Armenia faces internal strife as border agreement with Azerbaijan sparks unrest
    Tensions rise

    ANALYTICS  23 April 2024 - 12:28

    Mahmud Shnir

    Diplomats and politicians from across the world supported the results of the April 19 meeting between the Azerbaijani and Armenian deputy prime ministers. Thus, President of the European Council Charles Michel welcomed the agreement between Armenia and Azerbaijan on the 1991 Alma Ata Declaration as the basis for border delimitation between the two countries. He made a post on his X account regarding this. " Border delimitation based on the unambiguous recognition of the territorial integrity of each country has been a key element also of discussions in Brussels and will serve as an essential step towards normalisation and the peaceful opening of the entire region," Michel posted.

    This refers to the agreements reached as a result of the April 19, 2024 meeting of the commissions on the border delimitation between Azerbaijan and Armenia. According to these agreements, the villages of Baganis, Kheyrimli, Ashaghi Askipara and Gizilhajili are fully returned to Azerbaijani control. This is fair and gives some hope, albeit ghostly, that the neighbors finally come to their senses and begin to understand that it is not good to take someone else's property, and if you have taken it, it must be returned.

    Unfortunately, this understanding is not peculiar to everyone. For example, in the Tavush (Tovuzgala) region of Armenia, riots have started, which are fueled by revanchists. As a result of the scuffle in Bagratashen (Lamballe), Garnik Danielyan, a member of parliament from Kocharyan's Armenia faction, received light injuries. "As a result of the authorities' provocation, a scuffle took place in Bagratashen section, where Tavush residents blocked the road" - this is how Kristine Vardanyan, MP from the same faction, assessed the situation. In her opinion, "the agreement on delimitation is a provocation of the Armenian authorities". In general, there is a tactical alliance between revanchists, the opposition and a part of the Armenian Apostolic Church against the ruling Civil Contract party in Armenia.

    On April 21, protesters blocked the road on the Ashaghi Askipara - Kheyrimli section of the M6 highway. This road is of interstate importance and connects Armenia with Georgia. And today the primate of the AAC's Tavush Diocese, Archbishop Bagrat Galstanyan, said the following: "All this movement is in the name of God, in the name of Motherland, in the name of justice and truth", after which he addressed the cultural figures of Armenia with the words: "You are obliged to present your position today. This is simply a catastrophe. Today we are fighting for the truth. Until now, the nation has been alone, and today is the time to change that." Well, the clergyman, of course, has every right to address both the society as a whole and a certain part of it, but the Archbishop's words, with which he addressed the Armenian military, both current and former, should make the Armenian authorities wary: "Your uniform is your honor, which we respect. It is the homeland and the state you are defending. Say something, show something. The Armenian military, especially the former ones, cannot remain silent. Tomorrow it will be the turn of Tigranashen (Karki - Ed.). Our state will become a memory and a dream". Am I the only one who sees in these words a call for the violent overthrow of power through a military coup?

    So, if I were the relevant Armenian authorities, I would take a closer look at the Archbishop, or you know, just in case. The Armenian Church has extensive connections, and personally I would not be surprised by anything. Not even an attempted military coup. Besides, his eminence has already openly stated that he considers himself a revanchist and "will live like that until the last second of his life".

    Another thing is also indicative: in his interview with Sputnik Armenia, he stated the following: "Voskepar is no longer just a geographical territory, it is a symbol. And it has a good name – “Golden Dance” (this is a translation of the village's name from Armenian). We had the "Wedding in the Mountains" (the operation to occupy Shusha in 1992), and now we have the "Golden Dance", let it be the harbinger of our complete liberation, the return of the dream and the homeland of our heroes." Out of respect for the sanctuary, I will refrain from recalling exactly how that wedding in 2020 ended, but I don't mind dancing at all, especially remembering how some people danced in the then occupied Shusha and what happened after that. And "Golden Dance" is no longer "Golden Dance", there is no "Golden Dance" anymore, but there is the Azerbaijani village of Ashaghi Askipara, and that is forever. Make conclusions: you are unlucky when you start dancing, and the map is not good, and the political map is changing.

    By and large, the conflict between the Armenian authorities and part of the Armenian society is their internal affair, and we are not going to interfere in it, if only because the issue has already been resolved: Armenia has already signed the protocol on the return of the four villages, and there is absolutely nowhere for it to escape from the signed document, especially since this decision was recorded by all of Yerevan's allies, and its Western allies even welcomed this decision. And the authorities in Armenia are ahead of the curve and trying to resist the revanchists, realizing perfectly well that any attempt at revenge may lead to the complete loss of Armenian statehood. Well, all right then, behave yourselves.

    Caliber.Az

    Subscribe to our Telegram channel


Read also

Azerbaijan, Tajikistan elevate bilateral relations through strategic partnership agreements

24 May 2024 - 13:00

Tensions run high between the Pashinyan government & the Armenian Apostolic Church Government's vision vs. Church-led opposition

24 May 2024 - 09:35

Israel faces dual threat: Potential two-front war and refugee crisis Axis of Resistance ramps up attacks

23 May 2024 - 18:10

Baku and World Bank: Optimal business rules Caliber.Az review

23 May 2024 - 11:05

Azerbaijan-Armenia: progress, sensitivities and the art of "fixing the fixable" Contemplations with Orkhan Amashov/VIDEO

23 May 2024 - 09:51

The roots & ramifications of riot in New Caledonia France against universal principles

23 May 2024 - 09:15
ADVERTS
Video
Latest news

    European Commission president backs Polish, Greek calls for EU air defense shield

    25 May 2024 - 03:05

    Korea invents new fuel we don’t know about in US

    goodbye to refueling gasoline

    25 May 2024 - 01:03

    Why US semiconductor export controls backfire?

    24 May 2024 - 23:00

    COP29 presidency hosts international diplomatic corps in Lachin

    Climate Action Dialogue event

    24 May 2024 - 22:36

    US delegation visits Lachin, Shusha, applauds reconstruction efforts

    PHOTO

    24 May 2024 - 21:04

    NATO summit to be held in Hague in 2025

    24 May 2024 - 20:52

    Turkish president calls for UN reform amid global crises

    24 May 2024 - 20:39

    Azerbaijani, German top diplomats focus on peace process between Baku, Yerevan

    24 May 2024 - 20:24

    Armenian premier to address the nation

    24 May 2024 - 20:24

    Russian FM remains vague on reasons for ambassador's recall from Armenia

    24 May 2024 - 20:12

    Hungarian water quality control technology to be implemented in Azerbaijan

    24 May 2024 - 19:57

    Six new enterprises set to launch in Aghdam industrial park by year-end

    24 May 2024 - 19:42

    French president, Arab ministers to meet over situation in Gaza

    24 May 2024 - 19:27

    Israel ordered to immediately halt Rafah offensive by top UN court

    24 May 2024 - 19:12

    French Ambassador provides insights on Lachin visit, COP29 cooperation

    24 May 2024 - 19:01

    Armenia's aggression against Azerbaijan exposed

    Unmasking double standards/VIDEO

    24 May 2024 - 18:55

    Armenian PM skips out CIS event in Turkmenistan

    24 May 2024 - 18:50

    Azerbaijani, Moldovan interior ministries elevate cooperation to new level

    24 May 2024 - 18:38

    Azerbaijan is a bridge between various power centers

    Opinion by Modern Diplomacy

    24 May 2024 - 18:27

    Azerbaijan calls for global solidarity ahead of COP29

    24 May 2024 - 18:14

    Azerbaijan, Armenia at final stage in long-drawn-out drama

    Article by The Emerging Europe

    24 May 2024 - 18:05

    China warns of Taiwan “war” as military drills encircle island

    24 May 2024 - 18:02

    Overall global clean energy investments growing significantly

    IEA Executive Director says

    24 May 2024 - 17:50

    Caledonian FM raises concerns: Influx of French residents impacts indigenous Kanaks

    PHOTO

    24 May 2024 - 17:44

    Tokayev highlights Kazakhstan's role in Baku-Yerevan peace process

    24 May 2024 - 17:39

    Hezbollah vs. Israel: Escalating conflict and regional implications

    Caliber.Az on YouTube

    24 May 2024 - 17:27

    Azerbaijan, NATO develop cooperation

    24 May 2024 - 17:15

    Another group of former IDPs arrive in Sus village, Azerbaijan’s Lachin

    UPDATED

    24 May 2024 - 17:04

    OSCE chairman: Sustainable peace - favourable for both Azerbaijan, Armenia

    24 May 2024 - 16:52

    Georgia's ruling party accuses US of blackmail over sanctions

    24 May 2024 - 16:40

    Three trucks transporting transit goods via China-Kazakhstan-Azerbaijan-Georgia route

    24 May 2024 - 16:28

    Why is Macron getting very nervous about the Pacific?

    Article by Daily Express

    24 May 2024 - 16:16

    Macron wants EU top job for ex-Italian PM Draghi

    24 May 2024 - 16:04

    Azerbaijani flag hoisted over four liberated villages in Gazakh

    VIDEO

    24 May 2024 - 16:03

    Germany supplies tanks, drones, shells for Ukrainian Armed Forces

    24 May 2024 - 15:53

    US preparing for "prominent" role in postwar Gaza

    24 May 2024 - 15:41

    Putin wants Ukraine ceasefire on current frontlines

    Exclusive by Reuters

    24 May 2024 - 15:29

    Russia recalls ambassador from Yerevan

    24 May 2024 - 15:20

    Georgian parliament to launch procedure to override veto on foreign agent law

    24 May 2024 - 15:17

    Turkish ambassador calls Azerbaijan’s hosting COP29 landmark achievement

    24 May 2024 - 15:05

All news

Уговор нужно соблюдать
    Даже если кто-то и возражает

    АНАЛИТИКА  22 Апреля 2024 - 18:00

    Махмуд Шнир

    Дипломаты и политики из самых разных стран мира поддержали итоги состоявшейся 19 апреля встречи между вице-премьерами Азербайджана и Армении. Так, председатель Европейского совета Шарль Мишель приветствовал соглашение между Арменией и Азербайджаном о том, чтобы взять в качестве основы для делимитации границ между двумя странами Алматинскую декларацию 1991 года. Об этом он написал в соцсети X. «Делимитация границ, основанная на однозначном признании территориальной целостности каждой страны, также была ключевым элементом дискуссий в Брюсселе и послужит важным шагом на пути к нормализации и установлению мира в регионе», — отметил Мишель.

    Речь идет о договоренностях, достигнутых в результате встречи 19 апреля 2024 года комиссий по делимитации границы между Азербайджаном и Арменией. Согласно этим договоренностям, села Баганис, Хейрымлы, Ашагы Аскипара и Гызылгаджилы полностью возвращаются под контроль Азербайджана. Это справедливо и дает кое-какую, пусть призрачную, надежду на то, что соседи, наконец, приходят в чувство и начинают понимать, что брать чужое — нехорошо, а если уж взял — то его, чужое, обязательно нужно вернуть.

    К сожалению, это понимание свойственно совершенно не всем. Например, в Тавушской (Товузгала) области Армении начались беспорядки, которые подогреваются реваншистами. В результате потасовки в Баграташене (Лямбял) получил легкие травмы депутат парламента от кочаряновской фракции «Армения» Гарник Даниелян. «В результате провокации властей на участке Баграташена, где жители Тавуша перекрыли дорогу, произошла потасовка» — именно так оценила сложившуюся ситуацию депутат от той же фракции Кристине Варданян. По ее мнению, «договоренность о делимитации является провокацией властей Армении». В общем, налицо тактический союз между реваншистами, оппозицией и частью Армянской Апостольской Церкви против правящей в Армении партии «Гражданский договор». 

    21 апреля протестующие перекрыли дорогу на участке Ашагы Аскипара — Хейрымлы трассы М6. Эта дорога имеет межгосударственное значение и связывает Армению с Грузией. А сегодня предстоятель Тавушской епархии ААЦ архиепископ Баграт Галстанян заявил следующее: «Всё это движение во имя Бога, во имя Родины, во имя справедливости и правды», после чего обратился к деятелям культуры Армении со словами: «Вы обязаны сегодня представить свою позицию. Это просто катастрофа. Сегодня мы ведем борьбу за правду. До сих пор народ был в одиночку, и сегодня самое время это изменить». Ну, священнослужитель, разумеется, имеет полное право обращаться как к обществу в целом, так и к определенной его части, но слова архиепископа, с которыми он обратился к военным Армении, как к нынешним, так и к бывшим, должны заставить армянские власти насторожиться: «Ваша форма — ваша честь, которую мы уважаем. Это Родина и государство, которые вы защищаете. Скажите что-то, покажите что-то. Армянские военные, особенно бывшие, не могут молчать. Завтра наступит очередь Тигранашена (Кярки - Ред.). Наше государство станет воспоминанием и мечтой». Я один вижу в этих словах призыв к насильственному свержению власти путем военного переворота? Так что я на месте соответствующих органов Армении присмотрелся бы к архиепископу повнимательнее, а то мало ли чего. Связи у армянской церкви обширные, и лично я ничему не удивлюсь. Даже попытке военного переворота. Кроме того, его преосвященство уже открыто заявил, что считает себя реваншистом и «будет так жить до последней секунды своей жизни».

    Показательно еще и другое: в своем интервью Sputnik Армения он заявил следующее: «Воскепар больше не является только географической территорией, это символ. И название у него хорошее — «Золотой танец» (это перевод названия села с армянского). У нас была «Свадьба в горах» (операция по оккупации Шуши в 1992 году), а теперь у нас есть «Золотой танец», пусть он станет предвестником нашего полного освобождения, возвращения мечты и родины наших героев». Из уважения к сану я воздержусь от напоминаний о том, чем именно закончилась та свадьба в 2020 году, а вот против танцев я совершенно не возражаю, особенно вспоминая, как кое-кто плясал в тогда еще оккупированной Шуше, и что после этого случилось. Да и «Золотой танец» больше не «Золотой танец», нет больше «Золотого танца», а есть азербайджанское село Ашагы Аскипара, и это уже навсегда. Делайте выводы: не везет вам, когда вы танцевать начинаете, и карта не прет, и политическая карта меняется. 

    По большому счету, разгорающийся конфликт между властью Армении и частью армянского общества — это их внутреннее дело, мы в него вмешиваться не собираемся, хотя бы потому, что вопрос уже решен: протокол о возвращении четырех сел Армения уже подписала, деваться от подписанного документа ей совершенно некуда, тем более что это решение было зафиксировано всеми союзниками Еревана, а её западные союзники это решение даже приветствовали. Да и власти в Армении играют на опережение и стараются противостоять реваншистам, прекрасно понимая, что любая попытка реванша может привести к полной утрате армянской государственности. Ну вот и ладушки, ведите себя хорошо.

    Caliber.Az

    Просмотров: 5307

    Подписывайтесь на наш Telegram-канал


Читайте также

Вопли бесполезны Тихо, ведется следствие

17 Мая 2024 - 17:44

Удастся ли Западу повторно втянуть Грузию в цветную «трясину»? Видео YouTube-канала Caliber.Az

17 Мая 2024 - 14:33

Неприкрытая кастрюля неприкрытого национализма «Истерики древнего мира»

17 Мая 2024 - 17:04

Баку и Минск выверили контуры агропромышленной кооперации Расклад Caliber.Az

17 Мая 2024 - 16:32

И вот опять… Размышления Эмина Галалы

17 Мая 2024 - 15:15

Экологическая катастрофа на границе с Азербайджаном Новая карта разоблачает Армению

17 Мая 2024 - 11:01
РЕКЛАМА
Видео
Последние новости

    Apple разрабатывает более тонкую версию iPhone

    18 Мая 2024 - 08:30

    Пентагон и Microsoft расширяют партнерство по кибербезопасности

    18 Мая 2024 - 07:30

    Ученые предложили использовать бактерии для лечения рака

    18 Мая 2024 - 06:30

    В Намибии семейства львов стали причиной закрытия школ

    18 Мая 2024 - 05:30

    14-летний аргентинец побил рекорд Марадоны

    18 Мая 2024 - 04:30

    В Берлине вандалы облили красной краской магазин Apple

    18 Мая 2024 - 03:30

    Салфетка с текстом первого контракта Месси продана за 900 тысяч евро

    18 Мая 2024 - 02:30

    В Китае раскрыли дату начала туристических полетов в космос

    18 Мая 2024 - 02:00

    Пол Маккартни стал первым музыкантом-миллиардером Британии

    18 Мая 2024 - 01:30

    Великобритания отказалась от расследования в отношении Microsoft

    18 Мая 2024 - 01:00

    Президент Грузии не будет вносить поправок к принятому закону об иноагентах

    18 Мая 2024 - 00:37

    Christie's за день продал картины более чем на 413 млн долларов

    18 Мая 2024 - 00:30

    На Каннском фестивале отменили показ израильского фильма о нападении ХАМАС

    18 Мая 2024 - 00:13

    Участник Евровидения может предстать перед судом в ЕС

    17 Мая 2024 - 23:59

    Индия ждет от Армении предложений по порту Чабахар

    17 Мая 2024 - 23:46

    Сенегал избавляется от французских военных

    17 Мая 2024 - 23:32

    В Азербайджане выпал снег

    В Баку усилился северо-западный ветер

    17 Мая 2024 - 23:26

    Макрон, Шольц и Мелони против вступления Косово в Совет Европы

    17 Мая 2024 - 23:18

    «Я многое потеряю, но дальше меня ждет нечто волшебное»

    Мбаппе об уходе из «ПСЖ»

    17 Мая 2024 - 23:10

    Эрдоган: Водные ресурсы становятся источником конфликтов

    17 Мая 2024 - 23:04

    В Санкт-Петербурге произошел взрыв, пострадали семеро военнослужащих

    17 Мая 2024 - 22:53

    Рост ВВП России резко ускорился

    17 Мая 2024 - 22:50

    Продолжительность жизни в мире вырастет почти на пять лет

    17 Мая 2024 - 22:36

    Хикмет Гаджиев встретился с Джейком Салливаном

    17 Мая 2024 - 22:35

    Азербайджан и Куба обменялись мнениями по COP29

    17 Мая 2024 - 22:34

    Стало известно имя нового главного тренера «Ливерпуля»

    17 Мая 2024 - 22:23

    Алиев и Лукашенко ознакомились с генпланом Физули

    ФОТО/ОБНОВЛЕНО-2

    17 Мая 2024 - 22:18

    Президент Финляндии об идеи Макрона о независимости Европы

    17 Мая 2024 - 22:10

    В Лиепая прошел «День Азербайджана»

    ФОТО

    17 Мая 2024 - 22:06

    «Барселона» начала поиски нового главного тренера

    17 Мая 2024 - 21:54

    ЦАХАЛ по ошибке сбросил боеприпас на израильский поселок

    17 Мая 2024 - 21:40

    Благополучие, построенное на богатствах угнетенных

    Эрдоган о колониальном прошлом Европы

    17 Мая 2024 - 21:31

    Кобахидзе предложил молодежи дебаты по закону об иноагентах

    17 Мая 2024 - 21:26

    Замглавы МИД Азербайджана выступил на 133-й сессии Комитета министров Совета Европы

    17 Мая 2024 - 21:18

    Наставник «Марселя» Гассе объявил о завершении карьеры

    17 Мая 2024 - 21:14

    Генпрокурор Азербайджана провел двусторонние встречи в Душанбе

    ФОТО

    17 Мая 2024 - 21:11

    Маск ищет второго добровольца для вживления мозгового импланта

    17 Мая 2024 - 20:59

    Назначен советник президента AZAL

    17 Мая 2024 - 20:58

    В Евросоюзе поддержали согласование Баку и Ереваном участков границы

    17 Мая 2024 - 20:51

    Суд ООН вынесет решение по иску Мексики против Эквадора

    17 Мая 2024 - 20:48

Все новости