Unprotected and unpunished: Turning a blind eye to anti-Jewish attacks in Armenia

    INTERVIEWS  16 June 2024 - 11:19

    Samir Ibrahimov

    On the night of June 11, unknown persons attacked a synagogue in Yerevan, according to representatives of the Jewish community of Armenia. In the photos published in TV channels, one can see a window broken by a stone and shards of glass. A criminal case has been opened on the fact of attacking a religious centre with intentional damage.

    The current attack on the only synagogue in the Armenian capital is the fourth since last October. Israeli media express concern about the lack of response from the authorities. The publications recall cases of threats to rabbis and Israelis on social networks. The attackers who tried to set fire to the building have not been found so far. The Armenian authorities stated that it was a Russian tourist, but did not publish any data on the matter.

    How was this news perceived in Israeli society? How can the recurrence of such incidents in Armenia be explained? Prominent Israeli experts shared their opinions with Caliber.Az.

    According to journalist and historian Shimon Briman, the Israeli media, covering the attack on the only synagogue in Yerevan, note that this is the fourth attack in six months, i.e. it is not an accident, but a purposeful trend.

    "Our media wrote that in November 2023 the Armenian terrorist organisation ASALA claimed responsibility for the attempted arson attack on the same synagogue. It should be recalled that this organisation pledged new actions against Jewish sites at that time.

    Earlier, on October 3, 2023, an Armenian citizen who broke the windows in the same synagogue openly stated that his actions "were revenge against Israel, which supplies weapons to Azerbaijan, which is at war against Armenia."

    Thus, the side effect of the strategic partnership between Israel and Azerbaijan is the extremist and anti-Semitic actions of Armenian nationalists against Armenia's poorly protected Jewish sites. The losers always 'fall back' on the weaker ones," the expert says.

    According to him, the military-political leadership of Israel has not perceived Armenia as an independent and serious player for a long time.

    "This country has become a transshipment base for Iranian arms and military equipment shipments to Russia. Armenia is saturated with Iranian influence, which certainly stimulates anti-Jewish and anti-Israeli acts of vandalism. In the war that Israel is fighting for its life and security against Tehran's terrorist satellites, Armenia unfortunately has a place on the Iranian side of the front.

    For these reasons, Israel's diplomatic relations with Armenia have long been frozen. These are very cold contacts on a purely formal level.

    As an Israeli citizen who wishes well for his fellow Jews, I would advise the remnants of Armenia's microscopic Jewish community to leave that country as soon as possible, without waiting for more violent attacks and incidents of bloodshed. It is time for the Jews of Armenia to realize that their lives and safety are protected by nothing and no one in the territory of this small but vociferous ally of the fanatical ayatollahs," Briman said.

    Avraham Shmulevich, a specialist on the Caucasus, the Islamic world and the Middle East, head of the Eastern Partnership Institute (Jerusalem), reminded in his turn that indeed such attacks on the Jewish community, on the synagogue and on the memorial to the victims of the Holocaust have been occurring regularly in Armenia in recent years.

    "It is noteworthy that in all cases of attacks on the synagogue, the police of the Republic of Armenia did not find the perpetrators, although it would seem that if this happens regularly, it is possible to put video cameras, install protection and surveillance systems. But this does not happen. In words, the Armenian authorities, when they communicate with representatives of the Armenian Jewish community and foreign Jewish organizations, say that they will take all measures to find the perpetrators, but this does not happen. After the previous attack on the synagogue, it was reported in Armenian blogs that some hitherto unknown "youth ASALA" took responsibility for it. They had an account in "Telegram", published a video with footage of the attack, and Armenian media made accusations against Azerbaijanis - allegedly it was the work of Azerbaijani agents. However, no evidence was presented. And it sounds strange, because it turns out that the Armenian authorities allow Azerbaijani agents to operate in the center of Yerevan. That is, if they really believed that Azerbaijanis were behind it, they would certainly take the most serious search measures," says the head of the Institute.

    In the latter case, it was said to have been done by a tourist from Russia, he notes.

    "And again, no data about this person - why he was not detained, who recruited him, why he did it, how he left, etc. So there are two conclusions - either there are no special services and no police in Armenia at all, if they are not able to guard such a sensitive place, which has been repeatedly attacked, and are not able to conduct investigative actions, or they do not want to do it. But since we know that the special services and the police in Armenia work poorly, we can't help but conclude that the impunity of these vandals comes from the fact that nobody really catches them. The report about the latest attack was published by almost all media outlets in Israel, both Hebrew- and Russian-language.

    As for the attitude towards Jews in Armenia, it should be said that for years before, no complaints about manifestations of anti-Semitism were received from there. Even 10 years ago, Jews coming from Armenia said that they did not face discrimination or insults. But during the last few years the situation started to change, and I have already heard from Jews living in Armenia, from Israelis and Jews living in other countries who came to Armenia that they are starting to face hostility towards Israel," says the specialist.

    It should be said, he added, that there has been an anti-Semitic campaign in Armenian media for a long time.

    "It started back in the days of the KGB, when the committee launched disinformation that it was the Jews who were behind the Young Turks and the events of 1915. This is nonsense, but this myth has taken root in the Armenian Diaspora, and there are so many books and publications on the Internet on this topic. There are even claims that Jews were behind the formation of the Azerbaijani state in order to harm Armenians. That Azerbaijan attacked Armenia because Jews are jealous of Armenians - such nonsense. But this nonsense finds its listeners in Armenia, and that's why this kind of anti-Semitic sentiment is spread. Besides, Armenian media write that Israel supplies arms to Azerbaijan. Yes, it is true, but it is a normal manifestation of interstate relations. Israel has a long history of relations with Azerbaijan, I think, since 1994, and the relations between the two nations are centuries old. None of the provisions of international law prohibits supplying arms to Azerbaijan, conducting military trade with it. Besides, as we know, Russia, Belarus and many other countries also supply arms to Azerbaijan. But for some reason, it is against Jews and Israel that such an anti-Semitic campaign is purposefully intensified in the Armenian media.

    I still hope that the Armenian authorities will take some measures both to protect Jewish sites and to protect the very small Jewish community that remains in Armenia. Because inaction in this case hits first of all the interests of Armenia itself. Impunity for such pogromists lowers Armenia's authority in the international arena," Shmulevich concluded.

    Caliber.Az

    Subscribe to our Telegram channel


Read also

West-backed Armenia likely to spark conflict with Azerbaijan rather than seek peace Caliber.Az reveals expert prognoses

25 July 2024 - 11:10

New war will erase Armenia’s sovereignty, pundits warn Yerevan's risky moves could backfire

25 July 2024 - 11:49

Georgian autumn: Pre-election dynamics Expert insights on Caliber.Az

24 July 2024 - 13:20

"Insult to American intellect" Analyst on democrats’ denial of Biden's health concerns

22 July 2024 - 14:48

Armenia - untrustworthy partner for any nation globally Expert insights on Caliber.Az

22 July 2024 - 10:24

Azerbaijan's stand against neo-colonialism garners global attention Political analysts laud Baku's diplomatic initiative

21 July 2024 - 12:27
ADVERTS
Video
Latest news

    Azerbaijan, Qatar forge economic alliance with new agreement

    25 July 2024 - 17:59

    Armenia’s fresh arms procurement & possible impact on regional stability

    Iran said strikes arms deal with Armenia

    25 July 2024 - 17:55

    Azerbaijani MoD warns Armenia, its backers of consequences over recent provocations

    Yerevan intends to escalate conflict

    25 July 2024 - 17:44

    Russian terror suspect captured in Türkiye's Bodrum

    Arrest moment caught on camera

    25 July 2024 - 17:31

    Earthquake observation borehole station starts operating in Shusha

    VIDEO

    25 July 2024 - 17:22

    China accuses US of widespread disinformation tactics

    25 July 2024 - 17:18

    Azerbaijan: The new powerhouse of aluminium production amid global market strain

    "Green" era's requirement

    25 July 2024 - 17:05

    Expert: Pressure on media increasing in Armenia

    25 July 2024 - 16:52

    Official: Armenia's sudden EU membership would lead to economic collapse

    25 July 2024 - 16:39

    Australian journalists refuse to cover Paris Olympics amidst strike action

    "No way to do more for less"

    25 July 2024 - 16:26

    Azerbaijan repels Armenian drone reconnaissance attempt near Tovuz

    25 July 2024 - 16:20

    Azerbaijan-Serbia Intergovernmental Commission to meet in Belgrade in 2025

    25 July 2024 - 16:14

    Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan to begin laying fibre-optic communication line

    25 July 2024 - 16:13

    Armenia prepares response to Baku's peace treaty proposals

    25 July 2024 - 16:09

    Turkish army neutralizes over 1,500 terrorists since January 2024

    VIDEO

    25 July 2024 - 16:00

    Yerevan court holds hearing for Armenia's ex-president Kocharyan's son

    25 July 2024 - 15:47

    Phantom arms deal: How false claims aim to derail Baku-Tehran diplomacy

    Azerbaijan embraces "forewarned is forearmed" principle

    25 July 2024 - 15:34

    Azerbaijan-Serbia trade turnover rises fivefold

    25 July 2024 - 15:21

    Lithuania to receive €150 million from EU for border strengthening

    25 July 2024 - 15:21

    SOCAR, KazMunayGas heads discuss strategic partnership & oil transit

    25 July 2024 - 15:09

    Azerbaijan as a peace broker: Navigating the Israel-Hezbollah tensions

    Article by BESA

    25 July 2024 - 14:56

    Can Biden revive the Iran nuclear deal?

    Caliber.Az on YouTube

    25 July 2024 - 14:41

    Azerbaijan & Serbia boost economic ties in Baku meeting

    25 July 2024 - 14:26

    Israeli military hits Hezbollah sites in Lebanon

    25 July 2024 - 14:25

    Azerbaijani naval cadets undergo intensive practical training

    PHOTO/VIDEO

    25 July 2024 - 14:12

    Türkiye assumes command of Combined Task Force in Gulf of Aden

    PHOTO

    25 July 2024 - 13:59

    Armenian, US discuss Yerevan-Baku relations, peace initiatives

    25 July 2024 - 13:46

    How long will Russia's war with Ukraine last?

    Fitch forecast

    25 July 2024 - 13:32

    Envoy: Kazakhstan to hand over CICA chairmanship to Azerbaijan at COP29

    25 July 2024 - 13:19

    US-Armenian military drills: Peacemaking or wake-up call?

    Stabilization cloaking aggravation

    25 July 2024 - 13:18

    Netherlands, Denmark to supply 14 Leopard tanks to Ukraine

    25 July 2024 - 13:05

    Armenian pro-Western platform to launch signature campaign for EU membership referendum

    25 July 2024 - 12:53

    Notorious Ocampo calls for another anti-Azerbaijani campaign ahead of COP29

    Tactics behind & motives remain unchanged

    25 July 2024 - 12:40

    Russian, Syrian leaders discuss situation in Middle East

    25 July 2024 - 12:28

    British PM backs military aid, NATO membership for Ukraine

    25 July 2024 - 12:15

    Azerbaijan, Israel discuss expansion of cooperation in digital technologies

    PHOTO

    25 July 2024 - 12:02

    New war will erase Armenia’s sovereignty, pundits warn

    Yerevan's risky moves could backfire

    25 July 2024 - 11:49

    New report unveils security failures in Trump rally shooting incident

    25 July 2024 - 11:36

    Two men killed in helicopter crash in Australia

    25 July 2024 - 11:28

    Foreign travellers touring Karabakh 

    PHOTO

    25 July 2024 - 11:23

All news

«В Израиле не воспринимают Армению как самостоятельного игрока»
    Экспертные мнения на Caliber.Az

    ИНТЕРВЬЮ  16 Июня 2024 - 10:46

    Самир Ибрагимов

    В Ереване неизвестные в ночь на вторник, 11 июня, напали на синагогу. Об этом сообщили представители еврейской общины Армении. На фотографиях, опубликованных в телеграм-каналах, видно разбитое камнем окно и осколки стёкол. Возбуждено уголовное дело по факту нападения на религиозный центр с нанесением умышленного ущерба. 

    Нынешнее нападение на единственную синагогу в армянской столице — четвёртое с октября прошлого года. В израильских СМИ выражают обеспокоенность отсутствием реакции властей. В публикациях напоминают о случаях угроз раввинам и израильтянам в соцсетях. Злоумышленники, пытавшиеся поджечь здание, не найдены до сих пор. Армянские власти заявляли, что речь идёт о туристе — гражданине России, но никаких данных по этому поводу не публиковали. 

    Как в израильском обществе восприняли эту новость? Чем объяснить повторяемость подобных инцидентов в Армении? Своим мнением об этом поделились с  Caliber.Az известные израильские эксперты.

    Как рассказывает журналист и историк Шимон Бриман, израильские СМИ, освещая нападение на единственную синагогу в Ереване, отмечают, что это четвертое нападение за полугодие, то есть это не случайность, а целенаправленная тенденция.

    «Наши СМИ подчеркнули, что в ноябре 2023 года армянская террористическая организация АСАЛА взяла на себя ответственность за попытку поджога этой же синагоги. Напомним, что данная организация пообещала тогда новые действия против еврейских объектов.

    Ранее, 3 октября 2023 года, гражданин Армении, разбивший стекла в той же синагоге, открыто заявил, что эти его действия «были местью Израилю, который поставляет оружие Азербайджану, воюющему против Армении».

    Таким образом, побочным эффектом стратегического партнерства Израиля и Азербайджана становятся экстремистские и антисемитские акции армянских националистов против плохо защищенных еврейских объектов Армении. Неудачники всегда «отрываются» на более слабых», — говорит эксперт.

    По его словам, в военно-политическом руководстве Израиля давно не воспринимают Армению как самостоятельного и серьезного игрока.

    «Эта страна стала перевалочной базой для поставок иранского оружия и военной техники в Россию. Армения насквозь пропитана иранским влиянием, которое, безусловно, стимулирует антиеврейские и антиизраильские акты вандализма. В той войне, которую Израиль ведет за свою жизнь и безопасность против террористических сателлитов Тегерана, у Армении, к сожалению, есть место на иранской стороне фронта.

    В силу этих причин дипломатические отношения Израиля с Арменией давно находятся в замороженном состоянии. Это очень холодные контакты на чисто формальном уровне.

    Как гражданин Израиля, желающий добра своим собратьям-евреям, я бы посоветовал остаткам микроскопической еврейской общины Армении покинуть эту страну как можно скорее, не дожидаясь еще более сильных нападений и инцидентов с кровопролитием. Евреям Армении пора понять, что их жизни и безопасность ничем и никем не защищены на территории этого маленького, но громкого союзника фанатичных аятолл», — заявил Бриман. 

    Специалист по Кавказу, исламскому миру и Ближнему Востоку, глава Института Восточного партнерства (Иерусалим) Авраам Шмулевич напомнил в свою очередь, что действительно подобные нападения на еврейскую общину, на синагогу и на мемориал жертвам Холокоста происходят в Армении в последние годы регулярно.

    «Примечательно, что во всех случаях нападений на синагогу полиция Республики Армения не нашла виновных, хотя, казалось бы, если это происходит регулярно, можно поставить видеокамеры, установить системы защиты и наблюдения. Но этого не происходит. На словах армянские власти, когда они общаются с представителями еврейской общины Армении и зарубежными еврейскими организациями, говорят, что они примут все меры для поиска виновных, но этого не происходит. В армянских пабликах после предыдущего нападения на синагогу сообщалось, что ответственность на себя за это взяла какая-то доселе неизвестная «молодежная АСАЛА». У них появился аккаунт в «Телеграме», они же опубликовали ролик с кадрами нападения, и армянские медиа выступили с обвинениями в адрес азербайджанцев — якобы это дело рук азербайджанской агентуры. Однако не было представлено никаких доказательств. И это странно звучит, потому что получается, что власти Армении позволяют азербайджанской агентуре действовать в центре Еревана. То есть если бы они действительно считали, что за этим стоят азербайджанцы, то они, конечно, предприняли бы самые серьезные меры поиска», — говорит глава института.

    В последнем случае было сказано, что это сделал турист из России, отмечает он.

    «И опять же никаких данных об этом человеке — почему его не задержали, кто его завербовал, зачем он это сделал, как он уехал и т. д. То есть тут напрашиваются два вывода — или в Армении вообще нет никаких спецслужб и никакой полиции, если они не способны выставить охрану у столь чувствительного места, неоднократно подвергавшегося нападениям, и не способны провести следственные действия, или же они не хотят этого делать. Но, поскольку мы знаем, что спецслужбы и полиция в Армении плохо-бедно, но работают, то невольно приходишь к выводу, что безнаказанность этих вандалов происходит оттого, что их никто по-настоящему не ловит. Сообщение о последнем нападении было опубликовано практически всеми СМИ Израиля, и ивритоязычными, и русскоязычными.

    Что касается отношения к евреям в Армении, надо сказать, что годами раньше никаких жалоб на проявления антисемитизма оттуда не поступало. Еще 10 лет назад евреи, приезжавшие из Армении, говорили, что они не сталкиваются с дискриминацией, с оскорблениями. Но в течение последних нескольких лет ситуация начала меняться, и я уже слышал от евреев, живущих в Армении, от израильтян и евреев, живущих в других странах, которые приезжали в Армению, что они начинают сталкиваться с враждебностью по отношению к Израилю», — говорит специалист.

    Надо сказать, добавил он, что в армянских СМИ уже давно идет антисемитская кампания.

    «Она началась еще во времена КГБ, когда комитет запустил дезинформацию о том, что именно евреи стояли за младотурками и событиями 1915 года. Это бред, но в армянской диаспоре этот миф пустил свои корни, и есть очень много даже книг и публикаций в интернете на эту тему. Есть даже утверждения, что именно евреи стояли за образованием азербайджанского государства, чтобы навредить армянам. Чтобы Азербайджан напал на Армению, потому что евреи завидуют армянам — такая вот чушь. Но этот бред находит своих слушателей в Армении, и поэтому распространяются такого рода антисемитские настроения. Кроме того, в армянских СМИ пишут, что Израиль поставляет оружие Азербайджану. Да, это правда, но это нормальное проявление межгосударственных отношений. Израиль имеет с Азербайджаном большую историю отношений, по-моему, с 1994 года, а отношения между двумя народами насчитывают много столетий. Ни одно из положений международного права не запрещает поставлять оружие Азербайджану, вести с ним военную торговлю. Кроме того, как известно, оружие Азербайджану поставляют также Россия, Беларусь и многие другие страны. Но почему-то именно против евреев и Израиля целенаправленно нагнетается такая антисемитская кампания в армянских СМИ.

    Я все-таки надеюсь, что армянские власти предпримут какие-то меры и для охраны еврейских объектов, и для защиты очень немногочисленной еврейской общины, которая остается еще в Армении. Потому что бездействие в данном случае бьет прежде всего по интересам самой Армении. Безнаказанность таких погромщиков понижает авторитет Армении на международной арене», — заключил Шмулевич.

    Caliber.Az

    Просмотров: 4579

    Подписывайтесь на наш Telegram-канал


Читайте также

«Поддерживаемая Западом Армения будет провоцировать новую войну» Экспертные мнения на Caliber.Az

25 Июля 2024 - 10:08

Святая земля раздора Михаил Финкель в гостях у Caliber.Az

24 Июля 2024 - 18:20

«Новая война приведет к полной потере Арменией своей субъектности» Осовцов и Рубаев на Caliber.Az

24 Июля 2024 - 14:44

«Армения играет роль пешки на шахматной доске» Эксперты на Caliber.Az

23 Июля 2024 - 14:40

Грузинская осень: предвыборный расклад Экспертные мнения на Caliber.Az

24 Июля 2024 - 12:12

«Это оскорбление интеллекта каждого американца» Экспертные мнения на Caliber.Az

22 Июля 2024 - 13:00
РЕКЛАМА
Видео
Последние новости

    Не стоит ссориться с тем, кого не понимаешь

    «Неудобная правда» Самита Алиева

    25 Июля 2024 - 16:45

    Число погибших в Газе возросло

    25 Июля 2024 - 16:41

    Путин и Лукашенко провели встречу на Валааме

    25 Июля 2024 - 16:36

    В Азербайджане увеличивается оборот платежных операций

    25 Июля 2024 - 16:36

    KOBİA: Между Азербайджаном и Катаром начинается новый этап развития экономических и деловых связей

    25 Июля 2024 - 16:30

    В Азербайджане планируется открыть около 30 ресторанов популярных брендов

    25 Июля 2024 - 16:27

    В Москве случайно задержали международного террориста, разыскиваемого Азербайджаном

    25 Июля 2024 - 16:27

    Кто будет учиться за рубежом за счет государства?

    СПИСОК

    25 Июля 2024 - 16:23

    Утверждена кандидатура Полада Бюльбюльоглу в депутаты

    25 Июля 2024 - 16:20

    В направлении Товуза нейтрализован армянский квадрокоптер

    25 Июля 2024 - 16:07

    Соратник Тер-Петросяна: Если завтра Армения станет членом ЕС, то наша экономика рухнет

    25 Июля 2024 - 16:02

    Израиль нанес удары по целям в южном Ливане

    ВИДЕО

    25 Июля 2024 - 16:02

    Ереван готовит ответные предложения Баку по мирному договору

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:56

    Северная Корея запустила в сторону Южной взрывающиеся шары

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:51

    Когда зарубежные доноры перестанут финансировать радикализм в Грузии?

    Мнение Кобахидзе

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:49

    Австралийские газетчики отказываются освещать Олимпийские игры в Париже

    Делать больше за меньшие деньги

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:46

    МЧС продолжает поиски подростка, утонувшего в Самур-Абшеронском канале

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:45

    Джейхун Байрамов встретился с молодыми дипломатами, начавшими работу в МИД

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:35

    Центробанк Узбекистана снизил основную ставку

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:30

    Израиль предупредил о вероятных терактах на Олимпиаде

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:28

    ЕК не приняла никаких мер против Украины

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:21

    В Румынии обнаружили обломки российских «Шахедов»

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:20

    Азербайджано-китайское партнерство против цинизма «первых среди равных»

    Размышления Теймура Атаева

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:15

    Представитель МО Китая: США стали империей лжи

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:12

    Блогер Джалилов инкогнито «засветился» за границей

    Псих-лечение пошло на пользу? / ВИДЕО

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:08

    Как в турецком Бодруме поймали исполнителя теракта в России?

    Видео задержания

    25 Июля 2024 - 15:08

    Али Асадов встретился с председателем Конституционного суда Турции

    ФОТО

    25 Июля 2024 - 14:55

    Иран считает выступление Нетаньяху позорным

    25 Июля 2024 - 14:49

    Обсуждали ли Путин и Асад Украину?

    25 Июля 2024 - 14:40

    Азербайджан и Казахстан приступят к прокладке волоконно-оптической линии связи

    25 Июля 2024 - 14:22

    Эксперт Меликян: В Армении усиливается давление на СМИ

    25 Июля 2024 - 14:20

    Виртуальное оружие против Баку и Тегерана

    Кампания дезинформации в действии

    25 Июля 2024 - 14:17

    Матери Национального героя Азербайджана Натига Гасымова государство подарило квартиру

    ФОТО

    25 Июля 2024 - 14:13

    Reuters: Переговоры с ХАМАС находятся на завершающей стадии

    25 Июля 2024 - 14:09

    Шольц не хочет допустить войны России и НАТО

    25 Июля 2024 - 14:08

    В Ереване проходит заседание по делу сына Кочаряна

    25 Июля 2024 - 14:04

    Арестованы ли Агададаш Агаев и избивший его охранник?

    Экс-зэк & народный артист ВИДЕО/ПОДРОБНОСТИ

    25 Июля 2024 - 13:59

    Бабаев: Следующее заседание МПК Азербаджана и Сербии пройдет в 2025 году в Белграде

    25 Июля 2024 - 13:55

    Россия открыта к переговорам по Украине

    25 Июля 2024 - 13:55

    Украинский вингер переходит в «Нефтчи»

    25 Июля 2024 - 13:49

Все новости