Former colonies struggle to escape the shadow of French colonial rule
    The dawn of a decadent empire

    ANALYTICS  02 March 2024 - 17:50

    Artem Kirpichenok
    Caliber.Az

    Today, a certain romanticism surrounds the image of European colonial empires. Noble sahibs in cork helmets spread civilisation among "savage" tribes, carrying the "white man's burden" to the farthest reaches of the planet. These images seemed to have been forgotten, but many of our contemporaries will be surprised to learn that a number of nations still have overseas colonies. Of course, these are now only the shadows of vast colonial empires on which the sun never set, but to this day several million people live under European rule, and the rights of the local population are often restricted by the authority of viceroys appointed in European capitals.

    Paris's colonies, known as the "Overseas Territories of France", are considered one of the most extensive possessions of Europeans outside their continent at the beginning of the twenty-first century. They comprise thirteen territories around the globe, with a total surface area of more than half a million square kilometres and a population of almost two million eight hundred thousand people. Some people think of modern colonies as a kind of Hong Kong: thriving democratic communities on paradise islands, where high technology and tourism flourish under the tutelage of European democracies. But the reality of French colonial possessions is more complex than the image on a tourist poster.

    The economic policy towards the colonial possessions allows Paris to create mechanisms of non-equivalent exchange and thus to benefit unilaterally from trade with its overseas territories. This involves subsidising the production of low-value-added goods and restricting the production of manufactured goods. France's overseas territories tend to be agrarian and raw material appendages of the metropolis, specialised in the production and primary processing of a single mono-product, supplied mainly to France at low purchase prices.

    This is a source of resentment for a population that is cut off from the metropolis in terms of ethnicity, culture and geography. In 2009, Guadeloupe and Martinique were the scene of violent clashes that brought to light many of the ills of the colonial society of the twenty-first century. It emerged, for example, that much of the land and capital on the islands is still controlled by ethnic French and their descendants, known as "Becks". In Martinique, they make up no more than one per cent of the population, but much of the local industry is under their control.

    Formally, the indigenous people of Martinique and Guadeloupe had all the rights of French citizens. In practice, however, their lives were determined by decisions made in Paris, and their economic situation did not come close to the standard of living of the French. Tourism and importing most food meant that prices were much higher and wages much lower than in mainland France. A housing shortage meant that 70 per cent of the population of Pointe-à-Pitre, Guadeloupe's second-largest town, had to rent. Crime, poverty and unemployment were twice as high in the colonies as on the mainland, and unemployment was the highest in the European Union. In Guadeloupe, for example, youth unemployment was almost 56 per cent!

    The largest protests began in Guadeloupe on January 20, 2009, when local trade unions demanded an increase in the minimum wage by 200 euros a month and a reduction in business taxes. Almost 50,000 islanders took to the streets. Negotiations with the Minister for Overseas Territories, Yves Jego, were unsuccessful and mass strikes followed. Charter flights to France were cancelled, the container terminal that served the island, and all petrol stations, schools, banks and government offices were closed. This led to power cuts in Guadeloupe.

    On February 16, the protests turned into an uprising. Barricades were erected in the streets of Pointe-à-Pitre, and demonstrators blocked roads and set fire to trees. Police fired tear gas and arrested around 50 people, but had to release them after crowds of angry islanders gathered outside the police station. Two days later, gunfire erupted on the island, wounding two police officers and killing a teenager called Jacques Bino. On February 19, 500 riot police arrived in Guadeloupe and were able to quell the protests.

    In Martinique, a strike paralysed the island's capital Fort-de-France. Residents were demanding lower water and electricity prices and higher wages. Because of the unrest, Martinique's annual four-day carnival was cancelled for the first time in its history. To quell the riots, 120 police officers were sent from France, and commercial companies promised to reduce the price of basic goods by 20% by optimising transport.

    As a result of the protests, a special government commission was set up in Paris and then French President Nicolas Sarkozy said that raising wages was out of the question because the only solution to all economic problems was to increase market competition.

    Apparently, the outcome of the Paris Commission was not positive either, as the riots in Guadeloupe were repeated in 2021, during the coronavirus epidemic. Thousands of people took to the streets at the instigation of the trade unions, first to protest against the introduction of the 'health passport' and then to call for attention to be paid to the general plight of the coloured population. It became clear that in the 12 years since the 2009 protests, the French authorities had done nothing to address the islanders' economic problems. The protests once again turned into riots, with shops, pharmacies and petrol stations being smashed up, and around fifty special forces were sent to the island.

    Another "hot spot" of the French colonial empire is New Caledonia. The islanders' standard of living is more comparable to that of their Indian Ocean neighbours than to that of France, despite the fact that New Caledonia has some of the world's richest natural resources, including 25% of the world's proven nickel reserves and deposits of cobalt, silver, copper, gold, silver and chromium.

    In the 1980s, this led to outright fighting between independence supporters and French settlers. As a result, Paris was forced to grant New Caledonia special administrative status. In 2021, the island held a third referendum on independence, with the French deploying around 2,000 soldiers and police to enforce it. Although the vote ended in defeat for the pro-independence camp, experts believe it is only a matter of time before the country gains independence. The island's indigenous population, the Kanaks, now make up just over 40 per cent of New Caledonia's population, but the natural increase in their community is much higher than that of the French.

    What is Paris' response to the demands and protests of the inhabitants of its colonies, apart from an increase in police presence? France's policy can be defined as an attempt to preserve the former, colonial character of economic relations with its overseas territories while changing as much as possible the external form of interaction with its island possessions.

    Since the beginning of the 21st century, the French colonies have been granted the right to have symbols of statehood: an anthem, a national emblem and a flag, often very different from the heraldry of the Fifth Republic itself. The terms "DOM" (département d'outre-mer) and "TOM" (territoire d'outre-mer) or DOM-TOM; "overseas departments" or "overseas territories" gradually disappeared from the political lexicon. Instead, the more neutral term 'Overseas France' was used in legal documents, in the hope that this would not evoke unwelcome associations in the minds of the colony's inhabitants.

    The commitments that the country has made within the European Union also exert some pressure on the French authorities. The fifth article of the Maastricht Treaty of February 7, 1992, establishes the principle of subsidiarity of powers and management. This led France, as part of its ongoing constitutional reform, to adopt the Organic Law on Local Democracy, which legitimised popular legislative initiatives and referendums in the colonies. This allowed local people to initiate political decisions and, to some extent, added elements of democracy to the existing system.

    At the same time, Paris has no intention of giving the overseas territories any more power than is necessary to suppress separatist sentiment, nor does it intend to turn the remnants of its empire into something resembling the British Commonwealth.

    Caliber.Az

    Subscribe to our Telegram channel


Read also

Will Antony Blinken's visit overshadow the China-Russia partnership? Preventive shot

22 April 2024 - 15:05

A show with a predictable finale Armenia must uphold the agreements!

22 April 2024 - 15:27

Azerbaijan's diplomatic masterstroke: Return of occupied villages marks strategic achievement New geopolitical reality

21 April 2024 - 11:43

Iran-Israel: confrontation, opportunities and constraints Caliber.Az analysis

22 April 2024 - 13:32

Azerbaijani President's triumph, troubled Georgia, and a duel in the Middle East Caliber.Az weekly review

21 April 2024 - 11:22

Early Russian withdrawal from Karabakh: how has Azerbaijan’s ‘calculated risk’ strategy paid off? Contemplations with Orkhan Amashov

21 April 2024 - 10:03
ADVERTS
Video
Latest news

    Kremlin considers Azerbaijan great friend, ally of Russia

    22 April 2024 - 16:16

    Armenian pundit accuses opposition of seeking closer ties with Russia

    Risking nation's independence

    22 April 2024 - 16:00

    Armenian politician criticizes protest in Tavush as detrimental to national interests

    22 April 2024 - 15:45

    UK intel: Russian elite get special unit away from frontline

    22 April 2024 - 15:29

    A show with a predictable finale

    Armenia must uphold the agreements!

    22 April 2024 - 15:27

    Armenian PM sets up two working groups under delimitation commission

    22 April 2024 - 15:13

    Will Antony Blinken's visit overshadow the China-Russia partnership?

    Preventive shot

    22 April 2024 - 15:05

    CSTO Secretary General: Azerbaijan has its own resources to ensure security in Karabakh

    22 April 2024 - 14:57

    BSEC Secretary General: Tourism sector rapidly developing in Azerbaijan every year

    22 April 2024 - 14:43

    Climate and the struggle for survival

    Caliber.Az forecast

    22 April 2024 - 14:31

    NATO welcomes agreement between Armenia, Azerbaijan

    22 April 2024 - 14:28

    Blogger: Russian-Armenian oligarch’s party organises protests in Tavush

    22 April 2024 - 14:12

    Baku as a bridge between the developing and developed world

    COP29 in the focus of global media

    22 April 2024 - 13:57

    Azerbaijan, China have historic opportunity to raise bilateral ties to higher level

    22 April 2024 - 13:40

    Iran-Israel: confrontation, opportunities and constraints

    Caliber.Az analysis

    22 April 2024 - 13:32

    Armenian sappers start demining territory near Gazakh's Askipara village

    22 April 2024 - 13:27

    Azerbaijan, Algeria mark 30th anniversary of diplomatic relations

    22 April 2024 - 13:25

    Israeli army: IDF drone intercepted by missile over Lebanon

    22 April 2024 - 13:10

    Event participants discussing tourism development within BSEC in Azerbaijan

    22 April 2024 - 12:56

    Armenian official questions willingness to fight for Azerbaijani settlements

    Amid Tavush border tensions

    22 April 2024 - 12:49

    Khankandi weapons sweep yields significant trophies

    Azerbaijani Interior Ministry says

    22 April 2024 - 12:39

    Azerbaijan's role in BSEC highlighted at tourism education meeting

    22 April 2024 - 12:22

    Azerbaijani President arrives in Russia for working visit

    22 April 2024 - 12:13

    Armenian media: Russians leaving, Indians coming

    22 April 2024 - 12:05

    Türkiye unveils domestically produced naval cannon

    VIDEO

    22 April 2024 - 11:48

    Azerbaijani Air Defence units conduct exercises using 'Igla' missile system

    Video footage from drills

    22 April 2024 - 11:33

    Israel’s strike on Iran highlights its ability to evade Tehran’s air defences - media

    22 April 2024 - 11:16

    Ambassador-at-Large: Azerbaijan supports “One Belt – One Road” project

    22 April 2024 - 11:10

    No direct negotiations between Iran, US

    22 April 2024 - 10:59

    German Chancellor declares imminent end to fossil fuel era

    22 April 2024 - 10:43

    Azerbaijani para swimmer becomes European champion

    PHOTO

    22 April 2024 - 10:27

    Greek, Turkish representatives to discuss confidence-building measures

    22 April 2024 - 10:10

    Armenia sends special forces to unblock road in border village

    22 April 2024 - 09:52

    Azerbaijan’s Fuzuli residents returning home

    PHOTO

    22 April 2024 - 09:35

    Residents of border villages protest as Armenia, Azerbaijan agree on delimitation

    22 April 2024 - 09:17

    Fossil of largest snake to have ever existed found in western India

    22 April 2024 - 09:03

    Skies fill with color at Chinese kite festival

    22 April 2024 - 08:01

    Turkish KAAN: Second prototype nears completion

    flight tests next

    22 April 2024 - 06:02

    World’s largest neuromorphic computer by Intel works like human brain

    22 April 2024 - 04:03

    Lesser known UNESCO sites to visit in 2024

    from Luxembourg to Swiss wine country

    22 April 2024 - 02:04

All news

Последние колонии декадентской империи
    Обзор Артема Кирпиченка

    АНАЛИТИКА  02 Марта 2024 - 17:09

    Артем Кирпиченок
    публицист, историк, специально для Caliber.Az

    Сегодня образ европейских колониальных империй окутан неким романтическим флером. Благородные сахибы в пробковых шлемах несут «бремя белого человека» в самых отдаленных регионах планеты, распространяя цивилизацию среди «диких» племен. Казалось, что эти образы канули в Лету, но многие наши современники будут удивлены, что ряд государств до сих пор имеют заморские колонии. Конечно, сегодня это только тень обширных колониальных империй, над которыми никогда не заходило солнце, но и по сей день под властью европейцев живет несколько миллионов человек, причем зачастую права местного населения ограничены властью наместников, назначаемых в европейских столицах. 

    Колонии Парижа, именуемые «Заморскими территориями Франции», считаются одними из самых обширных владений европейцев за пределами их континента в начале XXI века. В их число входит тринадцать территорий по всему земному шару, чья общая площадь достигает более полумиллиона квадратных километров и где живет почти два миллиона восемьсот тысяч человек. Некоторые считают, что современные колонии — это нечто вроде Гонконга: процветающие демократические сообщества на райских островах, где под опекой европейских демократий развиваются высокие технологии и расцветает туризм. Однако реалии французских колониальных владений сложнее картинки с туристического постера. 

    Экономическая политика в отношении колониальных владений позволяет создавать Парижу механизмы неэквивалентного обмена, и тем самым извлекать односторонние выгоды в торговле со своими заморскими территориями. Это подразумевает субсидирование производства товаров с низкой добавленной стоимостью и ограничение на производство промышленных изделий. Заморские территории Франции — это, как правило, аграрно-сырьевые придатки метрополии, заточенные на производство и первичную обработку одного монопродукта, который поставляется по низким закупочным ценам преимущественно во Францию. 

    Все это не может не вызывать недовольство населения, которое этнически, культурно и географически оторвано от метрополии. В 2009 году Гваделупа и Мартиника стали ареной ожесточенных столкновений, продемонстрировавших многие язвы колониального общества XXI века. Так, например, выяснилось, что большая часть земель и капиталов на островах до сих пор контролируется этническими французами и их потомками, так называемыми «беками». На Мартинике они составляют не более одного процента населения, но большая часть местной промышленности находится под их контролем. 

    Формально коренное население Мартиники и Гваделупы имеет все права французских граждан, но на практике их жизнь определяют решения, принимавшиеся в Париже, а экономическое положение аборигенов и близко не приближалось к уровню жизни французов. Из-за туризма и импорта большинства продуктов питания цены на островах были гораздо выше, чем в материковой Франции, а зарплаты гораздо ниже. Из-за дефицита жилья 70% населения второго по величине города Гваделупы Пуэнт-а-Питра были вынуждены жить на съеме. Уровень преступности, бедности и безработицы в колониях оказался вдвое выше, чем на материке, а уровень безработицы оказался самый высокий в Европейском союзе. Так, на Гваделупе безработица среди молодежи достигла почти 56%! 

    Самые крупные протесты начались на Гваделупе 20 января 2009 года, когда местные профсоюзы потребовали поднять минимальную заработную плату на 200 евро в месяц и снизить налоги на бизнес. На улицы вышло почти 50 тысяч жителей острова. Переговоры с министром Заморских территорий Ивом Жего не увенчались успехом, и вслед за этим последовали массовые забастовки. Были отменены чартерные рейсы во Францию, закрыт контейнерный терминал, через который шло снабжение острова, все бензоколонки, школы, банки и правительственные учреждения. Из-за этого на Гваделупе начались перебои с поставками электричества.

    16 февраля протесты переросли в восстание. На улицах Пуэнт-а-Питра были возведены баррикады, демонстранты перекрывали дороги и поджигали деревья. Полиция применила слезоточивый газ и арестовала около 50 человек, которых, однако, пришлось освободить после того, как около отделения полиции собрались толпы негодующих островитян. Еще через два дня на острове произошли перестрелки, в ходе которых было ранено два блюстителя закона, а подросток по имени Жак Бино был убит. 19 февраля на Гваделупу прибыло 500 полицейских спецназовцев, которые смогли подавить протесты. 

    На Мартинике забастовка парализовала столицу острова Фор-де-Франс. Жители требовали понижения цен на воду и электричество, одновременно с ростом зарплат. Из-за беспорядков впервые в истории на Мартинике был отменен ежегодный четырехдневный карнавал. Для подавления выступлений из Франции было направлено 120 полицейских, а торговые компании пообещали понизить цены на основные товары на 20% за счет оптимизации перевозок. 

    По результатам протестов в Париже была создана специальная правительственная комиссия, а тогдашний президент Франции Николя Саркози заявил, что о повышении заработной платы не может быть и речи, поскольку единственное решение всех экономических проблем заключается в расширении рыночной конкуренции. 

    По-видимому, и результат работы парижской комиссии нельзя назвать положительным, поскольку беспорядки на Гваделупе повторились и в 2021 году, во время эпидемии коронавируса. Тысячи людей вышли на улицы по призывам профсоюзов, первоначально протестовали против введения так называемого «санитарного паспорта», а затем потребовали обратить внимание на общее бедственное положение цветного населения. Стало понятно, что за 12 лет после протестов 2009 года французские власти ничего не сделали, чтобы решить экономические проблемы островитян. Протесты в очередной раз переросли в беспорядки, разгромы магазинов, аптек, бензоколонок, а на остров было переброшено около полусотни спецназовцев. 

    Другой «горячей точкой» французской колониальной империи является Новая Каледония. Несмотря на то, что эта территория обладает богатейшими природными ресурсами, прежде всего 25% разведанных мировых запасов никеля, залежами кобальта, серебра, меди, золота, серебра, хрома, уровень жизни островитян сравним скорее с жителями соседних государств Индийского океана, а не с Францией. В 1980-е годы это привело фактически к боевым действиям между сторонниками независимости и французскими поселенцами. В итоге Париж был вынужден предоставить Новой Каледонии особый административный статус. В 2021 году на острове состоялся третий референдум о независимости, для обеспечения которой французы перекинули около 2000 солдат и полицейских. Хотя голосование закончилось поражением сторонников независимости, специалисты полагают, что обретение страной независимости — это только вопрос времени. Автохтонное население острова, канаки, сегодня составляют чуть более 40% населения Новой Каледонии, но естественный прирост в их общине гораздо выше, чем у французов. 

    Как реагирует Париж на требования и протесты жителей своих колоний, помимо наращивания полицейского присутствия? Политику Франции можно определить как попытку сохранить прежний, колониальный характер экономических отношений с заморскими территориями при максимально возможном изменении внешней формы взаимодействия со своими островными владениями. 

    С началом XXI века французским колониями было предоставлено право иметь символы своей государственности: гимн, государственный герб и флаг, причем зачастую заметно отличающиеся от геральдики самой Пятой республики. Из политического лексикона постепенно исчезают термины «DOM» (département d’outre-mer) и «TOM» (territoire d’outre-mer) или DOM-TOM; «заморские департаменты» или «заморские территории». Вместо них в юридических документах используется более нейтральный термин «заморская Франция», который, по мнению Парижа, не должен вызвать нежелательных ассоциаций у жителей колоний. 

    Определенное давление на французские власти оказывают и обязательства, которые страна приняла в рамках Европейского союза. В пятой статье Маастрихтского договора от 7 февраля 1992 года прописан принцип субсидарности полномочий властей и управления. Это заставило Францию в рамках проводимой конституционной реформы принять Органический закон о местной демократии, который узаконил в колониях народную законодательную инициативу и референдумы. Это позволило жителям инициировать политические решения и в какой-то степени дополнило существующую систему некоторыми элементами демократии. 

    В то же самое время Париж ни в коем случае не планирует давать заморским территориям больше полномочий, чем требуется для подавления сепаратистских настроений, и не планирует превращать остатки своей империи в подобие Британского Содружества.

    Caliber.Az

    Просмотров: 4380

    Подписывайтесь на наш Telegram-канал


Читайте также

Гастроэнтеролог рвется к власти в Армении Проктологам и гинекологам приготовиться?

13 Апреля 2024 - 11:14

Армянские провокаторы найдены и будут наказаны СНБ уполномочена заявить

12 Апреля 2024 - 18:30

Как Франция поддерживает террор Стратегия разрушения и манипуляции

12 Апреля 2024 - 16:28

Сеанс саморазоблачения по-армянски Неудавшаяся провокация «Радио Свобода»

12 Апреля 2024 - 11:09

Провокация на границе: знакомый почерк Не нами придумано, не нам и отменять

11 Апреля 2024 - 14:57

Постбрюссельская агрессивность Армении Обстрелы, стягивание войск, лживые заявления

11 Апреля 2024 - 11:01
РЕКЛАМА
Видео
Последние новости

    SpaceX вывела на орбиту новую группу спутников Starlink

    ФОТО/ВИДЕО

    13 Апреля 2024 - 17:01

    Южная Корея и Британия проведут саммит по развитию ИИ

    13 Апреля 2024 - 16:41

    «Большая война на Ближнем Востоке всецело зависит от Тегерана»

    Константин Пахалюк на Caliber.Az

    13 Апреля 2024 - 16:31

    Швейцария сократила инвестиции в экономику Азербайджана в 3 раза

    13 Апреля 2024 - 16:20

    Бундесвер закупает вооружение на семь миллиардов

    ФОТО

    13 Апреля 2024 - 16:20

    В Тбилиси перед штаб-квартирой правящей партии проходит акция протеста

    13 Апреля 2024 - 16:10

    ISW о развитии оборонной базы Украины

    13 Апреля 2024 - 16:02

    Гарибашвили обвинил Зурабишвили в антигосударственных действиях

    13 Апреля 2024 - 15:55

    ВВС Израиля атаковали более 30 объектов в Газе

    ВИДЕО

    13 Апреля 2024 - 15:40

    Иран подтвердил захват контейнеровоза в Ормузском проливе силами КСИР

    13 Апреля 2024 - 15:27

    Денежные переводы из Грузии в Азербайджан возросли

    13 Апреля 2024 - 15:26

    Токаев отменил международный форум Астана

    13 Апреля 2024 - 15:25

    Суд в США отказался снять с Хантера Байдена обвинения

    13 Апреля 2024 - 15:21

    Шольц назвал условие для переговоров с Путиным

    13 Апреля 2024 - 15:03

    Байрамов и Эль-Энани обсудили сотрудничество между Азербайджаном и ЮНЕСКО

    13 Апреля 2024 - 14:51

    СМИ: иранские силы захватили португальско-израильский корабль

    13 Апреля 2024 - 14:50

    Мировые лидеры призывают республиканцев помочь Украине

    13 Апреля 2024 - 14:40

    В Казахстане углубляют устье Урала в ожидании большой воды

    13 Апреля 2024 - 14:31

    Как это делалось в Сирии — 3

    «Неудобная правда» Самита Алиева

    13 Апреля 2024 - 14:30

    Middle East Eye: Репрессии в отношении мусульман Индии достигли пика

    13 Апреля 2024 - 14:27

    Пожар в Хатаинском районе

    13 Апреля 2024 - 14:25

    Макрон и Шольц обсудили Украину

    13 Апреля 2024 - 14:22

    ЧП на канатной дороге в Анталье: идет спасательная операция

    ОБНОВЛЕНО/ВИДЕО

    13 Апреля 2024 - 14:15

    В США назвали сроки рассмотрения проекта помощи Украине

    13 Апреля 2024 - 14:04

    Политик Хзмалян: В армянской армии просто позорная ситуация

    13 Апреля 2024 - 13:47

    В Сиднее пять человек погибли при нападении мужчины с ножом

    ФОТО

    13 Апреля 2024 - 13:40

    МЧС РФ ожидает затопления нижней части Южно-Сахалинска

    13 Апреля 2024 - 13:21

    Логотипом программы акции протеста в Новой Каледонии стал «Железный кулак»

    ФОТО

    13 Апреля 2024 - 13:18

    ВС Турции продолжают уничтожать террористов PKK в Ираке

    ВИДЕО

    13 Апреля 2024 - 13:09

    Израильские ВВС атаковали крупный военный комплекс «Хезболлы»

    13 Апреля 2024 - 12:40

    Денежные переводы из Азербайджана в США сократились

    13 Апреля 2024 - 12:31

    В Венесуэле назвали тему тайных переговоров с США

    13 Апреля 2024 - 12:21

    Пожар в Гяндже: есть погибший

    13 Апреля 2024 - 12:13

    Новые грани битвы за бакинскую парковку

    Двухэтажный креатив / ВИДЕОФАКТ

    13 Апреля 2024 - 12:04

    Политолог Кивирян: Армения вернется к России с опущенной головой

    13 Апреля 2024 - 12:02

    «Макрон полностью потерял уважение и ведет себя как истерик»

    Кобринский и Солонников на Caliber.Az

    13 Апреля 2024 - 12:02

    Токаев о мире между Баку и Ереваном

    13 Апреля 2024 - 11:58

    Водители продолжают отнимать тротуары у пешеходов Баку

    ФОТОФАКТ

    13 Апреля 2024 - 11:52

    США зафиксировали перемещение ракет и беспилотников на территории Ирана

    13 Апреля 2024 - 11:41

    Президент Казахстана посетит с официальным визитом Армению

    13 Апреля 2024 - 11:31

Все новости