессию со стороны Азербайджана и Турции — именно в силу того, что России рядом с Арменией не будет. А так как и западных союзников тоже не будет рядом, то Армению ждет крах. «Заморозка участия Армении в ОДКБ в нынешних условиях — это сознательное приглашение Азербайджана к агрессии против самой Армении», — снова категорично высказался Суслов.

    По мнению экспертов, в условиях хороших отношений Армении и России «Азербайджан и Турция не пойдут на агрессивные действия». «В условиях плохих отношений между Ереваном и Москвой они могут пойти на подобную агрессию», — вкрадчиво продолжал Суслов стращать армян. Причем лекторы снова повторили кремлевский нарратив о том, что, дескать, «Армения уже частично заплатила за такую политику потерей Карабаха». Хотя они намекнули на то, что в некоторых случаях и России придется принимать меры: «Появление иностранных баз будет воспринято и Россией, и Турцией, и Ираном как угроза своей безопасности со всеми вытекающими последствиями».

    Настоящим ледяным душем для присутствующих стал тезис Суслова о том, что Россия в отношениях между Арменией и Азербайджаном хочет быть беспристрастным арбитром, а не союзником Армении, каковой Турция является для Азербайджана. По той причине, объяснил аналитик, что, действуя иным образом, Россия превратит Азербайджан в своего врага. После чего ледяной душ буквально превратился в поток града, когда спикер добавил, что, кроме всего прочего, азербайджанский народ также, как и армянский, остается для России братским в силу советской истории.

    И это было, пожалуй, самое важное, что должны извлечь армяне из этой встречи. Азербайджан в силу своей мощи, правоты, важного геостратегического положения и, наконец, грамотной внешней политики является страной, с которой такой мировой державе, как Россия (а это бесспорно так), не хочется ссориться.

    Спикеры были довольно циничны. Пухов сказал, что Москва вряд ли применит силовое решение в отношении Армении даже в случае визита Зеленского, по крайней мере, пока идет война в Украине. Россия пока даже не будет вводить экономические санкции, потому что сама выигрывает от сотрудничества с Арменией в отношении обхода санкций.

    В общем и целом, рекомендация выступающих Еревану — нужно не дергаться, а ждать, когда наступит конец войне в Украине, после чего Россия сможет завалить Армению танками по самые «не хочу», поскольку российская военная промышленность заработала на рекордную мощь. При этом, по их же собственным словам, войне в Украине пока конца не видно.

    И еще один тезис, который спикеры пытались объяснить присутствующим, — гегемонию России на Южном Кавказе вернуть невозможно, речь идет только о том или ином виде присутствия.

    Присутствующие были удручены. Да, российские эксперты в своих выкладках были беспощадны к армянам настолько, что один раз Суслов даже попросил у аудитории прощения за жесткость. Да, мягкий русский десант приземлился на круглый армянский стол достаточно жестко. Но только так приходит осознание реальности для тех, кто привык столоваться за чужой счет.

    Caliber.Az

    Просмотров: 1728

    Подписывайтесь на наш Telegram-канал


Читайте также

Шоу с предсказуемым финалом Армения обязана соблюдать договоренности!

22 Апреля 2024 - 11:29

Чем меньше дней, тем больше проблем Несколько слов об олимпиаде в Париже

22 Апреля 2024 - 10:02

Дипломатия со знаком плюс Баку создал новую геополитическую реальность

20 Апреля 2024 - 18:11

Иран-Израиль: противостояние, возможности и ограничения Расклад Шерешевского

20 Апреля 2024 - 17:00

Запад открывает «второй фронт»: цель — Китай Аналитика Сергея Богдана

20 Апреля 2024 - 15:50

Триумф Алиева, неспокойная Грузия и дуэль на Ближнем Востоке «События» с Мурадом Абиевым

20 Апреля 2024 - 19:35
РЕКЛАМА
Видео
Последние новости

    ЕС близок к соглашению по замороженным активам РФ

    22 Апреля 2024 - 11:34

    Шоу с предсказуемым финалом

    Армения обязана соблюдать договоренности!

    22 Апреля 2024 - 11:29

    Польша готова к ядерному оружию

    22 Апреля 2024 - 11:23

    Блогер Багдасарян: Протесты в Тавуше организовала партия Варданяна

    22 Апреля 2024 - 11:14

    Теракт в Иерусалиме

    ВИДЕО

    22 Апреля 2024 - 11:12

    МИД Азербайджана поздравил Алжир

    22 Апреля 2024 - 11:11

    Штормовой ветер накрыл Баку

    22 Апреля 2024 - 11:10

    Динг Тао об отношениях между Азербайджаном и Китаем

    22 Апреля 2024 - 11:08

    Tesla снизила цены

    22 Апреля 2024 - 11:08

    Приехал в Баку и пропал

    Внимание, розыск! / ФОТО

    22 Апреля 2024 - 11:05

    Политик Сукиасян: Протест в Тавуше не имеет ничего общего с интересами Армении

    22 Апреля 2024 - 11:03

    США могут расширить санкции против ЦАХАЛ

    22 Апреля 2024 - 10:54

    Эльшад Искендеров: Азербайджан поддерживает проект «Один пояс – один путь»

    22 Апреля 2024 - 10:54

    Многокилометровая пробка в Баку

    ФОТОФАКТ

    22 Апреля 2024 - 10:53

    Азербайджанские ПВО применили «Иглу»

    ВИДЕО учений

    22 Апреля 2024 - 10:52

    В Баку обсуждают развитие туризма в рамках ОЧЭС

    22 Апреля 2024 - 10:48

    Семь минут тревоги: Пхеньян запустил баллистическую ракету

    22 Апреля 2024 - 10:45

    Очистка Ханкенди от оружия приносит все новые трофеи

    ЦИФРЫ от МВД Азербайджана

    22 Апреля 2024 - 10:41

    Генсек о роли Азербайджана в реализации целей и задач ОЧЭС

    22 Апреля 2024 - 10:35

    США ударили по Ираку

    22 Апреля 2024 - 10:33

    Нефть дешевеет

    22 Апреля 2024 - 10:17

    Новые заказы и сотрудники: эффект Украины в немецком оборонном комплексе

    22 Апреля 2024 - 10:16

    Армянские СМИ: Россияне уезжают, приезжают индусы

    22 Апреля 2024 - 10:07

    Чем меньше дней, тем больше проблем

    Несколько слов об олимпиаде в Париже

    22 Апреля 2024 - 10:02

    В Турции представили отечественную корабельную пушку

    ВИДЕО

    22 Апреля 2024 - 09:54

    СМИ о значении израильского авиаудара по Ирану

    22 Апреля 2024 - 09:41

    СМИ о прямых переговорах между Ираном и США

    22 Апреля 2024 - 09:30

    Шольц: Эпоха ископаемого топлива подходит к концу

    22 Апреля 2024 - 09:27

    В Ливане сбит израильский беспилотник

    22 Апреля 2024 - 09:18

    Сколько тел обнаружено в массовом захоронении в больнице Хан-Юниса?

    22 Апреля 2024 - 09:17

    Чжан Юсь: Китай будет решительно противостоять провокациям на море

    22 Апреля 2024 - 09:13

    ОДКБ: внутренние войны и будущее военного блока

    Сабитов и Муллоджанов на Caliber.Az

    22 Апреля 2024 - 09:09

    Ереван направил спецназ для разблокирования дороги в приграничном селе

    22 Апреля 2024 - 09:07

    Температуры в Европе достигли рекордного уровня

    22 Апреля 2024 - 08:51

    СМИ: Израиль требует от США пересмотреть решение о санкциях

    Против подразделения ЦАХАЛ

    22 Апреля 2024 - 08:49

    Рабочая неделя начинается с пробок

    СПИСОК дорог

    22 Апреля 2024 - 08:42

    Сахиля Ибишова: Теперь внуки своими глазами увидят, как красив Физули

    22 Апреля 2024 - 08:41

    Житель Физули: Я покинул город в шесть лет

    Теперь возвращаюсь вместе с шестилетним сыном

    22 Апреля 2024 - 08:41

    Физулинцы возвращаются домой

    ФОТО

    22 Апреля 2024 - 08:40

    Хакеры годами совершали атаки на автоконцерн Volkswagen

    22 Апреля 2024 - 08:30

Все новости