"Yerevan cherishes the hopes for exacerbation of relations between Azerbaijan and Iran"
    Foreign experts' opinions on Caliber.Az

    INTERVIEWS  16 March 2023 - 13:23

    Samir Ibrahimov

    Armenian Prime Minister Nikol Pashinyan said at a news conference on March 14 that he considers the likelihood of a new war with Azerbaijan high. "There is now a very high probability of escalation both along the Armenian border and in Karabakh," the prime minister said. That is why Armenia has invited observers from the European Union, he added. According to Pashinya, the international community must recognise the high level of new escalation threat.

    It is curious, of course, what exactly Pashinyan has in mind. What conditions must arise for a new war to become inevitable? What could trigger full-scale hostilities? And to what consequences in the region could all this lead? Should not Yerevan ponder over the fact that its slowness in signing a peace treaty with Azerbaijan (2 years and 4 months have passed since the end of the Second Karabakh War), as well as provocations of the Armenian armed forces, are bringing the likelihood of a new war closer?

    Foreign analysts have shared their thoughts on the matter with Caliber.Az.

    Pavlo Lakiychuk, the military expert of the Kyiv Centre "Strategy XXI", has reminded that in February the Armenian-Azerbaijani dialogue saw a long-expected breakthrough: the meeting of the heads of the two states with the mediation of the US state secretary Anthony Blanken took place on February 18 in Munich.

    "Following this meeting, Azerbaijani President Ilham Aliyev assured that Baku was ready to initiate practical contacts with the Karabakh Armenian community. A meeting between Baku and Khankendi representatives followed this statement. However, this course of events does not seem positive to anyone - a few days after the meeting, on March 5, a shootout occurred in the vicinity of Khankendi. Karabakh separatists claimed an alleged sabotage attack by the Azerbaijani Armed Forces...," Lakiychuk noted.

    On March 9, at the opening ceremony of the X Global Baku Forum "Peace Today: Challenges and Hopes", Ilham Aliyev stressed that there were no objective obstacles to achieving peace between Azerbaijan and Armenia. "What was agreed between Azerbaijan and Armenia last October, in particular with regard to respect for each other's sovereignty and territorial integrity, in fact, demonstrates that there are no obstacles to achieving peace," he said. At the same time, Aliyev noted that as a result of aggression against Azerbaijan, Yerevan has become dependent on "another country," which dictates its will, prompting it to act far from the real interests of the countries of the region. "They have become totally dependent, a kind of colony of another country. Because of the aggression against us, they missed their chance to become truly independent and build their future... Now they have a chance to start behaving like a neighbour to their neighbours. We want peace. We don't want another war. And we think that peace is achievable," Aliyev said.

    "So, the 'third country' does not want peace in the Caucasus. But if you remove the behind-the-scenes puppeteer from the 'game', the peoples of the Caucasus will, I am sure, find a path to peace in the region, however difficult and complicated," believes Pavlo Lakiychuk.

    In turn, Russian political scientist and professor at St. Petersburg State University Stanislav Tkachenko believes that by viewing the current situation in relations with Azerbaijan as unfavourable, the Armenian leadership is trying to disrupt the status quo by involving additional external players in the confrontation.

    "Once Yerevan realised that Russia would not give up its mediation mission, expressed in a diplomatic course that is impartial and neutral towards the parties to the conflict, Yerevan began to pin its main hopes on the European Union and Iran.

    The EU mission in Armenia, of 100 observers, located along the border with Azerbaijan, is politically advantageous to Yerevan; it is actively portrayed as friendly and sharing some of Yerevan's goals in the conflict. However, it is already clear that the mission cannot influence the course of the conflict and the prospects for a peaceful resolution in a way that is beneficial to Armenia.

    Yerevan's main expectations are therefore now related to the aggravation of relations between Azerbaijan and Iran. This is an unexpected turn of events for the region, opening up a new line of confrontation with more players and higher stakes in the conflict. However, it is too early to talk about a full-scale conflict, the parties (Baku and Tehran) are just assessing the initial positions and options of confrontation development," says the professor.

    According to Russian experts, noted Tkachenko, the positions of the parties regarding the transfer of the conflict to the stage of complete rupture of diplomatic relations and military confrontation are still being determined.

    "Cooperation between Azerbaijan and Israel until recently could be imagined as limited in scope and aimed only at improving bilateral relations. But the new development in the region makes us see it in a broader context. The re-establishment of diplomatic relations between Iran and Saudi Arabia may have the overall effect of increasing pressure by Muslim states in the region on Israel. Such a development could also have an adverse side effect on Baku. With the United States and the EU locked in conflict with Russia, Türkiye recovering from a disastrous earthquake, and Washington's attention distracted by its standoff with China, military cooperation between Azerbaijan and Israel could diminish to a dangerous level for Baku.

    In my view, it is these considerations that are driving Yerevan's policy now of delaying the signing of a peace treaty with Azerbaijan, fulfilling the terms of the Trilateral Karabakh ceasefire statement of November 10, 2020, and revising the outcome of the 44-day war. An analysis of the current disposition of forces and the statements already made by the parties do not indicate that the conflict is imminent. But there are no obvious ways to swiftly and permanently de-escalate either," Professor Tkachenko concluded.

    Caliber.Az

    Subscribe to our Telegram channel


Read also

Armenia’s European dreams: Geography cannot be overruled Expert insights

21 June 2024 - 14:02

French arms & Armenian revanchism: What's behind the deal? Expert opinions

21 June 2024 - 14:14

Papikyan's Paris visit unlikely to shift power balance between Baku, Yerevan Expert opinions

18 June 2024 - 13:57

“Pashinyan dances to the tune of the West and follows its instructions” Expert insight

19 June 2024 - 14:42

US diplomacy, the Zangazur corridor Balancing interests in the Caucasus

20 June 2024 - 15:14

"West demands total obedience from Tbilisi" Georgian experts on Caliber.Az

19 June 2024 - 11:02
ADVERTS
Video
Latest news

    Belarus Foreign Ministry hands note of protest to Armenia

    21 June 2024 - 20:59

    Turkish disinformation center refutes claims of 2.5 million refugees in Istanbul

    21 June 2024 - 20:54

    Hungary opts out of NATO military mission in Ukraine, says PM Orban

    21 June 2024 - 20:46

    Norway pledges to bolster safety of Ukrainian NPP

    21 June 2024 - 20:31

    Brazilian president congratulates Azerbaijani opposite number on Independence Day

    21 June 2024 - 20:25

    Israel warns Armenia

    21 June 2024 - 20:12

    EU intends to suspend high-level visits to Georgia

    21 June 2024 - 19:56

    Azerbaijani foreign minister meets outgoing Kyrgyz ambassador

    21 June 2024 - 19:39

    Ombudsperson warns: Mines impede Karabakh, Zangezur recovery efforts

    21 June 2024 - 19:29

    Russia, China develop payment workarounds amid expanding US sanctions

    21 June 2024 - 19:14

    Germany arrests three on suspicion of spying

    21 June 2024 - 19:02

    South Korea summons Russian ambassador to protest Moscow-Pyongyang pact

    21 June 2024 - 18:50

    London to host second IEA-COP29 High-Level Dialogue

    21 June 2024 - 18:38

    US redirects air defence missile deliveries to Ukraine to counter Russian attacks

    21 June 2024 - 18:26

    Insurance market of Azerbaijan: Premiums rise amid persistent risks

    Review by Caliber.Az

    21 June 2024 - 18:14

    Azerbaijan, Iran, and Russia discuss North-South transport corridor development

    21 June 2024 - 18:02

    ISW: Russia deploys FAB-3000 M-54 bomb in Ukraine strikes

    PHOTO/VIDEO

    21 June 2024 - 17:50

    High-Level Meeting on COP29 wraps up in Azerbaijan’s Zangilan

    21 June 2024 - 17:41

    Prosecutors in Sen. Menendez’s corruption trial shift focus to Qatar

    New details emerge in pro-Armenian politician's bribery case

    21 June 2024 - 17:38

    Paris and Baku: A clash of interests & ideologies

    Historical context & rivalry origins

    21 June 2024 - 17:26

    Türkiye’s Baykar unveils amount spent on unmanned combat aerial vehicles

    21 June 2024 - 17:14

    Hypersonic arms race between China and the US

    What to expect?

    21 June 2024 - 17:02

    US Embassy in Baku condoles death of ANAMA employee

    PHOTO

    21 June 2024 - 16:50

    Another incident occurs in Armenian separatist representative office

    VIDEO

    21 June 2024 - 16:38

    France's arms deal with Armenia sparks regional tensions

    Paris thirsts for war

    21 June 2024 - 16:26

    Azerbaijan hands over remains of two Armenian soldiers to Yerevan

    Official information

    21 June 2024 - 16:14

    Azerbaijan aims to transform Karabakh into a leading clean energy hub

    21 June 2024 - 16:02

    Türkiye kills four PKK terrorists in northern Iraq

    VIDEO

    21 June 2024 - 15:50

    Swastika defaces mosque under construction in France

    21 June 2024 - 15:38

    Azerbaijan's oil giant begins natural gas supplies to Bulgarian industrial enterprises

    21 June 2024 - 15:27

    Azerbaijani first couple inaugurates new Institute of Botany building, tours Botanical Garden

    PHOTO

    21 June 2024 - 15:15

    France's economy faces risk from potential far-right and far-left governance

    Caliber.Az on YouTube

    21 June 2024 - 15:14

    TURKSOY head looks forward to attending events in Azerbaijan’s Shusha

    21 June 2024 - 15:02

    Israel summons Armenian ambassador over recognition of Palestinian state

    21 June 2024 - 14:45

    Azerbaijan rejects EU High Representative's accusations on Armenian prisoners

    21 June 2024 - 14:43

    Some Muslims choose to vote for Le Pen in France

    Anyone but Macron

    21 June 2024 - 14:29

    French arms & Armenian revanchism: What's behind the deal?

    Expert opinions

    21 June 2024 - 14:14

    Armenia’s European dreams: Geography cannot be overruled

    Expert insights

    21 June 2024 - 14:02

    Azerbaijani pundit castigates France, India for disruptive actions in region

    21 June 2024 - 13:56

    Ambassador: Russia ready to play mediating role between Azerbaijan, Armenia

    21 June 2024 - 13:43

All news

«Ожидания Еревана связаны с обострением отношений Азербайджана и Ирана»
    Зарубежные аналитики на Caliber.Az

    ИНТЕРВЬЮ  16 Марта 2023 - 12:17

    Самир Ибрагимов

    Премьер-министр Армении Никол Пашинян считает высокой вероятность новой войны с Азербайджаном. Об этом он заявил на пресс-конференции во вторник. «Сейчас есть очень большая вероятность эскалации как вдоль границы Армении, так и в Карабахе», - сказал премьер. Именно поэтому Армения пригласила наблюдателей из Евросоюза, говорит он. Пашинян считает, что международное сообщество должно признать высокий уровень угрозы новой эскалации.

    Любопытно, конечно, что именно имеет в виду Пашинян. Какие условия должны возникнуть, чтобы новая война стала неизбежной? Что может послужить толчком для начала полномасштабных боевых действий? И к каким последствиям в регионе может привести всё это? Не стоит ли Еревану задуматься над тем, что именно его неторопливость в вопросе подписания мирного договора с Азербайджаном (с момента завершения Второй Карабахской войны минуло уже 2 года и 4 месяца), а также провокации ВС Армении и приближают вероятность новой войны?

    Своими мыслями на сей счет поделились с Caliber.Аz зарубежные аналитики.

    Военный эксперт киевского Центра «Стратегия XXI» Павло Лакийчук напомнил, что в феврале в армяно-азербайджанском диалоге наметился долгожданный прорыв: 18 февраля в Мюнхене состоялась встреча глав двух государств при посредничестве госсекретаря США Энтони Блинкена.

    «По итогам этой встречи президент Азербайджана Ильхам Алиев заверил, что Баку готов начать практические контакты с армянской общиной Карабаха. После этого заявления между представителями Баку и Ханкенди состоялась встреча. Однако кому-то, очевидно, такой ход событий не кажется позитивным - через несколько дней после встречи, 5 марта, недалеко от Ханкенди произошла перестрелка. Сепаратисты Карабаха заявили о якобы диверсионном нападении со стороны вооруженных сил Азербайджана...», - отметил Лакийчук.

    9 марта на церемонии открытия X Глобального Бакинского форума «Мир сегодня: вызовы и надежды» Ильхам Алиев подчеркнул, что никаких объективных препятствий для достижения мира между Азербайджаном и Арменией нет. «То, что было согласовано между Азербайджаном и Арменией в октябре прошлого года, в частности, в отношении уважения к суверенитету и территориальной целостности друг друга, фактически демонстрирует, что нет никаких препятствий для достижения мира» - заявил он. Вместе с тем Алиев отметил, что Ереван вследствие агрессии против Азербайджана попал в зависимость от «другой страны», которая диктует ему свою волю, побуждает к действиям, далеким от реальных интересов стран региона. «Они стали полностью зависимыми, своего рода колонией другой страны. Из-за агрессии против нас они упустили свой шанс стать действительно независимыми и построить своë будущее... Теперь у них появился шанс начать вести себя как сосед со своими соседями. Мы хотим мира. Мы не хотим ещë одной войны. И мы думаем, что мир достижим», - сказал Алиев.  

    «Итак, «третья страна» не хочет мира на Кавказе. Но если убрать из «игры» закулисного кукловода, народы Кавказа, уверен, найдут, пусть сложный и непростой, но путь к миру в регионе», - считает Павло Лакийчук.

    В свою очередь российский политолог, профессор Санкт-Петербургского государственного университета Станислав Ткаченко полагает, что, рассматривая нынешнюю ситуацию в отношениях с Азербайджаном как неблагоприятную, руководство Армении пытается нарушить сложившийся статус-кво посредством вовлечения в противостояние дополнительных внешних игроков.

    «После того, как в Ереване осознали, что Россия не откажется от своей посреднической миссии, выражающейся в беспристрастном и нейтральном по отношению к сторонам конфликта дипломатическом курсе, основные надежды Ереван стал возлагать на Европейский Союз и Иран.

    Миссия ЕС в Армении из 100 наблюдателей, расположенная вдоль границы с Азербайджаном, политически выгодна Еревану, ее активно представляют как дружественную и разделяющую некие цели Еревана в конфликте. Но уже очевидно, что данная миссия никак повлиять на ход конфликта и перспективы мирного урегулирования в выгодном Армении свете не может.

    Поэтому сейчас главные ожидания Еревана связаны с обострением отношений Азербайджана и Ирана. Для региона это неожиданный поворот событий, открытие новой линии противостояния с большим количеством игроков и повышенными ставками в конфликте. При этом пока еще рано говорить о полномасштабном конфликте, его стороны (Баку и Тегеран) только оценивают исходные позиции и варианты развития противостояния», - говорит профессор.

    По мнению российских экспертов, отметил Ткаченко, позиции сторон относительно перевода конфликта в стадию полного разрыва дипломатических отношений и военного противостояния еще только определяются.

    «Сотрудничество Азербайджана и Израиля до недавнего времени можно было представить ограниченным по объемам и направленным только на улучшение двусторонних отношений. Но новый поворот событий в регионе заставляет нас рассматривать его в более широком контексте. Восстановление дипломатических отношений Ирана и Саудовской Аравии может иметь своим последствием общее усиление давления мусульманских государств региона на Израиль. Неблагоприятный побочный эффект такое развитие событий может иметь и для Баку. В ситуации, когда США и ЕС вовлечены в конфликт с Россией, Турция восстанавливается после катастрофического землетрясения, а внимание Вашингтона отвлечено на противостояние с Китаем, объемы военного сотрудничества Азербайджана и Израиля могут снизиться до опасных для Баку объемов.

    По моему мнению, именно эти соображения определяют сейчас политику Еревана, направленную на затягивание подписания мирного договора с Азербайджаном, выполнения условий Трехстороннего заявления о прекращении огня в Карабахе от 10 ноября 2020 года, и ревизию итогов войны осени 2020 года. Анализ нынешнего расположения сил и уже сделанные сторонами заявления не свидетельствуют о неминуемости конфликта. Но и очевидных путей быстрой и окончательной деэскалации также пока не просматривается», - заключил профессор Ткаченко.

    Caliber.Az

    Просмотров: 3941

    Подписывайтесь на наш Telegram-канал


Читайте также

«Авантюры Еревана создают опасные перспективы» Три экспертных мнения на Caliber.Az

13 Июля 2024 - 17:57

Грузия: затишье перед бурей? Гела Васадзе в эфире Caliber.Az

12 Июля 2024 - 19:01

Пезешкиан и ирано-азербайджанские отношения: время покажет Лана Раванди-Фадаи в гостях у Caliber.Az

11 Июля 2024 - 13:16

Азербайджанцы за мир. А армяне? Экспертные мнения на Caliber.Az

10 Июля 2024 - 15:13

«Цена западных «пряников» выходит слишком высокой для грузинского народа» Caliber.Az из Тбилиси

09 Июля 2024 - 16:49

Карабахская декларация и феномен Орбана Тофик Аббасов в эфире Caliber.Az

09 Июля 2024 - 18:30
РЕКЛАМА
Видео
Последние новости

    В Дрездене временно вернули в оборот марку ГДР

    14 Июля 2024 - 01:30

    Спецслужбы Ирана задержали одного из организаторов теракта в Кермане

    14 Июля 2024 - 00:31

    Армения получила от Индии снайперовские винтовки

    13 Июля 2024 - 23:58

    Месси о продолжении карьеры

    13 Июля 2024 - 23:47

    Население Украины значительно сократится

    13 Июля 2024 - 23:26

    Азербайджанские гимнастки завоевали бронзовые медали в Норвегии

    13 Июля 2024 - 23:13

    Сборной Испании грозит штраф в финале Евро-2024

    13 Июля 2024 - 23:00

    Визиты Орбана в Москву и Пекин привели в ярость ЕС и НАТО

    13 Июля 2024 - 22:53

    Пашинян и Зея обсудили мирный процесс с Азербайджаном

    13 Июля 2024 - 22:40

    Россия с начала года выслала 65 тысяч мигрантов

    13 Июля 2024 - 22:24

    «Бешикташ» объявил о переходе Иммобиле

    13 Июля 2024 - 22:07

    Орбан продолжает отговаривать Украину от вступления в НАТО

    Bloomberg

    13 Июля 2024 - 21:49

    Лукашенко считает напряженность на границе с Украиной ликвидированной

    13 Июля 2024 - 21:35

    Египет требует от Израиля оставить палестинскую часть КПП «Рафах»

    13 Июля 2024 - 21:19

    Лукашенко считает необходимым «побыстрее договориться» по Украине

    13 Июля 2024 - 21:03

    В США вновь обсуждают Байдена

    13 Июля 2024 - 20:47

    Турецкий депутат: Победа Азербайджана укрепила атмосферу единства в тюркском мире

    13 Июля 2024 - 20:34

    В бакинском поселке навели чистоту

    ФОТО

    13 Июля 2024 - 20:22

    ХАМАС прекратило контакты с находящимися в Газе лидерами движения

    13 Июля 2024 - 20:19

    Швеция закрыла дело о подрыве на газопроводах «Северный поток»

    13 Июля 2024 - 20:06

    Мадридский «Реал» заработал на продаже футболок Мбаппе 800 тысяч евро

    13 Июля 2024 - 19:53

    Стартует регистрация для участия в пробеге классических автомобилей в Баку

    13 Июля 2024 - 19:41

    Фарид Гаибов выступил на мероприятии по Европейской гимнастике

    13 Июля 2024 - 19:29

    Эрдоган не верит в скорое завершение украинского конфликта

    13 Июля 2024 - 19:16

    Нелегально проживающие в Турции граждане Азербайджана получают документы

    13 Июля 2024 - 19:03

    Вежливый Баку, подвешенный Киев и растерянный Париж

    «События» с Мурадом Абиевым

    13 Июля 2024 - 19:01

    Европейская универсиада: Азербайджанские шахматисты вторые на соревнованиях по блицу

    13 Июля 2024 - 18:52

    Лоран Блан возглавил «Аль-Иттихад»

    13 Июля 2024 - 18:38

    Эрдоган намерен завершить операцию против РПК на севере Ирака

    13 Июля 2024 - 18:25

    Азербайджанские гимнасты в финале международного турнира

    13 Июля 2024 - 18:21

    Economist о перспективах вступления Украины в НАТО

    13 Июля 2024 - 17:59

    «Авантюры Еревана создают опасные перспективы»

    Три экспертных мнения на Caliber.Az

    13 Июля 2024 - 17:57

    В Баку пройдет фестиваль инноваций и технологий iFest

    13 Июля 2024 - 17:54

    Спасатели МЧС спасли тонущего человека в Пиршаги

    13 Июля 2024 - 17:51

    Число погибших в Газе возросло

    13 Июля 2024 - 17:50

    Свадьба сына индийского миллиардера обошлась в 600 млн долларов

    ФОТО

    13 Июля 2024 - 17:45

    Песков: Россия - в прицеле американских ракет, находящихся в Европе

    13 Июля 2024 - 17:44

    В России впервые за 40 лет не покажут Олимпийские игры

    13 Июля 2024 - 17:40

    ЦАХАЛ поразил склад с парапланами ХАМАС

    13 Июля 2024 - 17:20

    Мамед Аббасбейли назвал количество субъектов естественных монополий в Азербайджане

    13 Июля 2024 - 17:14

Все новости