Irano-Armenian political strategist in the heart of Brussels
    Eldar Lankaransky's dark deeds in European Parliament

    ANALYTICS  08 August 2022 - 10:12

    Huseyn Safarov
    Caliber.Az

    That's the way the world wags: success always attracts not only new friends but also ill-wishers. Perhaps this axiom works not only for individuals but even for entire states. In any case, for several years now the diplomatic, economic, military, and political success of Azerbaijan has been a source of anxiety for individuals indifferent to the well-being of others.

    Unfortunately, Baku has many enemies in the international arena - from a number of US congressmen, MEPs, and Duma deputies, sponsored by the Armenian lobby, to all kinds of "experts" in the international media, and NGOs, think tanks, and political parties. There are many reasons for this - the extensive Armenian diaspora, the shortcomings of its own diplomacy, and the global interests of powers in the South Caucasus. Unfortunately, the anti-Azerbaijani and anti-Turkish "guard", supported by financial injections, includes ethnic Azerbaijanis, among others.

    The latter include an expert on Iran, political scientist Eldar Mammadov, whose family originates in the glorious Azerbaijani region – Lankaran. Mammadov (Mammadovs according to the passport), was born December 13, 1972, in Riga, Latvia. He studied there, worked in the banking sector in Latvia, and managed the office of Parex Bank in Azerbaijan. He served at the Latvian Foreign Ministry and at its embassy in Spain and the USA. Mammadov's diplomatic career was a springboard to his subsequent employment in Brussels in 2007, where he now lives and works as a political advisor to the Social Democrat group in the European Parliament. According to Caliber.Az, he is currently single, and his ex-wife, Natalia Sisoeva, is an assistant to MP A. Ameriks.

    For many years, Mammadov has been systematically writing articles and publications aimed at discrediting Azerbaijan in the West and preventing its rapprochement with Brussels and Washington. He posts his materials on social networks and on a number of foreign resources and expert blogs, which are mostly read by the academic and political science community. Azerbaijan has been in his field of interest for a long time. Back in 2010, the Hurriyet daily news published his article "Black Days of Freedom in Azerbaijan and Türkiye," where accusations against official Baku and Ankara were voiced under the human rights context. Ten years later, on October 2, 2020, in "The American Conservative" he labeled the counteroffensive operation of Baku to liberate the territories occupied by Armenians as "the assault of Azerbaijan". The article also contained allegations of Türkiye's support for Azerbaijan by allegedly sending Syrian fighters to the war zone.

    Since Eldar Mammadov is not an ordinary Twitter troll, but a man of an analytical mind, and even working in the European Parliament, we decided to examine the motives of his journalistic activities in more detail. During our little journalistic investigation we managed to establish that on June 22-25, 2007 Mammadov visited the Islamic Republic of Iran. There, presumably, he met and formed long-term cooperation with the Iranian party, which kept Mammadov in sight even during his diplomatic service in the Latvian Foreign Ministry. It is noteworthy that that short trip to Iran coincided with Eldar Mammadov's employment in the European Parliament. Since then the Iranians have had another "supporter" in Brussels, whose activities are activated or put into "hibernation" depending on the expediency of foreign policy. Sometimes it took a comical turn. For a long time, Mammadov positioned himself as an ardent liberal and, accordingly, an opponent of the Iranian government. But at the same time, he was repeatedly seen in the IRI embassy in Belgium - in particular in 2010 and 2012, at the peak of the US-Iranian crisis. It is possible that he went to defend liberal values.

    Let's come back from history to today. Simultaneously with the famous flash mob of the Israeli ambassador George Deek with "Tales of Tabriz", Mammadov decided to please the Iranian "partners" by spreading posts about the "Persian" origin of Nizami Ganjavi:

     

    So it is not surprising that in 2018 the Iranian diplomatic mission in Brussels turned to Mammadov to organize a lobbying effort to support the "nuclear deal" that Donald Trump broke and to launch active Iranian lobbying in the European Parliament. The Iranians spare no expense to promote their own interests, and the contacts built up have been activated. In European diplomatic circles, it is no secret that today Mammadov has become the main "coach" for Iranian diplomats in Belgium and personally prepares theses and narratives for their communication with European politicians. Mammadov also mediates contact between Iran and European think tanks such as the Center for European Policy Studies (CEPS). He does not neglect his work with political foundations. For example, several years ago Mammadov organized private discussions with Iranian and European representatives at the Konrad Adenauer Foundation in Brussels. And in the leading European media, he floats targeted talking points (often under the nominal authorship of his acquaintances) for his secret employers to influence public opinion, experts, and politicians to renegotiate the "nuclear deal" on terms favorable to Iran.

    However, let's take a look at the publications of our pseudo-countryman devoted to Azerbaijan. One of Mammadov's articles, published on Friedrich Ebert Foundation's website on May 27, 2021, is called "Why Azerbaijan does not criticize Israel". In his analyses, he promotes information that cannot be found in any serious source, that Azerbaijan allegedly provides Israel with a springboard for intelligence activities against Iran.

    In July 22, 2020 piece in Responsible Statecraft, Mammadov urges Azerbaijan to be vigilant and not to allow extra-regional anti-Iranian programs to manipulate itself. Familiar rhetoric, isn't it? It feels like Mammadov was possessed by an IRGC brigadier general while writing the article.

    Mammadov is also actively promoting curious theses in social networks, which are already in tune with Armenian attitudes. One of his recent Twitter posts reads that "EU's reliance on Azerbaijan as a serious alternative to the Russian gas is short-sighted and unrealistic." I wonder who is so concerned about the gas deal between Azerbaijan and the EU...

    Overall, it is noteworthy that in recent years Mammadov has already openly begun to support the Armenian side. Perhaps, this is included in the total amount of Iranian fees, who knows? On social media, Eldar shares anti-Azerbaijani posts of Armenian Twitter activists. In one of his reposts, he even thanks an Armenian agitator for commenting on his post criticizing the Azerbaijani leadership and the "illiberal" opposition:

     

    It is possible that his lucrative friendship with Iran inspired Eldar Mammadov to love Armenian content, and in a positive way. Well, he has enough sponsors there, too. And since appetite comes with food, we can assume that Eldar Mammadov will not stop there. After all, who cares where it comes from? Money is money!

    Caliber.Az

    Subscribe to our Telegram channel


Read also

Controversial Nobel Peace Prize nominee Vardanyan faces int’l scrutiny & opposition A closer look at actions contrary to peace & humanitarian efforts

25 April 2024 - 17:31

Energy leading to peace Proceeding from Azerbaijani President’s speech in ADA

25 April 2024 - 16:22

Iran re-evaluating its ties with Azerbaijan, Armenia Baku - more important, honest partner than Yerevan

25 April 2024 - 12:00

Balancing Turkmenistan – Afghanistan relations Deviated approach

25 April 2024 - 11:48

Azerbaijan-Kyrgyzstan business priorities: Advancing trade, energy, transport initiatives Review by Caliber.Az

25 April 2024 - 10:51

Mark Rutte seeks Türkiye's backing for new job A new pair of hands

24 April 2024 - 16:55
ADVERTS
Video
Latest news

    Türkiye neutralises over 800 terrorists since early 2024

    VIDEO

    25 April 2024 - 19:43

    European Parliament urges member states not to consider Russian elections legitimate

    25 April 2024 - 19:24

    How Iran covers up damage from Israel’s strikes?

    PHOTO

    25 April 2024 - 19:05

    Palestinians retrieve 392 bodies from 3 mass graves in Gaza’s Khan Younis

    25 April 2024 - 18:46

    Iran to launch missiles anywhere in Israel if necessary, general warns

    25 April 2024 - 18:27

    Twenty border markers installed between Azerbaijan & Armenia

    Delimitation progress

    25 April 2024 - 18:18

    Dozens detained at protests in Armenia

    25 April 2024 - 18:08

    Azerbaijan, Uzbekistan expanding cooperation in space industry

    25 April 2024 - 17:49

    Controversial Nobel Peace Prize nominee Vardanyan faces int’l scrutiny & opposition

    A closer look at actions contrary to peace & humanitarian efforts

    25 April 2024 - 17:31

    Iran builds up military power by showing off advanced Bavar-373 air defence system

    PHOTO

    25 April 2024 - 17:15

    Presidents of Azerbaijan, Kyrgyzstan visit Fuzuli, Aghdam cities

    PHOTO

    25 April 2024 - 17:05

    Lukashenko blames opposition and NATO: They want to take a district in Brest region by force

    25 April 2024 - 17:00

    Top Israeli, Egyptian officials secretly meet to discuss possible Rafah invasion

    25 April 2024 - 16:41

    Energy leading to peace

    Proceeding from Azerbaijani President’s speech in ADA

    25 April 2024 - 16:22

    “It would be a big mistake if Armenia used the support gained from the EU against Azerbaijan”

    Amashov’s impromptu interview with Ambassador Sharp

    25 April 2024 - 16:16

    Armenian Parliament speaker says legitimate border crucial for peace with Azerbaijan

    25 April 2024 - 16:07

    New mass grave discovered in Khojaly

    Investigation underway / PHOTO

    25 April 2024 - 15:51

    Port of Baku: the Eurasian trade hub working to expand and accelerate growth

    Article by Euronews / VIDEO

    25 April 2024 - 15:39

    Hybrid warfare being waged against Armenia, official says

    25 April 2024 - 15:24

    Azerbaijani police discover cache of weapons in Khankendi, linked to Armenian forces

    25 April 2024 - 14:58

    Zakharova slams Armenian media for distorting Russian leadership’s statements on Baku-Yerevan ties

    25 April 2024 - 14:44

    Baku, Budapest cement economic ties, sign protocol

    25 April 2024 - 14:27

    Yerevan ready to discuss gas purchase with Baku – Armenian Speaker

    UPDATED

    25 April 2024 - 14:15

    Azerbaijan set to take bold steps vis-à-vis climate change - minister

    25 April 2024 - 14:09

    Official: Hamas would lay down its weapons if two-state solution implemented

    25 April 2024 - 13:54

    Türkiye captures nearly 3,000 Islamic State suspects in 10 months

    VIDEO

    25 April 2024 - 13:40

    Blinken tours China to promote some ties

    25 April 2024 - 13:26

    Azerbaijani presidential aide showcases Fuzuli's rebirth in stirring social media video

    25 April 2024 - 13:15

    Media: China harbours ship tied to North Korea-Russia arms transfers

    25 April 2024 - 13:11

    Western Azerbaijan Community condemns US human rights report as discriminatory

    25 April 2024 - 12:58

    Israeli Air Force strikes dozens of targets in Gaza

    VIDEO

    25 April 2024 - 12:43

    Hungary prepares to participate in Karabakh's reconstruction

    25 April 2024 - 12:29

    Azerbaijan's Nakhchivan appoints new prime minister

    25 April 2024 - 12:15

    Political analyst: Good relations with Türkiye to be favourable for Armenia

    25 April 2024 - 12:13

    Iran re-evaluating its ties with Azerbaijan, Armenia

    Baku - more important, honest partner than Yerevan

    25 April 2024 - 12:00

    Balancing Turkmenistan – Afghanistan relations

    Deviated approach

    25 April 2024 - 11:48

    CENTCOM: US repells Houthi attacks on ships

    25 April 2024 - 11:44

    France proposes new EU sanctions to fight Russian disinformation

    25 April 2024 - 11:31

    Minister: Cooperation with Azerbaijan contributes to Hungary's energy security

    25 April 2024 - 11:20

    EU's proposed Russia sanctions to target oil tankers, ships carrying N. Korean equipment

    25 April 2024 - 11:16

All news

Политпиар-агент Ирана и Армении в сердце Брюсселя
    Как «Эльдар Лянкяранский» отрабатывает в Европарламенте

    АНАЛИТИКА  05 Августа 2022 - 19:01

    Гусейн Сафаров
    журналист Caliber.Az

    Так уж устроен мир, что успех всегда притягивает к себе не только новых друзей, но и недоброжелателей. Пожалуй, эта аксиома применима не только к конкретному человеку, но даже к целым государствам. Во всяком случае уже несколько лет дипломатические, экономические и военно-политические успехи Азербайджана не дают покоя неравнодушным к чужому благополучию личностей.

    Недругов на международной арене у Баку, к сожалению, много - от ряда американских конгрессменов, евродепутатов и депутатов Госдумы РФ, благоденствующих на деньги армянского лобби, до всевозможных «экспертов», засевших в международных СМИ, НПО, «мозговых центрах» и политических партиях. Причин на то много – и разветвленная сесть армянской диаспоры, и недоработки собственной дипломатии, и глобальные интересы держав в регионе Южного Кавказа. Печально, что в поддерживаемой финансовыми вливаниями антиазербайджанской и антитурецкой «гвардии» можно встретить, в числе прочих, и этнических азербайджанцев.

    К числу последних можно отнести эксперта по Ирану, политолога Эльдара Мамедова, род которого берет начало в славном азербайджанском крае –  Лянкяране. Мамедов, по паспорту Мамедовс, родился 13 декабря 1972 года в столице Латвии Риге. Учился там же, работал в банковском секторе Латвии, успел и поруководить офисом банка «Parex» в Азербайджане. Служил в МИД Латвии и в посольстве этой страны в Испании и США. Дипломатическая карьера Мамедова стала трамплином для последующего трудоустройства в Брюсселе в 2007 году, где он сей день проживает и работает советником по политическим вопросам в группе социал-демократов Европейского парламента. По данным Caliber.Az, в настоящий момент неженат, а его бывшая жена, Наталья Сисоева, является помощницей депутата А.Америкса.

    На протяжении уже многих лет Мамедов систематически пишет статьи и публикации, направленность которых очень органично вписывается в общий набор «тезисов», нацеленных на дискредитацию Азербайджана на Западе и предотвращение его сближения с Брюсселем и Вашингтоном. Свои материалы он размещает в социальных сетях и на ряде иностранных ресурсов и экспертных блогов, которые читаются по большей части академическим и политологическим сообществом. Азербайджан находится в поле его интересов уже давно. Еще в 2010 году на сайте «Hurriyet daily news» была опубликована его статья «Черные дни свободы в Азербайджане и Турции», где под правозащитным контекстом были озвучены обвинения против официальных Баку и Анкары. Спустя 10 лет, 2 октября 2020 года в издании «The American Conservative» контрнаступательную операцию Баку по освобождению оккупированных армянами территорий обозначил как «нападение Азербайджана». В статье также содержались утверждения о поддержке Турцией Азербайджана путем якобы отправки сирийских боевиков в зону боевых действий.

    Поскольку Эльдар Мамедов – не рядовой сетевой «тролль», коими кишит «Твиттер», а человек аналитического склада ума, да еще и работающий в Европейском Парламенте, мы решили изучить мотивы его публицистической деятельности более детально. В процессе нашего небольшого журналистского расследования удалось установить, что 22-25 июня 2007 года Мамедов посещал Исламскую Республику Иран. Там, предположительно, состоялась его встреча и оформление долгосрочного сотрудничества с иранской стороной, которая держала Мамедова в поле зрения еще во время его дипслужбы в МИД Латвии. Примечательно, что та краткосрочная поездка в Иран совпала по времени с трудоустройством Эльдара Мамедова в Европарламент. С тех пор иранцы записали себе в актив еще одного «сторонника» в Брюсселе, чья деятельность активизируется или переводится в «спящий режим» в зависимости от внешнеполитической целесообразности. Порой это принимало комичные обороты. Так, продолжительное время Мамедов позиционировал себя ярым либералом и, соответственно, противником иранского правительства. Однако параллельно был неоднократно замечен в посольстве ИРИ в Бельгии – в частности, в 2010 и 2012 годах – в самый разгар американо-иранского кризиса. Не исключено, что ходил отстаивать либеральные ценности.

    Или возьмем сегодняшние дни. Одновременно с известным флешмобом израильского посла Дика с «Тебризскими сказками», Мамедов решил угодить иранским «партнерам», распространив посты о «персидском» происхождении Низами Гянджеви:

    Так что не удивительно, что в 2018 году диппредставительство Ирана в Брюсселе обратилось именно к Мамедову, чтобы организовать лоббистскую акцию для поддержки «ядерной сделки», которую разорвал Дональд Трамп, и организации активного лоббизма ИРИ в Европейском Парламенте. Иранцы для продвижения собственных интересов средств не жалеют, и наработанные контакты были активированы. В европейских дипломатических кругах не является секретом, что сегодня Мамедов превратился в главного «тренера» (coach) для иранских дипломатов в Бельгии и лично готовит тезисы и нарративы для их общения с европейскими политиками. Является Мамедов и посредником в налаживании контактов между Ираном и европейскими мозговыми центрами, например, Centre for European Policy Studies (CEPS). Не оставляет он без внимания также работу с политическими фондами. Так, несколько лет назад Мамедов организовал в Фонде Конрада Аденауэра в Брюсселе закрытые обсуждения с участием иранских и европейских представителей. А в ведущих европейских СМИ он прокидывает для своих негласных работодателей целевые тезисы (зачастую под номинальным авторством своих знакомых), чтобы воздействовать на общественное мнение, экспертов и политиков для перезаключения «ядерной сделки» на выгодных Ирану условиях.

    Впрочем, пройдемся по публикациям нашего псевдосоотечественника, посвященным Азербайджану. Одна из статей Мамедова, опубликованная на онлайн-ресурсе Фонда Фридриха Эберта 27 мая 2021 года, называется «Почему в Азербайджане не критикуют Израиль». В своих аналитических выкладках он продвигает не нашедшую ни в одном серьезном источнике информацию, что Азербайджан, якобы, предоставляет Израилю плацдарм для разведывательной деятельности против Ирана.

    А в материале в «Responsible Statecraft» от 22 июля 2020 года Мамедов призывает Азербайджан проявлять бдительность, чтобы не позволить внерегиональным антииранским программам манипулировать собой. Знакомая риторика, не правда ли? Такое ощущение, что в Мамедова во время написания статьи вселился бригадный генерал КСИР.

    В социальных сетях Мамедов также активно продвигает любопытные тезисы, созвучные уже армянскими установками. Один из последних постов его в Twitter гласит, что «ставка ЕС на Азербайджан как на серьезную альтернативу российскому газу недальновидна и нереалистична». Интересно, кого же так обеспокоила газовая сделка между Азербайджаном и ЕС?..

    В целом, привлекает внимание, что в последние годы Мамедов уже в открытую начал поддерживать армянскую сторону. Возможно, это входит в общую сумму иранских гонораров, кто знает. В соцсетях Эльдар делится антиазербайджанскими постами армянских твиттер-активистов. В одном из своих репостов он даже благодарит армянского агитатора за то, что тот прокомментировал его публикацию с критикой руководства и «нелиберальной» оппозиции Азербайджана:

    Не исключено, что прибыльная дружба с Ираном зародила в Эльдаре Мамедове любовь к армянскому контенту, причем в позитивной форме. Благо, и там своих спонсоров хватает. И, поскольку аппетит приходит во время еды, можем исходить из того, что Эльдар Мамедов «на достигнутом» не остановится. Ведь деньги, как известно, не пахнут.  

    Caliber.Az

    Просмотров: 7012

    Подписывайтесь на наш Telegram-канал


Читайте также

CNN, Edelman, Нобелевская премия и Варданян Запредельный цинизм

25 Апреля 2024 - 18:20

Энергия, ведущая к миру По следам выступления президента Алиева в АДА

25 Апреля 2024 - 14:50

Новые грани глупости Арама I Страсти по мифу

25 Апреля 2024 - 10:32

Как это делалось в Новом Свете-3 «Неудобная правда» Самита Алиева

25 Апреля 2024 - 17:01

Баку и Бишкек обозначили деловые приоритеты Обзор Caliber.Az

25 Апреля 2024 - 09:29

Русские и армянские деятели о неприязни персов к поэту Низами «Непростая история» с Ризваном Гусейновым

24 Апреля 2024 - 19:00
РЕКЛАМА
Видео
Последние новости

    Казахстан и Китай подписали план военного сотрудничества

    25 Апреля 2024 - 19:14

    Путин собирается в Китай

    25 Апреля 2024 - 19:13

    Иран призывает страны БРИКС содействовать прекращению конфликта в секторе Газа

    25 Апреля 2024 - 19:08

    Обсуждено военное сотрудничество между Азербайджаном и Казахстаном

    ФОТО/ВИДЕО

    25 Апреля 2024 - 19:02

    Toyota продала рекордное число автомобилей

    25 Апреля 2024 - 19:02

    Азербайджанский дзюдоист вышел в финал чемпионата Европы

    25 Апреля 2024 - 18:55

    Азербайджан принят в члены Глобального совета по устойчивому туризму

    ФОТО

    25 Апреля 2024 - 18:51

    В Женеве обсудили отчет омбудсмена Азербайджана

    25 Апреля 2024 - 18:50

    Выросли убытки кредитных союзов Азербайджана

    25 Апреля 2024 - 18:40

    Трамп не откажется от членства в НАТО

    Сомнения Столтенберга

    25 Апреля 2024 - 18:38

    Почтена память Национального героя Азербайджана Альберта Агарунова

    ФОТО

    25 Апреля 2024 - 18:28

    CNN, Edelman, Нобелевская премия и Варданян

    Запредельный цинизм

    25 Апреля 2024 - 18:20

    Азербайджанские судьи на матче Суперлиги Греции

    25 Апреля 2024 - 18:17

    Греция приходит на помощь Франции

    25 Апреля 2024 - 18:15

    Алиев и Жапаров приняли участие в церемонии закладки фундамента полной средней школы в селе Хыдырлы

    ФОТО/ОБНОВЛЕНО

    25 Апреля 2024 - 18:11

    На границе между Азербайджаном и Арменией установлено 20 пограничных столбов

    25 Апреля 2024 - 18:05

    Менеджер: После такого Гурбанлы вряд ли останется в «Юргордене»

    25 Апреля 2024 - 17:59

    В захоронении в Ходжалы найдены новые тела

    ФОТО / ОБНОВЛЕНО

    25 Апреля 2024 - 17:59

    В Баку установлены первые велосипедные светофоры

    ФОТО

    25 Апреля 2024 - 17:57

    Подписан меморандум между SOCAR и Государственной налоговой службой

    25 Апреля 2024 - 17:56

    Алиев и Жапаров ознакомились с работами, проводимыми во дворце Панахали хана в Агдаме

    ФОТО/ОБНОВЛЕНО

    25 Апреля 2024 - 17:54

    ЦАХАЛ уничтожил 20 км тоннелей в районе «центрального коридора» в Газе

    ВИДЕО

    25 Апреля 2024 - 17:50

    Сахиль Бабаев: За пять лет в Азербайджане реализовано 4 пакета социальных реформ

    25 Апреля 2024 - 17:44

    Минобороны Турции о сотнях уничтоженных террористов

    ВИДЕО

    25 Апреля 2024 - 17:31

    В Турции началось проектирование нового авианосца

    25 Апреля 2024 - 17:21

    Европарламент призвал ЕС не признавать президентские выборы в РФ

    25 Апреля 2024 - 17:10

    Орхан Мамедов об интересе предпринимателей к аграрному сектору Нахчывана

    25 Апреля 2024 - 17:04

    Для предпринимателей в Карабахе будут созданы дополнительные возможности

    25 Апреля 2024 - 17:02

    Как это делалось в Новом Свете-3

    «Неудобная правда» Самита Алиева

    25 Апреля 2024 - 17:01

    Судоходство в Суэцком канале сократилось

    25 Апреля 2024 - 17:00

    Зубир определился по поводу команды

    25 Апреля 2024 - 16:50

    Визит Жапарова в Азербайджан завершился

    ФОТО

    25 Апреля 2024 - 16:49

    Алиев и Жапаров посетили Агдам

    ФОТО/ОБНОВЛЕНО

    25 Апреля 2024 - 16:46

    Состоялся совместный обед Алиева и Жапарова

    25 Апреля 2024 - 16:39

    Нефть продолжает дорожать

    ОБНОВЛЕНО

    25 Апреля 2024 - 16:30

    СМИ: Как Иран скрыл ущерб от ударов Израиля?

    ФОТО

    25 Апреля 2024 - 16:20

    Алиев пригласил Мишеля на COP29

    25 Апреля 2024 - 16:09

    ЦБ Турции сохранил ключевую ставку

    25 Апреля 2024 - 16:02

    Министр обороны Армении встретился с главой ереванского офиса СЕ

    25 Апреля 2024 - 15:55

    Иран представил новую систему ПВО - против F-35

    ФОТО

    25 Апреля 2024 - 15:51

Все новости