Armenian-Indian axis against stability in South Caucasus
    Baku already voiced its warning

    ANALYTICS  25 January 2023 - 12:38

    Matanat Nasibova
    Caliber.Az

    The Armenian media periodically reported on the military-technical cooperation with India, with the Indian portal IDRW having more recently reported on the alleged purchase of Indian medium-range anti-aircraft missile systems MRASM by Armenia. It was noted that this decision of the Armenian side is caused by the desire to replace the outdated Soviet air defence systems “Pechora” C - 125 with more modern complexes. Ever since Russia suspended military supplies to Armenia, the establishment of military-technical cooperation with India became of special importance for the Republic of Armenia.

    Meanwhile, the MRASM is capable of accompanying and striking several targets at a distance of 70 kilometers, a joint product of the Indian company “DRDO” and the Israeli “IAI” (Israel Aerospace Industries) - manufactured in India, with some components of the complex purchased from Israel.

    How likely such a military deal is, given the difficult relations between Israel and Armenia, is difficult to say, because Israel is an ally of Azerbaijan, and recently confidently close to Türkiye, while Armenia does not hide its sympathies for the Jewish state’s most bitter enemy, Iran. Most likely, the Armenian side, declaring its intention to acquire weapons of Israeli-Indian production, is too far ahead of events, rushing to boast about such a friendship and such cooperation.

    At the same time, the military-technical contract for a total amount of $250 million, under which Armenia purchased multiple rocket launcher systems “Pinaka” and ATAGS self-propelled howitzers last autumn, shows that the long cherished plans by Yerevan to conclude military contracts and, at the same time, establish friendly relations with the largest state in the South Asian continent already have real contours. The official visit of Defence Minister Suren Papikian to New Delhi in October 2022 marked the beginning of this cooperation, desired by Yerevan.

    On the whole, the military-technical reorientation of Armenia in its current, far from enviable, situation towards India is quite logical and does not give rise to questions: everything is clear and an analysis is not required. However, it is India’s position that is perplexing. Even assuming that New Delhi deliberately escalates its relations with Azerbaijan and Türkiye, thus displaying dissatisfaction with the two countries' growing alliance with Pakistan (with which Indians have long-standing hostile relations due to the Kashmir dispute) this is not a very good reason to weigh relations with Yerevan on one hand, and with Azerbaijan and Türkiye on the other. By showing excessive generosity to Armenia, India has openly shown solidarity with the occupying country, thus encouraging Armenian separatism.

    But India’s military support for Armenia is unlikely to affect the military-strategic balance of power in the region, therefore New Delhi will merely spoil its relations with Baku and Ankara.

    Additionally, the American magazine Forbes reported the other day that Armenia is preparing to send 4 Su-30CM fighters it bought from Russia in 2019 to India, for equipping and upgrading their missiles. In other words, it seems that India is, in fact, becoming the main supplier of armaments to Armenia, and thus a real source of threat to the stability and security of the South Caucasus. Close military cooperation between Armenia and India can also negatively affect the stability of the region seeing as the strengthening of Yerevan’s military potential will inevitably be aimed at creating an explosive situation on the border with Azerbaijan and will become a powerful incentive for a new round of tension. This is not a new, larger-scale war in Karabakh though, since Armenia does not have the appropriate military and technical resources and trained army, for which it will need decades to build them. However, Armenia will undoubtedly at some point will try to re-stage a large-scale military provocation on the border with Azerbaijan, including the use of Indian weapons.

    It is not surprising, therefore, that throughout the entire period of Armenia’s occupation of Azerbaijani territories, the region resembled a powder keg and was armed to the teeth due to the aggressive policy of Yerevan. Without a doubt, the current power potentials of Azerbaijan and Armenia are fundamentally different, and given that Baku is increasing its military power every day, the equipment of the neighbouring country with new and modern types of weapons, including Indian ones, has no guarantee of success in the event of a resumption of hostilities in the region.

    Azerbaijan’s President Ilham Aliyev emphasized this in his recent interview to local TV channels. The head of state sent a clear message to Armenia regarding the fact that it began to actively arm itself, noting that “even if some weapons will be supplied to Armenia, this will not help it.

    I have repeatedly told to the Armenian side, that we should not waste money on this. Because, firstly, it will not help you, and secondly, it may create some illusion among the revanchist forces in your country. It can create the illusion that you will take revenge. You will not succeed! If we observe that we are in some serious danger, we will immediately eliminate this. Wherever this danger occurs - on our territory or abroad. It is our legitimate right”, Aliyev warned.

    This message, addressed to Armenia, is also addressed to the states promoting war and Armenian separatism. At the moment, the list of such states seems to be headed by India, clearly conceding even the ardent supporter of Armenian interests to Iran, and even the “sister” France. And how soon Tehran and New Delhi will have an epiphany is, unfortunately, a rhetorical question...

    Caliber.Az

    Subscribe to our Telegram channel


Read also

Third Karabakh War becomes inevitable The region is on the brink of a major conflagration

22 June 2024 - 16:19

US assumes world gendarme role Policing global dynamics

22 June 2024 - 12:18

Azerbaijan's gas diversification: betting on Bulgarian industry Caliber.Az review

22 June 2024 - 13:33

Paris and Baku: A clash of interests & ideologies Historical context & rivalry origins

21 June 2024 - 17:26

Hypersonic arms race between China and the US What to expect?

21 June 2024 - 17:02

French Senate's anti-Azerbaijani move backfires “A sacred space is never empty”

22 June 2024 - 14:46
ADVERTS
Video
Latest news

    Challenges ahead for potential US-Saudi defence pact

    22 June 2024 - 20:00

    Azerbaijan to organise national park tours during COP29

    22 June 2024 - 18:24

    Ukraine set to sign detailed security guarantees agreement with EU

    22 June 2024 - 18:12

    Israel to announce defeat of Hamas' military wing

    22 June 2024 - 18:00

    Giving Slovak jets, air defence to Kyiv was sabotage

    New government says

    22 June 2024 - 17:48

    South Korea, Japan, US forge closer security alliance following Putin-Kim summit

    22 June 2024 - 17:36

    Iran overturns death penalty for rapper Toomaj Salehi

    22 June 2024 - 17:24

    German Air Force conducts precision bombing exercises in Alaska

    22 June 2024 - 17:12

    ASELSAN reveals advanced ground-based air defence system at Eurosatory 2024

    PHOTO/VIDEO

    22 June 2024 - 17:00

    Kazakhstan's priorities at COP29: Focus on green finance market & taxonomy

    22 June 2024 - 16:48

    Houthis unveil new deadly drone boat to help keep pressure on the Red Sea

    22 June 2024 - 16:36

    Haniyeh affirms Hamas' willingness to consider all initiatives

    22 June 2024 - 16:24

    Third Karabakh War becomes inevitable

    The region is on the brink of a major conflagration

    22 June 2024 - 16:19

    Azerbaijan assumes presidency of IOTA

    Underscores growing international influence

    22 June 2024 - 16:12

    China, France collaborate on the launch of cutting-edge astronomical satellite

    22 June 2024 - 16:00

    US assures Israel of support in potential conflict with Lebanon

    22 June 2024 - 15:48

    Lithuania's defence industry boosts European security amid Ukraine war

    Caliber.Az on YouTube

    22 June 2024 - 15:36

    Some 25 killed in strikes on camp near Rafah, Gaza ministry says

    22 June 2024 - 15:24

    Tunisian president sacks minister after the death of dozens on Hajj pilgrimage

    22 June 2024 - 15:12

    Britain's wealthiest family members sentenced to prison

    For exploiting servants

    22 June 2024 - 15:00

    French Senate's anti-Azerbaijani move backfires

    “A sacred space is never empty”

    22 June 2024 - 14:46

    Russian Su-35, US MQ-9 drones near collision over Syria

    22 June 2024 - 14:30

    Russia threatens retaliation if US closes visa centers, ends diplomatic tax privileges

    22 June 2024 - 14:15

    Armenia takes revenge on Israel by recognizing Palestinian state

    Article by Ynet News

    22 June 2024 - 14:00

    Venezuelan president accuses opposition of plotting coup ahead of election

    22 June 2024 - 13:48

    Azerbaijan's gas diversification: betting on Bulgarian industry

    Caliber.Az review

    22 June 2024 - 13:33

    New Zealand's Interislander ferry runs aground

    PHOTO

    22 June 2024 - 13:18

    Russian air forces neutralize five Ukrainian drones across different regions

    22 June 2024 - 13:03

    Japan's imperial couple leaves for Britain as state guests

    22 June 2024 - 12:48

    Azerbaijan's green energy share reaches 14% in electricity generation

    22 June 2024 - 12:33

    US assumes world gendarme role

    Policing global dynamics

    22 June 2024 - 12:18

    US policy allows Ukraine limited strikes on Russian targets

    Amidst restrictions

    22 June 2024 - 12:03

    Azerbaijani police seize cache of weapons in Khankandi

    Furthering security measures

    22 June 2024 - 11:48

    Boeing's Starliner return to Earth postponed

    NASA says no new date set

    22 June 2024 - 11:33

    USS Theodore Roosevelt arrives in Busan in show of force

    22 June 2024 - 11:19

    Poland scrambles jets as Russia strikes Ukraine

    22 June 2024 - 11:05

    Azerbaijani President announces Green World Solidarity Year at Baku Energy Week

    Interview with Euronews/PHOTO/VIDEO

    22 June 2024 - 10:51

    US notifies Russia of visa center closures in Washington, New York

    22 June 2024 - 10:39

    Russian deputy foreign minister admits collapse of Iran nuclear deal

    22 June 2024 - 10:26

    Armenia shells Azerbaijani army positions in Kalbajar

    Retaliatory measures taken

    22 June 2024 - 10:18

All news

Армения-Индия: вместе против стабильности на Южном Кавказе
    Баку уже сделал предупреждение

    АНАЛИТИКА  25 Января 2023 - 10:23

    Матанат Насибова
    Политический обозреватель Caliber.Az

    В армянских СМИ периодически появляется информация о военно-техническом сотрудничества с Индией, а сравнительно недавно индийский портал IDRW сообщил о предполагаемой закупке Арменией индийских зенитно-ракетных комплексов средней дальности MRASМ. Отмечалось , что это решение армянской стороны вызвано желанием заменить устаревшие советские ЗРК С – 125 «Печора» на более современные комплексы. После того как Россия приостановила военные поставки в Армению, налаживание военно-технического сотрудничества с Индией для РА обретает особую значимость.

    Между тем ЗРК MRASM способны сопровождать и поражать сразу несколько целей на расстоянии 70 километров, но являются совместным продуктом индийской компании DRDO и израильской IAI (Israel Aerospace Industries) - производятся в Индии, но некоторые компоненты комплекса закупаются в Израиле.

    Насколько вероятна подобная военная сделка, учитывая непростые отношения между Израилем и Арменией, сказать трудно, ведь Израиль является союзником Азербайджана, а за последнее время уверенно сближается и с Турцией, в то время как Армения не скрывает своих симпатий к самому заядлому врагу еврейского государства - Ирану. Скорее всего армянская сторона, заявляя о намерениях обрести вооружение израильско-индийского производства, слишком опережает события, спеша похвастать такой дружбой и таким сотрудничеством.

    В то же время военно-технический контракт на общую сумму 250 миллионов долларов, в рамках которого осенью прошлого года Армения закупила реактивные системы залпового огня Pinaka и самоходные гаубицы ATAGS, свидетельствуют, что давно вынашиваемые Ереваном планы заключить военные контракты и заодно завести дружеские отношения с крупнейшим государством Южно-Азиатского континента уже имеют реальные контуры. А последовавший за этим официальный визит министра обороны Сурена Папикяна в Нью-Дели в октябре 2022 года положил начало вожделенного для Еревана сотрудничества.

    В целом же военно-техническая переориентация Армении в ее нынешнем далеко не завидном положении на Индию вполне логично и не вызывает вопросов - все ясно и анализ не требуется. Однако недоумение вызывает позиция Индии. Даже если предположить, что Нью-Дели сознательно идет на обострение отношений с Азербайджаном и Турцией, демонстрируя таким образом недовольство крепнущим союзом двух стран с Пакистаном (с которым у индийцев давние враждебные отношения из-за спора о принадлежности Кашмира), это не самый веский повод, чтобы ставить на одну чашу весов отношения с Ереваном, а на другую - с Азербайджаном и Турцией. Проявляя излишнее великодушие к Армении, Индия открыто выказывает солидарность к стране-оккупанту, поощряя тем самым армянский сепаратизм.

    Но едва ли военная поддержка Индией Армении способна повлиять на военно-стратегический баланс сил в регионе. Поэтому Нью-Дели всего лишь испортит отношения с Баку и Анкарой.

    А на днях американский журнал Forbes написал, что Армения готовится отправить в Индию четыре истребителя Су-30СМ, купленных ею у России в 2019 году, для оснащения и модернизации их ракетами. То есть похоже, что Индия фактически превращается в главного поставщика вооружений в Армению, а значит в реальный источник угрозы для стабильности и безопасности Южного Кавказа. Тесное военное сотрудничество Армении и Индии может отрицательно сказаться на стабильности региона еще и потому, что усиление военного потенциала Еревана неминуемо будет направлено на создание взрывоопасной ситуации на границе с Азербайджаном и станет мощным стимулом для нового витка напряженности. Причем речь идет не о новой, более масштабной войне в Карабахе, поскольку у Армении нет соответствующей военно-технической ресурсной базы и подготовленной армии, а в ее случае, на создание их нужны десятилетия. Однако то, что Армения в какой-то момент попытается вновь устроить масштабную военную провокацию на границе с Азербайджаном, в том числе и с применением индийских вооружений, сомнений не вызывает.

    Поэтому неудивительно, что весь период оккупации Арменией азербайджанских территорий регион напоминал пороховую бочку и был вооружен до зубов из-за агрессивной политики Еревана. Безусловно, существующие сегодня силовые потенциалы Азербайджана и Армении основательно разнятся, а учитывая, что Баку с каждым днем усиливает военную мощь, оснащение соседней страны новыми, современными видами вооружений в том числе и индийскими, нисколько не гарантирует ей успеха в случае возобновления военных действий в регионе.

    Особый акцент на этом сделал президент Азербайджана Ильхам Алиев в своем недавнем интервью для местных телеканалов. Глава государства направил четкий месседж Армении в связи с тем, что она начала активно вооружаться, отметив, что «если даже в Армению будет поставляться то, или иное оружие, это не поможет ей».

    «Я неоднократно говорил это армянской стороне, что не надо понапрасну тратить на это средства. Потому что, во-первых, это вам не поможет, а во-вторых, может создать какую-то иллюзию у находящихся в вашей стране реваншистских сил. Может создать иллюзию, что вы возьмете реванш. Вам это не удастся! Если мы увидим, что нам грозит какая-то серьезная опасность, мы тут же устраним ее. Где бы эта опасность ни возникла – на нашей территории или за ее пределами. Это наше легитимное право», - предупредил И.Алиев

    Данный месседж, адресованный Армении, в том числе направлен и государствам, поощряющим войну и армянский сепаратизм. На данный момент список таких государств похоже возглавит именно Индия, однозначно уступив даже ярому стороннику армянских интересов Ирану, и даже «сестричке» Франции. А как скоро наступит прозрение у Тегерана и Нью-Дели, к сожалению, вопрос риторический….

    Caliber.Az

    Просмотров: 1690

    Подписывайтесь на наш Telegram-канал


Читайте также

Игра мускулами или контуры нового Карибского кризиса? Аналогия с событиями 1962 года

15 Июня 2024 - 17:17

Путь Баку, ультиматум Москвы и паника Парижа «События» с Мурадом Абиевым

15 Июня 2024 - 19:14

Шушинская декларация — фактор региональной стабильности И констатация исторического выбора

15 Июня 2024 - 15:44

Экологические дестинации Азербайджана: туризм на вулканах Обзор Caliber.Az

15 Июня 2024 - 09:40

Союзнические отношения во благо мира и безопасности 3 года Шушинской декларации

15 Июня 2024 - 11:42

Алко-пропаганда «Истерики древнего мира»

14 Июня 2024 - 12:03
РЕКЛАМА
Видео
Последние новости

    Саркози заявил, что не планирует возвращаться в политику

    16 Июня 2024 - 06:30

    Албания забила самый быстрый гол в истории чемпионатов Европы

    16 Июня 2024 - 05:30

    Табак в Россию с 1 июля можно будет ввозить только с акцизными марками

    16 Июня 2024 - 04:30

    В Беларуси ядерное оружие признали гарантом безопасности 

    16 Июня 2024 - 03:31

    В Брюсселе нашли сходство ситуации во Франции с выходом Британии из ЕС

    16 Июня 2024 - 02:30

    Макрон считает необходимым расширить круг стран по украинскому вопросу

    16 Июня 2024 - 01:59

    Саркози: Идея приема Украины в ЕС противоречит здравому смыслу

    16 Июня 2024 - 01:31

    Водители Ferrari остались без навигаторов

    16 Июня 2024 - 01:00

    В Азербайджане отмечается Гурбан байрамы

    16 Июня 2024 - 00:38

    Глава Евросовета заявил, что мир на Украине требует диалога с Россией

    16 Июня 2024 - 00:30

    МВД Франции сообщил об участии около 250 тыс. человек в акциях левых партий

    16 Июня 2024 - 00:00

    Фон дер Ляйен выступила против заморозки конфликта в Украине

    15 Июня 2024 - 23:42

    Модрич сравнялся с Роналду по числу чемпионатов Европы

    15 Июня 2024 - 23:39

    В Тертерском районе драка между двумя братьями закончилась убийством

    ВИДЕО

    15 Июня 2024 - 23:28

    В Азербайджане увеличилось число туристов из Индии

    15 Июня 2024 - 23:24

    Турция выступила за участие России на саммите в Швейцарии

    15 Июня 2024 - 23:10

    Французская компания может потерять урановый рудник в Нигере

    15 Июня 2024 - 22:55

    В Габале произошла цепная авария, есть погибший и раненые

    15 Июня 2024 - 22:41

    Шольц понял, что без России нельзя достигнуть мира в Украине

    15 Июня 2024 - 22:34

    Подведены итоги турнира по мини-футболу среди компаний, входящих в Global Media Group

    ФОТО/ВИДЕО

    15 Июня 2024 - 22:32

    Конституция Армении, Белфастское соглашение и COP29

    Джеймс Шарп в гостях у Caliber.Az

    15 Июня 2024 - 22:22

    Британия подозревает Китай в шпионаже через фуражки

    15 Июня 2024 - 22:20

    Месси и Ди Мария включены в финальную заявку сборной Аргентины на Кубок Америки-2024

    15 Июня 2024 - 22:06

    Microsoft удалила из Windows самостоятельно появившееся приложение

    15 Июня 2024 - 21:53

    Пашинян предложил Баку создать механизм для расследования нарушений прекращения огня

    15 Июня 2024 - 21:50

    Президент Ильхам Алиев поделился публикацией по случаю праздника Гурбан

    15 Июня 2024 - 21:45

    В G7 обсудят вопросы по использованию доходов от активов РФ

    15 Июня 2024 - 21:39

    Стали известны условия дебатов Трампа и Байдена

    15 Июня 2024 - 21:23

    В Германии нашли древнейшую рукопись с описанием детства Иисуса

    15 Июня 2024 - 21:11

    Испания возобновила импорт железа и стали из России

    15 Июня 2024 - 21:00

    Эрдоган поздравил азербайджанский народ

    ФОТО

    15 Июня 2024 - 20:49

    Азербайджанский клуб подписал бразильского нападающего

    15 Июня 2024 - 20:32

    В азербайджанской армии состоялся цикл мероприятий по случаю Дня национального спасения

    ФОТО/ВИДЕО

    15 Июня 2024 - 20:27

    Харрис: США поддерживают Украину для сохранения выгодного миропорядка

    15 Июня 2024 - 20:19

    Зорлу Торе подчеркнул роль Гейдара Алиева

    15 Июня 2024 - 20:05

    Жительницу Азербайджана насмерть ударило током

    15 Июня 2024 - 19:50

    ЦАХАЛ сообщил о гибели восьми военных на юге сектора Газа

    15 Июня 2024 - 19:47

    В Товузе автомобиль упал в реку, двое пропали без вести

    ФОТО/ВИДЕО

    15 Июня 2024 - 19:45

    Швейцария обыграла Венгрию на Евро-2024

    15 Июня 2024 - 19:40

    Мухтар Бабаев встретился с победителем конкурса Yüksəliş

    15 Июня 2024 - 19:27

Все новости